very true, pie.Originally posted by pie:I stopped for a period of 2 weeks during the Taiwan earthquake when our internet was cut and I was also moving house. I lost the urge to play after that
Frankly though, its the attitude. Even if you stop him from WOW, he can always start something else similar later.
erm, actually, no. it was the hours that he was keeping lately. i mean at 4am on a school day is a really no no. if it was a weekend, i could probably close an eye.Originally posted by choco B:Was there something he neglected due to gaming?
Or was there something else in particular you wished he was doing instead of gaming at that moment in time ?
Originally posted by :Cold Turkey treatment is best! Ask your parents to lock up your gaming machine.
6 months down the road, you'll be doing other stuff liao and not think about gaming!![]()
alamak.....u ah..........Originally posted by popmynutsy:throw ur comp out of the window.
but then need comp for school work also leh.Originally posted by gLc:detach ur com's graphics card.![]()
I was involved in so many things until my results too lousy to go uni....Originally posted by littlestream:another? the scholars. aiyoh, their parents are so blessed. very active in community and volunteer work. very motivated, hungry for success and a lot of drive and ambition.
Now you believe eh?Originally posted by littlestream:I can't believe I am actually posting in agony!!!!
But seriously, how do one get off the addiction???? Do you just get up one day and decide "okay, that's it, i'm done with it!"? Or do you get grounded for spending too many hours (per day) on it???? Or do you re-direct yourself to other activities?
Come one, come all.....got tips or no-fail recipe(s) to share?
Xie xie....thank you.....kum siah........terima kaseh....dou che......![]()
It'll hard for you to make an appropriate move unless the person sees it as a problem and wish to kick the habit too.Originally posted by littlestream:hmm.......i tink so too but i don't have the heart to do it leh.
erm.....the addictor is not me leh. someone in my family.![]()
alamak.....sorry to read that. but u can re-take, right? or private uni?Originally posted by SingaporeMacross:I was involved in so many things until my results too lousy to go uni....![]()
si ah lau......laugh what lah?????Originally posted by laurence82:ask streamie parents to lock her games up?
excuse me
wahahhahahhahahahahhahahhahahahha
i am back
wahhahahhaahhahahhahahahhahahhahahahhahaha
sorry i couldnt control myself![]()
on serious note, games like these must wait for the chap to be bored of it
i got friends so hooked onto Dota they dont come for lectures
but soon they got bored of it
tell my godbro dun b notti
hanor.....Originally posted by Bontakun:Now you believe eh?
Ok I remember the last time I got hooked to video games or something that takes up most of my time in a day. It was hard for me to get over it. Basically I did not feel the importance of other things over what I was addicted to: spending more time with family and friends, self-reflection, sleep, etc, etc.
I asked myself, "Why am I addicted? Is it really that important to me? Or am I using it as an excuse to escape from something? Or just simply I got nothing of value to do?"
When I found out that I have better things to do, more important things to look out for and more valued stuffs to focus on, I slowly remove the time that I am engrossed in to do more of what is beneficial and better for me and everybody around me.
So let me ask you: what do you value more than your addiction? Family? Friends? Sleep?
Find it, rediscover the values and prioritise again. You will find new and better meaning to your life than simple addiction to what you think you are addicted to.
i tink/believe he does. mostly he is pretty good with the hours. but recently, the hours got out of hand so i was troubled.Originally posted by Devil1976:It'll hard for you to make an appropriate move unless the person sees it as a problem and wish to kick the habit too.
Its good you notice someone you care about is having such an issue here. I am happy and in a certain sense envious. My mum saw that too but dunno da best wae to handle me. She ain't no thinker. More of a doer.Originally posted by littlestream:hanor.....![]()
thanks, bonta.....perhaps really, like u said, player has nothing else more meaningful to do. hmm.........
thanks, bonta for sharing
No larh. WoW must pay $$$ every month, play also feel like buay song LOL. PS3 is PlayStation 3 from Sony.Originally posted by littlestream:hee hee..........oei, bassie..........si mi lai eh? PS3? sony ah?
no lah....WoW lah..........![]()
Get him to have more commitments to life... More appointments and schedules where he'll have to stick to...Originally posted by littlestream:i tink/believe he does. mostly he is pretty good with the hours. but recently, the hours got out of hand so i was troubled.
but i feel better now. after penning down my tots and learning from the others, their experiences, what this wow thing is about and stuff. helps me understand too.
thanks yah, devil