good day to all..i have a few fetishes which i cant seem to get rid off, feeling extremely troubled.
since young, i cant help but always think im wolverine or other kind of heroes or recently(in 2005), i have been thinking myself as the Phantom of the opera..
i have bought the costumes and when no one is at home i always play the songs and sing wearing the costumes, thinking that i really am the phantom..
i have a few characters, the phantom is jus one..
i really feel embaressed to speak about this to anyone..cant confide in anyone.
getting extremely depressed as i cant control myself, it's like another person is controlling my mind.
pls help me..hoping to lead a normal life like any average joe.
its okay to have fantasies as long as you dont hurt anyone. Why do you need to feel embarrased... It's unique that you have a strong passion for role playing... I too imagine that I am a teacher at hogwarts at times(but i dont act it out)...I am sure many out there fantasize about somethings too...
Originally posted by White_SoulReaper:its okay to have fantasies as long as you dont hurt anyone. Why do you need to feel embarrased... It's unique that you have a strong passion for role playing... I too imagine that I am a teacher at hogwarts at times(but i dont act it out)...I am sure many out there fantasize about somethings too...
the thing is..it's getting overboard, it's like a virus taking over my body to the point that i have no control.
my girlfren broke up with me recently when she was in my house and while i was sleeping she saw my iron man costume in my cupboard and a video of me wearing it and singing the intro song..
she said she nv expected me to be a weirdo...
Originally posted by TroubledPhantom:
the thing is..it's getting overboard, it's like a virus taking over my body to the point that i have no control.my girlfren broke up with me recently when she was in my house and while i was sleeping she saw my iron man costume in my cupboard and a video of me wearing it and singing the intro song..
iron man costume!? so new huh? movie haven't come out you already have it.. where you buy your costumes? I want to buy a black spidey suit..
Originally posted by cuddles:
iron man costume!? so new huh? movie haven't come out you already have it.. where you buy your costumes? I want to buy a black spidey suit..
wtf another one?
Originally posted by cuddles:
i am a fan boy since the late 90s...got mine from US 2 yrs ago..
just that in the beginning it was a hobby but now it's like another person within me and i cant control
not to mention it sucks big time losing my gf
i think you are you... If your gf cannot accept you for who you are, then she's not the one for you... I think it would be gd if you join the cosplay competition like that... Those suits arent cheap...
Just be yourself... There's nothing wrong w/ you and you are NOT a weirdo...
Originally posted by TroubledPhantom:
the thing is..it's getting overboard, it's like a virus taking over my body to the point that i have no control.my girlfren broke up with me recently when she was in my house and while i was sleeping she saw my iron man costume in my cupboard and a video of me wearing it and singing the intro song..
Do you think you will ever out grow this obsession of yours ?
Your ex-girlfriend must think you are too childish the way you acted in the video.
I have a friend who is very obsessed with superman. He's already into his 40s , and he keeps a room just to store and display the figurines and collectables.
He has a wife and 1 kid already.
A woman can accept a guy with fantasy character obsession, just take it easy and wait for a girl who is more mature.
Dude can I see the video of you wearing iron man clothes and singing the intro song?
Wat seems to be the problem? U shld actually go into tis acting industry! Stage performance artists are in demand in SG. Go for it & see how u bloom in tis industry!
Originally posted by White_SoulReaper:i think you are you... If your gf cannot accept you for who you are, then she's not the one for you... I think it would be gd if you join the cosplay competition like that... Those suits arent cheap...
Just be yourself... There's nothing wrong w/ you and you are NOT a weirdo...
thanks but the thing is tha we were really in love and i feel that she was not rdy for this dats why she dumped me.. i mean realistically 99% of girls out there will sure dump their bf if they found out if he's like me rite..
i nv joined cosplay as i feel its overhyped, i prefer to be a lord in my lair..altho i once wore my spider man costume to the spiderman movie trilogy..all the movies i wore it of cos getting weird looks but who cares..
but i feel now that im alrdy 21 i shld be stopping this yet i cant..its like its taken over me
jojo i see but its quite rare am i right? cos i dont dare tell anyone about my obsession as its quite scary for some who dont understand me for who i am. do u tink it's possible to patch up with my ex? cos i really loved her but i guess no one will be rdy for such a thing..
