<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom" xmlns:opensearch="http://a9.com/-/spec/opensearch/1.1/" version="2.0">
  <channel>
    <title>Recent Posts in 'Life after discharged bankruptcy' | sgForums.com</title>
    <link>http://www.sgforums.com/forums/12/topics/315665</link>
    <language>en-US</language>
    <ttl>60</ttl>
    <atom:link rel="search" type="application/opensearchdescription+xml" href="http://www.sgforums.com/open_search.xml"/>
    <description></description>
    <item>
      <title>Life after discharged bankruptcy replied by kevinace @ Mon, 05 May 2008 00:17:23 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;I really appreciate for all the&amp;nbsp;views that&amp;nbsp;have
been&amp;nbsp;contributed. To put the matter straight;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;1. NO. I'm not a gambler. I don't even buy 4D nor Toto. Neither
do I&amp;nbsp;speculate in stocks anymore. All my savings are in cold
hard cash sitting in the bank&amp;nbsp;or funds. The only vice I have
is smoking and I don't even drink. How much more could I have
spent?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;2. I'm not exaggerating about my income. Infact, I make more
than that. I was only down-playing the numbers for fear of being
branded as exaggerating. If anyone can help me secure a housing
loan, I don't mind showing&amp;nbsp;him/her my past 3 years income tax
assessment.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;3. With my income level, I have already hit the HDB income
ceiling. I am no longer qualified to buy a new or resale flat. By
renting a place right now, doesn't mean I&amp;nbsp;shouldn't plan to
own one. Some said that I should save up enough to buy one. Taking
a loan doesn't neccessarily means
"&lt;em&gt;using-other-peoples'-money".&lt;/em&gt; Have you ever calculated how
long you need to save before you have $600K to buy a decent condo?
How many people can afford to pay off a condo using cold hard cash?
Even if you do, doing a proper investment would probably make more
sense than paying all upfront. And as to compare paying rental
every month to paying for the loan you made for your own housing,
which do you think makes more sense?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;4. Though I have savings, they are just insufficient to buy a
condo off in cold hard cash. I'm not that rich. How much can I save
within a year after my discharge? I still need to pay for my car
rental,&amp;nbsp;housing rental, etc. BTW, my car isn't a luxury item.
It's a tool of trade.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;5. Having a credit card doesn't mean that I'm being flashy or
trying to show off. Neither does it mean that I do not know how to
manage my money when I'm applying for a card after 1 year of
discharge. People close enough to me roughly knows how much I
earn.&lt;br /&gt;
When&amp;nbsp;you are on a business trip, have you tried checking into
a hotel without a credit card? Imagine having to stay in a 5 star
hotel (dictated by company) for 2 weeks, you have to pay all these
off in CASH! Do you bring that much cash with you when you travel?
