I am currently a poly student and I recently managed to start up my own business while I was studying. And so far, I am doing incredibly well. The thing is, I am no longer interested in my poly science course. Everytime I enter the class, I feel so down. Furthermore, I don't have much time to spare for school due to the time commitment that I have for my biz.
I am planning to take up a business course in a private instituition from poly to degree. This would also help me expand my knowledge on business dealings etc. The thing is, when I start all these classes, I doubt that I would have enough time for my family. BTW, the business courses are also adaptable for working people as in night classes.
I am strongly thinking of quiting my poly science course and just continue on my business course. However, I don't know how my parents will respond to this. Currently they are unaware of by business because I know if I tell them now, they would ask me to stop all these and continue studying.
How should I go around this? I don't want to hurt their feelings and all.
you must be the guy who asked about how should you dress as a boss if i didn't remember wrongly ![]()
now that you've ventured and started your biz. can i know what kinda biz did you start up?
yes, i am.
I am into importing and exporting of construction materials.
but let's not go off topic like the other thread. Juz need advise on my situation. Thanks
my personal take would be to consult your parents. you are inexperienced with this line i assume. your parents know best and wants the best for you. tell me which parent want their own children to suffer right ![]()
i admire your entreprenuerial drive. i'm more of a 'safety first' person. so i would suggest that you have something to fall on should your biz flop *choy*. least you have a dip instead of just an O'lvl cert.
Well, if u can take on ur poly course. ur business course AND do ur business.. why not ? It will be of agreat advantages to your future be in business.. whatever. U gain theoretical knowledge , practical experience , no pain no gain man. Think of it as needing to do double the work load and stress due to the nature of ur business n studies.. the question u gotta ask urself, is are u able to handle the stress that is gonna come with it all.
If u think u cant.. u decide which is better for ur future.
If i were u.. i will choose to do everything as much i can. U may become a jack of all trades.. a master of none , but at least u know where u should be honing ur skills and what relevant papers to get to further ur master plan!
TS, have a good chat with your parents, be objective and reasonable and sensible when you talk to them.
Since you are on business, the business poly/degree course is more useful and appropriate to take up. It will definitely help you a lot in your business. AS for spending time with your family, I believe you can talk it out with your parents. Since now you are young and building your career, I am sure your parents will be understanding enough that you need more time for your business and study.
Dell also like that.. set up company then don't want to study liao u can learn from him
How much longer do u need to finish yr poly science course ? Take into consideration the time & efforts put in b4 u start off yr own biz & it's quite a waste to throw those away,u can also try to read up outsdie materials on business while u r trying to finish the science course,then go fr the biz course,if u can't manage yr time.Remember certificates doesn't really make a person educated or experienced...
what r u specializing in ?,may be things u hv learnt in that science course may also help u out in yr construction materials biz ? Yes,as Badzmaro pointed out,try to do as much as u can while u r young, w/o family commitments...
Obey your parents.Tell them immediately.
i think you should quit - my response is premised on the assumption you have done well objectively .. that you not yayapapaya la ..
the reason why i'm in uni is because i haven't really found anything to be passionate about .. i chose my course based on what i could get with my results - fortunately, my haphazard decision has not burdened me. but can you say the same?
you know, if you no interest in science, you finish dip. liao ... so what? in the context of applying for a biz-related job, it's not going to place you any better than someone with a similarly irrelevant qualification. couple that with your lack of interest = substandard results, you won't secure an initial interview. whereas if you do decide to start SIM/private, not only will your biz benefit, but you come out in better standing than before, when applying for a biz. job.
now let's talk abt your biz. - firstly, well done. i am very happy to hear that in singapore, we have kids who think bigger .. frankly, i am sick of hearing "success stories" along the lines of, "XXX opened his [blog/cart/stupid shop] selling [insert junk]. He has since made [insert measly figure]."
if you decide to quit school, you owe it to yourself, if not your parents, to commit to proper working hours, and to apply yourself fully to the biz. if you do that, i don't see why you can't do better given the lack of constraints. even if CHOY you go into liquidation, the lessons you have learnt would be invaluable.
what you need, is to come up with a thorough and cohesive plan - what you want to achieve, and what you will do to get there. whether it means setting aside $2000/mth to pay for your private education 10yrs down the road etc.
we're young. use this time to do what you want, and take risks whose worst-case consequences affect only yourself (do this in your 40s, who suffers? your family).
