<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom" xmlns:opensearch="http://a9.com/-/spec/opensearch/1.1/" version="2.0">
  <channel>
    <title>Recent Posts in 'How do we deal with workplace harassment?' | sgForums.com</title>
    <link>http://politics.sgforums.com/forums/12/topics/264039</link>
    <language>en-US</language>
    <ttl>60</ttl>
    <atom:link rel="search" type="application/opensearchdescription+xml" href="http://politics.sgforums.com/open_search.xml"/>
    <description></description>
    <item>
      <title>How do we deal with workplace harassment? replied by sheri @ Sat, 30 Jun 2007 21:46:15 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;&lt;img title="Confused" src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_confused.gif" alt="Confused" /&gt; The
guy also very stupid...first day or work, dunno the working culture
still dare of joke such things.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Going back to the topic, if you and all the other female colleagues
find his jokes distasteful, gang up with them to give him a dirty
look whenever he jokes, or just leave him out of the group lor.
Sort of "abandon" him bah&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by thongs:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;LOL, all i can say is congratz&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 30 Jun 2007 21:46:15 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:12:264039:6756651</guid>
      <author>sheri</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>How do we deal with workplace harassment? replied by thongs @ Thu, 28 Jun 2007 22:25:20 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by DeadPoet:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;True incident.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;img title="Arrow" src="/images/emoticons/classic/icon_arrow.gif"
alt="Arrow" /&gt; His first day at work&lt;br /&gt;
alt="Arrow" /&gt; He commented on the breasts of his female colleague
in the morning.&lt;br /&gt;
alt="Arrow" /&gt; He was fired in the afternoon.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Think before you open your BIG mouth.&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;LOL, all i can say is congratz&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 28 Jun 2007 22:25:20 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:12:264039:6746401</guid>
      <author>thongs</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>How do we deal with workplace harassment? replied by DeadPoet @ Thu, 28 Jun 2007 20:33:36 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;True incident.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
alt="Arrow" /&gt; His first day at work&lt;br /&gt;
alt="Arrow" /&gt; He commented on the breasts of his female colleague
in the morning.&lt;br /&gt;
alt="Arrow" /&gt; He was fired in the afternoon.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Think before you open your BIG mouth.&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 28 Jun 2007 20:33:36 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:12:264039:6745773</guid>
      <author>DeadPoet</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>How do we deal with workplace harassment? replied by ILPSY @ Thu, 28 Jun 2007 20:31:39 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;I had a similar encounter before. I retorted angrily to him that
it was not a funny joke. And after that, I kept ignored that fellow
until he apologised that he will not repeat again.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Hmm... hope that helps!&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Cheers!&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 28 Jun 2007 20:31:39 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:12:264039:6745760</guid>
      <author>ILPSY</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>How do we deal with workplace harassment? replied by de_middle @ Thu, 28 Jun 2007 14:47:29 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;just SLAP the bugger &lt;img title="Laughing" src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif" alt="Laughing" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 28 Jun 2007 14:47:29 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:12:264039:6744109</guid>
      <author>de_middle</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>How do we deal with workplace harassment? replied by jackdaniels @ Thu, 28 Jun 2007 14:42:52 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Tsk tsk tsk... must tread carefully. Avoid taking part in too
many sexual jokes at work. Harmless flirting at the office bar or
during lunch is fine. But personally I would find it offensive if a
sexual joke is targetted at my private body part in the presence of
a group with everyone else laughing at it afterwards.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Whether colleagues will target disrespectful remarks at you
explicitly largely depends on how you carry yourself as a female
also. So take care in that aspect lah. When things like that happen
with a male group at work and they laugh like monkeys, it helps to
keep a straight face, give a condescending smile, then they will
apologise afterwards. No point laughing with them just to fit in,
especially if the joke is at your expense. You're not a guy
remember?&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
What about other female colleagues, do they find him
offensive?&lt;br /&gt;
Or does this only happen to you?&lt;br /&gt;
If so, ask yourself is there a reason why you're the target?&lt;br /&gt;
Is there anything you can do to change that?&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Avoid joining the group for lunch too often and maintain a safe
distance for the time being and hang out with other colleagues
first.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
When someone asks you why you no longer join them as often, then
you can tell him or her the reason. Hopefully he or she will be the
one to relate the message and tell the male colleague
off.&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 28 Jun 2007 14:42:52 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:12:264039:6744098</guid>
      <author>jackdaniels</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>How do we deal with workplace harassment? replied by hisoka @ Thu, 28 Jun 2007 10:35:42 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by de_middle:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;each individual has their limits &amp;amp; if
TS has already mentioned abt her discomfort....that idiot ought to
stop &lt;img title="Evil or Very Mad" src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_evil.gif" alt=
"Evil or Very Mad" /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;i'll put it this way, if every one else has completely no
problems with it then while it would be nice and couteous of the
guy to stop, its not a requirement as its the TS being too
sensitive.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 28 Jun 2007 10:35:42 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:12:264039:6743262</guid>
      <author>hisoka</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>How do we deal with workplace harassment? replied by de_middle @ Thu, 28 Jun 2007 10:27:53 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by hisoka:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;up to now still dunno if its TS being too
sensitive or its the guy. afterall the other female colleague or
male ones don't seem to mind &lt;img title="Confused" src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_confused.gif" alt=
"Confused" /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;each individual has their limits &amp;amp; if TS has already
mentioned abt her discomfort....that idiot ought to stop
&lt;img title="Evil or Very Mad" src=
"Evil or Very Mad" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 28 Jun 2007 10:27:53 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:12:264039:6743245</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>How do we deal with workplace harassment? replied by hisoka @ Thu, 28 Jun 2007 10:19:46 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;up to now still dunno if its TS being too sensitive or its the
guy. afterall the other female colleague or male ones don't seem to