And the matter of fact is I have to travel frequently. And NO, I
got declined even for a debit card application.&amp;nbsp;How can it
work even if I have collateral?&lt;br /&gt;
Do you realise how much&amp;nbsp;convenience you get if you do use a
credit card wisely? What&amp;nbsp;Bleuwhale mentioned does hold
water.&amp;nbsp;I'm sure all the&amp;nbsp;card holders out there
got&amp;nbsp;some benefits from their credit card in 1 way or
another?&lt;br /&gt;
Have you tried buying something online and&amp;nbsp;you can only pay
via credit card?&amp;nbsp;Have you tried making a reservation for hotel
rooms or air-ticket without a credit card? Imagine bringing your
client out for a&amp;nbsp;$800 dinner and paying it up in
cash,&amp;nbsp;what would your client think?&amp;nbsp;I'll not go into
that..... The bottom line is, I need it as a tool of trade though I
can still make do without it. Well, this ain't that important. I
can still live without it. Nothing to cry over. BTW, not all
companies issue corporate cards, and definitely not to every single
employee. Viciouskitty74 made a good point about the corp card
thingy. However, normally, you are not expected to use your
corporate cards for personal expenses though you are liable to the
charges.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;6. Money management. I may have done delinquent trading in the
past, when I was young in my early 20s. That doesn't mean I don't
have any money management abilities now. I have learnt my lesson
well enough from the distress/pain I got. Also, having faulted when
I was young doesn't&amp;nbsp;mean&amp;nbsp;nothing.&amp;nbsp;I'll not go
further into this detail..... It's a very subjective view for
individuals.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Lastly.... please don't get into flaming session over this
issue. :p I was only sharing out my problem, and hoping to see if
someone else has gone through the same thing and could share with
me how they got out of the situation rather than waiting.....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And of course, hoping that a banker sees this&amp;nbsp;and a decides
to help me out. Hahahaha.......&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 05 May 2008 00:17:23 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:12:315665:8061837</guid>
      <author>kevinace</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Life after discharged bankruptcy replied by jojobeach @ Mon, 28 Apr 2008 17:45:00 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by viciouskitty74:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And besides, I used to have corporate cards too. And the amount
of credit allowed for it is pathetic.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I think it depends lah.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Mine is $20K max.. I don't think that's pathetic. do you ?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 28 Apr 2008 17:45:00 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:12:315665:8045142</guid>
      <author>jojobeach</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Life after discharged bankruptcy replied by viciouskitty74 @ Mon, 28 Apr 2008 17:40:04 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;If ExxonMobil practises that. Who are we sg companies to
argue?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And ermmm&#8230;..there was a relevant case sometime ago, where a
female director won a lucky draw at some companies lucky draw
thingy and got a condo.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;She subsequently left the company but the company argued that
the condo belongs to the company. There was a major legal wrangle
and she lost the suit.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;But looking at it. If its not a condo but a piece of plastic
tentage, do you think the company wants it back?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And besides, I used to have corporate cards too. And the amount
of credit allowed for it is pathetic.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 28 Apr 2008 17:40:04 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:12:315665:8045135</guid>
      <author>viciouskitty74</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Life after discharged bankruptcy replied by viciouskitty74 @ Mon, 28 Apr 2008 17:34:46 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Ok. who got a better lobang?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;i am thinking of refinancing my 3 room &lt;span class=
""&gt;HDB&lt;/span&gt;.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The current 4% interest is a killer.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 28 Apr 2008 17:34:46 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:12:315665:8045120</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Life after discharged bankruptcy replied by jojobeach @ Mon, 28 Apr 2008 17:34:30 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;Not really.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Companies are shrewd nowdays.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;They may not issue corporate card unless you are a certain level
or have a certain requirements to travel. And some countries &amp;amp;
establishments does not accept certain corporate cards. ie.
American Express Corporate Card are not accepted at some
locations.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And because of the high turnover of staff, lessor companies are
willing to issue corporate cards to their eexecutives.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Most now practise this way&#8230;..you are send overseas, they company
booked for your hotel and maybe flight ticks. Then you claim the
