07 Jul, 12:05PM in sunny Singapore!
Home Aunt Agony

NS or continue schooling?

Subscribe to NS or continue schooling? 66 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    1,728 posts since Jan '08
    • I'm seeking advice for a friend of mine. He's 17 this year & is retained in Sec 3 for the 2nd time. His principal, school counsellor & teachers recommended that he join the army in April (?) as he is not doing well in studies. This is his 3rd year as a Sec 3 NA student leh, what should he do?

Join the army or continue for studying for the next 2 years & graduate when he is 19?
      Then after NS, then how? Private?

3,707 posts since Apr '05
    3,293 posts since Dec '04
    • if he cannot study wat for continuing...go army take a break from sch..come out still can go study one

• But won't that be too long?
      By that time, everyone around him would've gotten their diplomas or A levels cert

44,200 posts since Apr '05
    • Originally posted by stellazio:

But after NS do what without an O or N level cert.

Exactly.

• HOT!!
    30,854 posts since Mar '05
    • more importantly what does he plan to do?lets not talk about ns first. assuming no ns what does he want to do. continue study for O’s? go out and work? etc?

2,685 posts since Nov '07
    • i also know ppl ite nvr complete in ns. n another guy stopped sch at sec 3 went to ns. better 4 them.

• Originally posted by hisoka:

more importantly what does he plan to do?lets not talk about ns first. assuming no ns what does he want to do. continue study for O’s? go out and work? etc?

I asked him what he plans to do after Os, he said:

"Go poly lah"

-.- Go poly at 20..

44,200 posts since Apr '05

Even he sign on in NS also can't even becoming WO.

Yar, then how? unhappy.png

7,730 posts since Apr '06
    • just continue studying

my sch got 1 boy retain at sec3 for i tink 3 years oso, he oso continue to study

tis year sec 4

19,166 posts since Apr '06
    986 posts since Feb '08
    • school is better cause u can have fun learning and meeting new friends............if he joins army then its not good cause its very dangerous

• ♡ ♡ ♡ ♡
    48,692 posts since Sep '03
    • Let him get an 'O' level cert. At least he can consider signing on. And also, he's working very hard now right?

361 posts since May '07
    • 1) can i ask why is he retaining in his sec 2? Due to playing non stop? refuse to go to school? Or he try very hard but do not do well.

2) ask him where does his interest lies? if it is not study why not let him go to army to rough him up a bit.

I have seen cases where kids after going thorugh army score As... Cos they do not want to be look down by people and wanted to get a better life.

3) age is not a factor when it comes to study. Is better to get a good result later in life rather then stuck with a super poor result for the rest of his life.

150 posts since Jan '08
    • army does bring a change to a lot of ppl. Suffering in army, and all the extremes actually make some ppl think and look again at their own life.

if he really cant cope with his studies atm, why nt go to the army first, maybe after NS, he might find the reason to study.

5,654 posts since Aug '06
    839 posts since Sep '04
    5,410 posts since Jun '04

But after NS do what without an O or N level cert.

u are right! i got O and after that joined NS. after ORD i having hard times to find a job

• Originally posted by Guardx:

1) can i ask why is he retaining in his sec 2? Due to playing non stop? refuse to go to school? Or he try very hard but do not do well.

2) ask him where does his interest lies? if it is not study why not let him go to army to rough him up a bit.

I have seen cases where kids after going thorugh army score As... Cos they do not want to be look down by people and wanted to get a better life.

3) age is not a factor when it comes to study. Is better to get a good result later in life rather then stuck with a super poor result for the rest of his life.

He retained in *Sec 3 twice because he simply does not have any interest in studying. Now he is showing improvement but there comes the option of just joining the army instead of continuing to study.

He's not stupid or slow. Just lacking motivation. I think that he can improve much more, if he continues schooling.

4,094 posts since Sep '05
    • I think shud stardie first. Complete O's or at least N level. Then to NS and end up poly. Its never to late to stardie.

• Originally posted by cApitaland:

I think shud stardie first. Complete O's or at least N level. Then to NS and end up poly. Its never to late to stardie.

That's what I'm thinking. But I'm just afraid that history might just repeat itself.

After all, he's in Sec 3 for the third year already.

4,094 posts since Sep '05
    • can can. my senior repeated his O's. went to VJC. den repeated there again. so like i think can make it wan la. i think you see your friend is can study type or not first.

• Originally posted by cApitaland:

can can. my senior repeated his O's. went to VJC. den repeated there again. so like i think can make it wan la. i think you see your friend is can study type or not first.

Lol, he is smart, but not the study type, how? @@

Please Login or Signup to reply.