mind &lt;img title="Confused" src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_confused.gif" alt="Confused" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 28 Jun 2007 10:19:46 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:12:264039:6743228</guid>
      <author>hisoka</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>How do we deal with workplace harassment? replied by crazy monkey @ Thu, 28 Jun 2007 10:15:52 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by Knock_Knock:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;honestly, I really do not wish to repeat
that sexual remark. suffice to say it was about a very private body
part. &lt;img title="Evil or Very Mad" src=
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;jus ignore him stop toking to him at all after a while he will
stop. &lt;img title="Rolling Eyes" src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_rolleyes.gif" alt=
"Rolling Eyes" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 28 Jun 2007 10:15:52 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:12:264039:6743213</guid>
      <author>crazy monkey</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>How do we deal with workplace harassment? replied by de_middle @ Thu, 28 Jun 2007 10:02:32 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;this is the problem when pple dunno where to draw the
line.....such pple shouldn't even joke in the 1st place &lt;img title=
"Evil or Very Mad" src="/images/emoticons/classic/icon_evil.gif"
alt="Evil or Very Mad" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 28 Jun 2007 10:02:32 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:12:264039:6743157</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>How do we deal with workplace harassment? replied by AndrewPKYap @ Thu, 28 Jun 2007 08:51:39 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;BTW, if you are a guy... the one telling crude jokes is not
harassing you is he?&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
People can get carried away telling jokes but telling jokes like
someone said is also about bonding...&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
One day my boss told me... "you say this kind of things... she slap
you then you know..."&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
I told the boss, "Joking also cannot meh? Anyway this girl won't
one lah..." and we left it at that because the boss also knows that
that girl won't...&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 28 Jun 2007 08:51:39 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:12:264039:6742892</guid>
      <author>AndrewPKYap</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>How do we deal with workplace harassment? replied by DC+ @ Thu, 28 Jun 2007 06:38:47 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Me was in HR for a bit.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Usually he wont lose his job that easily. He will get a verbal or
written warning (up to three times). Unless of course he
molest/rape/or any other unacceptable behavior that constitutes
immediate suspension.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 28 Jun 2007 06:38:47 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:12:264039:6742801</guid>
      <author>DC+</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>How do we deal with workplace harassment? replied by viciouskitty74 @ Thu, 28 Jun 2007 00:35:14 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;I am curious as to how it was considered harrassment.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Telling crude jokes among collegues who dont mind are a matter of
bonding.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
If the crude joke was directed at TS, with specific mention of TS'
private sexual performance or with suggestion to be intimate with
TS himself.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Then you can safely consider it a harrassment.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
If he is merely continuing with the joke just to annoy you. With
the rest of the collegues knowing that it annoys you yet do not ask
that fella to stop.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Then its definitely your sensitivity level is higher then them and
they do not support you in the same group.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
You seriously has to consider walking away and stay away from them
if you cannot handle their kinda joke.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
And yes, talk to HR about it. They have a better legal knowledge as
what constitute as right or wrong kinda joke among
colllegues.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
You have to remember, you are not pressured to stay with that group
of collegues and joke with them if you are not comfortable with
them. They themselves should be more worried about how their image
will be if they continued to harrassed you or offer crude
unacceptable jokes..&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 28 Jun 2007 00:35:14 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:12:264039:6742059</guid>
      <author>viciouskitty74</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>How do we deal with workplace harassment? replied by SGpork @ Wed, 27 Jun 2007 23:50:23 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by DeadPoet:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;That is the main problem.&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;i think this is ok...&lt;br /&gt;
but everything should have a limit.But since a stop has been called
n he still goes on...&lt;br /&gt;
somethings wrong.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;img title="Rolling Eyes" src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_rolleyes.gif" alt="Rolling Eyes" /&gt;
      <pubDate>Wed, 27 Jun 2007 23:50:23 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:12:264039:6741827</guid>
      <author>SGpork</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>How do we deal with workplace harassment? replied by SGpork @ Wed, 27 Jun 2007 23:48:19 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;this is what happens...most are like that...getting more n more
bold until got not a issue anymore. warn him to stop still
refuse...then dont feel sorry for him..&lt;br /&gt;
he ask for it.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
      <pubDate>Wed, 27 Jun 2007 23:48:19 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:12:264039:6741818</guid>
      <author>SGpork</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>How do we deal with workplace harassment? replied by AndrewPKYap @ Wed, 27 Jun 2007 23:44:21 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;We are a group of fun colleagues, who often
joke openly; our range on jokes can be quite wide, from east to
west, north to south. Among us, there are males and females,
sometimes when the males made jokes that are tinted with sexual
elements, the females did not seem to mind and sometimes they join
in the fun to extend the jokes.&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Did the females mind and extend this particular joke or were
they aghast?&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
You could send you colleague an email and tell him formally that
you are unhappy with his crude jokes and "can he stop making crude
jokes?"&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
But try to maintain good relationships, especially in the office
where you have to see each other everyday and work together....&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 27 Jun 2007 23:44:21 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:12:264039:6741804</guid>
      <author>AndrewPKYap</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>How do we deal with workplace harassment? replied by DeadPoet @ Wed, 27 Jun 2007 23:38:02 +0800</title>
elements, &lt;span style="color: red;"&gt;the females did not seem to
mind and sometimes they join in the fun to extend the
jokes&lt;/span&gt;.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;That is the main problem.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 27 Jun 2007 23:38:02 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:12:264039:6741770</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>How do we deal with workplace harassment? replied by DeadPoet @ Wed, 27 Jun 2007 23:36:13 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;They are losers but they think they are very funny and cool.