rest of the expenses, preferably with a credit card receipts.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Or like what I did for a aviation mnc engineers. I had to get
the engineers travelling to provide me a personal credit card, to
book the hotels and so on. Have the engineer claim for the whatever
later after they came back from the trip.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And to provide for the engineers for some cash for their trip
which is considered a loan from the company. And the engineers need
to submit the receipts for the cashed used and the remainder cash
returned to company upon their return from the trip.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Another reason why corporate cards are not used, because
personal credit cards has points system which individual credit
card holder can later exchange for gifts.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;A good example will be this:&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;ME &amp;amp; 10 collegues got a get-to-gether and ate to a tune of
$800/&lt;del&gt;. One of us will whip out a credit card and pay for the
dinners and later claim from the office the $800/&lt;/del&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;that $800 on a credit card converts to points for tat certain
collegue which he/she can later redeem for soemthing else.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And thus, all of us take turns whipping out credit cards for
subsequent dinners get-to-gether.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;That sound so leh chey. And isn't claiming personal points on
company expenses illegal ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;This company I'm working in. Our company has accounts with
airlines , hotels and vehicle rental companies, we use our own
traveling agent to make all booking arrangements under our company
account. So all we need to do is just show up with the confirmation
number and ID , all is taken care of.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I not sure how SG companies work.. but boy it sounds very
backwards leh !&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 28 Apr 2008 17:34:30 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:12:315665:8045118</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Life after discharged bankruptcy replied by T.Ryousuke @ Mon, 28 Apr 2008 17:30:15 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;U must be 30-40 liao , get a gf and ask her&amp;nbsp;to sub 1 card
to u and if she can afford then ask her to buy a HDB and u pay all
the reno and deposite.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Credit card is nothing nowadays, it's the housing Loan from HDB
that u must die die get approval. Bank loan is NO NO to me.&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Mon, 28 Apr 2008 17:30:15 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:12:315665:8045102</guid>
      <author>T.Ryousuke</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Life after discharged bankruptcy replied by viciouskitty74 @ Mon, 28 Apr 2008 17:26:26 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Not really.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Companies are shrewd nowdays.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;They may not issue corporate card unless you are a certain level
or have a certain requirements to travel. And some countries &amp;amp;
establishments does not accept certain corporate cards. ie.
American Express Corporate Card are not accepted at some
locations.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And because of the high turnover of staff, lessor companies are
willing to issue corporate cards to their eexecutives.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Most now practise this way&#8230;..you are send overseas, they company
booked for your hotel and maybe flight ticks. Then you claim the
rest of the expenses, preferably with a credit card receipts.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Or like what I did for a aviation mnc engineers. I had to get
the engineers travelling to provide me a personal credit card, to
book the hotels and so on. Have the engineer claim for the whatever
later after they came back from the trip.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And to provide for the engineers for some cash for their trip
which is considered a loan from the company. And the engineers need
to submit the receipts for the cashed used and the remainder cash
returned to company upon their return from the trip.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Another reason why corporate cards are not used, because
personal credit cards has points system which individual credit
card holder can later exchange for gifts.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;A good example will be this:&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;ME &amp;amp; 10 collegues got a get-to-gether and ate to a tune of
$800/&lt;del&gt;. One of us will whip out a credit card and pay for the
dinners and later claim from the office the $800/&lt;/del&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;that $800 on a credit card converts to points for tat certain
collegue which he/she can later redeem for soemthing else.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And thus, all of us take turns whipping out credit cards for
subsequent dinners get-to-gether.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 28 Apr 2008 17:26:26 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:12:315665:8045091</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Life after discharged bankruptcy replied by jojobeach @ Mon, 28 Apr 2008 17:12:12 +0800</title>
I wouldnt recommend it, but I really do understand how you will
need it if you do constant travelling for work.&amp;nbsp; Its a
lifesaver at times.
