<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom" xmlns:opensearch="http://a9.com/-/spec/opensearch/1.1/" version="2.0">
  <channel>
    <title>Recent Posts in 'NS or continue schooling?' | sgForums.com</title>
    <link>http://nature.sgforums.com/forums/12/topics/308618</link>
    <language>en-US</language>
    <ttl>60</ttl>
    <atom:link rel="search" type="application/opensearchdescription+xml" href="http://nature.sgforums.com/open_search.xml"/>
    <description></description>
    <item>
      <title>NS or continue schooling? replied by the_fallen @ Sun, 02 Mar 2008 13:01:24 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by ^tamago^:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;
&lt;p&gt;NS as a private or corporal, u can't save much unless u stay in
all the way and eat cookhouse.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And your brain will be rusted by all that men talk, army talk,
saikang and exercises... unless you're an officer.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;after being inside army for quite some time..&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;went through couple of exercies with them..&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;all i can see is that only the young 2LT are being ordered here
and there..it makes no difference lor..&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;only during inside the camp, they at least can have some form of
command..but sad to say..although they are the most junior
officers, they are none the less the smallest in terms of rank
compared to the seafood restaurants in the big camps..&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;ever seen a warrant scolding 2LT?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;i've seen it lor..haha..&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;the benefits for a NSF officer is only the compensation of
$1000+ salary only..other than that..there's nothing to worth it to
be an officier..&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;even if wanna take leave as an officer..having negative
superiors above them..it's kinda hard to clear their leave..&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;inside the army..all i can comment or rather advice..study to
the max before going into army..go for the shortest method to get
honours/ MBA before going inside..&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;to do that..you have to be rich la..&lt;br /&gt;
so far...i've seen a NS personnel having the rank of a major - 1
crab..which surprised me..at least that's when your duties and
knowledge are put to a test..&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 02 Mar 2008 13:01:24 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">nature.sgforums.com:12:308618:7898308</guid>
      <author>the_fallen</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>NS or continue schooling? replied by gigabyte14 @ Sun, 02 Mar 2008 03:09:47 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;continue lor&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;u dunwan him to think "aiya, if only i studied more" in 10 years
time rite?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 02 Mar 2008 03:09:47 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">nature.sgforums.com:12:308618:7897916</guid>
      <author>gigabyte14</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>NS or continue schooling? replied by Evangel @ Sun, 02 Mar 2008 03:07:14 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Why study if he has no interest? He can be a chef, set up a
business.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Ask him what are his interests. Specialise in the interest.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;NS will show him the reality of paper qualifications. But most
often, successful people dont depend on their certificates. It is
their own independent thinking and determination that counts.
&lt;img src="/images/emoticons/classic/icon_biggrin.gif" alt=
"icon_biggrin.gif" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 02 Mar 2008 03:07:14 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">nature.sgforums.com:12:308618:7897914</guid>
      <author>Evangel</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>NS or continue schooling? replied by popikachu @ Sat, 01 Mar 2008 12:02:53 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by Yuki~!:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Okay, I talked to him today about all the advice I've gotten
from you guys so far&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;amp; Honestly, he doesn't really seem as worked up about it as
me -.-&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Sigh, for now, he's still studying. But I think he really has no
credibility when it comes to making these kind of decisions for
himself&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Looks like his parents are sending him into NS..&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Unless&amp;nbsp;I try giving them a call (?) zZzZzZzZzZz&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;it's good that at least thier parents know what to do...&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 01 Mar 2008 12:02:53 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">nature.sgforums.com:12:308618:7896029</guid>
      <author>popikachu</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>NS or continue schooling? replied by Yuki~! @ Sat, 01 Mar 2008 08:09:12 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Okay, I talked to him today about all the advice I've gotten
from you guys so far&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;amp; Honestly, he doesn't really seem as worked up about it as
me -.-&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Sigh, for now, he's still studying. But I think he really has no
credibility when it comes to making these kind of decisions for
himself&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Looks like his parents are sending him into NS..&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Unless&amp;nbsp;I try giving them a call (?) zZzZzZzZzZz&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 01 Mar 2008 08:09:12 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">nature.sgforums.com:12:308618:7895759</guid>
      <author>Yuki~!</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>NS or continue schooling? replied by kenizaton @ Wed, 27 Feb 2008 03:25:34 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;continue schooling if he got hope in his studies..go NS if he
got no hope for studies :)&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 27 Feb 2008 03:25:34 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">nature.sgforums.com:12:308618:7888068</guid>
      <author>kenizaton</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>NS or continue schooling? replied by rikki @ Tue, 26 Feb 2008 23:49:13 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Tell him to give it a shot, even if his results could not admit
