<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom" xmlns:opensearch="http://a9.com/-/spec/opensearch/1.1/" version="2.0">
  <channel>
    <title>Recent Posts in 'old man at work' | sgForums.com</title>
    <link>http://sgforums.com/forums/12/topics/277534</link>
    <language>en-US</language>
    <ttl>60</ttl>
    <atom:link rel="search" type="application/opensearchdescription+xml" href="http://sgforums.com/open_search.xml"/>
    <description></description>
    <item>
      <title>old man at work replied by storywolf @ Tue, 04 Sep 2007 16:22:07 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Easy - try what my friend did - sudden he just stand up in the
middle and shout.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
"Please can we have no more shouting at each other, it it causing
me stress ... I am human - need some care and love, please kindly
do not stress me !!!"&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 04 Sep 2007 16:22:07 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:12:277534:7083644</guid>
      <author>storywolf</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>old man at work replied by RedizAlertz @ Tue, 04 Sep 2007 15:48:54 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Dear JD,&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
I can almost understand ur situation. I too, had similiar incident
a yr and a half ago. Similarity, he is oso a senior who happened to
b a mgr to where i work. We happen to hold the same position, but
as i was new to the area, i remain humble.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
I did not know when, where or how did i get on his
nerve..everything i do, he snapped at me, even to the extend of in
front of my staff. I took in all in with stride...not wantin to
create any scene nor makin him looked ugly. Until one fine morning,
he failed or I shld say, missed, doin his job properly..As a proper
procedure, I hav to write in our communication book &amp;amp; i swear,
i did not make it sound like it was HIS fault, in fact, i din even
bother to know who was the mgr-in-charge the previous nite. In my
opinion, if work is not properly done, i wll go to the supervisor,
who will in turn, make sure the staff will not b makin the same
mistake again.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The mgr, read the coms book &amp;amp; called upon me to have a
seat..There, he ranted on &amp;amp; on &amp;amp; his voice was gettin
louder..Again, i sat there, respectfully listened to him, but was
gettin intolerable..I held onto my tears. I hav staff around, it
was not right to cry..Then he got personal. I cldnt take it any
more, so i asked him if he was done, i din even bother to wait for
his ans, i walked off.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
I hide inside the toilet &amp;amp; released all. It was after some time
tat he peak into the toilet (common),saw me crying, showed little
signs of uneasiness. But he still ranted on (WTF!? I juz needed b
left alone!)..in the ranting, i got the msg tat he din want this
matter to blown up, juz to settle among us. (note: he din want our
head mgr to know abt tis). &amp;amp; I din. From then onwards, he was
kinder towards me..&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
I know urs might b slightly serious case than mine..but in my
opinion, even if the other party is takin it personal, we shld try
not to let tat gets into us. Instead, let's try to understand their
situation..We are so much younger &amp;amp; energetic + opportunities
in advancement is definately greater than the seniors/elders
collegues in our area..It's onli natural tat thy feel threatened,
&amp;amp; thus we get their harsh treatments..It's their way of hiding
their insecurities..&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
JD, tilt ur head to one side &amp;amp; look at the senerios again..u
might discover new things. All the best! ^^v&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 04 Sep 2007 15:48:54 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:12:277534:7083538</guid>
      <author>RedizAlertz</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>old man at work replied by jackdaniels @ Tue, 04 Sep 2007 13:05:04 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by jojobeach:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;JD,&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Be careful where you grow those testicles.&lt;br /&gt;
Don't want to look too obscene, ya ?&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Perhaps at the top left and right of your head might be cute.&lt;br /&gt;
You know, the Mickey Mousey look ? &lt;img title="Laughing" src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif" alt="Laughing" /&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Frankly, I don't really care even if you ingest me with
hypothermia now.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
I already look obscene when I work as well.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
I can go on and on but will let it ride because I don't deal with
estrogen very well.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Turkey after this. At least it's something to smile about.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Close the thread please thanks.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 04 Sep 2007 13:05:04 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:12:277534:7083012</guid>
      <author>jackdaniels</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>old man at work replied by jojobeach @ Tue, 04 Sep 2007 12:57:37 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;JD,&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Be careful where you grow those testicles.&lt;br /&gt;
Don't want to look too obscene, ya ?&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Perhaps at the top left and right of your head might be cute.&lt;br /&gt;
You know, the Mickey Mousey look ? &lt;img title="Laughing" src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif" alt="Laughing" /&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 04 Sep 2007 12:57:37 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:12:277534:7082988</guid>
      <author>jojobeach</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>old man at work replied by jackdaniels @ Tue, 04 Sep 2007 12:42:22 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Dear jojo and ordinary,&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Everything human is pathetic - Mark Twain&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Thanks for the advice given. I should be growing some testicles
since I've decided to major in a field filled with these people.