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If you are travelling on business trips. Companies will issue
you a CORporate Credit card to charge your expenses to.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;So, personal credit card.. is really.. just personal.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 28 Apr 2008 17:12:12 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:12:315665:8045063</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Life after discharged bankruptcy replied by Xcert @ Mon, 28 Apr 2008 16:41:35 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;For true privacies...nothing beats staying in Changi Chalet aka
the changi prisons.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;haha...&lt;img src="/images/emoticons/kde-3.5.8/set1/biggrin.png"
alt="biggrin.png" /&gt;...&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 28 Apr 2008 16:41:35 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:12:315665:8044989</guid>
      <author>Xcert</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Life after discharged bankruptcy replied by viciouskitty74 @ Mon, 28 Apr 2008 14:50:54 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;I find the gambler question justified, because of the
following:&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;a) TS admitted that he was bankrupt, due to stock trading 11
years ago.&amp;nbsp; I believe my earlier post already mentioned that
stock trading is 'gambling'.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;b) 11 years ago, or even now.&amp;nbsp; We still do not have casinos
in sg.&amp;nbsp; But underground gambling dens are still around. (i
just had coffee &amp;amp; chicken rice with one such operator
yesterday.)&amp;nbsp; So I believed joj's&amp;nbsp;definition of gambling
involves rolling of credits, stocks. commodity trading and maybe
even on trading&amp;nbsp;business.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;c) TS is not a youngster.&amp;nbsp; Discharging the bankrupt, and
now earning 6k a&amp;nbsp;month is no mean feat.&amp;nbsp; (Though I kinda
think ts has the common asian mindset&amp;nbsp;to exxaggerate his
earnings.) :P&amp;nbsp; And that is&amp;nbsp;kinda a clue as to&amp;nbsp;hwo
the credit card may not be a matter of necessity but a mean to show
off.&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 28 Apr 2008 14:50:54 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:12:315665:8044800</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Life after discharged bankruptcy replied by bleuwhale @ Mon, 28 Apr 2008 14:39:47 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;Dear Viciouskitty74.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;There certainly is no doubt that I need not ask any female
associate if they prositute themselves, simply by virtue of them
being female. It is this loose association that I condemm and for
which I do not see how certain individuals had allied. Just as it
is wrong to imply that one is&amp;nbsp;a gambler by virtue of his
situation, it is wrong to imply that a female prostitutes herselve
given her sex.&amp;nbsp;But I am glad that the absurd nature of this
association is impressed upon.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I do however apologize if I have given you or any others the
impression of my demeaning of females.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;As before, I do accept that credit cards as a means of line of
credit is not desirable. I wish, again, to state that its benefits
outweight should an individual be able to manage his finances
properly and make full payments upon presentstion of bill.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;To TS,&amp;nbsp; I agree that a Credit card has its uses.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And stock playing was gambling, irregardless of who else is
trying to suggest its not.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Bleu has missed the point about gambling and the sg environment
for legalised gambling.&amp;nbsp; And Bleu, I liked to asked....did you
asked your mother about that prostitute label yet?&amp;nbsp; Or was it
just your normal stereotyping about a female's commenting on the
TS?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;So for the record.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I am female, in debt too and facing bankruptcy.&amp;nbsp; I've also
live life, with credit cards paying for pubs, shopping &amp;amp;
medical expenses.&amp;nbsp; I've also lived with folks that dabbled in
stocks, lost, owes lots of money, and still lives a hedonistic
lifestyle.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I've also lived with family members that strived to get out of
debt and believes in the cold hard cash thingy.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Bleu, its obvious you do not understand the sg environment
anymore.&amp;nbsp; And jojobeach, if I am not wrong, is trying to
explain an American credit handling for sg.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;But I can understand&amp;nbsp;TS predicament.&amp;nbsp; The roll the
credit situations in the past, and the new tighter control about
credit cards issuance is now not helping even for recovering
bankrupt.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I understand that credit cards can still be obtained if you have
a cold hard 10k cash in the bank account which you applied a credit
card with so you might want to consider going that route to
obtaining a credit card.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I wouldnt recommend it, but I really do understand how you will
lifesaver at times.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;For home loans, you might need another person, preferably a
clean credit free&amp;nbsp;spouse/family member&amp;nbsp;to secure that
home.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;From a Singaporean kinda mindset, can I suggest instead that the
TS consider that application of a credit card by plonking S$10k in
a bank a/c which he/she agrees not to touch, as a collatoral just
in case he/she needs the credit card while travelling.&amp;nbsp; This
