06 Sep, 02:59PM in sunny Singapore!
Home Aunt Agony

How can I help him to stop smoking?

Subscribe to How can I help him to stop smoking? 134 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    47 posts since Mar '07
    • Well, a very good guy friend of mine started smoking about a year ago. I really want to help him to quit that habit.

I'm thinking of buying nicotine gum for him. He's not yet 18 while I'm already 18 though I ain't a smoker.

It's not available over-the-counter in Spore, right?

Are there any other ways to help him? I'd tried both soft and hard approaches, to no avail.

Thanks in advance for any help offered. Smile

• MOUSEHUNT - I GOT CHEESED.
    34,468 posts since Jul '00
  • Fallen...
    122,516 posts since Feb '01
    47 posts since Mar '07
    • Originally posted by Ferret:
      report him police for underaged smoking.

thanks.. -.-

underaged smoking is so common in my school. sigh..

47 posts since Mar '07
    • Originally posted by the Bear:
      mints help..

or just keep him occupied...

ask him to stop?

I'm always asking him to stop smoking. But we will only end up quarrelling.

Mints help? But I thought mints are bad for sperms too? Rolling Eyes

• Originally posted by RedHairband:
      thanks.. -.-

underaged smoking is so common in my school. sigh..

I am serious.

See who sold him the ciggies. Report em too. Evil or Very Mad

47 posts since Mar '07
      I am serious.

See who sold him the ciggies. Report em too. Evil or Very Mad

That's too harsh for him. I will be merely screwing up his life. Please, any other ways to help him? nicotine gum?

smoking will probably screw up his life too ?

47 posts since Mar '07
      smoking will probably screw up his life too ?

If I can help him quit smoking without screwing up his life in any way, why not? Also, I will never have the courage to report him yea..

12,071 posts since Apr '03
      Well, a very good guy friend of mine started smoking about a year ago. I really want to help him to quit that habit.

I'm thinking of buying nicotine gum for him. He's not yet 18 while I'm already 18 though I ain't a smoker.

It's not available over-the-counter in Spore, right?

Are there any other ways to help him? I'd tried both soft and hard approaches, to no avail.

Thanks in advance for any help offered. Smile

the gum is available over the counter... jz buy it for him... if all else fails, report him to mata as underage smoker...

If I can help him quit smoking without screwing up his life in any way, why not? Also, I will never have the courage to report him yea..

Nah. leave him alone then.

Leave him to swim or die.

but he is not gonna makes babies within tis few yrs right?

5,475 posts since May '07
    47 posts since Mar '07
    • Originally posted by BrUtUs:
      the gum is available over the counter... jz buy it for him... .

Oh, any idea how much does it cost? And for a smoker like him, how much is enough to help him quit? Thou I understand that the gum is not some miracle, he needs his own willpower too.

The thing is, he doesn't really want to quit though he knows that his health is failing. Confused

3,810 posts since Dec '05

you tell him, if u dont stop smoking, u no need to use your sperms in the future.

10,523 posts since Aug '05
    • Originally posted by popmynutsy:
      you tell him, if u dont stop smoking, u no need to use your sperms in the future.

x2.

smoke more, no father day.
      tell him his lj cannot shoot next time, i bet he will quit.

47 posts since Mar '07
      Nah. leave him alone then.

Leave him to swim or die.

There must be a way to help him. I won't let him "die". Wink

Oh, any idea how much does it cost? And for a smoker like him, how much is enough to help him quit? Thou I understand that the gum is not some miracle, he needs his own willpower too.

The thing is, he doesn't really want to quit though he knows that his health is failing. Confused

cant rem... shouldnt be ex... jz go unity, guardian pharmacy or watsons... u jz buy him a pack or 2 1st so he can hold it for a day... ask him y he like smoking 1st... tat should be a way to tackle it... if stress related then u can intro him ways other than smoke..

There must be a way to help him. I won't let him "die". Wink

ur fren lucky to hv a fren like u... work on it lo...

47 posts since Mar '07
    • Alright, thanks for the replies, guys!

I will probably try out the 'gum method' first, but I would never report him la. Smile

Do keep the ideas coming in though! Thank you very much. Very Happy

Edited by RedHairband 26 Jun `07, 12:08AM
      Alright, thanks for the replies, guys!

I will probably try out the gum first, but I would never report him la. Smile

dun bother wasting your money.....
      just look hard at his face, tell him this
      smoke more lor, next time u lj cannot stand cannot shoot dun say i nv tell u.

47 posts since Mar '07
    • Originally posted by rathcycle:
      dun bother wasting your money.....

If buying one less piece of top/bag/whatever stands a chance in helping him, why not? Helping a friend like this, ain't really "wasting money" to me. I'm happy helping him.

Originally posted by rathcycle:
      just look hard at his face, tell him this
      smoke more lor, next time u lj cannot stand cannot shoot dun say i nv tell u.

Uhmm. I don't think he will feel threatened by this. Guys are especially proud in this area, aren't they? Razz

sorry hor...
      my school counseller use this method to convice 2 sibei heavy smokers in sch to quit hor.....
      but the counseller got do research on like.. cigs can make u low sperm count... and infertile ...
      i bet if u tell him and he still smokes he is just putting up a strong front, inside he is scared 1.... if u show him the report, he might act as if he dun wana read, but he will be sibei sibei scared...
      just tell him to imagine being unable to play chinese chess or have sex for life.

68 posts since Jun '07
    • ur frene is lucky to have u...

u can call the Health Promotion Board's Quit Smoking Helpline at 1800-223-1313. for professional help. you cld also request a Quit Kit booklet to guide u along.... be patient with him. it takes alot to quit smoking..

all the best! Very Happy

3,397 posts since Apr '05
    • nothing wil help, even if u give him million dollars...

but only 1 thing will works..

when his closer 1 going to die, ask the closer to request ur friend to stop smoking and promise the closer 1..

but the closer 1 must be someone who very inportant to him.

btw, if u girl, u must be fall in love with him right Laughing

Please Login or Signup to reply.