I've met nasty male colleagues before, but their nastiness was
always justified (one way or the other). I cannot figure out the
root of my conflict with Mr N, hence my frustration. My frustration
stems from having reviewed my work and realizing I did not have a
good shot to show for. It is not entirely his bad attitude. It is
his bad attitude and him getting in the way of my work.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
My point being, it is an important project. I showed up for work. I
realized I hadn't captured what I desired. I asked Mr N for a
possibilities of a set up. He promised me one. He didn't deliver.
He dismissed the entire set up. By end of the work day, he had the
nerve to congratulate me for having accomplished my "winning shot."
You get his double entendre. He knew I had nothing to show for.
Somebody stuffed a smelly sock and I had to swallow. You get the
drift. He is not some stupid old fool who gets a kick out of
screaming at women. He is mental. And has since devised an
effective method to get at me. I don't know what kick he gets out
of this. I just want to do my work and get out of this. I just want
to wiggle my way out of this without any drama.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
I have no time to devise new methods against him neither do I care
whether he is doing a good job or not. It is none of my business
and I'm not pounding the war drum. Leave the gun in the drawer
because there is no pot to be found.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Alright thanks guys for the advice. I think jojo is right about me
having to stand up for myself though. Not trying excessively hard
to come across as a nice person, but I've gotten into a lot of
needless trouble before. Am much more wary about being forthright
these days because I have a job I feel fulfilled in. It's not any
other crap job like it was before. Things have changed.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 04 Sep 2007 12:42:22 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:12:277534:7082952</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>old man at work replied by Master -_- @ Tue, 04 Sep 2007 12:18:42 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Don't let him step over your head. Sometimes, u need to cross
the protocol to get your point clear. Take notes of physical
contact (any kind) with him. Furnish it clearly with dates and
location. If he pepper you with abuse, take note of it also. Any
time u step on his tail, apologise to him and if he pursues that
matter, you go girl..HHNFLAWS &lt;img title="Laughing" src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif" alt="Laughing" /&gt;
&lt;img title="Laughing" src="/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif"
alt="Laughing" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 04 Sep 2007 12:18:42 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:12:277534:7082872</guid>
      <author>Master -_-</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>old man at work replied by ordinaryguy32 @ Tue, 04 Sep 2007 12:09:38 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by jojobeach:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;No harm disagreeing.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
However, it is best use in JD's context.&lt;br /&gt;
She ain't no criminal, and definitely no terrorist.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
True, that so many has done so in moments of weakness. And so has
many to achieve greatness.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
It is common to hear what one must not do unto others.&lt;br /&gt;
And what about, when others do unto you what you will not do unto
others ?&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Thank you.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In JD's context, I wouldn't recommend her treading on Mr N's toes
deliberately, like the latter did to her.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
But I agree that self defence is important, and that the line
between a defensive measure and an offensive measure is very
thin.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Like you say, JD needs to stand up to Mr. N's nonsense, as much as
she possibly could, to win in her own right. And she has every
right to celebrate his hopefully eventual demise.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
It takes someone of the make of Jesus Christ to forgive those who
nailed him on the cross. But such people are very rare. I am not
one of them, and it would be unreasonable of me to expect that of
people around me.&lt;br /&gt;
      <pubDate>Tue, 04 Sep 2007 12:09:38 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:12:277534:7082838</guid>
      <author>ordinaryguy32</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>old man at work replied by jojobeach @ Tue, 04 Sep 2007 11:53:15 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by ordinaryguy32:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;I don't agree on that. Because of that kind
of thinking, the human civilization has had countless, justifiable
in the eyes of the perpetuators, wars on the surface of the
Earth.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
But then, lots of people have done so in moments of
weaknesses.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In the book Emotional Intelligence, it was mentioned that 90% of
criminals, murderers and others, thought that they did the "right
thing".&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The upside is that most eastern and western philosophies and
religions basically say the same thing regarding this:&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Do to others what you want others to do unto you.&lt;br /&gt;
Don't do to others what you wish not others to do to
you.&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;No harm disagreeing.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
JD ain't no criminal, and definitely no terrorist.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
True, that so many has done so in moments of weakness. And so has