can be arranged with the bank.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And in matters of home, with 6k pay, you really need to consider
purchasing either a HDB flat or a really small apartment currently
on soft launches now in the market.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
      <pubDate>Mon, 28 Apr 2008 14:39:47 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:12:315665:8044778</guid>
      <author>bleuwhale</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Life after discharged bankruptcy replied by viciouskitty74 @ Mon, 28 Apr 2008 14:37:14 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Like the underwriters of insurance.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If you had pre cancer.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;They consider you a high risk and barricade themself against you
and load you down instead of helping you first.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 28 Apr 2008 14:37:14 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:12:315665:8044774</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Life after discharged bankruptcy replied by xavier1979 @ Mon, 28 Apr 2008 14:22:16 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Even good companies during prosperous times maintain credit
lines so that they can draw on during an emergency.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Likewise, having a credit card doesn't necessarily put the
person at risk of over-spending.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;But sadly, the credit bureau here maintain a database of all
users. Once you got a black mark, it's hard to erase. Perhaps you
can speak to any of the personal bankers about your problem.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 28 Apr 2008 14:22:16 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:12:315665:8044725</guid>
      <author>xavier1979</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Life after discharged bankruptcy replied by viciouskitty74 @ Mon, 28 Apr 2008 14:17:02 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;And oh....even with a HDB flat, consider renting out the rooms
to help with the expanses.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;For true privacies...nothing beats staying in Changi Chalet aka
the changi prisons.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 28 Apr 2008 14:17:02 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:12:315665:8044712</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Life after discharged bankruptcy replied by viciouskitty74 @ Mon, 28 Apr 2008 14:05:23 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;To TS,&amp;nbsp; I agree that a Credit card has its uses.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And stock playing was gambling, irregardless of who else is
trying to suggest its not.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Bleu has missed the point about gambling and the sg environment
for legalised gambling.&amp;nbsp; And Bleu, I liked to asked....did you
asked your mother about that prostitute label yet?&amp;nbsp; Or was it
just your normal stereotyping about a female's commenting on the
TS?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;So for the record.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I am female, in debt too and facing bankruptcy.&amp;nbsp; I've also
live life, with credit cards paying for pubs, shopping &amp;amp;
medical expenses.&amp;nbsp; I've also lived with folks that dabbled in
stocks, lost, owes lots of money, and still lives a hedonistic
lifestyle.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I've also lived with family members that strived to get out of
debt and believes in the cold hard cash thingy.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Bleu, its obvious you do not understand the sg environment
anymore.&amp;nbsp; And jojobeach, if I am not wrong, is trying to
explain an American credit handling for sg.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;But I can understand&amp;nbsp;TS predicament.&amp;nbsp; The roll the
credit situations in the past, and the new tighter control about
credit cards issuance is now not helping even for recovering
bankrupt.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I understand that credit cards can still be obtained if you have
a cold hard 10k cash in the bank account which you applied a credit
card with so you might want to consider going that route to
obtaining a credit card.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I wouldnt recommend it, but I really do understand how you will
lifesaver at times.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;For home loans, you might need another person, preferably a
clean credit free&amp;nbsp;spouse/family member&amp;nbsp;to secure that
home.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;From a Singaporean kinda mindset, can I suggest instead that the
TS consider that application of a credit card by plonking S$10k in
a bank a/c which he/she agrees not to touch, as a collatoral just
in case he/she needs the credit card while travelling.&amp;nbsp; This
can be arranged with the bank.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And in matters of home, with 6k pay, you really need to consider
purchasing either a HDB flat or a really small apartment currently
on soft launches now in the market.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 28 Apr 2008 14:05:23 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:12:315665:8044678</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Life after discharged bankruptcy replied by Beachboy136 @ Mon, 28 Apr 2008 13:13:58 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;I'm only own the bank less then 10k in the past now left with 1k
plus... just taking my time to return.. at the sametime, save up
allot during the past few years.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;However, i was never&amp;nbsp;charged of&amp;nbsp;bankruptcy and settled
my debts progressively without failed. But the damp thing was that,
I can obtained a loan from bank when i wanted to buy a house or car
even i have the cash. As for credit card. I have only one and 2
others were debits card which work really well when i travel.
