12 Oct, 02:51PM in sunny Singapore!
Home Aunt Agony

die die must convert is it? is it?

Subscribe to die die must convert is it? is it? 52 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    133 posts since Dec '07
    • if wanna marry into a muslim family, must convert to muslim isit? no other alternatives?
      die die must convert?
      bery troublesome sia...

anyone encounter tis or smth familiar? wan ur thoughts. pls share.

what is dont convert, what will happen go jail Question

1,282 posts since Oct '03
    • stoned to death if u are in the middle east.

dont want to convert then run away to another country.

257 posts since Aug '07
    • Originally posted by RatedR:
      if wanna marry into a muslim family, must convert to muslim isit? no other alternatives?
      die die must convert?
      bery troublesome sia...

Nah it's because the father gotta lead the family.

There are couples though who stick to their own religion. Wife christian and
      husband muslim. They don't make religion an issue.

Edited by Gato1001 08 Jan `08, 10:42PM
    9,728 posts since Apr '06
    11,534 posts since Apr '03
    4,563 posts since Oct '99
    • you are the wife or husband to be?

My friend, a guy, a muslim married a Catholic and registered in ROM and legally married.

but ROMM (registry of muslim marriage) asked him to come to their office and tell him to ask wife to convert.

2 weeks later, he just told ROMM that he told his wife to convert but she don't want. ROMM also suck thumb never do anything.

they are still married as of now.

3,003 posts since Jul '07
    9,728 posts since Apr '06
    17,997 posts since Jul '06
    32,569 posts since Mar '05
      if wanna marry into a muslim family, must convert to muslim isit? no other alternatives?
      die die must convert?
      bery troublesome sia...

nope, in singapore not a must to convert. but the religious fanatics esp in the family might have some issues

1,720 posts since Mar '07
    • Originally posted by Ponders:
      you are the wife or husband to be?

My friend, a guy, a muslim married a Catholic and registered in ROM and legally married.

but ROMM (registry of muslim marriage) asked him to come to their office and tell him to ask wife to convert.

2 weeks later, he just told ROMM that he told his wife to convert but she don't want. ROMM also suck thumb never do anything.

they are still married as of now.

How about non-Muslim husband and Muslim wife? Must the husband convert? I know in Malaysia and Middle Eastern, a couple will not be legally recognised as married if one is a Muslim whereas the other is not.

Not fair! If I happened to marry a Muslim lady, I will refuse to convert.

2,938 posts since Oct '02
    • Originally posted by hisoka:
      nope, in singapore not a must to convert. but the religious fanatics esp in the family might have some issues

x2. singapore wont do anything, its juz the family or the muslim community because they r strict on the converting part, esp if xx religion male, muslim woman, wan to continue the family line i guess.

135 posts since Nov '07
    • ... its a standard procedure. how can husband and wife live with each other with completely different beliefs?

yes its a must for the husband or wife to convert. but they convert also is convert for God,not just solely because of his/her love.

before anyone question me, im mixed.i have a chinese dad and a malay mom.
      but my dad was already on conversion to Islam b4 he met my mom.

my dad's side,so many husband buddhists than their wife christian/catholic, SO MANY issues they argue over.fight fight fight. father tell son be buddhist.mother tell son be catholic.both teach different teaching. poor kids.ive seen it.it will be a huge conflict. christmas mother wanna bring son to church, but dad ask son to go temple offer joss sticks hope for a better new year. sigh. really pity my cousins.

why u guys scared to circumcise? go google know more about circumcision la,its not cut cut cut la.its cut the excess skin only... so many doctors and angmohs circumcise, it really is a problem in our asian society i guess,esp us chinese haha [im circumcised la].

for the case muslims marry catholic wives. well,the muslim knows its wrong.the catholic/christian knows it wrong as well. what to do. RED light not supposed to cross,some ppl still cross,cannot say anything ba.

• [quote]Originally posted by buffered:
      [\quote]

kinda disagree because i feel that quarrels are issues that are disputed, but i feel as long as they have agreements and make decisions well, there should not be a problem, only the community that has a problem, seen as a deviant act which defies moral values not to convert.

• Originally posted by buffered:
      ... its a standard procedure. how can husband and wife live with each other with completely different beliefs?

yes its a must for the husband or wife to convert. but they convert also is convert for God,not just solely because of his/her love.

Quite true. Both why can't it be the Muslim convert to his/her spouse' religion?

I know it is a sin under Islamic law to convert out of Islam. Similarly, for some other religions, it is also a sin to convert out. Then how?

Let say if I have a Muslim wife. I wont force her to convert but definitely I wont convert to Muslim for her sake. Cos non-Muslims must also be considerate to their family and relatives' feeling too.

And the same go for Christainity, Hinduism etc...

133 posts since Dec '07
    • isnt it the same like saying they cant have tattoo or drink. but u still see ppl doing it Question

5,102 posts since Sep '06
    • ya i encountered once le..
      as my ex was a mly..

even though we get along really well,
      her family(her dad) insist me on converting while her mum was ok wif it if i nv convert..

but den her dad was the head of e family..
      so as u said, die die mz convert..

in e end, we broke up le..
      Crying or Very sad

but i tink diff families got diff culture bah

1,215 posts since Jun '03
      isnt it the same like saying they cant have tattoo or drink. but u still see ppl doing it Question

deviant acts, always be people breaking tradition. but only if u can accept anot lor.

4,063 posts since Apr '07
      die die must convert?
      bery troublesome sia...

In Asia, You don't want to convert, then very hard to marry her lah.

Because if she marries you, then her whole family will disown her.

I know of one couple... one muslim one catholic. Falls in love and married.
      Both sides family totally cut off contact from them.
      They migrated elsewhere live their own life lor.
      Got kids but didn't force them on religious issues lah.
      So one kid married a indian and the other one is dating a am buddhist.

4,063 posts since Apr '07
    • Originally posted by Spartans:
      If I happened to marry a Muslim lady, I will refuse to convert.

One golden piece of advise for you.

"Never say never."

1,744 posts since Feb '06
    • Is it halal for a muslim to kiss another person's lips that has chewed Maling brand luncheon meat?

To a devout muslim, this is a serious matter.

• Pink Leftie with child bearing hips and fertile eggs
    20,017 posts since Dec '99
    • Originally posted by jojobeach:
      One golden piece of advise for you.

"Never say never."

I use the term " I will refuse to convert", hence giving myself some room to backtrack. Very Happy

That's why I dun use the world 'never'.

11,534 posts since Apr '03
Please Login or Signup to reply.