There are a lot of hype on Eco friendly, and I was wondering why the HDB doesn't include Eco friendly features into upgrading projects.
It will be nice to have to "green walls". Where plants are planted on the walls and cool down the HDB. this will help the everyone there to switch off the aircon more and save more electricity.
Adding sunshade to the windows also reduce the amount of heat and sunlight going into the house.
Getting Some Solar Cells on the roof or Green garden on the roof will also be good. At least the sunlight is not wasted to heat up the units on the top floor. And Air con not needed for top floor dweller.
Any better suggestion for the HDB "Upgrading projects"?
good idea actually.
u spon them the money?
as s'pore will become a greying population in time to time, its much more better to focus on upgrades that will benefit the elderly in my opinion..
There are a lot of hype on Eco friendly, and I was wondering why the HDB doesn't include Eco friendly features into upgrading projects.
its all to grab attention. i think most are for commercial purposes.
It will be nice to have to "green walls". Where plants are planted on the walls and cool down the HDB. this will help the everyone there to switch off the aircon more and save more electricity.
how will you know everyone will swtich off their aircons? it may cool down. but will it be sufficient? also, who's gonna pay for the maintanance of the plants. it will turn out to be ugly if no one maintains them.
Getting Some Solar Cells on the roof or Green garden on the roof will also be good. At least the sunlight is not wasted to heat up the units on the top floor. And Air con not needed for top floor dweller.
if i am not wrong, the only obstruction to extend the usage of solar cells is that they are difficult to manufacture and therefore cost a lot, though i think we can afford it.
They are trying. Some people living in some HDB estates might realise that the usual T8 lamps in the lift lobbies and corridors are being replaced by the T5 lamps. Due to its high lumens efficiency and high power factor, a T5 is more energy saving than the T8 lamps. It also contains lesser mercury thus contributing lesser to the pollution of the environment when time to dispose of the lamp.
a few ideas..
1. Most Eco friendly designs in projects are on either landed or condos. Meaning, small scaled. HDB is all over the island.. so it's really too ex to upgrade plus add on green design.
2. It is true that greens can cool down the building in theory, as mentioned, maintenance will go up with more greenery.. (can't be self maintained because such greenery normally is on the exterior walls, unreachable.) and with the fight against Dengue, they rather see everywhere clear spot than having to check all the greens.
3. Solar Cells would be too ex also for all HDB.. servicing the solar panels also will be quite a sum perhaps..
It's definitely nice to have all these eco friendly designs, but honestly they can't deliver it..
Erm.... why is this in Aunt Agony? ![]()
Originally posted by fudgester:Erm.... why is this in Aunt Agony?
lol.. I didn't realised.. I always reply based on newest topics.. :D
Originally posted by cuddles:a few ideas..
1. Most Eco friendly designs in projects are on either landed or condos. Meaning, small scaled. HDB is all over the island.. so it's really too ex to upgrade plus add on green design.
2. It is true that greens can cool down the building in theory, as mentioned, maintenance will go up with more greenery.. (can't be self maintained because such greenery normally is on the exterior walls, unreachable.) and with the fight against Dengue, they rather see everywhere clear spot than having to check all the greens.
3. Solar Cells would be too ex also for all HDB.. servicing the solar panels also will be quite a sum perhaps..
It's definitely nice to have all these eco friendly designs, but honestly they can't deliver it..
they can always pass on the cost to consumers.. anyway we're used to it liao.. ![]()
i believe in pollution = profit
i do not believe in all these eco friendly crap
Originally posted by mamamamama:they can always pass on the cost to consumers.. anyway we're used to it liao..
lol.. this one will end up in spkers corner.. :P
Green walls are difficult to maintain. It cost $$ to maintian as well. Who is going to bear the maintenance cost? the occupants or hdb? plants may also create other problems like attracting insects.
The best way to be eco friendly is use less electricity. That means, watch less tv, use less air con, computer etc.
HDB give u planter but u deck over and become ur private balcony.
how can?
HDB give u green wall but u dun wan to maintain.
how can?
HDB give u sunshade but u still on ur aircon.
how can?
greenmark is bull.
Hmm... what if the upgraded portion collapses when the plants' roots start to get to the structure?
point fingers loh...