Originally posted by BrUtUs:
if u know them well nothin wrong to go n share the happiness... y bother abt the angpow $$$..... if still affects u so much then jz check the rate per table for tat restaurant n give the right amt... since u inferior then jz mail them the angpow n say u not gng...marraige more than jz sex alone... its step to confirm u want to b with your partner for life... u r a sad person.... gd luck to u...
In reality, couples worry they can't breakeven if they collect lesser $ from angpow, lesser from the total amount spend on the wedding dinner.
Originally posted by Fantagf:In reality, couples worry they can't breakeven if they collect lesser $ from angpow, lesser from the total amount spend on the wedding dinner.
actually low chance to recover in full... if u wan wedding dinner sure expect loss one unless u got god father/mum who very generous... if dun lose its a plus liao... if so afriad lose $$$ then dun host dinner lo...
Originally posted by BrUtUs:
actually low chance to recover in full... if u wan wedding dinner sure expect loss one unless u got god father/mum who very generous... if dun lose its a plus liao... if so afriad lose $$$ then dun host dinner lo...
It all depends on the cost of the wedding dinner and the guests. If the couple throw dinner at 6Star hotel, table costs 1,200 dollars and if the guests give say about $50, sure cannot breakeven.
On the contrary, if the costs of the wedding dinner is lower, most of the time breakeven is possible.
Originally posted by Fantagf:
It all depends on the cost of the wedding dinner and the guests. If the couple throw dinner at 6Star hotel, table costs 1,200 dollars and if the guests give say about $50, sure cannot breakeven.On the contrary, if the costs of the wedding dinner is lower, most of the time breakeven is possible.
yup... so its all up to how the couple wan it lo.. 6 star sure lose wan.... if wan host jz host it to ur budget n hope for the best... if dun lose use it as honeymoon $$$...
see, don't go and your social circle suffers, too often you MIA yourself, people will start to think you're being a total anti-social. you want that? give yourself some kind of balance. if you tried to keep in contact with a friend who's already married and he/she doesn't reply, then who gives a shit about them. it's their loss. haha they're the ones having loserish attitudes just because they've got a ring on their finger and a crying toddler, and can't even keep in touch with friends.
you need to fall in love first man. then your mindset about whether you wanna spend the rest of your life with this other person, and on a whole, marriage, will change completely.
Originally posted by dont know much:1
Friends invited me for their wedding dinner.
Being a generous bachelor, I gave $100 on every dinner which is considered way-too-much for a single person attending. I didn't think like the majority, but rather view going to dinners, as a get-together with old mates.
But today, I changed my mind. I could've chosen not to go to such dinner.
1. Inferior, being a bachelor.
2. Is it really a earn-back-all-the-hongbaos for the married couple? Because, most times, Singaporeans always chat about "earning back the hongbaos". Like, conversations revolve around $ $ $$$$ (that is, being kaisu, etc.)
Is marriage really that important ?
Is having a partner really that necessary? Say, if a person is independent, he could have all the freedom to do whatever things he loves to. When it comes to old age, he could employ a care-giver.
Love-wise? Hmm. What is love, exactly?
When I could've slept with my friend. Not that she's someone whom I love, but rather a at-the-moment lust / fun / whatsoever u term it...
Ideally, you're someone who'd experienced all the wonderful post-marriage life?
Or rather, u're a mum/dad of kids?
Or you could be doing anything,anywhere... for u're a super independent person enjoying life to its fullest.
If u could enlighten me?
2 points:
it's okay not to go for dinners anymore ? (i may inflict damage with their relationship? however i tried to text a buddy who just got married(then)... he didn't reply, so I assume he's busy Organising A Family.) So I shan't give a damn, right?
If marriage is really important?
(crap-wise, i suggest u start up a new topic)
To me, love and marriage is very important. These are anchor points of my life. To love and be loved is a kind of feeling that sort of transcend all other pragmatically-based considerations. I.e. Even if you are rich enough to hire caregivers during your old age, without your own family and loved ones, a house is just a house. Only the presence of your loved ones will convert your house into your home.
$100 is more than enough. the average singaporean don't hold weddings at such posh hotels. most of the case, wedding dinners are held at restaurants, where table usually cost from $300+ to $800/$900+. Most people usually have the $700-800 table. got sharkfin, abalone,lobster already at this price leh. there is no need to go to a 5 star hotel and have a $1200 table with crappy food.
with $100 per person, the host will stand to profit from the dinner.
and as for marriage, i think that remaining single is great. True, you will not get to have children, heirs, but being single allows you the benefit of having freedom from the bounds of marriage. marriage ties you down to ur wife, ur husband, ur kids, to ur property, etc. you will have reduced freedom of choices when it comes to key decision, where you will have to take ur family into consideration.
e.g. when your company offers you a long term overseas posting. are you willing to uproot ur family along with you? or are you willing to live 5yrs away from your wife and kids?
singlehood allows you much more flexibility and mobility. you can literally throw off everything and pursue your dreams, i.e. round the world backpacking trip, emigrating to NZ, etc. all this might be relatively impossible if you are tied down by your family.
so, treasure your singlehood.