Hi ppl,
I'm just finished with my NS and i am current in NTU mechanical engine. Life so stressful. Used to be doing quite okay during poly but after 2 years of serving, most of the knowledge i already return to poly lecturers.
Is there anyone here whom been in my shoes before? Its sooooo stressful as this is my first semester and i am a direct year 2 student. They keep stressing that the concept is very important but I am a memorising guy in poly. I'm trying to understand the 'concept'as much as i can but i really scared i might flunk my first exams. The marking scheme shld be diff right? poly they do give marks for rubbish you wrote but i heard if the prof in uni who is marking your paper thinks that u dun understand anything, he give u a zero?
I also scared of dissapointing my parents as they had invested alot of money for me to studies. I've already loss my will to study but I know i need to get a deegree at the end stage.
Sianz..
understand and then memorise the concept.
approach your tutors for help, they're paid to help student, clarify until you understand
scared of exams for what? exams are meant for testing your knowledge of a subject, not meant to strike fear into our minds
be thick skin and ask for help from your peers and tutors
just get the exam papers and keep doing and doing and doing
in essays, as long as your reasoning makes sense, they will give you the marks. concepts and application important. just keep reading. ![]()
you will do well, dont worry.
You people are not seeing the picture here.
He is mentally stressed during this transition period.
What he needs to do is to take time off to relax and forget about schoolwork for now.
The more he tries to memorise school crap or force himself to study, it will only cause him more distress.
I suggest you take a break and rest your mind for a while. It's hard to not think about schoolwork but forcing yourself to do it will only aggravate the situation more. ![]()
Take one full day off.
Go to the cinema and watch ALL the movies one by one showing from morning till night with no breaks in between.
See if that works. ![]()
Originally posted by charlize:You people are not seeing the picture here.
He is mentally stressed during this transition period.
What he needs to do is to take time off to relax and forget about schoolwork for now.
The more he tries to memorise school crap or force himself to study, it will only cause him more distress.
I suggest you take a break and rest your mind for a while. It's hard to not think about schoolwork but forcing yourself to do it will only aggravate the situation more.
i think NS gave him enough break already, he is afraid that he cant catch up.
TS every guy after NS in uni have the same problems.
He is mentally stressed during this transition period. i agree =D
Originally posted by Evangel:i think NS gave him enough break already, he is afraid that he cant catch up.
TS every guy after NS in uni have the same problems.
He is mentally stressed during this transition period. i agree =D
Not every
Most. But then, that period is already past... no use talking about what should have been done and what should not.
TS should take a look at the different strategies to be used to score...
Think 'bout it this way...
Every guy would have to go through this 'transition period', for those who are going into courses not relevant to their diploma (i.e. IT dip grad going into banking and finance), the learning curve is even steeper.
A direct entry into year 2 means that you've gotta catch up with 1 year worth of syllabus; which also means that your classmates who had been through year 1, they have a stronger foundation than you. Understanding that NTU courses are 3 years direct honors (Correct me if I'm wrong), TS might not even get a 3rd class honors if this goes on.
Now you guys understand the gravity of this situation, you should not have asked him to spend the entire day at the cinema ![]()
Time to make friends, TS.. And get them to help you with your course, it's good to have a study partner to pace and motivate you.. Find a study style you're comfortable and confident with, and start working on the books..
The other solution I can think of is follow the PMs suggestion.
Go procreate.
Then you will have other problems to worry about other than schoolwork. ![]()
if procreate additional problems already ![]()
fight on!!
it's time to dig out your textbooks and revise!!
no point complaining here. I'm also struggling in Yr2, but now i'm telling myself to buck up or i'll fall behind my peers.
The fact that you made it to Uni already means you have the stuff, and you can't change e system, so you have to adapt and change your habits.
Tips: understand your tutorials, try tb examples, attempt past year papers. The rest up to above liao. Engin seldom write essay i think, but at least write something for exams so that examiners can look for marks to give you.