many to achieve greatness.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
It is common to hear what one must not do unto others.&lt;br /&gt;
And what about, when others do unto you what you will not do unto
others ?&lt;br /&gt;
      <pubDate>Tue, 04 Sep 2007 11:53:15 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:12:277534:7082840</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>old man at work replied by ordinaryguy32 @ Tue, 04 Sep 2007 11:42:58 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;Originally posted by jojobeach:&lt;br /&gt;
JD,&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Don't let age, color and gender intimidate you.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
No doubt, you have to respect his experience in his field of
work.&lt;br /&gt;
But remember, he is merely human.&lt;br /&gt;
He eats, poops, sleep, farts , snort like you and I do.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
You have a self imposed barrier that must be overcome before you
can step out with confidence and be at ease with yourself.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Don't hold your breath for him to fulfill his promises.&lt;br /&gt;
In a man's world, promises are made to be broken.&lt;br /&gt;
Promises are merely a matter of convenience.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
Sometimes, in the real world, the ends justifies the
means.&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
He's friendly with you now, because he needs to. Not that he really
wants to anyway.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Get your way, YOUR way. Never rely on others to get what you
need.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I don't agree on that. Because of that kind of thinking, the
human civilization has had countless, justifiable in the eyes of
the perpetuators, wars on the surface of the Earth.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
But then, lots of people have done so in moments of
weaknesses.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In the book Emotional Intelligence, it was mentioned that 90% of
criminals, murderers and others, thought that they did the "right
thing".&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The upside is that most eastern and western philosophies and
religions basically say the same thing regarding this:&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Do to others what you want others to do unto you.&lt;br /&gt;
Don't do to others what you wish not others to do to you.&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 04 Sep 2007 11:42:58 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:12:277534:7082712</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>old man at work replied by ordinaryguy32 @ Tue, 04 Sep 2007 11:27:14 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by jackdaniels:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;I can ignore his ranting and ravings. He no
longer rants and raves at me, only at others. At this point, he
resorts to being friendly with me in front of people, at the same
time, he promises me a shot, and it conveniently "slips his mind."
My work isn't done. He isn't being co operative. That is what
bothers me. It isn't the raving lunatic that bothers me. It's
knowing he stood in the way of my ability to do a proper job that
is upsetting.&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I see.&lt;br /&gt;
In this case, just keep doing what you have been doing well.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
I have been in your situation before.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Just dribble around him even if it takes longer. Keep your eyes on
the goal, and he would be just another obstacle, human or
otherwise, in your quest for tangible results.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Get the support and understanding of your immediate superior on the
situation, in an objective manner.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Unless the superior has his hands tied, he will gradually realize
what is the greatest liability in the situation, and will do what
is unpopular but perhaps necessary, that is to do some
substitutions.&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 04 Sep 2007 11:27:14 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:12:277534:7082670</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>old man at work replied by jojobeach @ Tue, 04 Sep 2007 10:31:29 +0800</title>
&lt;br /&gt;
Don't let age, color and gender intimidate you.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
No doubt, you have to respect his experience in his field of
work.&lt;br /&gt;
But remember, he is merely human.&lt;br /&gt;
He eats, poops, sleep, farts , snort like you and I do.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
You have a self imposed barrier that must be overcome before you
can step out with confidence and be at ease with yourself.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Don't hold your breath for him to fulfill his promises.&lt;br /&gt;
In a man's world, promises are made to be broken.&lt;br /&gt;
Promises are merely a matter of convenience.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Sometimes, in the real world, the ends justifies the means.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
He's friendly with you now, because he needs to. Not that he really
wants to anyway.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Get your way, YOUR way. Never rely on others to get what you
need.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 04 Sep 2007 10:31:29 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:12:277534:7082488</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>old man at work replied by ispyyy @ Tue, 04 Sep 2007 10:28:29 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;I do not noe wat is yr occupation or yr job scope... So, I
cannot comment on who is right or wrong...&lt;br /&gt;
But however, I can tell u tat these is working life... There are
times where we really do not noe wat yr seniors or yr boss are
thinking... Sometimes, they treat u very nice till u feel "huh???"
