-
-
What's the best pathway a person could go after serving NS with onli o lvl qualification(failed maths)
1. Enrol in private institution eg. mdis,informatics
2. Enrol in private institution eg. mdis,informatics and find a part time job
3. Waste a year to retake maths as a private candidate to enter poly
4. Waste a year to retake maths as a private candidate to enter poly and find a part time job
5. Just work
-
-
-
Originally posted by AhJun:
What's the best pathway a person could go after serving NS with onli o lvl qualification(failed maths)
4. Waste a year to retake maths as a private candidate to enter poly and find a part time job
5. Just work
All that you mentioned are not approprate, you should sign on in SAF and take partime A math.
-
-
-
the most impt thing is know what u want to do in life, of course you have to be sure your good at that (field)
not anyhow pick a course and enrol
no 'best pathway', maybe this is the singaporean's mindset.

Depends what you wanna dowhile retaking maths, you can go and work to earn some $$$ to pay sch fees thats meant for later use
-
-
-
but the problem is off track from maths for so long..i think its impossible to restart it again. since poly dun offer mature entry and some private institutions do..is it better to enrol in private institutions immediately?? from what i know...mature entry dun require work experience either. juz 21 years old and above and certain secondary sch experience. so besides informatics/mdis, what other institutions r gd in sg?
-
-
-
hmmm Many years ago I also fail O level.
I took a full time job as Admin Assistant and I retake my maths and english. Both fail D7.
After retake I still got Both D7. I wanna go into design course in poly.
And I go study designing at Lasalle which is also good. Informatics and MDIS dun sounds good to me. I think SIM, SMA, PSB Academy also better ba.
I think u find afull job to work also. got working experience for your future resume. after retake O level can job hop to high prospect and at the same time with experience
-
-
-
5. Just work
You've already seal your fate when you used the word 'Waste'.
-
-
-
ah Jun..retaking maths means retaking the whole of O lvl examinations..nt jus the subj maths alone.
if u can afford it, i suggest gg into a private institution to work on a diploma..and if u dun find working a chore, why not work a part-time job at the same time?
as to wad ur future has in store for u, wait till u get ur dip then decide. its too early to say anything.
-
-
-
Ah Jun,
You can try SIM/MDIS certificate level for O level holders.
Once you have the certificate you can proceed to do their diploma level courses.. and subsequently.. you can go for degree if you obtained good results.
They will give you bridging class and examination if you do not have your O maths to justify entry.
But if I am not wrong.. they have a minimum age requirement and some amount of working experience.
I suggest you go down to the customer service counter and speak to the customer service .. bring along all your certifications.
Both institution runs part-time and full time course. So it depends on your financial ability too.. If your parents cannot afford it.. you can always work full time and study part-time, this way.. you get your cert AND clock your working experience. Tho.. it will mean discipline and hard work and plenty of sacrifice on your part.. can you do it ?
Edited by jojobeach 19 Mar `08, 10:18AM
-
-
-
huh u mean mature entry of 21 years old still require maths?? i dun think so cos i see there state onli nid sec sch experience. working experience also no nid unless going for bachelor/master i think
We are not enrollment officers.
Why are you asking this here ? You should be going down to the schools to make enquiries directly.
If you have no legs then give a call to them and ask very difficult meh ?
Havn't start already so lazy.. cham liao lor.
My friend came from a broken family. Also did very badly for her "o" maths.
After O she worked full time for several years for her savings.
Then enrolled in SIM to take part time cert course I think 1 year.
Then part time 2 years take diploma. I think that was when she ask me to help her do some bridging subjects, cannot remember it was a while ago.
Then went studies overseas in Uni. Not bad can skip first year or was given some module credits.
Now she running her own department.. going for her MBA liao.
But she is very motivated, very resourceful and very hard working one.
If you can also be like her.. then perhaps this is viable for you lor.
Edited by jojobeach 20 Mar `08, 12:20AM
-