<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom" xmlns:opensearch="http://a9.com/-/spec/opensearch/1.1/" version="2.0">
  <channel>
    <title>Recent Posts in 'education' | sgForums.com</title>
    <link>http://sgforums.com/forums/12/topics/311258</link>
    <language>en-US</language>
    <ttl>60</ttl>
    <atom:link rel="search" type="application/opensearchdescription+xml" href="http://sgforums.com/open_search.xml"/>
    <description></description>
    <item>
      <title>education replied by guaiboiboi @ Mon, 24 Mar 2008 10:17:21 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by gigabyte14:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;
&lt;p&gt;it'll be the 3rd year aka 5th semester of poly after the
holidays, and my accumulated gpa is only about 2.5&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;and my dad threw the final grenade: "if you're going a private
university, you will receive no sponsership of the school fees from
me"&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;how? how? how?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;this freaking studies delimma has never affected me before,
until now&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;i really need advices, and help&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;really nobody i can turn to now&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;HELP&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;hmm still got another semester try your best lo can mean can .
lo got poly cert good enough already wad?i ite cert only......
since everyone i heard want to improve which is good..&lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/kde-3.5.8/KMess-Cartoon/smile.png" alt=
"smile.png" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 24 Mar 2008 10:17:21 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:12:311258:7958383</guid>
      <author>guaiboiboi</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>education replied by FirePig @ Sat, 22 Mar 2008 22:57:56 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;1) gpa below 2 also can go in most sim courses la.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;2) Need money? can just borrow from bank.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;It all depends how determined you are to continue studying.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 22 Mar 2008 22:57:56 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:12:311258:7954869</guid>
      <author>FirePig</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>education replied by BenBenDeZhu @ Sat, 22 Mar 2008 22:54:53 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;edited.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;the website so gay 1&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;hyperlinking also got problem&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;btw may i know what course you're taking now?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;and also, what is advanced standing?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #0000ff;"&gt;&lt;span style=
"color: #000000;"&gt;Bachelor of Science (Honours) in Information
Systems and Management&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;my gpa sux to the core lor but i still get in &lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/kde-3.5.8/redones/tongue.png" alt=
"tongue.png" /&gt;. is the uni u applying to decides if they wan to
accept you not sim&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;advanced standing is u can exempt some subjects if u already
learn them in poly depends on how well u do on those modules&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;btw ppl tend to mix up sim &amp;amp; unisim, maybe can trick yur
father &lt;img src="/images/emoticons/kde-3.5.8/redones/tongue.png"
alt="tongue.png" /&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;aniway the business degree by uol is quite tough if u come from
a technical background, majority of the subjects is soft science
like sociology &amp;amp; mgt. the uow IT degree is purely technical bah
but i duno how they teach&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 22 Mar 2008 22:54:53 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:12:311258:7954865</guid>
      <author>BenBenDeZhu</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>education replied by thoreldan @ Sat, 22 Mar 2008 09:36:42 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;what's wrong with working fulltime and financing your own
part-time studies?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;
adult&amp;nbsp;liao&amp;nbsp;still&amp;nbsp;want&amp;nbsp;to&amp;nbsp;depend&amp;nbsp;on&amp;nbsp;papa&amp;nbsp;mama??&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 22 Mar 2008 09:36:42 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:12:311258:7953487</guid>
      <author>thoreldan</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>education replied by fairlady_xoxo @ Sat, 22 Mar 2008 09:17:50 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;errr...last sem very hard to get gpa 3 also....alternative
is...work and earn money to sponser yourself into uni...&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 22 Mar 2008 09:17:50 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:12:311258:7953454</guid>
      <author>fairlady_xoxo</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>education replied by stellazio @ Sat, 22 Mar 2008 05:06:51 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;try to con him with SIM then.&lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/kde-3.5.8/KMess-Cartoon/teeth.png" alt=
"teeth.png" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 22 Mar 2008 05:06:51 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:12:311258:7953323</guid>
      <author>stellazio</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>education replied by elementalangel @ Sat, 22 Mar 2008 05:03:36 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;lol.. my mum sees my results.. then she told me "u are going to
a private university"... hopoefully godblesses u and u will get to
a govt one&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 22 Mar 2008 05:03:36 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:12:311258:7953322</guid>
      <author>elementalangel</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>education replied by cApitaland @ Sat, 22 Mar 2008 02:29:10 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;cappy, u leh?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;not going uni?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;i still haf to clear year 2. i gt attachment AND fyp. and after