Sometimes, they freak u out till u are at the verge of crying...
But seriously, it takes time to understand what those people are
thinking... if u r inexperience, 3 weeks is definitely not enough
to understand what these people r thinking...&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
After, u have understand, u will noe what things will trigger him
or wat things wont trigger him... and just avoid those things... It
should not be a problem unless, u r one who wants the environment
to suit u rather than want yrself to suit the environment...&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
I m a guy... If I m in yr position except tat I m male, I will
observe wat habits he has... If I have the chance, I will just jio
him for a drink or guy's outing... Settle difference man to man
lor...&lt;br /&gt;
For gal, I dont noe lah...&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
And yr post is really very very long...&lt;br /&gt;
      <pubDate>Tue, 04 Sep 2007 10:28:29 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:12:277534:7082487</guid>
      <author>ispyyy</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>old man at work replied by jackdaniels @ Tue, 04 Sep 2007 09:58:40 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;JD,&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Mr N sounds like he's in a position of power to act like a sergeant
major, and then get away with it.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
He really has some self-esteem issues, the way I like to see
it.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
It's difficult to be confrontational, if you are meek by
nature.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
But can you perhaps just ignore all his rantings and ramblings, and
look at him like he's a overage spoilt toddler?&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
You know that his words, though hurting, are crap anyway.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
So the next time he rants at you in front of everyone again, just
roll your eyes and shake your head, like you would do to a
screaming toddler.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I can ignore his ranting and ravings. He no longer rants and
raves at me, only at others. At this point, he resorts to being
friendly with me in front of people, at the same time, he promises
me a shot, and it conveniently "slips his mind." My work isn't
done. He isn't being co operative. That is what bothers me. It
isn't the raving lunatic that bothers me. It's knowing he stood in
the way of my ability to do a proper job that is upsetting.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 04 Sep 2007 09:58:40 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:12:277534:7082361</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>old man at work replied by dragg @ Tue, 04 Sep 2007 09:19:27 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;as s holes are everywhere. its not just because of his
age.&lt;br /&gt;
      <pubDate>Tue, 04 Sep 2007 09:19:27 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:12:277534:7082284</guid>
      <author>dragg</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>old man at work replied by ordinaryguy32 @ Tue, 04 Sep 2007 09:15:40 +0800</title>
&lt;br /&gt;
Mr N sounds like he's in a position of power to act like a sergeant
major, and then get away with it.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
He really has some self-esteem issues, the way I like to see
it.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
It's difficult to be confrontational, if you are meek by
nature.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
But can you perhaps just ignore all his rantings and ramblings, and
look at him like he's a overage spoilt toddler?&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
You know that his words, though hurting, are crap anyway.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
So the next time he rants at you in front of everyone again, just
roll your eyes and shake your head, like you would do to a
screaming toddler.&lt;br /&gt;
      <pubDate>Tue, 04 Sep 2007 09:15:40 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:12:277534:7082279</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>old man at work replied by jackdaniels @ Tue, 04 Sep 2007 08:06:18 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;hi jojo,&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
funny enough, i was so in need of validation for the right move i
actually sat through the devil wears prada after seeing your
message (jd in dire need of an inkling here). double confirmed it
with some close friends, i am a pushover. at times i feel it's
asking a lot from me, standing up to a redneck twice my age in an
environment predominantly controlled by males. it is very
intimidating. maybe it's just me. i'm scared. but i'm not a kid
anymore. can't possibly cross my fingers and cower in a corner
waiting to be rescued. it's my job yep, it's time to grow some
balls and see what happens.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
i really appreciate the telling off.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
***&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
hi dailyfreegames,&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
i work for myself and value my relationship with this particular
company. it's only a matter of time before i come out on my own and
call my shots. but for now, the occasional humble pie is necessary.