Let's work hard together, even though diff course, haha :)
uni different from poly ![]()
poly you still can see alot of lazy people around who can't be bothered with studying. this scenario doesn't apply in the uni. everyone's having the mugging mentality alr. ok maybe not all but most ![]()
sometimes i feel sad when students can't cope with their studies. they start to hate a subject because they can't understand it. they can't understand it because they don't dare to clarify it ![]()
uni is a lot harder than poly....u are expected to cover a lot more within a shorter period of time, and sucks to be those who did not have proper grounding for those sci/engine courses, especially Maths C
and you don't try to understand as much as you can. It's either you understand, or you don't. At the end of the day, not everyone will understand everything covered in the course, it's all about how to spend your time wisely and make every day count
That is why business degree is popular in sg. Cos no difficult concept and physic to understand. Even u go NS 2 years come back still can study but engineering course will be very tough and different.
Btw, is yr mathematic good? If no good. Wish u good luck!
hey i'm in ntu mech engine too but first year lah since i from jc.
now, i've been online for a few hours.
Originally posted by diablotical:
Hi ppl,
I'm just finished with my NS and i am current in NTU mechanical engine. Life so stressful. Used to be doing quite okay during poly but after 2 years of serving, most of the knowledge i already return to poly lecturers.
Is there anyone here whom been in my shoes before? Its sooooo stressful as this is my first semester and i am a direct year 2 student. They keep stressing that the concept is very important but I am a memorising guy in poly. I'm trying to understand the 'concept'as much as i can but i really scared i might flunk my first exams. The marking scheme shld be diff right? poly they do give marks for rubbish you wrote but i heard if the prof in uni who is marking your paper thinks that u dun understand anything, he give u a zero?
I also scared of dissapointing my parents as they had invested alot of money for me to studies. I've already loss my will to study but I know i need to get a deegree at the end stage.
Sianz..
sounds like my friend totally except he's in nus.
homework forum is your fren :P
anyway, i think i should start thinking of a guide for poly students .going uni. Seems like some poly students are having difficulty coping in uni.
Hi ppl,
Sianz..
Do your tutorials deligently... then go to class n clarify w the tutor...
for engrg tutorials that i went thru long time ago... the "Air" levels folks seldom do their stuff n rather the Poly folks are the ones that lend us their model answers....
try reading the lecture materials prior to the lecture, highlight those that u dun understand n try to grasp them during the lecture. If possible, refer to the specific chapters in the reference books for resolution....
next is to find a group of motivated folks n help each other out.... u can do this easily by going to the library n see if u can join in the "common" groups - i.e. always there rain or shine doing work....
It is quite hard to start on the second year as most of the poly students will have a hard time in grasping the formulas.
My advice for you is to form a study group with your fellow students who used to graduated from poly.
At least all of you can get support and encouragement from each other.
It will be sharing of knowledge and understanding.
Or course, all of you must be geniunely willing to work together.
Hi ppl,
Sianz..
U better start learning instead of memorising.Fast.Next Monday should be Week4...
I know for a fact that some lecturers do not bother reading everything that U write...if they glance and see that it doesnt look like the steps they are expecting...U get 0 for that part...nicer lecturers will go look at the final answer and if it looks quite close to the correct answer...then they will go back and check out the working...provided they find your handwriting acceptable to them lar...
there is an appeal thingy when the results are released...need to pay...I think like 20 bucks per subject....but I have neber ever seen anyone get their grades changed through it...so I think U can forget about it...
I am not going to blow sunshine on U to cheer U up....I just want to add that whatever U decide to do...do it decisively....as in...dun get stuck in Year 3...FYP coming...workload heavy....then come back and post a "I am still stressed" post...I may sound cruel...but uni life is not a bed of roses.
Originally posted by hiphop2009:homework forum is your fren :P
anyway, i think i should start thinking of a guide for poly students .going uni. Seems like some poly students are having difficulty coping in uni.
maybe we can combine forces... :D
You start the guide, I help you add on =D
Originally posted by eagle:maybe we can combine forces... :D
You start the guide, I help you add on =D
sure, i will go think abt it. lol
I just realised you went and take the guidelines I posted, removed it, and put it up again in your name