tht i got ns. then after that i got to serve bond. then can enter
uni. hahaa.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;uni of cos i goin la. so now i start to maintain gpa oledi.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 22 Mar 2008 02:29:10 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:12:311258:7953196</guid>
      <author>cApitaland</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>education replied by gigabyte14 @ Sat, 22 Mar 2008 02:09:03 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by cApitaland:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;giga i dunno how to help u except study hard. you could think of
taking out a student loan maybe from the university you want to
enrol in but i guess you still need good grades. work part
time.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;maybe after serving ns you consider signing on to earn a bit of
income if cannt find job. then work first study later.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;cappy, u leh?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;not going uni?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 22 Mar 2008 02:09:03 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:12:311258:7953160</guid>
      <author>gigabyte14</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>education replied by gigabyte14 @ Sat, 22 Mar 2008 02:08:14 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by BenBenDeZhu:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
unisim &amp;amp; sim are two different entities though they under the
same group, the govt grant is only for unisim not sim. unisim =
local degrees. sim = overseas degrees. the part about 2 yrs exp for
unisim is also correct.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;the link you gave us only show the list of degrees avaliable not
the degrees u interested in.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;me in sim uol&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;edited.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;the website so gay 1&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;hyperlinking also got problem&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;btw may i know what course you're taking now?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;and also, what is advanced standing?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 22 Mar 2008 02:08:14 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:12:311258:7953158</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>education replied by BenBenDeZhu @ Sat, 22 Mar 2008 01:44:29 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by Gackt247:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I heard on the radio today. The government CAN sponsor up to 40%
of your fees at UniSim. I emphasize "CAN". It is not "WILL".&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Still got time to push the grades up la.. but muz be perfectly
zai all the way le.. jiayou giga..&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
unisim &amp;amp; sim are two different entities though they under the
same group, the govt grant is only for unisim not sim. unisim =
local degrees. sim = overseas degrees. the part about 2 yrs exp for
unisim is also correct.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;the link you gave us only show the list of degrees avaliable not
the degrees u interested in.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;me in sim uol&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 22 Mar 2008 01:44:29 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:12:311258:7953128</guid>
      <author>BenBenDeZhu</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>education replied by cApitaland @ Sat, 22 Mar 2008 00:27:59 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;giga i dunno how to help u except study hard. you could think of
taking out a student loan maybe from the university you want to
enrol in but i guess you still need good grades. work part
time.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;maybe after serving ns you consider signing on to earn a bit of
income if cannt find job. then work first study later.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 22 Mar 2008 00:27:59 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:12:311258:7952920</guid>
      <author>cApitaland</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>education replied by gigabyte14 @ Sat, 22 Mar 2008 00:13:57 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by 798:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;try sim? they have part time course n it is afterall local uni
even though the fee is expensive.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;btw 798, what degree/diploma did you go for?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;and people who graduated from any universities in singapore,
give me some tips and stuffs too, ok?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 22 Mar 2008 00:13:57 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:12:311258:7952876</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>education replied by gigabyte14 @ Sat, 22 Mar 2008 00:12:25 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by caleb_chiang:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Then don't go university lor...&lt;img src=
"teeth.png" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;cannot la, i dun have that entreupreneurship skills and
experience like the diploma holders in sg&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 22 Mar 2008 00:12:25 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:12:311258:7952874</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>education replied by gigabyte14 @ Sat, 22 Mar 2008 00:11:30 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;btw, if 2.5 gpa hor, can go to this? i gathered a bit of
interest in this&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp; &lt;a href=
"http://www1.sim.edu.sg/sge/pub/pgm/sge_pub_pgm_list.cfm?mnuID=29&amp;amp;amp;ID=73&amp;amp;amp;ID=73"
rel="nofollow"&gt;Bachelor of Science (Honours) in Business -
Full-time/Part-time&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;and this&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=
"http://www1.sim.edu.sg/sge/pub/pgm/sge_pub_pgm_list.cfm?mnuID=29&amp;amp;amp;ID=231"
rel="nofollow"&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;a href=
