put on the hearing aid.
tell people u have a hearing problem.
ignore the assholes who make fun of u
appreciate those who accomodate you
learn to not feel embarassed
Erm... Use paper and pen to communicate... or like RP... use MSN...![]()
just be urself.. no one is born perfect.. u nid to use hearing aid, go ahead.. i got asthma i oso use inhaler if nid be.. nothing to be ashamed of..
how bout..
learn and practice lip reading.
today saw 2 hearing impaired gals talk happily without sounds.. i think it's damn super cool
You should let them know bout your problems, I guess they'd try to accomodate.... nothin to be embarassed of.. and please put on your hearin aid wor
Yeah, hearing on my right is damaged, people who knew about it tend to move over to my left when talking to me. Real people tend to accomodate. If you'd let them know about it.
Bro,
I think you should put in effort to reach out to others first...like what every said, ignore jerks.
Everyone has some form of 'disabilities'...some are medical, some physical, some are mental, and most are social!!! You are just a minority.
nothing compares to these blue and yellow pills
nothing wrong with hearing aid. spec is oso a visual aid. those that look dun on u juz b'coz of ur hearing aid aint really a cut out to b good fren material rite?
Originally posted by deja_vu88:Oh well, I’m partially hearing-impaired actually. Sometimes its not that I don’t want to mingle around much with friends but its because of that I could not make out what they’re saying especially in noisy environment, I tend to keep quiet as I dont want them to repeat themselves again and then feel irritated by me. Yet, I’m afraid of getting embarassed about it if i were to tell them. Now that i’m back in school, I don’t know whether I should wear a hearing aid to school or just tell them about my problem. Hopefully, someone can shed some light please?
Sir,
kopiosatu had given the best advices. I was a volunteer with the Singapore Association for the Deaf. It's not a shame or embarassment to suffer partial hearing impairment. Brace up man!
There's a lady that I know who's hearing imparied in one ear but eventually became a lawyer. Though she now switched line.
Life's a fight sometimes. Jiayou~
Originally posted by deja_vu88:Oh well, I’m partially hearing-impaired actually. Sometimes its not that I don’t want to mingle around much with friends but its because of that I could not make out what they’re saying especially in noisy environment, I tend to keep quiet as I dont want them to repeat themselves again and then feel irritated by me. Yet, I’m afraid of getting embarassed about it if i were to tell them. Now that i’m back in school, I don’t know whether I should wear a hearing aid to school or just tell them about my problem. Hopefully, someone can shed some light please?
You ought to wear a hearing aid for the benefit of your schooling and social life.
Don't ever think that the presence of wearing a hearing aid is a source of embarrassment for you. Your peers and teachers ought to accept you for the way you are.
In addition, there are smaller hearing aids available in the market thats embedded into the ear canal.
I seen my friend wearing this before, he still so cheerful and open, I know he might have hearing problem but none of us bother to ask him on this. That is because we don't think it is a problem at all.
Just wear the hearing aid, come on. It may take you few days or 1 month to get used to it, but will benefit you the whole life.
If you don't wear it and let the hearing issue disturbed you everyday, you will regret.
Just a small note, if you are at a extremely noisy environment and don't want to be disturbed by it, you can take down this device anytime, so convenient.
Just wear the hearing aid. ![]()
Have you watched this Japanese drama - Orange Days? ![]()
Someone recommended it to me and I think it's really ... a good watch. It's about a two university undergraduates who befriend each other in school and find out about the paths they want to take in life, and one of them is nearly completely deaf.
since u got hearing dispair n duwan t irritate ur fren, then deaf both ear. go disable sch.
BY my friend
Wear a hearing aid.. Friend accept who u r not the way they wan u to be.
Wear it. To hell with those who don't accept you for who you are.
True fwens wont discrimintae trust me ...
u can always find new de who really wanna be your fwen ^^
Cheers , u have my support.
wat's thr to b ashamed of urself.
ya, why be ashamed of urself?
the ones who make fun of u shd be ashamed of themselves.
dun be dishearted, ur family loves u..
deja_vu88, I'm also partially hearing-impaired. I have lost the hearing ability of a few frequencies/pitch/tone since young. :)
I agreed that being partially hearing-impaired does has it's own disadvantages and sometimes it's also quite frustrating trying to figure out what the other person is talking. However, I also learnt to overcome this weakness by being more outspoken. Since I can't quite make out what the other person is trying talking sometimes, I learnt to ask OPEN-ENDED questions to others and myself. You see, most questions encountered in a normal conversation are usually limited to a certain number of replies. So what I did was only to figure out briefly what the other person's reply was and I'll follow up with another opinion+question. I was able to figure out the reply briefly cos I wasn't completely deaf....I could still listen to a song but I would never be able to figure out what the singer is singing without reading the lyrics.
Frankly speaking, I have tried to explain my hearing distress to many of my close friends and sometimes new friends. But they were all in disbelief of my hearing-impairment. Haven't found a single person who could have the empathy to understand and doesn't discriminate against my hearing handicap. Anyway, also thanks to all these people that caused me to find strength within myself to overcome this deficiency.
I'm not wearing any hearing aids and have never wear any of them and will never wear any of them. I totally dislike the idea of wearing them and I'm happier when my world is more quiet than normal people.
It's not easy to live in this world without the sense of hearing awareness. But I believed there are always ways and methods that I could find within myself to overcome all these obstacles and live a normal life like anyone else. And I would also encourage you to do the same too.
Good Luck and all the best to whatever decision you decided to take. :)
Originally posted by Cz:Have you watched this Japanese drama - Orange Days?
Someone recommended it to me and I think it's really ... a good watch. It's about a two university undergraduates who befriend each other in school and find out about the paths they want to take in life, and one of them is nearly completely deaf.
yes yes!! but i can't get it on crunchyroll anymore. :| It's a good show.
Ts and Parn, i think both of you are very special people. Don't be ashamed of wearing a learning aids. If it helps you to understand what others are talking about, i think you should wear it.
Have u heard of the special olympics ? I always admire people who overcome their own disabilites. I have a volunteering friend who is blind in one eye but she still help others who are worse off than her. Despite her disabilites, she does not seem to let these disabilites become an obstacle and striveto live her life to the fullest.
Even people who are healthy does not possess there same cheerfulness.
Originally posted by caleb_chiang:Erm... Use paper and pen to communicate... or like RP... use MSN...
my cousin say RP block msn liao. really ah?