me thinks i'm still young. ok maybe 24 is ancient. call me
traditional but i value the relationship. if i walk out on the job
because of this conflict, i'm probably not seeing the bigger
picture. i've quit on jobs i never gave a damn for. and quitting no
longer solves problems at this age. i'll walk when i can afford to.
this project will be over in 2 or 3 weeks' time. i'll turn my
clients down when i want to in the future.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
maybe this is a weakness in my personality i have to confront. like
myself, Mr N has been engaged for his services. i have a lot of
strong emotions towards Mr N now and it's beginning to grow. though
something tells me it isn't right to let it show no matter what
happens. i'm trying to weave my way through this without seeming
too affected. i do not want to be the girl who ran away crying
because she couldn't handle another bad ass.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
in terms of hierarchy i am not under his direct orders. i execute
independently and my work is reviewed by whoever hired me. so far
the feedback is encouraging and that cheers me. i just require
colleagues like Mr N to co operate. Mr N comes into play because he
is a manager who moves and shakes people. He works with his mouth
and head you see and is probably superior if you factor in age,
color and height. that's about it. people of a lower level are
usually polite. they do not stir trouble and i minimize contact.
even then i notice opportunists among that pool, trying to take
over my job from time to time. i had some trouble keeping them at
bay or trying to keep them in their place. but for now i'll leave
that alone because they tire me too. it's a whole other set of
issue. and if they will take my job they will take my job. if they
can't, they can't.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
it's like running with a pack of wolves, trying to keep alive with
some higher being shooting fire darts at my buttocks, all the while
having the right eye on the real prize.&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 04 Sep 2007 08:06:18 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:12:277534:7082173</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>old man at work replied by AndrewPKYap @ Tue, 04 Sep 2007 07:53:20 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Many things are all in the mind. I usually use their weaknesses
against them or simply ignore such people. They are pitiful small
people, why would you waste you precious thoughts thinking about
them?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 04 Sep 2007 07:53:20 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:12:277534:7082135</guid>
      <author>AndrewPKYap</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>old man at work replied by DailyFreeGames.com @ Tue, 04 Sep 2007 02:50:20 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;In all honesty, I don&#8217;t know why you&#8217;re still with this company.
I may not understand something but I seriously would quit. You see,
we have choices, if you believe in yourself, if you want to do
something, you&#8217;ll find a way. However, if you do not want to do
something, you&#8217;ll find an excuse. For me, there is no excuse
working with such a guy, especially if he is of a higher rank than
me, if lower ranking than I may still tolerate because as a
superior means I have to be more matured and wiser, but if the guy
is higher ranked than me, it&#8217;s very hard to deal with such people.
If your skill set is marketable, you can try change job or start
out on your own, that way you choose your customers.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 04 Sep 2007 02:50:20 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:12:277534:7081894</guid>
      <author>DailyFreeGames.com</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>old man at work replied by jojobeach @ Mon, 03 Sep 2007 23:31:22 +0800</title>
&lt;br /&gt;
Being calm does not mean you have to be meek.&lt;br /&gt;
Being calm means keeping your composure.&lt;br /&gt;
Being calm means you don't fly off your handle and start a cat
fight with Mr N.&lt;br /&gt;
Being calm means you can kindly reject Mr N's demand with
confidence.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Like saying " No thank you, I'm perfectly comfy where I am."&lt;br /&gt;
or saying " I'll have to ignore that request, you're not trying to
bully me are you?"&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Or ignoring Mr N when he shouts your name.&lt;br /&gt;
and telling him later when he comes across the room to talk to
you&lt;br /&gt;
" Sir, please don't shout across the room, it's
embarrassing."&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Is he so powerful that you actually allow him to stand in the way
of getting your desired shot ?&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
I mean, seriously girl, if you value your work so much.&lt;br /&gt;
You could have told him to get out of your way.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Have you watched the movie " The devil wears prada" ?&lt;br /&gt;
If you haven't, go rent it.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Yes, it seems you are quite a pushover, it ain't easy to be
