Consider private schools.
now cut-off points for psychology courses are around 10. U need to work really really hard.
Private O --> Poly route you referring to yar?
Tell me more about grades. :)
The easiest subjects @ O level I can suggest to you are...
English
Mother Tongue
E Math
Science(Chemistry, Biology/Physics)
Combine Humanities( Social Studies, Geography/History)
Principles of Accounting.
Actually it all depend on individual. :)
There are a few institutions which conducts lessons for Private O Level candidates.
BMC Academy
MDIS
Many more~
By the way, I am one of the moderators from Homework Forum, if you have any other enquiries related to education/homework/etc, you're most welcome to post any questions. My team of moderators and I will do our best to help and offer our knowledge.
You can go poly after ur ite ,
only if u manage to get 3.5 and above for ur gpa.
The courses you want all very popular one leh. Psychology and community services is around 8 COP for 2008 JAE, somemore you still need to go through degree in Uni and all to become a real psychologist. Diploma holder can only become social worker inside the drama serial "å¦‚ä½•å¯¹ä½ è¯´" those kind. And you chose those business-related courses, combined humanies/pure humanities is a must.
Here's a reference of JAE 2008 COP: http://www.polytechnic.edu.sg/jaeappeal2008/Courses.aspx.
All the best!
Originally posted by colourfulsmile:i wana take O levels. but i am a normal tech student and i know that its hard.but ITE doesnt have course i want, except office skills (tourism). but i am afraid that i cant get into poly with that.
Can anyone recommend me which subjects and sch to take? at least 5 subjects to get into a local poly right? english and maths is a must. what about others that u all can recommend?
i have got 3 common courses i want when i look thru all the polys.
1) Psychology and community services
2) Psychology Studies3) Tourism and Resort Management
4) Leisure and Resort Management
5) Hositality and Tourism
6) Hotel and Hospitality Management
7) Hospitality and Resort ManagementEight) Mass Communication
9) Media and Communication10) Law and Management
i am more into Psychology. need advice now.
psychology need masters to practice. i did hotel before. communications need strong foundation in eng. what r your strengths? not too sure abt law & mgmt. with a poly dip in law & mgmt can work as law clerk? unless u really want to be a lawyer u need to study further. good luck.
dip is just like any other cert unless you wanna go into a specific industry with the relevant cert... else you can simply do any dip and apply for any general job....![]()
haha all the course in poly dat u mentioned veri hard to get in OK...
be prepared dat u cannt go into any of dat...
those are hot courses lor.... :l
if you want to get in, get average LESS than 2 for every subjects.
psychology and community services this year cop is 10. and its a really hot course. how i know? im in pcs!
private Os are hard la. u tend to take time for granted and forget to study
the law one can only let u be an assistant of the lawyer, not sure of the word to call it.
Yar. Cut-off Point(COP) must be about 8 or lesser.
Out of the 5 Poly in Singapore, RP's tourism and hospitality course is the easiest to get into.
its v hard, u have to think carefully. I have some NA friends retake 2 times still cannot make it. U better work extra hard.
You should look for a private school that offers you straightaway a course in tourism or pyschology instead of taking private "O" level as it is very, very difficult to get an aggregate score of 8 points for 5 subjects including English and Mathematics for a private school candidate especially you are from NA. There is big gap between the NA and "O" level syllabus.
You should approach your school teachers and principal or the registrar from the various polytechnics for advice too ie ask them how many NA students who retake private "O" level and yet get an aggregrate point of 8 points. You might be very disappointed with their replies but that is real life.
erm pls dun think with a psychology diploma, u can practise psychology...theres still alot more certs like degree, PhD etc.
Originally posted by FBI:its v hard, u have to think carefully. I have some NA friends retake 2 times still cannot make it. U better work extra hard.
NA?
Yep, COP of 8 means you'll attain a grade of A1, A2, B3 and so on. Then the grades of all the five subjects will be added up together, the lower the better!
Nothing is hard once you have the passion and determination!
Know what you really want and GO FOR IT! ![]()
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:NA?
ts is NT not NA
Sorry. It is NT.
Then it is even more difficult as NT ie Normal Technical as there is even a much bigger gap between NT and "O" level syllabus.
Those who tell you that with passion and determination you will be able to get an aggregate score of 8 points is just trying to make you feel good. It is just like you are running 100 metres race with a speed of 50 seconds and with passion and dtermination you can run the race in 8 seconds.
Giving encouragement is good but unrealistic encouragement could lead to unrealistic hope and disappointment in future.
Yes, there are many tourism courses in many educational institutions.
Choose one that interests you most. The course should come with job attachment too. As this provides you with hand-on experience, this will help you to get a job in the tourism industry much easier later.
It will be best if the institution can secure a job for you immediately after you graduate from the tourism course.
Wishing you all the best for your study and career. Cheers.
Originally posted by colourfulsmile:i wana take O levels. but i am a normal tech student and i know that its hard.but ITE doesnt have course i want, except office skills (tourism). but i am afraid that i cant get into poly with that.
Can anyone recommend me which subjects and sch to take? at least 5 subjects to get into a local poly right? english and maths is a must. what about others that u all can recommend?
i have got 3 common courses i want when i look thru all the polys.
2) Psychology Studies3) Tourism and Resort Management
4) Leisure and Resort Management
5) Hositality and Tourism
6) Hotel and Hospitality Management
7) Hospitality and Resort ManagementEight) Mass Communication
9) Media and Communication10) Law and Management
i am more into Psychology. need advice now.
just study any course in ite it yr interested is about there. ite is much easier then o. 30mulitple choice... haha i study ite 1 mah ite can go poly 3.5 and above? or just nitec -higher nitec-poly lo. hmm nvm to give it a try for o also but must study hard....
2) Psychology Studies
since u say u like psychology u like to psycho people to do what u ar???? haha