@ newcomer, .... dont suan me liao lei
@ RedizAlertz, you r joing right?
Originally posted by fatone:wtf another one?
relax leh.. I'm just asking la~ test reaction. scarly really have leh.. :)
Originally posted by TroubledPhantom:jojo i see but its quite rare am i right? cos i dont dare tell anyone about my obsession as its quite scary for some who dont understand me for who i am. do u tink it's possible to patch up with my ex? cos i really loved her but i guess no one will be rdy for such a thing..
I think not advisable to patch up. you still 21 nia.. try locking up all your costumes in a box and put under your bed lo. the key give to your parents or whoever can hide for you at your house. That's if you want to lose this imaginative self of yours.
I think you should try going into the acting industry too..
i no suan you lah... i really wan to see the performance!
y do u think u're crazy? actually we need to see the video to ascertain that, to see if it's a genuine arts performance or some maniac jumping ard u see.
Originally posted by TroubledPhantom:jojo i see but its quite rare am i right? cos i dont dare tell anyone about my obsession as its quite scary for some who dont understand me for who i am. do u tink it's possible to patch up with my ex? cos i really loved her but i guess no one will be rdy for such a thing..
Join wat? ![]()
he meant to say joking
seriously........... whats there to be depressed bout?
I see nothin wrong, or nothin abnormal.
You could get into the performing arts too, or not if this is just a hobby/fetish.
Originally posted by newcomer:he meant to say joking
Ohhh~ic..Nah..im not jokin, serious. Im not the onli one who think tat way. (Refer to the post above me.
) Wat's wrong with u havin the hobby to act?
Very common... you are an average joe... but not the same as featured in movies...
You are not a rare case lah. Typically a person who likes fantasy characters sees a little bit of themself in the character.
The fact that we live in a very rigid society in SG probably makes you feel very stiffled, hence occasionally you want to escape into this world of fantasy. There's really nothing wrong with that, as long as you don't get so sucked into it that you cannot differentiate virtual from real, which I doubt you are that serious yet lah.
I'd say it's more of a hobby than a weird fetish. As you grow older, you will mellow down but your love for the fantasy character will not go away. So perhaps you can try approach her again when you are less obssessed with your hobby. Because a woman can feel very left out when you are too into your hobby.
Wearing costumes to movies is commonly practise in the western country. You should see during the Harry Potter and Transformers screening.. almost EVERYONE wears the costume to the movie theater.
To people who's never seen such behavior will surely find it odd, but for me, it's very normal.
I think you should just enjoy what you like to do for now. Perhaps it's a good idea to throw away/destroy that video, so people cannot use it to blackmail you later.
You don't like to join cosplay.. is probably because you are a shy boy. Cosplay requires a cosplayer to be actively involve in group outings. You're quite the loner right ?
Originally posted by jojobeach:You are not a rare case lah. Typically a person who likes fantasy characters sees a little bit of themself in the character.
The fact that we live in a very rigid society in SG probably makes you feel very stiffled, hence occasionally you want to escape into this world of fantasy. There's really nothing wrong with that, as long as you don't get so sucked into it that you cannot differentiate virtual from real, which I doubt you are that serious yet lah.
I'd say it's more of a hobby than a weird fetish. As you grow older, you will mellow down but your love for the fantasy character will not go away. So perhaps you can try approach her again when you are less obssessed with your hobby. Because a woman can feel very left out when you are too into your hobby.
Wearing costumes to movies is commonly practise in the western country. You should see during the Harry Potter and Transformers screening.. almost EVERYONE wears the costume to the movie theater.
To people who's never seen such behavior will surely find it odd, but for me, it's very normal.
I think you should just enjoy what you like to do for now. Perhaps it's a good idea to throw away/destroy that video, so people cannot use it to blackmail you later.
That's not very comforting...
Originally posted by newcomer:
That's not very comforting...
Well.. you can either let it control you.. or you can learn to control it.
Kudos to that statement!
hmm you are just a cool individual with a out of the ordinary hobby.
Go take a look at this link : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Who_Wants_to_Be_a_Superhero%3F
Some people also go for cosplay. Plenty of people who want to be a superhero!