hi all,
have been a bit out of touch with social stuff as i've been a loner all along....., so just curious:
for e.g, in a party situation, or a social gathering situation, and one of your friend intro you to her other friends, or if she intro her other friends to you, what do u guys normally do?
go up to them and shake hands? will that appear as too formal?
serious only, thanks.
shake hands, say hi [tt person's name], i am [ur name]
u can add "nice to meet you" but i usually no say cos sometimes it's not relli nice to meet person...
i oni say 真心�
after tt can move on to the boring standard small talk
where u working blah blah blah
but i usually dun ask cos i dun pharking care
shake hands is still ok, but dont talk like some cambridge nerd.
"Salutations dear! The pleasure of your acquaintance is all mine! I am Geoffrey Arnolds and I aspire to be a rocket scientist!"
what kind of gathering ?
those friends kind of party just say hi enuff riaos.
shake paws also can but no nid.
If its a business function or someone u wanna network with, then better shake paws.
dis oso muz ask.
formal i shake hand.
casual i juz nod or wave loh.
actually, it's just a casual gathering to know more people, so i'm not sure how to behave.
usually, i'm more used to formal gatherings, and need to shake hands those time.
want relli informal then say "yo! ho seh bo!?"
LOL, thanks!
easy tip
1. wink
2. smile
3. wink again
4. wink
Just smile, normally only guys shake hand with me. Girls will giggle then wave, don't know why.
Try to talk to her through out the party .
Then get her number .
2 days later call her up for a chat then meet her then bring her home .
SOP
to greet girls, guys have to kiss her hand, like old fashioned 17th century gentleman!
Originally posted by ~b1RD_m4N~:to greet girls, guys have to kiss her hand, like old fashioned 17th century gentleman!
Malay also do that .
U trying say they orbit ?
orh horrr
Originally posted by Karma88:
Malay also do that .U trying say they orbit ?
no la. 17th centruy one different, watch some movies and you'll know!
Casual meeting is much more easy what.... lol. You can choose to shake hand and intro yourself, then compliment the person a little
or a slight wave and a smirk without openin your mouth
The other: "How are you?"
You: " Fine, thank you" or "Ok".
The other: "How do you do."
You reply: "How do you do." (and not "Fine,thank you.")
Originally posted by Karma88:
Malay also do that .U trying say they orbit ?
lubbish.
sum malay men dun shake ger's hand de.
last time got one russian guy lealli held & kissed my hand liddat.
wah lau this one u also need to be in agony ar?? i think basic courtesy is more suitable as the title.
if friend being introduced to you or either ways,
shake hands. introduce yourself with ur name. try to strike a simple conversation.
As a gal, if i am intro to a guy, i will try to shake with my fingers only, and if the guy show sign of grabbing my whole hand, i will not talk to him anymore, just smile and walk away, cos it give me the creep that he is a womaniser.
And i also try to shake with their left hand, cos i know many/most guys use their right hands to shake other things...eeeeee...no wash one...
Originally posted by angel7030:As a gal, if i am intro to a guy, i will try to shake with my fingers only, and if the guy show sign of grabbing my whole hand, i will not talk to him anymore, just smile and walk away, cos it give me the creep that he is a womaniser.
And i also try to shake with their left hand, cos i know many/most guys use their right hands to shake other things...eeeeee...no wash one...
but if he's a business guy, he would grab your whole hand and shake warmly to show sincerity.
shaking with fingers is not the right way. it shows that you are not sincere. the right way to shake hands is to grab as a whole and with a gentle squeeze then followed by shaking to show your sincerity. no hard feelings just telling what i know thats all.
Originally posted by benjee:shaking with fingers is not the right way. it shows that you are not sincere. the right way to shake hands is to grab as a whole and with a gentle squeeze then followed by shaking to show your sincerity. no hard feelings just telling what i know thats all.
mainly for business meetings.
Just say hello. Pleased to meet you and all that.
Originally posted by Herzog_Zwei:
but if he's a business guy, he would grab your whole hand and shake warmly to show sincerity.
Provided if he drives a jaguar or porsche.