hmmOriginally posted by roundandround:back then I had no idea how it works. and money wasn't exactly the first thing in my mind.
Whenever I ask about it, which is on very rare occasions they gave me the impression that I'm money minded. But to me, it seems that my parent is hiding something.
ya gud point.Originally posted by Fatum:thinking of inheritance even before your surviving parent conks out ! ....
*ptui ! .....
what kind of child are you ? ...
if you're not thinking about the money, then don't even ask ! ...
that hurts ... and i sympathize with you ... but then again, what is rightfully yours ? ....Originally posted by roundandround:i was kicked out of the house because the surviving one says i resembles and reminds the surviving one about the deceased. 5 years down the road i'm just chucked aside while the surviving one is enjoying a high life with a rich partner. (even though the survivng one is already rich!)
i work to pay for my education and seek shelter with my bf. i've been miserable for the past few years and now i just want what is rightfully mine.
one is already dead! the loving one! wtf!Originally posted by cApitaland:ya gud point.
ur parents haven die den you start thinking of inheritance...
unless your case is like a cinderella case where the surviving parent treats you nicely in front of the deceased. but behind treat like kns.. then maybe theres a case for you.
Is the surviving parent your biological parent ?Originally posted by roundandround:i'm 23 this year, only daughter, unmarried. one of my parent died 5 yrs ago without a will. there are assets amounting to millions. how will it be distributed? property, insurance, cash, cpf, etc? it's been 5 years and I have not received anything. Not asking the surviving parent. Not on good terms.
maybe not rightfully.. lawfully?Originally posted by Fatum:that hurts ... and i sympathize with you ... but then again, what is rightfully yours ? ....
think about that question a bit before answering ...
Yar. Half to the survive spouse, another half to alive children.Originally posted by gigabyte14:did you get a lawyer?
make it you and ur other parent half half lor
and why did you wait for 5 years?
and can i marry you?![]()
oh, is it really how it works over there? hmm...over here, the surviving spouse gets all of it. dependents only get when there is an indication in the will.Originally posted by Darkness_hacker99:Yar. Half to the survive spouse, another half to alive children.
it is never right to covet something which is not yours ....Originally posted by roundandround:maybe not rightfully.. lawfully?
i don't know. Something that can ease off the burdens on me now, which I wouldn't have if no one died....
then go find a lawyerOriginally posted by roundandround:i was kicked out of the house because the surviving one says i resembles and reminds the surviving one about the deceased. 5 years down the road i'm just chucked aside while the surviving one is enjoying a high life with a rich partner. (even though the survivng one is already rich!)
i work to pay for my education and seek shelter with my bf. i've been miserable for the past few years and now i just want what is rightfully mine.
This is the correct answer since your parent died intestate. If you are the only child, you should be getting 50%.Originally posted by Master -_-:Since your parent died without a will, he/she died inestate and the assets wil be distributed according to the rules of inestacy as backed by the Interstate Succession Act provided u meet their provisions.
In this case, your late parents assets are distributed as follows..
1/2 goes to your father/mother
the rest goes to you or split amongst your siblings..
Dun worry..engage a lawyer as the Executor of that Estate...u will sure get money..however, if you have siblings...your remaining parent will have the discretion to allocate the remaining half of the assets in whichever ratio he/she wants...so if you have 2 siblings and he/she doesnt like u..he/she can allocate the remaining assets 1:4:5 with the "1" being u and you or your lawyer can't do anything about it since it's by law...
Now you sound like you have really led a very sheltered, lucky life. You have no idea the kind of lives some kids lead out there.Originally posted by Fatum:it is never right to covet something which is not yours ....
to me, inheritance is something rightfully yours only in law ... that is to say ... no one owes you anything ! ...
I do not think parents have to answer to their children about inheritance, nor do I think it right for children to question their inheritance, no matter what the circumstances .... yes, parents have an obligation to cherish and love their children, but children do not have the right to question that love, even when that is lacking ....
sides, if you hate your surviving parent so much (how can anyone hate one's parents is beyond me, sorry) ... then be independent, live your own life, neh ? ....
death without a will, all properties automatically goes to the surviving spouse, not the children ... don't expect anything ...
in anycase, lots of the circumstances about your situation remains unclear ... so pardon my natural first reaction ....