Hottest.&.Coolest.Mod
    163,346 posts since Dec '99
  • Certified Auntie Killer
    35,528 posts since Jul '00
    1,151 posts since Feb '06
    • Originally posted by Ferret:

what is ur agony ?

the taking of loan or wot ?

cus i feel that taking loan from back to study is kinda pathetic..

127 posts since Mar '08
    • hw can it be pathetic... is studies more impt or your face more impt? it damn common in sg here... so u not the only one in sg to go to a bank say to the officer, i wan study loan !.. so u expecting ppl to laugh at you when u say u r taking up bank loan? omg.. what the heck u thinkin!

• Pink Leftie with child bearing hips and fertile eggs
    20,010 posts since Dec '99
    68 posts since Jun '07
    • Originally posted by lonestar86:

pathetic??? if you are so rich then don't take loan lor. or better, don't study.

1,010 posts since Mar '08
    • Aya dont study lar .

Waste time only .

Work as my slave i pay u one month 250k .

Like fat trump

4,995 posts since Oct '05
    • then dont study lor, if you think it's pathetic.

i see a lot of my friends also take bank loan 1.. like almost all leh.

although i dont take bank loan but i also dont think such alternative is pathetic lor.

8,270 posts since Jul '07
    1,031 posts since Jan '07
    • If u dun take, people will laugh at u.

Interest free for 3 years leh xdd, u put in bank that 18k - 24k how much interest can u earn lol....

If u dun have this $$$ and dun want to take loan, find a job yourself now cos u cannot even afford a talk with the professor.

2,867 posts since Aug '05

consider it a blessing that you feel it that way. you will definitely work hard and get the results you want. if you get it easily, you won't treasure the money

127 posts since Mar '08
    • Originally posted by SevenEleven:

consider it a blessing that you feel it that way. you will definitely work hard and get the results you want. if you get it easily, you won't treasure the money

wa.. you really senior citizen... talk like one... with wisdom.. haha.. kidding..

1,151 posts since Feb '06
    • i just feel that if one has no $$ to study, he/she shld work for $$ instead of taking loan from bank and study. If not, he/she will end up with huge debt..

634 posts since Sep '05
    • Originally posted by angel7030:

ya, alot take loan from banks, no choice mah, if not take from Ah long lor

rofl. take loan from ah long to study.....

634 posts since Sep '05

i just feel that if one has no $$ to study, he/she shld work for $$ instead of taking loan from bank and study. If not, he/she will end up with huge debt..

but how much can u earn per day? uni dont come cheaps.....

by the time u save the money i think u are old liao.

11,865 posts since Jun '05
  • Phoenix Fudge
    16,656 posts since Jan '04

i just feel that if one has no $$ to study, he/she shld work for $$ instead of taking loan from bank and study. If not, he/she will end up with huge debt..

Wah lau..... with what you said, I guess I must be pathetic to take a loan for my undergrad studies.....

So for how long do you plan to work to save up for studies? You're looking at at least $25K of tuition fees, mind you. How old will you be by the time you save up enough?

1,739 posts since Mar '08
    • taking loan to study is actually a `good' loan, especially if you cannot afford to pay for it.

taking a study loan to go club med or buy hi-fi equipment is a `bad loan'. 

i was guilty of the latter. now i know better.... 

6,273 posts since Aug '02
    • Very common to take a bank loan for studies.

Even utilizing your parents' CPF is a loan. You need to repay once you graduate (with interest).

If can, get a scholarship.

8,270 posts since Jul '07
    • Originally posted by xavier1979:

Very common to take a bank loan for studies.

Even utilizing your parents' CPF is a loan. You need to repay once you graduate (with interest).

If can, get a scholarship.

scholarship may come with bonds that may tight you down with  once you graduated with a job and a  pay that you must accept, you lost freedom and also other good opportunities. Of course if you can raise money thru relatives or others mean is the best, the other alternative is to take loan from bank, when u graduated, u are not tight down to serve the bonds, you pay back.

Nevertheless, whatever mean, study well and get a degree ya

847 posts since Jun '04
    • take scholarship or no loan if possible.

put yr study on hold for 1 yr and go get a job to make some money. give tuition also.

1 yr later, if still not enuff, take a small study loan.

it's good to have a taste of working life first before you take further studies.

the motivation is very different.

847 posts since Jun '04
    • take scholarship or no loan if possible.

put yr study on hold for 1 yr and go get a job to make some money. give tuition also.

1 yr later, if still not enuff, take a small study loan.

it's good to have a taste of working life first before you take further studies.

the motivation is very different.

• here's my story....

my baby brother, insisted on going to UK for tertiary degree.

my mother, sold off her flat to give the $$$ to brother to go UK.

she moved in with me and I put her as a co-owner of my 3rm hdb flat.

to date.  the baby brother is working for almost 4 years as a it communication engineer and renting a home elsewhere.

he has not returned the money that the mother has provided for him and nether has he fullfilled his promises of the following:

1 "I will be able to take care of mother after I have completed tertiary studies."

2."I will buy a condo to house mother."

3. "mother will have nothng to want of you sisters because, I and only I with the degree can provide for mother and 'guang zhong yeow zu" meaning bring honour to our ancestors.

Todate his excuse for not providing for mother: "mom's name is in your flat so you have to be responsible for her till you dispose of your flat and mother becomes homeless."

• I respect people who took loans, CPF loans from their parents, partial sponsorships from companies, CDAC or medaki funds or those who worked to save their money for their studies.

I pratically spit on fellas who took clear cut cash from poor family members instead of applying for scholarships, sponsors or loans.  especially those 'highly educated fellas' who dont know how to return m onies.

Edited by viciouskitty74 09 Jul `08, 1:58PM
Please Login or Signup to reply.