07 Sep, 07:50PM in sunny Singapore!
Home Aunt Agony

nus orientation camp

Subscribe to nus orientation camp 41 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    98 posts since Apr '08
    • Anybody going to the Science orientation camp on 23rd this month?

I got no one to go with me ... and im very scared that i dont fit in during the camp.

• Queen of sgForums
    Hottest.&.Coolest.Mod
    160,604 posts since Dec '99
    • that's wat orientation is for rite???
      go there and mix and make frens and have fun and create good memories of ur varsity life

(other than the mugging, clubbing and smoking)

Edited by FireIce 10 Jun `08, 12:00AM
    9,183 posts since Sep '05
    98 posts since Apr '08
    • The thing im concerned is ... well... im going alone... so very pai seh... and its a 5 day 4 nite thing... no friend go with me can get boring if the ppl i meet dont mix well with me.... this is what really scares me

Still remember my jc orientation... omg! a disaster... ahhh...

dont know arrrrr... very undecided!!!!

If you were to go alone... whould you go?

• badass unker
    10,811 posts since Dec '04
    22,376 posts since Aug '05
    • dude ....

you've survived NS haven't you ? ..... you're a man now ... "shy" shouldn't be in your vocab ! ... icon_rolleyes.gif

• Phoenix Fudge
    16,360 posts since Jan '04
    • You go for orientation to get to know others. It's for you to mingle around, get to know some other people and have some contacts for mutual support during the first few semesters.

Most importantly, you get to know a few seniors, who are highly invaluable for advice, guidance, and old textbooks.

I went for engineering camp just before I matriculated in NUS four years ago. I've just graduated. No regrets going for that camp, man. I'm still in touch with many members of my orientation group, and my seniors were very helpful in guiding me along undergraduate life.

If you go there just for the sake of hanging around with people you already know, then it totally defeats the purpose of orientation camp.

6,273 posts since Aug '02
    • I entered Chem Eng but I went for Biz Ad camp last time. icon_lol.gif

Like FI said, it's about getting to know more friends and networking.

• Queen of sgForums
    Hottest.&.Coolest.Mod
    160,604 posts since Dec '99
    • if u go with ur own frens, u oni end up toking and sticking to ur own frens
      so just open ur heart and go there and relak
      going to uni oredi leh, shy ge pi lah.......

3,790 posts since Jun '03
    16,362 posts since Aug '01
    1,966 posts since Jan '04
    13 posts since Jun '08
    • Part & parcel of growing up.

If your past experience in JC is what's stopping you, all e more reason to venture out & not repeat e mistakes this time round..right? tongue.png

6,273 posts since Aug '02
    • If you let go of your inhibitions and go there with an open mind, you will enjoy it. Orientation is one of those memorable times in uni.

1,760 posts since Sep '07
    • Originally posted by eagle:

I didn't really go for any orientation camp.

I just made friends during lectures.

oh u are one of those i will patronise and give the fu yan smile LOL..

11,244 posts since May '04
    • Last time I got to build a float and won some prize... Then again, its a waste of time the orientation thing.  He's right, no friends there, people tend to leave you out.

7,176 posts since Jul '07
    • go better, get a good grip on networking, a very critical process you need to learn naturally. You can alway look for kuay teow and mee kia to mix with, afterall, you meepok ya. Bee Hoon also can lah.

16,362 posts since Aug '01
    • Originally posted by purpledragon84:

oh u are one of those i will patronise and give the fu yan smile LOL..

like that ah

then you won't be one of those I pull into my project teams and score As together as a team for them :D

1,760 posts since Sep '07
    413 posts since Sep '07
    • just go lah. i go poly orientation camp that time also don know anyone...don worrry you will survive it. its always a good thing to know a few people before starting school

1,648 posts since Jun '05
    1,084 posts since Mar '05
    • go there and know more people..
      and u will have more friends when u start yr studies.
      i am sure, u dun wana be left alone, doing your studies, attending classes, etc…

you wont know if u fit in or not, till u try it..
      and its fun!

2,142 posts since Dec '06
    • still remember my nursing orientation camp at nyp..

that time feel like in heaven cause so many gals at one place..

now see till no feeling

878 posts since Jan '06
    • yea im having this dilemma too, whether to join the engin camp or not. im not very used in this kinda camp stuff and staying overnight, furthermore there is no one to accompany me. in the end i decided to give this camp up and join the orientation week instead

14,849 posts since Sep '05
    • pls go...know more pple, get to know e place well..

its will help u better to get used to uni life faster...

trust me...cos i din go...regret..lol

Please Login or Signup to reply.