him into poly in the future (Assuming).&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Definitely, if he at least attempted studying . I am sure he would
be able to get into ITE and from there he can learn some
skills.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
I have this friend who did not study well. He went to sign on with
the navy, EVERYDAY i would hear him complaining about his
"job".&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 26 Feb 2008 23:49:13 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">nature.sgforums.com:12:308618:7887386</guid>
      <author>rikki</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>NS or continue schooling? replied by mr_sotong @ Tue, 26 Feb 2008 22:36:57 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
I asked him what he plans to do after Os, he said:&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;"Go poly lah"&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;-.- Go poly at 20..&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;i start my poly education at the age of 21..&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;some of my classmate start at 25..&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 26 Feb 2008 22:36:57 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">nature.sgforums.com:12:308618:7887016</guid>
      <author>mr_sotong</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>NS or continue schooling? replied by vulpes macrotis mutica @ Tue, 26 Feb 2008 02:55:48 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;NS first, then he will know what he want in life&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 26 Feb 2008 02:55:48 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">nature.sgforums.com:12:308618:7885189</guid>
      <author>vulpes macrotis mutica</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>NS or continue schooling? replied by FBI @ Tue, 26 Feb 2008 02:40:07 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by pierre^^:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;NS ftw&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;maybe he will be more mature and start to tink abt his
future&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;span style="color: #339966;"&gt;agree on this part..&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 26 Feb 2008 02:40:07 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">nature.sgforums.com:12:308618:7885173</guid>
      <author>FBI</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>NS or continue schooling? replied by Isis @ Tue, 26 Feb 2008 02:09:42 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;What does he want ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;It all boils down to him .. to put in the effort to excel in
whatever he wants to do in life.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 26 Feb 2008 02:09:42 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">nature.sgforums.com:12:308618:7885071</guid>
      <author>Isis</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>NS or continue schooling? replied by Xcert @ Tue, 26 Feb 2008 00:39:39 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;I'm seeking advice for a friend of mine. He's 17 this year &amp;amp;
is retained in Sec 3 for the 2nd time. His principal, school
counsellor &amp;amp; teachers recommended that he join the army
in&amp;nbsp;April (?)&amp;nbsp;as he&amp;nbsp;is not doing well in studies.
This is his 3rd year as a Sec 3 NA&amp;nbsp;student leh, what should he
do?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Join the army or continue for studying for the next 2 years
&amp;amp; graduate when he is 19?&lt;br /&gt;
Then after NS, then how? Private?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;go NS 1st...more life experience might help him decide wat he
really wants to do.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 26 Feb 2008 00:39:39 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">nature.sgforums.com:12:308618:7884820</guid>
      <author>Xcert</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>NS or continue schooling? replied by caleb_chiang @ Tue, 26 Feb 2008 00:05:13 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;If your friend leaves... he's not gonna get a cert that easy. If
your friend still have a chance in his studies, at least get an O
cert first!&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Then decide whether to go for dip or NS first.&lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/kde-3.5.8/KMess-Cartoon/wink.png" alt=
"wink.png" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 26 Feb 2008 00:05:13 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">nature.sgforums.com:12:308618:7884657</guid>
      <author>caleb_chiang</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>NS or continue schooling? replied by hisoka @ Mon, 25 Feb 2008 23:48:12 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;does he have determination to study? if he dun want to study, he
keep repeating also no use de&#8230;..........&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 25 Feb 2008 23:48:12 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">nature.sgforums.com:12:308618:7884620</guid>
      <author>hisoka</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>NS or continue schooling? replied by ah-qian @ Mon, 25 Feb 2008 23:47:06 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;confirm don get him into private school.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;private school requires more discipline and he like that sure
cannot make it one .&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;tink he go for n level then go ite.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;ITE cert oso quite good, recent report says that most can find
job with it. and oso u can further ur studies in polys for diploma
if u really wan a good pay job&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 25 Feb 2008 23:47:06 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">nature.sgforums.com:12:308618:7884616</guid>
      <author>ah-qian</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>NS or continue schooling? replied by magical_wen @ Mon, 25 Feb 2008 10:48:45 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;gangerster ah?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;if laidat ask him dun waste his time lar..&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;go NS, come out seegot wad job do lar.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;repeat repeat like got alot time laidat..&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 25 Feb 2008 10:48:45 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">nature.sgforums.com:12:308618:7882708</guid>
