07 Jul, 12:26PM in sunny Singapore!
Home Aunt Agony

Moving to S'pore, foreigners has chances for job?

Subscribe to Moving to S'pore, foreigners has chances for job? 51 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    52 posts since Mar '08
    • Well guys+gals let me be straight forward to the point.. i am planning to move to S'pore by year end to settle down there and get a job. i have choosed S'pore because i don't think i can find any other better place than Singapura after my researches

Thinking somehow of leaving my current job here in Dubai and move to Singapore for a job hunt. well getting paid about 2200SGD could be a huge risk tho hein!

The main question now is will it be easy to find a job ? Can foreigner find jobs in there and go through the normal procedure smoothly? (like working permit and the normal stuff when u work abroad lor)

I got indonesian friends we used to study together in malaysia(Sunway) and are now working in S'pore, one of them he tried to work in M'sia but his working permit got reject (as they do to everyone recently my bestfriend from indo his got rejected too) but he is now working in S'pore .. pretty fair and  organized S'pore huh!

The second question this before this job hunt i'll have to save good money incha allah so with that i can survive hopefully, if anyone can tell how much a person can spend in a month on an average spend?

I have been in S'pore on Xmas 2004 and the tsunami's eve too! what a coincidence rite lool ... surely things got changed now, i am planning a trip to S'pore soon this August well if the plan goes well hor

So guys  Your advice, help and point of view will be very helpful and will appreciate it, will wait till then

cheers ^^

5,655 posts since Apr '03
    • in answering your topic as a question....

why not? it has proven not only once, but thousands of times.

we are uniquely singapore....that throws jobs to foreigners.

52 posts since Mar '08
    • thats a positive reply let us see other point of view .. hey 'alwaysdisturbed' thanks a lot dude.. i can sleep more relax now ar .. hihi.. hope other say somthg ...

3,232 posts since Apr '07
    • I'm thinking of working and living in Dubai.

I have a couple of friends already working there as expats.

How is life there ?

I heard, job opportunities are aplenty. Is this true ?

What is the cost of living like in Dubai ? Will it be ok for me to take on a local term job ?

According to my friends.. they say Dubai is one of the fastest growing economy in that region.. and living standards are pretty good.

What do you think ? Will it be a good move ?

Edited by jojobeach 10 Apr `08, 9:15AM
    5,936 posts since Jul '07
    • Originally posted by jojobeach:

I'm thinking of working and living in Dubai.

I have a couple of friends already working there as expats.

How is life there ?

I heard, job opportunities are aplenty. Is this true ?

What is the cost of living like in Dubai ? Will it be ok for me to take on a local term job ?

According to my friends.. they say Dubai is one of the fastest growing economy in that region.. and living standards are pretty good.

What do you think ? Will it be a good move ?

U can tarhan Arab one or not?

• Originally posted by angel7030:

U can tarhan Arab one or not?

Come what may.. I shall prevail.....

• ALL YOUR BASES ARE BELONG TO ME
    6,116 posts since Apr '05
    52 posts since Mar '08
    • hey  cutie angel wats tarhan means ?

new comers i dunnot which fucking race u r but let me tell u one thing if u chinese or watever race am never gonna generalise things thats not how a person should talk stupid boy.. u r the waste of the education .. c wat arabs r todays take a look at how dubai is leading the economic world take open ur fucking mouth..

morron, t'es un vrai salopard toi enfoiree

1,406 posts since Jul '05
    • Originally posted by Jamesbondbmw:

hey  cutie angel wats tarhan means ?

new comers i dunnot which fucking race u r but let me tell u one thing if u chinese or watever race am never gonna generalise things thats not how a person should talk stupid boy.. u r the waste of the education .. c wat arabs r todays take a look at how dubai is leading the economic world take open ur fucking mouth..

morron, t'es un vrai salopard toi enfoiree

Well, if like what you say, dubai is "leading" the economic world, why oh why do you have to try to come here and find a job? If they are so prosperous and successful why then must you come all the way here to find a job? Also, why must you specifically speculate that he must be chinese? Are YOU not generalising as well?

このやろう!

52,764 posts since Aug '05
    • It depends on what jobs. For sure, some jobs are quite tough for foreigners to land on.

5,936 posts since Jul '07
    • Please, do some good deed, for the sake of our jobless people here, dun come ya, thanks.

3,641 posts since Aug '07
    762 posts since Dec '07
    • Singaporeans Always paying increasing taxes but foreigners are taking the jobs.. what gifts?

7,730 posts since Apr '06
    • foreign talent surely will get jobs here

and maybe government help too thumbs_up.png

so the question is.... are u a talent ?

52 posts since Mar '08
    • well first lemme me say sorry that i only stated chinese i really apologize ha.. coz i just oopen my eyes n saw that n i i was late to go to office couldn't write everythg...

well dubai is leading but u must know one thing only its own ppl are too high paid and can survive and of course others but let say we as a mid-call ppl its hard but its possible am not discouragin u guys..jsut now i saw a job for 150,000 AED lamsap money ha .. they need a local think of it 1st... well cut that off nw

y i wanna move many reason one of them is this ur day will be office -- traffic-jam--sleep u see hardly can relax n go to teh tarek lah n go on mamak stores or chill out within friends after office time.. u've got to choose either sleep good or eat wid friend+sleep less or do house work n still sleep less.. u ve got like 4 hours which makes u frustrating n many ppl complainig abt it

like take my example to be on real scenario n clear i posted the previous message at arnd  7.15am n here i am posting this one rite after my shower n its 8 pm so u get it now do ur calculation.. aha c u got it now ^^ u get my point now guys.

luckily its weekend mah.. so far the feedback abt s'pore am getting its good.. but i need a crucial reply how much an average spend can be for a month?

gunner77 how does s'pore catogorize the FT?

well am an IT guy, holding CCNA(Cisco stuff) and soon incha allah MCSE(Microsoft stuff) B.Sc hons.. am i considered FT??