Likewise it helps to monital my cashflow. Dispited all these, my
case were treated like as of i was a bankruptcy. This is how
"flaxible" the policy were.. Just wanted to voice out!&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;As for now, going to overseas to work, stay, play and getting
a&amp;nbsp;PR&amp;nbsp;will be my ultimate. Planning less then a year to
reach there..&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Cheers&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 28 Apr 2008 13:13:58 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:12:315665:8044572</guid>
      <author>Beachboy136</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Life after discharged bankruptcy replied by bleuwhale @ Mon, 28 Apr 2008 12:29:15 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;Dearest Jojo.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;With no intention to engage you any further&amp;nbsp; for given your
pattern of conduct in previous posts, I shall state that just
because a credit card is a convenient luxury (for
yourself)&amp;nbsp;does not imply that it necessarily is so for every
other individual. Likewise, just because you have friends who are
gamblers does not imply that many other people are.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I travel between Singapore and the United States frequently. In
the case of the USA, where I am based, I do pay for the annual card
charge. I am pleased to say that as I consolidate my charges
between 2-3 cards only, depending on the offers, and with one
acting as a primary card, the rewards of, say, a return USA-Spore
ticket on a yearly basis far outweighs the annual charges incurred.
I am no longer in possession of any Singapore-issued credit cards
give my lack of meaningful presence, calculated in terms of time
spent, in Singapore.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I recall that AMEX Plat. card (Singapore)&amp;nbsp;has an annaul
charge of SGD$350 two years back. If you were to take into
consideration the use and offers provided, there is no doubt that
the annaul charge is reasonable.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Again, I have no further wish to debate Jojo who, in my humble
opinion, and bless her soul, distorts every word that has been said
by either myself or any other individual she conducts herself
against in this forum. If I were to use her logic in rebutting her
comments, I could easily say, in regard her opening remarks about
savings, "sure, you can go to Malaysia or Indonesia or Thailand to
get more cost savings" but to do so would not engage in meaningful
discussions.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I respectfully withdraw from further engagging in this
topic.&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp; After all, a card is only as good and as
terrible as you, the individual, make it out to
be.&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp; A credit card is as useful and cunning as
Forex, Mutual Funds, For-Fee CPA / ChFC advicing, Stocks and the
like may be.&amp;nbsp; Its simply a tool that you can better from.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;A car, domestic helper, pet, academic tutor, financial
consultant, lawyer... may be luxuries to some. For others, if used
and planned for wisely, may bring better returns than if otherwise
not opted for.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by jojobeach:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Dude,&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;OBVIOUSLY, you are NOT a very savvy shopper. 20%-25% savings on
limited retailers.. if you can find cheaper ones elsewhere.. should
you insist on the 25% discount you get from the first store ? So if
you purchase with a 25% "discount"..is&amp;nbsp; that still SAVINGS
?????? Pwwweeees !!!&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And OBVIOUSLY, you are using a sub card that's attached to your
lao peh's credit card hor ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;You know what is annual fee anot ? You know how much is it ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Your maths got a pass right ? Then you tell me, how much must
you &lt;strong&gt;spend&lt;/strong&gt; in order to breakeven the annual fee
?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Just because one uses a finance management tool means he is
living within his own means?????..Now THIS is FALLACY!!&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Credit card is just a convenient &lt;strong&gt;luxury&lt;/strong&gt;. OK ?