      <author>magical_wen</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>NS or continue schooling? replied by Hello Kitty @ Mon, 25 Feb 2008 08:58:11 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;tro face leh, y u wan&amp;nbsp;frd such ppl.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;let dem hv no frd, c they stil wan to play play play anot.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;bt oso gd to hv such ppl ard lah.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;if eberione wans to b lky den who cm sweep the floor.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 25 Feb 2008 08:58:11 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">nature.sgforums.com:12:308618:7882494</guid>
      <author>Hello Kitty</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>NS or continue schooling? replied by ^tamago^ @ Mon, 25 Feb 2008 08:53:29 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;NS as a private or corporal, u can't save much unless u stay in
all the way and eat cookhouse.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And your brain will be rusted by all that men talk, army talk,
saikang and exercises... unless you're an officer.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 25 Feb 2008 08:53:29 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">nature.sgforums.com:12:308618:7882477</guid>
      <author>^tamago^</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>NS or continue schooling? replied by ^tamago^ @ Mon, 25 Feb 2008 08:52:04 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
He retained in *Sec 3 twice because he simply does not have any
interest in studying. Now he is showing improvement but there comes
the option of just joining the army instead of continuing to
study.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;He's not stupid or slow. Just lacking motivation. I think that
he can improve much more, if he continues schooling.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;My motivation came 'cos my&amp;nbsp;ex was there.... but that's cos
her parents say I'm not from one of the&amp;nbsp;top schools! &lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_rolleyes.gif" alt=
"icon_rolleyes.gif" /&gt;&amp;nbsp;Then I worked doubly hard and went to a
top college after O's. After that is zzz though. &lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_sad.gif" alt="icon_sad.gif" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 25 Feb 2008 08:52:04 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">nature.sgforums.com:12:308618:7882474</guid>
      <author>^tamago^</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>NS or continue schooling? replied by xavier1979 @ Sun, 24 Feb 2008 22:26:02 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Think he should finish up his NS liability first. In the
meantime, he can earn some money, and save up a part of it.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;After ORD, if he still desire, with the money he saved, he can
&lt;p&gt;My 2 cents.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 24 Feb 2008 22:26:02 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">nature.sgforums.com:12:308618:7881674</guid>
      <author>xavier1979</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>NS or continue schooling? replied by hao_hao @ Sun, 24 Feb 2008 22:16:25 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;go NS first .. after tat come out den study again&amp;nbsp; ... cos
now since he don wanna study .. no point forcing him&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 24 Feb 2008 22:16:25 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">nature.sgforums.com:12:308618:7881640</guid>
      <author>hao_hao</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>NS or continue schooling? replied by popikachu @ Sun, 24 Feb 2008 21:50:42 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;If he has woken up and willing to study, then continue to
study...&lt;br /&gt;
If not, let NS wake him up...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;He he want to continue to study, well a retainee isn't that bad
either...&lt;br /&gt;
I has a friend who stuck in sec 3 for 2 years as well...&lt;br /&gt;
He buck up suddenly and this year is in sec 4... hmm i dun really
know him wel but i can see he isn't that bad in his study...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Still, going to NS should be the last choice...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And, a N lvl cert is a lot easier then a O lvl cert... A N lvl
cert isn't that bad either... At least some school are still
willing to take you in. ITE&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Nope, ITE isn't that bad...&lt;br /&gt;
You can still go to poly after ITE...&lt;br /&gt;
I have a friend who took this path too...&lt;br /&gt;
Well his life aren't that mess up either...&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 24 Feb 2008 21:50:42 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">nature.sgforums.com:12:308618:7881560</guid>
      <author>popikachu</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>NS or continue schooling? replied by Yuki~! @ Sun, 24 Feb 2008 20:11:08 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Okay. Thanks for the replies &lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/kde-3.5.8/greggman.com/smile.png" alt=
"smile.png" /&gt;&amp;nbsp;I'll tell him &amp;amp; his parents.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 24 Feb 2008 20:11:08 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">nature.sgforums.com:12:308618:7881262</guid>
      <author>Yuki~!</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>NS or continue schooling? replied by HyuugaNeji @ Sun, 24 Feb 2008 20:05:04 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Go NS discipline himself first.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 24 Feb 2008 20:05:04 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">nature.sgforums.com:12:308618:7881233</guid>
      <author>HyuugaNeji</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>NS or continue schooling? replied by the_fallen @ Sun, 24 Feb 2008 20:02:45 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by yuko-ogura:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;true that brains are not totally un-utilised.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;however my mind became stale (i was from a slack vocation) as it
grew accustomed to obeying superiors' instructions , similar
situation for my frens who're in combat counterparts.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;studying Os during NS for slack vocation?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;i find it tough.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;it takes determination to even bother to flip a book to read
after a day's work(unless ur an avid reader)..let alone study for
exams. my clerks who worked from 8 to 5 retook Os during NS and