Sooner or later they will get into trouble. &lt;img title=
"Rolling Eyes" src="/images/emoticons/classic/icon_rolleyes.gif"
alt="Rolling Eyes" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 27 Jun 2007 23:36:13 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:12:264039:6741761</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>How do we deal with workplace harassment? replied by Rock^Star @ Wed, 27 Jun 2007 23:33:04 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;honestly, I really do not wish to repeat
that sexual remark. suffice to say it was about a very private body
part. &lt;img title="Evil or Very Mad" src=
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Tell him off very sternly.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
If he says he's just joking, tell him that you think it's too crude
for you.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Then, carry on working with him as per normal. Be
professional.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
My $0.02 worth.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 27 Jun 2007 23:33:04 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:12:264039:6741743</guid>
      <author>Rock^Star</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>How do we deal with workplace harassment? replied by Knock_Knock @ Wed, 27 Jun 2007 23:21:46 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;honestly, I really do not wish to repeat that sexual remark.
suffice to say it was about a very private body part. &lt;img title=
"Evil or Very Mad" src="/images/emoticons/classic/icon_evil.gif"
alt="Evil or Very Mad" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 27 Jun 2007 23:21:46 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:12:264039:6741679</guid>
      <author>Knock_Knock</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>How do we deal with workplace harassment? replied by ispyyy @ Wed, 27 Jun 2007 23:19:06 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;"What should I do? "&lt;br /&gt;
Since all of u are joking, he wont treat the words that u say
seriously... But usually, if it is a girl that request to stop, the
guy will stop lah... if it is the guy that request to stop, the guy
will continue 1... lol ... u can do those points below :&lt;br /&gt;
1) Change topic&lt;br /&gt;
2) Suan him... And if people thinks that u r right, they will join
u...&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
But it is strongly not advisable to report to manager or hr... Coz,
all of yr collegues noe that it is a joking session... If u r the
girl, then, talk with yr other female collegues... See what they
think... Probably, can gang up together... If u r the guy, alamak,
come on lah...&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 27 Jun 2007 23:19:06 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:12:264039:6741658</guid>
      <author>ispyyy</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>How do we deal with workplace harassment? replied by BrUtUs @ Wed, 27 Jun 2007 23:15:28 +0800</title>
elements, the females did not seem to mind and sometimes they join
in the fun to extend the jokes.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
However recently there was a sexual remark passed by one of the
male colleague which I found it to be offensive, I asked him to
stop making such sexual jokes or remarks, but he did not seem to
want to quit. He continued making such jokes in my presence, and I
found it more and more irritating to be around him. I am even
considering reporting him to HR or to my manager. However I also
did consider that our relationship will be strained and we may not
be able to work together like before. And I am also a little
concerned that he may loose the job. What should I do?&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;tink no need to extent of report to HR... jz talk to him
personally... tell him u find it offensive... or tell ur female
peers abt it... let girl power do the job... or u jz let him mouth
off watever he wans n ignore him cos sooner or later he will also
grow tired of it... but wat dirty joke he said?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 27 Jun 2007 23:15:28 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:12:264039:6741640</guid>
      <author>BrUtUs</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>How do we deal with workplace harassment? replied by Rock^Star @ Wed, 27 Jun 2007 23:12:50 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;He said we are just joking for goodness
sake. Everyone else are making jokes.&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I mean what exactly he said that you took offence at?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 27 Jun 2007 23:12:50 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:12:264039:6741613</guid>
      <author>Rock^Star</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>How do we deal with workplace harassment? replied by Knock_Knock @ Wed, 27 Jun 2007 23:11:09 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by Rock^Star:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;What did he say?&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;He said we are just joking for goodness sake. Everyone else are
making jokes.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 27 Jun 2007 23:11:09 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:12:264039:6741602</guid>
      <author>Knock_Knock</author>
    </item>
  </channel>