Good.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
      <pubDate>Mon, 28 Apr 2008 12:29:15 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:12:315665:8044504</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Life after discharged bankruptcy replied by jojobeach @ Mon, 28 Apr 2008 12:05:11 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by bleuwhale:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If you had a gun lying before you, and you used it to shoot an
individual of your dislike, can you claim that "the gun made you do
it" and without it, you would have otherwise not shot the
victim?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;To IMMEDIATELY make a link between credit card, debts and
ill-spending seems to be a great fallacy.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;To claim that a &lt;span style=
"text-decoration: underline;"&gt;credit&lt;/span&gt; card is not a great
saving tool by virtue of its name may be to associate &lt;span style=
"text-decoration: underline;"&gt;money&lt;/span&gt; with spending.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I am essentially arguing that the smart use of credit cards,
coupled with your ability to treat it like a debit card (in that
you make all payments immediately or within the due month- both
possible with internet banking) would allow a CC to be more a
helper than hold you slave.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;For the individual truly hard up on getting&amp;nbsp;a line of
credit, even without a CC, there&amp;nbsp;is always the option to seek
out the services of loansharks.&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Look at the man, not the card.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;...And when I talk about savings, I refer to the 20-25% seasonal
savings / specials that one may get.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;*This author uses Microsoft Money on a daily basis to track,
manage and budget his finances and investments. So, unless you are
as pro-active and/or disciplined in financial management matters,
it would not be wise to use any of my above to create excuses for
the application of credit lines.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Dude,&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;OBVIOUSLY, you are NOT a very savvy shopper. 20%-25% savings on
limited participating retailers.. if you can find cheaper ones
elsewhere.. should you insist on the 25% discount you get from the
first store ? So if you purchase with a 25% "discount"..is&amp;nbsp;
that still SAVINGS ?????? Pwwweeees !!!&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And OBVIOUSLY, you are using a sub card that's attached to your
lao peh's credit card hor ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;You know what is annual fee anot ? You know how much is it ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Your maths got a pass right ? Then you tell me, how much must
you &lt;strong&gt;spend&lt;/strong&gt; in order to breakeven the annual fee
?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Just because one uses a finance management tool means he is
living within his own means?????..Now THIS is FALLACY!!&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Credit card is just a convenient &lt;strong&gt;luxury&lt;/strong&gt;. OK ?
Good.&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Mon, 28 Apr 2008 12:05:11 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:12:315665:8044454</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Life after discharged bankruptcy replied by bleuwhale @ Mon, 28 Apr 2008 08:19:07 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;If you had a gun lying before you, and you used it to shoot an
individual of your dislike, can you claim that "the gun made you do
it" and without it, you would have otherwise not shot the
victim?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;To IMMEDIATELY make a link between credit card, debts and
ill-spending seems to be a great fallacy.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;To claim that a &lt;span style=
"text-decoration: underline;"&gt;credit&lt;/span&gt; card is not a great
saving tool by virtue of its name may be to associate &lt;span style=
"text-decoration: underline;"&gt;money&lt;/span&gt; with spending.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I am essentially arguing that the smart use of credit cards,
coupled with your ability to treat it like a debit card (in that
you make all payments immediately or within the due month- both
possible with internet banking) would allow a CC to be more a
helper than hold you slave.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;For the individual truly hard up on getting&amp;nbsp;a line of
credit, even without a CC, there&amp;nbsp;is always the option to seek
out the services of loansharks.&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Look at the man, not the card.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;...And when I talk about savings, I refer to the 20-25% seasonal
savings / specials that one may get.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;*This author uses Microsoft Money on a daily basis to track,
manage and budget his finances and investments. So, unless you are
as pro-active and/or disciplined in financial management matters,
it would not be wise to use any of my above to create excuses for
the application of credit lines.&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Mon, 28 Apr 2008 08:19:07 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:12:315665:8044187</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Life after discharged bankruptcy replied by Poolman @ Mon, 28 Apr 2008 02:49:08 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;There's more important issue to curb than worrying about a
credit card .&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If u're matured enough , get yourself a house first , then the
bank would ever consider your application .&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;U got no house , bank want to chase u money , where to get u
?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Go and think la ... so simple !&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;No wonder u land yourself in such a bad state .&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 28 Apr 2008 02:49:08 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:12:315665:8044124</guid>
