I've divorced for a few years. Whenever I see my ex-hubby's parents, I still call them Pa & Ma. My friends were surprised when they knew about it. But I think its nothing wrong since we've gone through the chinese customary last time, though we are divorced now. I have a boyfriend currently and he wasn't very happy about it too. He thinks that I should address them as auntie and uncle now, as to make it clear that I'm not their daughter-in-law anymore. Should it be in this way? Any advice?
ask ur ex-hubby parents if it is okay for u to call them ma & pa.
if ok, den if you want, u can continue.
if not, den change lor.
Ask yourself if you're only addressing them as 'Pa' & 'Ma' out of respect and courtesy; if you're still treating them as your in-laws then keep addressing them that way... Nothing wrong...
But from a personal point of view,
You've been divorced a few years now, with a new guy around you.. It may be good to draw the line clearer ![]()
y u divorced wif ur husband?
Originally posted by newcomer:y u divorced wif ur husband?
haha.. i think.. that qn won't help... her problem.
hmm, i think it doesn't matter.. what u address them with. the issue is your new bf.. let him understand that u're doing it out of loving kindness lor. i think this kinda issue is like those.. gf go out dinner with other guys, or also very friendly with them, and the bf feels uneasy etc.
just treat them like a normal god pa or god mum, nothing wrong wif the address issue anyway.
im very irritated by the irrational behaviour of ur current bf..
do what u think is right.. if he cant even accept that, u know the rules..
i think i will address them as pa and ma also..
u and ur ex hubby 缘尽 doesn't mean u and his parents 缘尽 also.
I will address pa and ma also. Dont worry about it, its been so long, the feelings is rooted. Even not being together, i also will address pa ma..
Its difficult to change the way you address them, esp if you have been doing so for years.
Just leave it as it is, a form of respect to them.
I would think that you can tell your bf there is no reason for this to cause any threat or discomfort to ur current relationship. ![]()
Wats wrong with calling them pa or ma ?
It`s just a name .
y u stil c dem so often leh?
can do it, until you get remarried
You decide for yourself. Personal preference.
change to gan ma gan pa
why do you even need to be in contact with them at all ? ...
Originally posted by Fatum:why do you even need to be in contact with them at all ? ...
wah.. if one day your relationship with kitty goes sour, u will burn bridges ah. =x
'Pa' and 'Ma' is ok what, if it's me, i'd also like that
agree with bbb's 2nd line
although me and wife are separated,we still call each other parents as pa and ma. personally, it very hard to put an end in a relationship. i stil regard them as my pa and ma for trusting me with their daughter, though we fail.
thus out of respect, moral aspect, name never change.
i also give angbao, birthdat present to them.
shld be ok to address them pa ma out of respect... but soon you are going to have another pair of in-laws, so how?
Its ok....just continue......keep calling ma and pa......trust me...its not nice to change it....
When u get married again...also keep it.....its ok what......u can call them ma and pa, and the new parents-in-law, also as ma and pa.
I think u can explain abit to ur BF, he will understand.....this is normal...as a preservation of family relations....
Meat Pao.
what's wrong with calling them pa and ma?
its fine wad.
i will not call them pa ma
dat's y me say u ppl duno.
u call dem pa & ma, u tink they happy ah.
yesh, mabbe they wil tink dat u're "so guai".
bt they wil oso fil bad coz they tink "my child has let u dwn.".
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:dat's y me say u ppl duno.
u call dem pa & ma, u tink they happy ah.
yesh, mabbe they wil tink dat u're "so guai".
bt they wil oso fil bad coz they tink "my child has let u dwn.".
hmm a break up may not be because the son let the girl down. could be.. the girl let him down? or maybe they both felt they weren't suited for each other?