otherwise.&lt;br /&gt;
Especially when you have low self confidence/esteem.&lt;br /&gt;
And extremely so, when you are the one who's afraid of losing your
job.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Try to be firm.&lt;br /&gt;
You ARE a professional , right ?&lt;br /&gt;
Now stop behaving like a rookie, people will stop treating you like
one.&lt;br /&gt;
      <pubDate>Mon, 03 Sep 2007 23:31:22 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:12:277534:7081571</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>old man at work replied by r0mE_27 @ Mon, 03 Sep 2007 21:29:43 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;say that Mr N molestered you. LOL. &lt;img title="Very Happy" src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_biggrin.gif" alt=
"Very Happy" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 03 Sep 2007 21:29:43 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:12:277534:7080019</guid>
      <author>r0mE_27</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>old man at work replied by jackdaniels @ Mon, 03 Sep 2007 21:27:02 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Hi jojo,&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
I've been calm and focused. Others were probably surprised I did
not stand up for myself when I was told to get out the second time
round. All I did was, yeah, apologise for it and go away like a
fool. Didn't think there was a need to pick a fight or yell at him
just to prove any point. Afterwards when I think about it, I feel
like a pushover. Why I didn't tell Mr N to go screw himself I have
no idea. Am I being a sad pushover?&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Whether colleagues are judging Mr N or myself doesn't matter. What
mattered was, I missed my shot. At the back of my mind I know it
means nothing even if my boss sympathises with me, it means nothing
even if it's painfully obvious Mr N is being difficult. What
matters is, I missed my shot. I have no winning work to show. I'm
in no position to say, "That's Mr N's fault. He stood in the way of
my angle. Whatever it is, this reflects on my overall
ability.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
My boss has commented I seem afraid Mr N would show up from a
secret corner and start screaming at me. Then he laughs at me. I
told him I probably developed a phobia and still he laughs. Is he
mocking at me or does he see a lot of cuteness and humour in my
situation, I no longer give a damn. He is right. I am trying so
damn hard not to get in anybody's way it's fast becoming
pathetic.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
ordinary,&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
I'd think being the only female within our immediate working
environment makes me the least possible target. With everybody else
watching out for me and being helpful, it reflects very badly on Mr
N whenever he picks on me. He's performed that outrageous tactic
instead. In return I'm just polite. If I'm just polite, no one can
fault me for being the sh*t stirrer. When he cannot be bothered to
acknowledge me, I take it he's invisible too. When his counterparts
strike a conversation with me or start offering me advice and tips
in between work, he'll ask them whether they're still part of this
production. Mr N makes snide remarks.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
When another local colleague helped me out last week at work, for a
few hours, he became Mr N's primary target. Mr N was constantly
putting his ass on the line. It felt a little like being in boiler
room. Not only do I have to rely on goodwill from others, I'm
getting others into trouble as well. I don't want to be the person
they are watching out for just because I am a troublesome female. I
don't want special treatment. This shouldn't have to be the
way.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
walesa,&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Thanks for your advice, when I return to work in a few day's time,
I'll reinforce that and be very cool and clear in the head. Though
I very much doubt by keeping calm will mean he's going to leave me
alone. If he isn't leaving me alone when the top dogs are watching
my ass, he will never leave me alone.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
When I ignore his presence and not make any eye contact, he yells
my name from across the room just to wish me a good morning. He has
resorted to getting at me on the sly since he cannot get at me in
the open. He promises me a shot in a face to face discussion then
he never delivers when the time arrives. I'm tempted to be
sarcastic now. I'm even tempted to hire hit man.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Would like to avoid an argument at all costs because if it comes to
a point when they have to choose between Mr N and myself, I'm the
one who is getting the boot. The replaceable one. Numerous people
have gotten fired for unknown reasons already. I believe there is a
reason why despite his mental problems, Mr N is still walking the
streets scot free.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The best surprise I can receive when I show up for work the next
day, is to find out Mr N has gotten fired. That would be stellar.
