07 Oct, 06:36PM in sunny Singapore!
Home Aunt Agony

Study or Work??

Subscribe to Study or Work?? 44 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    1,151 posts since Feb '06
    • I'm going to ORD soon. Shld i study in uni (i've a place in NTU but haven't accept it) or work??

• Queen of sgForums
    Hottest.&.Coolest.Mod
    163,144 posts since Dec '99
    • if oredi got a seat liao then of cos is accept and study
      singapore is a pragmatic society, sadly
      got the pang sai chua, though is not the world, but at least is something u need in order to have a SLIGHTLY better life in SG.

unless there are reasons like u desperately need to contribute to the household income?

8,160 posts since Jul '07
    • study lah, study only take most 2-4 years of your life, if you work, you can work for the rest of your life, so work can come later.

Like me, last time never study, go work, kenna pple bully and laugh at by guys for being ah lian type

• the male yellow bunny
    1,639 posts since Dec '04
    • got place got money, study.

got place no money, work.

no place got money, can find somewhere to study.

no place no money, better find somewhere to work.

320 posts since May '08
    465 posts since Sep '07
    2,853 posts since Sep '04
    9,619 posts since Apr '06
    • Originally posted by cuddles:

got place got money, study.

got place no money, work.

no place got money, can find somewhere to study.

no place no money, better find somewhere to work.

No, no place and no money,...also must study. In Singapore, certificates is also one of the "C" requirement.

23 posts since Feb '08
    • When you get your degree, you will add value to yourself. Education is just like an investment. If you feel that there is no need to do study, feel free to start working. But always look far, 10 years down the road, where do you want to be?

I must agree that studying can be boring and tough when you don't have the interest. But i don't think it is any better to work. Since you have already gotten a place, why not just accept it. There are many others who couldn't get an uni place and were force to work. You were given the opportunity, so try not to waste it.

• Originally posted by lonestar86:

what if no interest??

no interest in what?? work?? if u got no interest in work, then go study lah

1,682 posts since Apr '03
  • ALL YOUR BASES ARE BELONG TO ME
    6,651 posts since Apr '05
    • follow ur interests and passion man. this is what truly makes a person happy and successful.

• Originally posted by angel7030:

no interest in what?? work?? if u got no interest in work, then go study lah

i mean no interest in study.. still persist in studying??

• Originally posted by Ravon:

When you get your degree, you will add value to yourself. Education is just like an investment. If you feel that there is no need to do study, feel free to start working. But always look far, 10 years down the road, where do you want to be?

I must agree that studying can be boring and tough when you don't have the interest. But i don't think it is any better to work. Since you have already gotten a place, why not just accept it. There are many others who couldn't get an uni place and were force to work. You were given the opportunity, so try not to waste it.

thanks for your comment. i appreciate it..

196 posts since Feb '08
    • study study study, you’ll never find anyone who laments having too much education, the contrary is true though…you see many working folks juggling between work and studies in the hope to advance their careers…since you have the opportunity, go for it, unless your family runs a good business, otherwise as i always tell my children, education gives you freedom and the power to determine your future….you will regret if you blow this chance…

361 posts since May '07
    • You must have gotten your uni place very easily and that is why you do not treasure it.

put it this way since you do not wish to study then let go of your place. there are thousands eyeing your place anyway.

• i still have 1 more week to consider before making this important decision. accept or reject?? i'm in a dilemma..

166 posts since Nov '07
    • i reckon you should study. it's hard to get a gd job withou a degree nowadays especially if you took the jc route (:

• Originally posted by escadaraindrops:

i reckon you should study. it's hard to get a gd job withou a degree nowadays especially if you took the jc route (:

i've taken the poly route. but how far would i go with a diploma??

42,756 posts since Jun '04
    • Originally posted by lonestar86:

i've taken the poly route. but how far would i go with a diploma??

In singapore 10 bosses, 7 have no diploma, so how far can you go??

It is not a matter of certificate in concern, no doubt you need a basic general education, but you also need to work hard and smart to be successful, you also need the luck and the opportunity given to be successful, you also need good networking, trust and partners in order to be successful, and lastly, you need a good and understand wife or gf to help you.

Like me, got luck, Dad old liao, give all business to me, so i shake leg lor, what diploma u toking, some diploma guys and gals also work under me, me only N level.

361 posts since May '07
    • angel very lucky lar.

how many people out there got parents who have business to pass to the kids?

If business failed how? U still need to work to repay your debts. Got paper better. At least you stay can support your family.

1,005 posts since Mar '08
    • Originally posted by angel7030:

In singapore 10 bosses, 7 have no diploma, so how far can you go??

It is not a matter of certificate in concern, no doubt you need a basic general education, but you also need to work hard and smart to be successful, you also need the luck and the opportunity given to be successful, you also need good networking, trust and partners in order to be successful, and lastly, you need a good and understand wife or gf to help you.

Like me, got luck, Dad old liao, give all business to me, so i shake leg lor, what diploma u toking, some diploma guys and gals also work under me, me only N level.

Omg ur so lucky .

Wonder if ur lying ? LOL

Please Login or Signup to reply.