13 May, 11:31PM in sunny Singapore!
Home Aunt Agony

About friends...

Subscribe to About friends... 20 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    12 posts since Jan '08
    • Realised my social circle is getting smaller. Hard to maintain contact wif friends esp if they are busy wif their own lives and they have also found their new grp of frens, thus gradually drifting apart and losing contact.

1)Want to give them a ''miss u'' call but find it quite wierd. Will they think that i am a loner and might say ''why is this person calling me after 2-3 yrs of losing contact. We dun have much in common now...''

2) Want to jio them out for dinner or smth but always nt free or have plans already

3)Tried toking to them on msn but nvr reply sometimes. Realised nth much to say le. I always start off wif ''how's life'' and the standard responses are like ''fine'', ''ok lah, as usual''.

Do friends come and go in life? I wonder to myself sometimes. Those that i usually see nowadays are mostly my colleagues and of course, 3-4 close frens. Social life is definitely diminishing nowadays. So my qn is how does one maintain contact wif frens esp when most are passive? Secondly, how to be popular among ppl coz its always me who initiate topics and seldom ppl come find me:(

591 posts since Jul '05
    98 posts since Mar '08
    • Originally posted by ultimatenolifer:

Realised my social circle is getting smaller. Hard to maintain contact wif friends esp if they are busy wif their own lives and they have also found their new grp of frens, thus gradually drifting apart and losing contact.

1)Want to give them a ''miss u'' call but find it quite wierd. Will they think that i am a loner and might say ''why is this person calling me after 2-3 yrs of losing contact. We dun have much in common now...''

- Not exactly. If you have common topics to talk about, at least it couldn't turn out awkward.What i could do, is send occasional humourous sms to tell them that they are rememebered.

2)Tried toking to them on msn but nvr reply sometimes. Realised nth much to say le. I always start off wif ''how's life'' and the standard responses are like ''fine'', ''ok lah, as usual''.

- Working life is really tiring. Don't expect too much sometime.

Do friends come and go in life? I wonder to myself sometimes. Those that i usually see nowadays are mostly my colleagues and of course, 3-4 close frens. Social life is definitely diminishing nowadays. So my qn is how does one maintain contact wif frens esp when most are passive? Secondly, how to be popular among ppl coz its always me who initiate topics and seldom ppl come find me:(

- Yes. Friends or lifewise, people come and go. There is a renewal friendship cycle. For friendship that remain dormant for years, can be resparked again. As you move on from another stage of life, you will also meet new people and make new friends.

It always take two to play a game of badminton. If the receiver does not want to continue, then you shouldn't waste too much energy and time on it. How to be popular ? I think having the confidence and sincereity is very important. At the end of the day,  just be yourself.

3,967 posts since Sep '05
    • maybe you sell yourself too much. you gotta learn how to tease you know. be thankful that you have at least 3-4 good friends whom you can rely on.

5,946 posts since Aug '02
    3,394 posts since Aug '07
    138 posts since Dec '07
    • In that case, you shall make new frens, frens do come and go... be grateful you have 3-4 close frens, treasure them... next time when they're married and have children, don't know got time for you or not...

984 posts since Feb '08
    • as u start growing up and start working then u will lose some of ur friends…...........prob because of no time to chat with them

6,785 posts since Apr '06
    416 posts since Mar '08
    • 3-4 good friends enough already .

i think thats the common number of friends anyone has.

Unless ur famous.

Btw if u got a lot of those hi - bye friends also no use -.-

46 posts since Mar '07
    • yup. face it, friends come and go in life. during the time of friendship, it might feel like you guys are gonna be friends for life. but thats might not be the case.

we all walk through this journey of life alone. but its the people we meet along the way that keeps us company. some might choose another path from you at some point or some might just fall behind. but there will always be someone walking by your side as your friend and every once in awhile, someone new will come along. so just suck it up and accept it.

77 posts since Feb '08
    • same here..

I will meet friends, get close, then become distant again after we embarked upon our own paths... regardless of how close we were before.

haven't had a friend who will stick for long so far

509 posts since Feb '08
    • It's sad but true that friends do come and go... It's not that easy to find one close friend who will stick to u for life..

The only way is to find more new friends and I think ur old friends are making new friends themselves too..

The most is have a get-together session with old classmates or friends lor..

183 posts since Sep '06
    • Originally posted by ultimatenolifer:

Realised my social circle is getting smaller. Hard to maintain contact wif friends esp if they are busy wif their own lives and they have also found their new grp of frens, thus gradually drifting apart and losing contact.

2) Want to jio them out for dinner or smth but always nt free or have plans already

3)Tried toking to them on msn but nvr reply sometimes. Realised nth much to say le. I always start off wif ''how's life'' and the standard responses are like ''fine'', ''ok lah, as usual''.

me often go class outing have only a few good friends.. go out sometime also me dun go out alot and sociallise although i am quite ok la sociable 1.. everything is money ... go out awhile $30 see movie,makan,play lan/arcade plus never work somemore.... so me just at home play game go out abit sociallise with friends..

yes i think friend come and go when they move on ns,other school,work,marry have children etc. get busy with their life le.......smile.png

420 posts since Mar '07
    • Most friends come and go .. U will have diff circle of friend at diff phrase of your life.. Those who stay are usually those who u should really cherish.. Everyone got their own circle of friends and life so it realli take effort to keep in contact with.

Example for me .. I got 2 very good friends and both of them are my primary school friends.. We took effort to stay in contact with each other. I do keep in contacts with my ITE, sec sch and few friends whom i know when clubbing. So dun be sad ya..

4,179 posts since Sep '06
    • Originally posted by elementalangel:

organise class gatherings =D

Sad to say, but the truth is that 90% of the class won't come. My sec sch class even straight after O levels, 40% of our class already not coming for class gatherings, let alone 3-4yrs. icon_lol.gif

3,553 posts since Aug '07
    • Find a gf and u will not be lonely anymore. hehe..

frrreeenn. Always come amd go. Only best fren will stick to u la.. other normal fren just sometimes only meet. Some ppl just dont bother u.. even though u try to make the contact with them. u know ? U know ??

2 posts since Mar '08
    • Originally posted by Zarks:

Find a gf and u will not be lonely anymore. hehe..

frrreeenn. Always come amd go. Only best fren will stick to u la.. other normal fren just sometimes only meet. Some ppl just dont bother u.. even though u try to make the contact with them. u know ? U know ??

And friends have their right to their own choice. Respect and eventually accept the choice. Though it could be an unfortunate loss. However, as the nature law dicates, the world will go on and everyone will have to get on with their life well again.

Jazho

Edited by Jazho 31 Mar `08, 10:44PM
    39 posts since Feb '08
    • its good that u still have a few good frens wif u. the rest.. just dun bother abt them. throw them away. they definitely do not wan to hang ard wif u animore. however busy a person is, if the person is looking forward to meeting u up, he/she will certainly find time to meet up. tts wad i think, bt if u still wan to revive ur "dying" frenship.. then go ahead.

2 posts since Mar '08
    • Originally posted by DarkCrown:

its good that u still have a few good frens wif u. the rest.. just dun bother abt them. throw them away. they definitely do not wan to hang ard wif u animore. however busy a person is, if the person is looking forward to meeting u up, he/she will certainly find time to meet up. tts wad i think, bt if u still wan to revive ur "dying" frenship.. then go ahead.

i have to agreed with u darkcrown.

Please Login or Signup to reply.