EDIT: don't give l*nji*o reason that you won't have time for your family k? sure can find time one .. i now study, work, sian charboh, play and still have time have 1 meal a day with my mom. people who give such excuses are just full of sh*t ... i got 1 coursemate whole day say uni so tough uni so tough, no time do anything else .. one day i went his room, everywhere computer games, manga and nonsense.
If you can continue study and work, then do both lah, if not, go for your career. a lot of successful man do so...
Sound to me that you have your future all planned even if you quitted
Well, if the process of getting a poly certificate does bother you alot, then just quitted. No harm for you. But if getting a poly certificate is as easy as ABC, then, just get one.
just quit your science course. you know what they say about following your dreams. you'll be super miserable if you have to keep attending this science course, at the end of 3 years and on your convocation day, you're not truly happy. if you're not going to be doing something for a living that you truly enjoy, then don't do it. your parents aren't going to live your life for you, you are, and they should respect that, no matter how much they protest if they find out.they can't just stop you from doing what you love, and if they don't understand, then show them how well you're doing with the business you just started. if words don't work, actions will. whatever you do, you've got to be happy.
Originally posted by pierre^^:No point to containue studying
Since ur heart is set on poly-private uni route
Dun need waste ur 3 yrs on polyJust do a 1 yr diploma, and a 2 yr part time degree
I feel like those poly students whom get into private uni are wasting 2 yrs lo
Private Dip, private Degree = 3 Yrs
Public Dip, Private Degree = 5 YrsCoz the final output is still the degree cert
true..
"hey i got my diploma"
"ic, i am going to collect my degree now"
0.o
How many years have you got left on the science course? What are your grades like?
If you have less than 1.5 - 1 year before completion, I say finish it. Meanwhile keep going at your business, continue to fine tune it. Let it grow to the point where it requires your full attention.
When you finish poly, then pursue your degree in business. It wouldn't feel like a chore because it sounds like an industry you're very keen on. Take it as enrichment.
Badzmaro is right, you should do as much as you can at this point. Get the best of both worlds.
I find your situation similar to an employed worker with a sideline, wondering whether he should be quitting his day job to pursue his sideline full time.
While it's excellent to venture out on your own, and it seems like business is turning out well and there's a lot of potential in you, do keep in mind that it's not going to be as easy as it seems. Most businesses fail within 5 years from start up and going full time academically and professionally all at one go means changing the tune.
Don't know what your parents have got to do with this. It's really your own life and a diploma in either business or science will do you well. I think you've got guts so try to accomplish everything there is on the horizon.
Good luck!
Your science course was merely the means to your previous percieved end -- getting that science related job. Now that you have decided business is what you want its time to cut your losses and drop science.
Continuing your course will just waste more time.. Time is of the essence!!
P.S i think you're old enough to don't have to answer to your parents anymore
if you cock up ur biz, how????
Originally posted by Y_Shun:if you cock up ur biz, how????
poly diploma in ur case = spare backup.
he/she think he/she can start a microsoft or google by being a dropout?
huzane89. i am also currently into my own biz. although it hasn't officially started yet...
btw.. i suggest u continue with whatever course u are studying now, then take another diploma in bussiness, and degree as well.
Can you provide more details please? It can help us judge the situation much better. For example,
1) Private school of your choice
2) Name of course
3) Your age
4) The duration of your science course and your business
u shldn't hav started on yr private studies while u ar still in poly, hard to concentrate on both, what more u hav yr own biz
it's best if u can cope wif 2, but if u think u can't, i too suggest u giv up the poly course, not as if u'll be able to do anything biz relevant wif a science dip, nowadays even science grad hav trouble finding a job, let alone a science dip
dun waste time on the dip if u noe it's not getting u anywhere, might as well focus on yr biz course which might help yr own biz
a fd of mine, pathologist, recently asked his 8yr old son, "hey, what do you want to do when you grow up?"
his son replied, "i want to be just like you dad. a scientist"
his dad then said, "well, better get used to it while you're young", and cut his allowance in half.
that's brilliant parenting.