Why we need a degree?

Subscribe to Why we need a degree? 80 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    13 posts since Jun '08
    • Why

why

why

WHY!!!!

i feel like i'm forced to go into uni to study!!!

"cos is for my future"

"so can earn more money"

is it true that without it i can earn a living?

• Typically Singaporean way :P
    1,545 posts since Feb '08
    • who say one......go down to bugis...so many entrepreneurs hard at works....most of them no studies one sad.png

ask yourself what u want in life 1st.....sell tissues also can make a living sad.png

Edited by Cowbaycowboo 19 Jun `08, 11:38PM
    13 posts since Jun '08
    • making a living and earning good pay is different leh

with my diploma the most i think can get 2 k max ba

289 posts since Jun '08
    • a degree is a safety net if all else fails in life...

but that said, success isnt how many degrees u have, but how u apply the years of uni studies!

17,997 posts since Jul '06
    • gateway to more jobs, and can meet more zhabors

don't tell me you want to to play all the way in your life

nothing comes free hor

314 posts since Jan '05
    4,063 posts since Apr '07
    • Originally posted by Mymoja:

Why

why

why

WHY!!!!

"cos is for my future"

"so can earn more money"

This question is very easy to answer.

You go and flip through the Classified on jobs.

Then you choose the job you see you like.

Then you look at the requirement of that job.

Then based on your current qualification, go look at what kind of job is available. Then you decide if you want those kind of job.

You cannot buy a Prada with only $10.

6,273 posts since Aug '02
    1,256 posts since Dec '06
    • just take a look at the amount of degree holder nowadays.

no doubt taking a degree is impt in terms of it serving as a stepping stone for you in the workforce, its still mostly based on supply and demand of the job nature. not only tt some jobs don't really require a degree. take design for example.

btw have you finished your poly days?

if so i bet you wouldn't be saying all these. because the thought of venturing out into the workforce now feels like crap. studying is still better. the only responsibility you have is to study and score well.

some dip. holders starting pay is about 1.8k. after going through NS your pay is about 200 more than those who didn't. so who the hell said the max pay you're gonna get as a dip holder is only 2k?

if you are still studying for your dip, i suggest you do well and get into a U. do you and your parents proud.

1,133 posts since Sep '07
    • jus goes to show how f up the govt policies are...high education= high pay..most bosses hardly ever study..then they employ degrees holders to work for them..aint tat ironic..

7,001 posts since Jul '05
    11,388 posts since May '04
    16,868 posts since Aug '01
    • Originally posted by domonkassyu:

jus goes to show how f up the govt policies are...high education= high pay..most bosses hardly ever study..then they employ degrees holders to work for them..aint tat ironic..

But many more non-degree holders also work under degree holders. You can't take such examples to say so. Usually, people use this as an excuse not to study. But little did they know the amount of dedication and hard work put in by this sucessful people. If you could not even get dedicated and work hard for a simple degree, how could you ever expect yourself to succeed as a boss?

For every one of those bosses who succeed, many many more had failed. To be in such a position, you have to have the motivation, idea and luck to do so; it's not an easy job, and it entails much more risk than being an employee. The main difference would be, you can control the risks more as compared to being an employee

• Be my friend... ^^
    21,575 posts since Apr '04
    • why? why i want to get a second one har.. why ah !?

because i know i will need it for my master plan. we must all have a plan. If ur master plan does not involve u not getting any degree what so ever.. then dun go uni. dun get degree.

really.. i know quite a few tycoons.. never went to school before. But those days are up. You need to come up with something new to become like them.

40 posts since Jun '08
    • Basically, it also gives u more options in the future.

That's why nowadays more & more private Us are opening up..

More & more ppl are studying part-time..

Its also part of the upgrading process..

1,103 posts since Apr '07
    • A degree tells you how much you are interested in a subject. Unfortunately that's not the case here in Singapore and maybe the world over....

But if you are good at something, you want recognitions and rewards. A degree is the verification, your experience is the credential, and testimonials are your distinctions.

People dun owe you a living; you need to proof to others that you are worth the salt. Pragmatism aside, it's not even about survival. It's is about how you wish to express about yourself and your interest.

Why should anyone trust you when you cannot even convince others that you are worth it?

493 posts since Jul '06
    • It is a qualifying factor in a job interview, there are people with degrees, masters and years of experience, you can't vie with these people, less say go for an interview that requires a minimum of a degree.

It's what differentiates the professionals - No qualification(Retail) or executive jobs(Management)

493 posts since Jul '06
    • Originally posted by nehpyh:

A degree tells you how much you are interested in a subject. Unfortunately that's not the case here in Singapore and maybe the world over....

But if you are good at something, you want recognitions and rewards. A degree is the verification, your experience is the credential, and testimonials are your distinctions.

People dun owe you a living; you need to proof to others that you are worth the salt. Pragmatism aside, it's not even about survival. It's is about how you wish to express about yourself and your interest.

Why should anyone trust you when you cannot even convince others that you are worth it?

Top notch advise.

5,102 posts since Sep '06
    1,742 posts since Jan '03
    • There’s no absoulute case, but having good cert give you more options like others already said.

Most(but not all) jobs look at certs, but there are some jobs that prefer experience/skill than certs. So if you identified such job, spend 3years in that industry, gain the experience and learn the skill, you are prefered compared to someone who spend the 3years getting a cert.

But take note that such case only applies to limited industry/trade postions, the main stream is still looking at certs.

And like nehpyh said, you need to show/prove others that you are worth the salary. So even they dont look at certs, you still need to have the real skill, to impress them.

349 posts since May '08
    • Degree is a backup plan and the only method in sg to earn money fast and then go open business with easier approval from the banks. And lower debts to clear too.

13,314 posts since Dec '06
    1,010 posts since Mar '08
    669 posts since Apr '07
    • for meeting the practicality of this world. for luxury that everyone covets for. for a better life. for showing off. for basically, yourself. if you don wan oso can. lead a simpler poorer life with a stronger mindset in ignoring others' view on your meagre success in career, then yeah, u can forget about getting a degree.

64 posts since Jun '08
    • Originally posted by Mymoja:

Why

why

why

WHY!!!!

"cos is for my future"

"so can earn more money"

Okie... when you grow up you will understand lor....

now hor... one signboard drop down ,  90% are degree holders.

degree still not enough.. masters after that phd.

then with experience. then you can see the figure ... hmmm like 100000 - 300000 per annum after 8-9 yrs of relevant exp provided u must work smart . not hard like a ox.  If you are a sg and you dun study then the FT will bring there !@##$%$  masters cert to get a job here .

15 yrs ago... without a degree ... just with o levels ...u can get a job starting from 800 dollars ... then work all the way up till now.. if you are lucky you can reach the 100000 p.a and you will reach the age of 40 plus.. scare retrenchment will happen to you becos ... young degree holders being offered  40 k pa. will take over your job then you panic ...  faster start your evening class  to get your dip ... degree then master....

okie ... people will say ... degree is bullshit after reading all this... correct ... those who say is bullshit must be the small portion of people are entrepreneurs who had started a business like charles and keith ... local enterprise.

It is two-sided.

one is my fren , whom I know from the nite class.

the other who is my fren's  father in law... with sec 4 qualifications.. came from a damn poor family, started  a company which made him a multi millionaire ..earn a lot of money but got cancer and passed away eventually at 50.. slogged all his life to build the business..

Capable to earn money ... but no life to spend.

Please Login or Signup to reply.