      <author>Poolman</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Life after discharged bankruptcy replied by Isis @ Mon, 28 Apr 2008 02:31:52 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by mancha:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;A credit card as a great saving tool is a delusion. It is a
great spending tool.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If I timed my purchases/spending after the billing date, I can
delay payment for about one and a half months. But I eventually
have to pay. In full. How much difference the one and a half months
can make.&amp;nbsp;A tinyest of a tinny bit, that is only if I don't
have the current cc&amp;nbsp;bill to pay for previous purchases.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Taking advantage of discounts isn't savings, it is spending, get
that clear, you do not save save save by buying buying buying.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Only&amp;nbsp;the retailer, industrialist, investor&amp;nbsp;could
benefit from credit/loans, and then&amp;nbsp;they need to be successful
in their venture to be able to repay and reap a profit as well. But
a consumer, to save by spending on credit is a fallacy.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Anyway credit cards discounts, are sometimes available to the
public too, not honoured by merchants, mostly not taken up by card
holders. You save the entire cost of the goods/services by not
making the purchase at all.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Yeap it isn't a great&amp;nbsp;saving tool. That why it is called a
&lt;span style="text-decoration: underline;"&gt;credit&lt;/span&gt; card but
there are some marginal benefits for owning a credit card that one
can take advantage of.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 28 Apr 2008 02:31:52 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:12:315665:8044116</guid>
      <author>Isis</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Life after discharged bankruptcy replied by Isis @ Mon, 28 Apr 2008 02:07:00 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;6k per month which is more than enough. I think&amp;nbsp;you
are&amp;nbsp;even eligible for the Citibank Gold card. Unfortunately,
you don't have any assets under your name ? Maybe you shld consult
your MP or write to the local newspaper about it.&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Mon, 28 Apr 2008 02:07:00 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:12:315665:8044097</guid>
      <author>Isis</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Life after discharged bankruptcy replied by mancha @ Mon, 28 Apr 2008 00:57:52 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;A credit card as a great saving tool is a delusion. It is a
great spending tool.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If I timed my purchases/spending after the billing date, I can
delay payment for about one and a half months. But I eventually
have to pay. In full. How much difference the one and a half months
can make.&amp;nbsp;A tinyest of a tinny bit, that is only if I don't
have the current cc&amp;nbsp;bill to pay for previous purchases.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Taking advantage of discounts isn't savings, it is spending, get
that clear, you do not save save save by buying buying buying.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Only&amp;nbsp;the retailer, industrialist, investor&amp;nbsp;could
benefit from credit/loans, and then&amp;nbsp;they need to be successful
in their venture to be able to repay and reap a profit as well. But
a consumer, to save by spending on credit is a fallacy.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Anyway credit cards discounts, are sometimes available to the
public too, not honoured by merchants, mostly not taken up by card
holders. You save the entire cost of the goods/services by not
making the purchase at all.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 28 Apr 2008 00:57:52 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:12:315665:8043980</guid>
      <author>mancha</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Life after discharged bankruptcy replied by jojobeach @ Mon, 28 Apr 2008 00:10:30 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by bleuwhale:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Bluewhale,&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If you are just trying to catch my attention.. you're doing a
great job.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Sorry to dissapoint you, no, I am not a prostitute. Perhaps you
should go ask your mother, since she is a woman too.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The reason why I ask if he is a gambler.. is very straight
forward. No malice intended ( unlike yourself)&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I have a friend who earns $15K per month and he's a gambler. No
savings, always in debt, never owns a home.. always renting.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;So if TS is a gambler, I suggest he kick the habit so he may
really start afresh again.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Yes, go ahead, encourage more debt to people who don't need
it.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I have plenty of savings, but in cold hard cash.. sitting in the
bank... and they start going up the day I cut my credits cards to
bits.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If you think 1-3% (rewards) returns on the money you have to
spend are worth the crap you may be putting yourself through.. I'd
say, you're penny wise pound foolish.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;So you go think about it ya ?&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Mon, 28 Apr 2008 00:10:30 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:12:315665:8043821</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Life after discharged bankruptcy replied by FirePig @ Sun, 27 Apr 2008 22:23:06 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;i tot now cc very easy to get...i tot with more than 2.5k per
month can get already...my elder brother got 3 cards last time. My
sis applying another one soon...&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 27 Apr 2008 22:23:06 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:12:315665:8043549</guid>
      <author>FirePig</author>
    </item>
  </channel>
</rss>