-
-
I've got this friend whom I don't actually know very well. We attended the same JC, but had only been very casual friend, saying 'hi' when we met each other on the way, some simple conversation now and then. In fact, after leaving JC, we've never met each other again, much less talk to each other.
But I do read his blog. Soon after entering JC, he was enlisted into the army (like me). He seemed to be very depressed in the army. He obviously missed his school life very much too (who don't, actually?) .These few months he kept talking about 'wanting to die' and wanting to 'fall deeper and deeper into darkness without getting up'.
The sad thing is, there isn't much comments on his blog encouraging him. I always thought he was quite a popular student when he was in JC, but well, despite all his emo entries on his blog, nobody actually seemed to be advising him or encouraging him on his tagboard.
With so much being said, I'm actually quite worried about him even though we don't really know each other that well. How can I help him?
I guess I should at least give him some encouragement or inspirational advice, but I don't know how to. I doubt a sucidal person would actually be interested in listerning to big, chim and long philosophical speeches.
Come to think of it, who don't face hard time in the army? I too, is quite tired of my military life, but no way am I going to allow myself to sink into darkness, much less be suicidal. Lol...a sad guy trying to help a sadder guy.
Edited by annoy-you-must 25 May `08, 12:16PM
-
-
-
i think you meant since leaving jc and then enlisted…..
leave the bloke alone, most were hoping the world to collapse during the bmt phase, including yours truly, dread returning to tekong, hoping to meet with some accident to cut short ns….but hey, time flies and i have but a vague memory of my ns days…..he’ll get over it…soon enough..
-
-
-
Originally posted by dukedracula:
i think you meant since leaving jc and then enlisted…..
leave the bloke alone, most were hoping the world to collapse during the bmt phase, including yours truly, dread returning to tekong, hoping to meet with some accident to cut short ns….but hey, time flies and i have but a vague memory of my ns days…..he’ll get over it…soon enough..
Lol...ya, after leaving jc, not entering jc. He's not in tekong though...POP already, now in dun noe wat unit.
-
-
-
Originally posted by Karma88:
Omg i think u should really help him . Like meet up more with him and stuff .
Cause i had a friend like that . But mine was very depressed with his studies cause he was not doing well in poly .
He commited sucide last year . Until today i wish i had did something to make him feel better .
What a waste, eh..he handsome or not?
-
-
-
Originally posted by gigabyte14:
your head la
i talking serious la
obviously his friend is the self centered small boy thinking
stubborn and thinks the world revolves around him
and they still don't understand the word REALITY
dont get cocky just because you have favourable circumstances that make you "matured"
-
-
-
I think you're a very good friend.
I would do anything to have a friend like you during those days that I really need one.
On Topic: Maybe you can try giving him a call and asking him out for an outing? Just the 2 of you enough liao, suicidal people tends not to like big group gatherings cause they feel inferior to others and hence not liking the company.
Pay small attention to what he does, like what drinks he like, passing him the popcorn during the movie, or simply being an assister to his hero in dota ( that is if he plays ). These actions would make him feel that people do infact notice him and trust me, it's something he would greatly appreciate.
It's going to be long and maybe tiring if you want to help him to get out of such thoughts. Be prepared to help him all the way and not back out halfway. If you back out half way he would go back to his previous thoughts again but this time it would be more difficult for him to trust another people liao.
Gooooooooood luck!
-
-
-
Originally posted by gigabyte14:
your head la
i talking serious la
obviously his friend is the self centered small boy thinking
stubborn and thinks the world revolves around him
and they still don't understand the word REALITY
I used to have the same mentality, thinking that 'immature' people deserves more scoldings than help. I even felt disgusted at those schooling teens posting on Aunt Agony dying or whatever over bgr problems when instead, all of us know that there are much bigger and important things in this world to worry about. Wars, injustice, disasters, etc.But later I came to realise that I've been through that phase before...spent the whole year emo-ing because of a girl, among other lame 'problems'. So I guess everyone needs to learn how to grow up, and there's no harm trying to help these people see the world outside of their own.
After all, if such people really do something foolish at the end of the day, don't we as part of the society have a role in it? Besides, who define 'maturity'? For all we know, mankind could be the most immature animal on earth.
Edited by annoy-you-must 25 May `08, 3:59PM
-
-
-
We can't advise your friend much, but we can advise you.
Don't molly coddle him, but wake up his bloody idea.
Kick his butt, slap his face, punch him in the chin, ask him to tell you what is his great problem. He needs to grow up, and that is what he doesn't want to do.
Growing old is complusory.
Growing up, it seems, is optional, and your friend is opting out.
People before him, gave him the good ole days, each in their oridinary small way. Now he's grown up, he should be giving the younger ones, their good ole days, by doing his part, in his own small way. Instead he wants more of his school life.
Wake up his bloody idea.
-
-
-
Originally posted by newcomer:
giga is at his crap again.
Oh no I agreed with giga to a certain extend, some guy need reverse pyschology mind to unearth them, some need to whip, chain and scolded than can wake up, by using soft approach, they dun give a damn. At time, they need a heavy knock on the head and a kick in the groin to restart their engine.Hmmm...guys, funny creatures.
-
-
-
Originally posted by Q.C.Pak:
Sucide is a criminal offence...
try making him think postitive in his blog...then get to know him
let him know that there is someone who is willing to help him
If sucide is a criminal offence in Singapore, let your friend know that he maybe jailed and canned for successfully commiting sucide.this may disuade him from doing so
-