227 posts since Mar '05
    • Singapore is as good as it gets.. Provided tt you got plenty of cash to spare too.. Earnin 2.2k is not a lot here.. You can't even buy a good car..

7,834 posts since Apr '01
    • icon_arrow.gif Let me gently remind all pending posts - please leave 'speaker-corner-fueled-replies' at speaker corner: this chap is asking a genuine question and if you have nothing constructive to say, then even don't bother trying to hyperventilate all your frustration with the government in this topic.

Jamesbondbmw posted in good faith - I hope all of you will at least respect that. icon_idea.gif

Cheers

52 posts since Mar '08
    • thats very positive and good what am saying its that 2.2k is in Dubai, but in S'pore they would pay around the same isn't it i can see salaries are around 2k to 3k( Seldom at 1.8k)

2,005 posts since Dec '06
    • security wise, ok. Just dont stand around toilets.

Food wise, if you muslim should be ok. we pretty much multi racial. just dont appear in heavy beard and moustach to your potential employer.

Money wise, i think you should be getting the same pay but dubai should be having a higher standard of living rite?

anyway, wad nationality are you?

52 posts since Mar '08
    • thanks a lot Yunhaier, guys sometimes we need seriousness

now let me reply u jojobeach, i'll provide u with the most accurate answer and things i really seen in Dubai so u can be prepared n expect them let go:

How is life there ?  life in here is about the same in S'pore Food-wise: seeing the currency as i remember being in s'pore u spend like 6 to 8 $ on meal so in here its the same thats like 13 to 15 $ (currency rate abt 1AED=2.23SGD) thas a normal meal, but if u go to cheap place like in s'pore got hokka n this stuff mah so here got those indian place but not too clean lor so u will have to spend at leat $6 for ur meal..
      Work-wise: u won't appreciate becoz u'll be out at 7 smthg be in jam then work till 6pm(mostly n sometime 7pm) hribble jam be home at 7.30 earliest or 8.30 someitmes 9pm it happen trust me u got to makan quick/checkmail/post forum(like i do) cathc the sleep at its earliest n the next day the same

Money-wise: they can really pay that at the position of ceo director manager n of course local... blindly.. but s'pore pays too so not a big prob beco think like this way u get 6k or 7k in dubai thats arnd 2.8k or 3.4k in s'pore no difference meh if in s'pore u get 4k to 5k there u get 8.5k to 11k same same lah

mind-wise: u cant relax ur mind with the routine of office traficjam sleep 5/7 or 6/7 chillin got but cant make many friends here too coz whoel week u damn bs wod ur"routine" now tell me whois ur friend ur "bed&sleep" my friend

am not discouragin but am telling u the truth Bros+Sis so u can have an idea and be more realistic than a dreamer!

I heard, job opportunities are aplenty. Is this true ? thats ya got a lot liek S'pore mah

What is the cost of living like in Dubai ? House is damn crazy nothg less than 1.8kSGD for just a room or small studio.. so thats hell no privacy must share n u know the rest mind peace =0Will it be ok for me to take on a local term job ? can take a job anyone not a prob working permit too easy i got mine in 3 hours done. also my country got good relation wid dubai ...that palya role dun worry s'pore very well respeted ^^ hurray

According to my friends.. they say Dubai is one of the fastest growing economy in that region.. and living standards are pretty good. thats a lie

What do you think ? Will it be a good move ? well if u think u can get ride of this obstacle i have no idea n will serve u n anyone here to move n provide help ! guys gf its hard to get ar .. n girls bf are to get ar. after my diagnosis i can say that those who r married or engaged or in a damn serious relatuonship can be a bit ok lah.. but saving the money dunt expect much am struggling aldi

drop the comments guys + i need the monthly average spend in S'pore plzzz

52 posts since Mar '08
    • yo ifish was typing the long msg loool

great to hearthat from s'pore dun worry am not those who say muslim with appearence islam is in heart n good acts thats all having beard n blablabla means nothg ..dun worry i dun like it neither ..btw am french educated been mixed wid many foreigners

ya true expensive standard living here cant save much mah

nationality u wont know it.. Djiboutian sure no one knows n if i bet i'll get milllions ^^

• jamesbondbmw,

Thanks dude.

But looking at your post.. that 7am- 8pm life ain't that different from Singapore. And morning rush hours in any form of transport ain't that pretty in SG either. Unless you take a helicopter to work. or you rent a place within walking distance from work.

That said.. if I rent an apartment near work.. I won;t have to deal with rush hour right ?

Is it possible to do that ? Like find a nice place and work nearby ?

Which place in Dubai is best to look for jobs and place to live ?

I prefer to cook myself , will this help save money ? Is the cost of groceries high ?

So you're saying a small apartment in Dubai about 500 sq feet.. will cost $1.8k per month ? Does it includes a small kitchenette or just the room ????? Confused.

If I choose to purchase a small property .. is there any restrictions to foreigners ?

And getting hitch is difficult ?.. hmmm... must consider .. very seriously..heheheh..

And most important .. how much is a jug of ice cold beer there ?????

Edited by jojobeach 11 Apr `08, 5:56AM
    • ok i gotta be honest dude. you have to brush up on your english else you can pretty much forget about coming to sg for work.

just curious tho, where did u learn ur singlish? or was tat manglish?

Please Login or Signup to reply.