"http://www1.sim.edu.sg/sge/pub/pgm/sge_pub_pgm_list.cfm?mnuID=29&amp;amp;amp;ID=231&amp;amp;amp;ID=231"
rel="nofollow"&gt;Bachelor of Information Technology (Computing) -
Part-time&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;me in this course in poly&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=
"http://www.np.edu.sg/ict/courses/fulltime/mbs/Pages/mbs.aspx" rel=
"nofollow"&gt;http://www.np.edu.sg/ict/courses/fulltime/mbs/Pages/mbs.aspx&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;do i get the advanced standing 2 years? and what is advanced
standing? i read google, also cannot understand&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;and with low gpa, do SIM mind?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;and if it's part time, what time and when do i attend class
1?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;seriously need help from the people who have more knowledge from
these, thanks in advance!&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Sat, 22 Mar 2008 00:11:30 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:12:311258:7952870</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>education replied by caleb_chiang @ Fri, 21 Mar 2008 23:56:35 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Then don't go university lor...&lt;img src=
"teeth.png" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 21 Mar 2008 23:56:35 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:12:311258:7952840</guid>
      <author>caleb_chiang</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>education replied by onlooker123 @ Fri, 21 Mar 2008 23:54:01 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Work hard.&amp;nbsp; Very hard.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 21 Mar 2008 23:54:01 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:12:311258:7952833</guid>
      <author>onlooker123</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>education replied by rainhawk87 @ Wed, 19 Mar 2008 22:51:51 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;hi TS,&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;same grade as u gpa 2.5 hmm this year also last year liao&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;go NS first, think later if u are sg&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Wed, 19 Mar 2008 22:51:51 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:12:311258:7948008</guid>
      <author>rainhawk87</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>education replied by 798 @ Wed, 19 Mar 2008 16:01:06 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;try sim? they have part time course n it is afterall local uni
even though the fee is expensive.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 19 Mar 2008 16:01:06 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:12:311258:7946943</guid>
      <author>798</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>education replied by Chris1988 @ Wed, 19 Mar 2008 11:53:39 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by FirePig:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Serving army is considered 2 years experience. In fact, you can
even start studying at your NS's first year. By the time you ORD,
you would be in your second/third year of studies already.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
how do you study during NS? you have to stay in-camp don't you?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;do we have the time to?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 19 Mar 2008 11:53:39 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:12:311258:7946400</guid>
      <author>Chris1988</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>education replied by FirePig @ Wed, 19 Mar 2008 11:47:03 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by Dark Honour:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;UniSim courses are part-time by the way.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;They require 2 years working experience.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Went there the other day for its open house.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Serving army is considered 2 years experience. In fact, you can
even start studying at your NS's first year. By the time you ORD,
you would be in your second/third year of studies already.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 19 Mar 2008 11:47:03 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:12:311258:7946384</guid>
      <author>FirePig</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>education replied by ispyyy @ Wed, 19 Mar 2008 11:44:03 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Finish your NS first lah ... then say lor...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Many things will change during your 2 yrs of NS&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;u will change, yr parent will change n ......&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Wed, 19 Mar 2008 11:44:03 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:12:311258:7946381</guid>
      <author>ispyyy</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>education replied by Ed11790 @ Wed, 19 Mar 2008 09:24:41 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;make ur own way up to college&#8230;......&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 19 Mar 2008 09:24:41 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:12:311258:7946094</guid>
      <author>Ed11790</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>education replied by gLc @ Wed, 19 Mar 2008 09:23:30 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;yea giga, just take a loan from the bank, work part time also to
help facilitate your income.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 19 Mar 2008 09:23:30 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:12:311258:7946091</guid>
      <author>gLc</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>education replied by Dark Honour @ Wed, 19 Mar 2008 03:27:18 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;UniSim courses are part-time by the way.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;They require 2 years working experience.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Went there the other day for its open house.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 19 Mar 2008 03:27:18 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:12:311258:7945771</guid>
      <author>Dark Honour</author>
    </item>
  </channel>
</rss>