11 Oct, 04:04AM in sunny Singapore!
Home Aunt Agony

Upset over O levels chinese oral!

Subscribe to Upset over O levels chinese oral! 32 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    289 posts since Mar '07
    • I just sat for my O levels chinese oral a few hours back. Although I didn't feel nervous, I felt I did quite "badly" for my conversation component. You might think this is simply nothing and that I just have to make do with a Merit... but I want to get a Distinction!I feel so rotten and disconsolate. It's as though I'm real stupid to miss a chance to get distinction (although there is still hope). I nearly broke down on the way home earlier.

Helpless.

Edited by bonkysleuth 08 Jul `08, 5:33PM
    13,301 posts since Dec '06
    • Chinese conversation could actually be "studied"... So did you study?

What more important is, had you done your best?

And an advice from one of my teachers,
      "If the exam is over, forget about it. Don't dwell over it cus you can't change it. It will affect your other paper is you dwell over it."
      which I think is just so true...

I too taking my O lvl this year...

Cheers ^^

• Queen of sgForums
    Hottest.&.Coolest.Mod
    163,346 posts since Dec '99
    • there is nothing u can do as this kind of thing highly depends on 临场表现
      u can prep for 10yrs but at tt moment, if there is any 闪失 then tts it loh

but then it's oni oral lah
      u can still get ur A1 if u do the compo and the paper 2 well

73 posts since Jun '08
    • O level mt nia, can retake november one mah, just relax. I oso taking o levels this year.

8,270 posts since Jul '07
    • aiya, just ordinary level only, scare like hell...be calm and easy lah, i no o level also can go get diploma cert, why u worry.

1,205 posts since Aug '05
    • Originally posted by Whatdatoot:

O level mt nia, can retake november one mah, just relax. I oso taking o levels this year.

oral can only be taken once

the one can retake de is paper 1 and 2

1,442 posts since Jan '05
    • lol my A level chinese oral even worse

the examiners asked me if i thought Singapore was a fun place for tourists and why there is an occurence of SG ppl preferring to have their holidays out of SG and not in SG.

wad the fug.

6,973 posts since Jun '05
    • Originally posted by jonchao72:

lol my A level chinese oral even worse

the examiners asked me if i thought Singapore was a fun place for tourists and why there is an occurence of SG ppl preferring to have their holidays out of SG and not in SG.

wad the fug.

That's the same qn the people taking chinese in my class kena lol

28,565 posts since Mar '03
    • do better in other sections lo...

i always score for my paper, but i also got A1 distinction for my oral la..

usually the paper will be easier to score.. so dun let the oral test bother u too much.

1,301 posts since Apr '06
    • tell us when u really get a merit

for all you know, the distinction might still be yours

for now i hope you just forget about this and work hard for your main papers! good luck!

17 posts since Feb '05
    • I got a freakin U for my chi O's oral.

ended up quite lucky to get a C5. screw chinese... haha

422 posts since Jul '07
    9,715 posts since Apr '06
    68 posts since Jun '07
    • Originally posted by gunner77:

distinction for oral wats the point?

distinction for the paper then important.

Totally agree.

Concentrate on your paper instead.

2,612 posts since Dec '07
    469 posts since Sep '07
    8,270 posts since Jul '07
    • Originally posted by rain-coat:

over already lah so dont think about it anymore...focus on paper instead

ya, focus on the examination papers, not the toilet paper ya.

16,863 posts since Aug '01
    • Originally posted by bonkysleuth:

I just sat for my O levels chinese oral a few hours back. Although I didn't feel nervous, I felt I did quite "badly" for my conversation component. You might think this is simply nothing and that I just have to make do with a Merit... but I want to get a Distinction!I feel so rotten and disconsolate. It's as though I'm real stupid to miss a chance to get distinction (although there is still hope). I nearly broke down on the way home earlier.

Helpless.

Listen

What's done cannot be undone. There's no ctrl+Z undo button in real life.
      Many a time, we will always look back and say "shit, should have done this or that". But then, if we always managed to achieve the "should have done this or that", there wouldn't be any poor person on this earth.

Life is already full of events. Concentrate on events in which you still have a power and ability to influence, and not look back and regret over events which cannot be changed anymore. There's just so many things to do, and you want to waste your time regretting over this?

There's no use crying over split milk.

Anyway, I got merit for my O level chinese oral and did quite badly for my compo, and still managed an A2. My sis (1.5 years ago) wrote out of point for her O level Chinese letter writing, got merit for her oral exams, and still get A2.

What you can change now is to score well for your other papers, and you are still well on your way to an A1. This is something which you can still influence and change. An A1 with a merit in oral exams will definitely be better than an A2 or B3 with distinction in oral exams.

3,848 posts since Dec '05
    • dont worry about it anymore. even if u fuck it up real bad, dont worry, still got ur main paper.

7 posts since Jul '08
    • treat this as a lesson learnt, and prepare well for all challenges you would face in future.

you can also take this as a motivation for you to do well in your other chinese papers. see, it can be a blessing in disguise. it all comes down on how you will take this fall and make it something beneficial.

best of luck in your future endeavours. (:

1 post since Aug '08
    • ehh..my chinese kena E8.then my oral U then lc 5/10. how ah..i want get c6 second try. but i dunno whether i can make it or not. how ah. u think can or not. wah lao. my prelim all get c6 dunno why this nabei o level get e8.  knnccb

16,393 posts since Nov '06
    4,421 posts since Nov '04
    13,301 posts since Dec '06
    • Originally posted by kenn3th:

E8 is not the end. Just remember 1 or 2 points can mean a grade or 2.

Oral Pass?

Hmm how about F9?

I been transfer to B chinese...
      Well as expected... I can't read chinese...

Hope that B chinese is easier for me...

Please Login or Signup to reply.