That would remain in the far fetched corner of my dreams.&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 03 Sep 2007 21:27:02 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:12:277534:7080037</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>old man at work replied by walesa @ Mon, 03 Sep 2007 16:00:49 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Actually, what you mentioned is particularly prevalent in Asia -
it's just one of those things where people, regardless of their
inability, are accorded respect on the basis of seniority.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
That said, it also goes without saying the sod you've painted is a
deeply insecure chap who resorts to those antics to obtain
validation for his self-worth. Ultimately, playing on their
insecurity is the best thing you could do.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
For such folks, the best thing you could often do against them is
to stand up to them and let them know you're in charge of your
affairs - by that, I do not mean seeking an affront or a
confrontation. However, the need for you to stand up for yourself
and send out a clear signal that you aren't one to be messed about
(well, if you're at fault, then obviously it's a different matter)
is pressing even if it's just to let him know he isn't going to get
his way. After all, when he eventually realises that, he will
pretty much leave you alone - the worst thing you could do is dance
to his tune and give in to his unreasonable demands...&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 03 Sep 2007 16:00:49 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:12:277534:7078610</guid>
      <author>walesa</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>old man at work replied by jojobeach @ Mon, 03 Sep 2007 15:36:54 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;One outrageous tactic you can try though is
this : one fine morning, praise him in front of everyone "you look
great today" as sincerely as possible. If he is thrown into
bewilderment, then it's really a mid-life crisis.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I wouldn't recommend this.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Good chance it will backfire, and make JD look like a suck up
fool.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
My take would be, to just ignore him until he goes back to where he
belongs.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
If JD is really good in her work. People will respect her for
it.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Respect cannot be earned by trying to be witty.&lt;br /&gt;
      <pubDate>Mon, 03 Sep 2007 15:36:54 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:12:277534:7078478</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>old man at work replied by oOprinceOo @ Mon, 03 Sep 2007 15:31:43 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;jackdaniels,&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
One possibility is that Mr N is undergoing through a midlife crisis
(as all men do, at certain points in their life). There could be
101 reasons why. Maybe he's physically not up to it anymore, maybe
he has had a screwed-up relationship with his teenage son, maybe
women no longer find him attractive, maybe the culture shock is
getting to him...&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
As a woman among loads of men, you are the easiest target.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Nobody stood up for you, because they have not the guts. But rest
assured, nobody can be on his side either.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
He has looked stupider by the day, everytime he stood beside you.
Hence it has become personal.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Don't be confrontational with him, if you can help it. He's
spoiling for a fight, and losing his dignity all over again.
There's no need to be like him.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
jojo's advice is what I would give you too...&lt;br /&gt;
Stay calm and focus on your work...&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
One outrageous tactic you can try though is this : one fine
morning, praise him in front of everyone "you look great today" as
sincerely as possible. If he is thrown into bewilderment, then it's
really a mid-life crisis.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;yeps i fully agree&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 03 Sep 2007 15:31:43 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:12:277534:7078445</guid>
      <author>oOprinceOo</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>old man at work replied by ordinaryguy32 @ Mon, 03 Sep 2007 15:10:48 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;jackdaniels,&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
One possibility is that Mr N is undergoing through a midlife crisis
(as all men do, at certain points in their life). There could be
101 reasons why. Maybe he's physically not up to it anymore, maybe
he has had a screwed-up relationship with his teenage son, maybe
women no longer find him attractive, maybe the culture shock is
getting to him...&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
As a woman among loads of men, you are the easiest target.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Nobody stood up for you, because they have not the guts. But rest
assured, nobody can be on his side either.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
He has looked stupider by the day, everytime he stood beside you.
Hence it has become personal.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Don't be confrontational with him, if you can help it. He's
spoiling for a fight, and losing his dignity all over again.
There's no need to be like him.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
jojo's advice is what I would give you too...&lt;br /&gt;
Stay calm and focus on your work...&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
One outrageous tactic you can try though is this : one fine
morning, praise him in front of everyone "you look great today" as
sincerely as possible. If he is thrown into bewilderment, then it's
really a mid-life crisis.&lt;br /&gt;
      <pubDate>Mon, 03 Sep 2007 15:10:48 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:12:277534:7078329</guid>