<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom" xmlns:opensearch="http://a9.com/-/spec/opensearch/1.1/" version="2.0">
  <channel>
    <title>Recent Posts in 'Standing on DDs' | sgForums.com</title>
    <link>http://sgforums.com/forums/1279/topics/317148</link>
    <language>en-US</language>
    <ttl>60</ttl>
    <atom:link rel="search" type="application/opensearchdescription+xml" href="http://sgforums.com/open_search.xml"/>
    <description></description>
    <item>
      <title>Standing on DDs replied by jayh272416 @ Fri, 27 Jun 2008 20:29:25 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by TIB1062Y:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Lolx... This one ah... Can play around with it de... When you go
up and going to reach the 2nd level, just make sure that only 1 of
your legs go through the sensor, and the no. of seats available
won't deduct one...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
I that time walk up, then&amp;nbsp;step OVER the sensor. I walk up
again, step OVER the sensor down again. Then i repeat lor. When
taking it back i step up OVER the sensor and down normally.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 27 Jun 2008 20:29:25 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1279:317148:8201016</guid>
      <author>jayh272416</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Standing on DDs replied by sBs_boy @ Thu, 26 Jun 2008 12:49:36 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by ZYX2005:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
kekke Hong Kong Airport Town area Express E31. use VO3x?!!&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;ZYX&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
On loan from KMB. Bus was full as people are flocking to the New
Airport during their Open house. Note the date on the photo. There
was a brief period when LongWin used KMB buses on their fleet as
their newly ordered Dennis Tridents has not arrvived yet. After the
incoming of DTs, the VO3x joined back the KMB fleet.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;For now, its not unusual to find normal buses operating on
airport routes thanks to the WorldAsia Expo next to the airport.
CityBus deployed LO3x B6RLEs on them.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 26 Jun 2008 12:49:36 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1279:317148:8197138</guid>
      <author>sBs_boy</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Standing on DDs replied by tanjun @ Thu, 26 Jun 2008 11:12:57 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;p&gt;anyhow standing is not allowed on upper decks. as bbus may
dangerously topple and outcome can be very fatal. passengers are
reminded not to stand on upper deck. u want to stand go downstair
and squeezed.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;-------&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;the seat counter device was a student's project of NTU? whom is
a bus fan also. The counter uses infra red cross beams (ankle
level) &amp;nbsp;and weight sensor systems on 2 upper deck stariwell
steps &amp;nbsp;to&amp;nbsp; determine passengger count. Sadly abuse of the
device and system by jumping step or going up n down the step
repeated will cause the numbers to go haywire.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;ZYX&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
For the first part, I guess most&amp;nbsp;people studying science
regarding about the centre of gravity should understand this simple
concept.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Pertaining to the second part, I think that the invention of
seat counters are good.&amp;nbsp;Passengers&amp;nbsp;at times will&amp;nbsp;be
crammed up at the lower deck, with the perception that the upper
deck has no available seats while the seat counter showed
otherwise. Sadly, the older buses have few workable seat counters
as compared to the past.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 26 Jun 2008 11:12:57 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1279:317148:8196882</guid>
      <author>tanjun</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Standing on DDs replied by ZYX2005 @ Thu, 26 Jun 2008 11:07:37 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
kekke Hong Kong Airport Town area Express E31. use Alexander R
(hong Kong designs) Volvo olympian 3 axle with Denso AIR-con. wah
very danngeroused.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;anyhow standing is not allowed on upper decks. as bus may
dangerously topple and outcome can be very fatally fatalatic fatal.
passengers are reminded not to stand on upper deck. u want to stand
go downstair and squeezed.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;ZYX&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 26 Jun 2008 11:07:37 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1279:317148:8196872</guid>
      <author>ZYX2005</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Standing on DDs replied by ZYX2005 @ Thu, 26 Jun 2008 11:05:13 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by bus555:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;You should take a look at this lol&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href="http://www.gakei.com/lww/lww04.jpg" rel=
"nofollow"&gt;http://www.gakei.com/lww/lww04.jpg&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;p&gt;anyhow standing is not allowed on upper decks. as bbus may
dangerously topple and outcome can be very fatal. passengers are
reminded not to stand on upper deck. u want to stand go downstair
and squeezed.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;ZYX&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Thu, 26 Jun 2008 11:05:13 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1279:317148:8196869</guid>
      <author>ZYX2005</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Standing on DDs replied by khk @ Thu, 26 Jun 2008 10:39:50 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;most of them are foreign workers/talents. they dun noe tt
standing is not allowed on upper deck. one of the worst cases i've
seen is on svc 99 during evening peak. almost the whole upper deck
full of standing passengers.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 26 Jun 2008 10:39:50 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1279:317148:8196832</guid>
      <author>khk</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Standing on DDs replied by sbst275 @ Wed, 18 Jun 2008 11:58:01 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by nenepokey:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;so is bendy still safer?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
it's more of e road hazard&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 18 Jun 2008 11:58:01 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1279:317148:8175943</guid>
      <author>sbst275</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Standing on DDs replied by SBS7484P @ Wed, 18 Jun 2008 11:57:36 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;sia la.. later cos of tat comment bc tio sack or minus point&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 18 Jun 2008 11:57:36 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1279:317148:8175942</guid>
      <author>SBS7484P</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Standing on DDs replied by SBS n SMRT @ Wed, 18 Jun 2008 11:55:06 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by Simple_boi:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Was on a B9TL on svc25 few weeks back, serveral passengers were
on upper deck standing. BC went up to passenger, saying "My CCTV no
need you to show your face downstairs, Please kindly move down to
lower deck." He also told the passengers whether they know NO
standing is allow on upper deck. I was laughing all the way when i
saw the passenger being reprimanded.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Good effort by bc, let those stupid pple move down, CCTV part
super funny&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 18 Jun 2008 11:55:06 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1279:317148:8175935</guid>
      <author>SBS n SMRT</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Standing on DDs replied by Simple_boi @ Tue, 17 Jun 2008 21:01:57 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Was on a B9TL on svc25 few weeks back, serveral passengers were
on upper deck standing. BC went up to passenger, saying "My CCTV no
need you to show your face downstairs, Please kindly move down to
lower deck." He also told the passengers whether they know NO
standing is allow on upper deck. I was laughing all the way when i
saw the passenger being reprimanded.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 17 Jun 2008 21:01:57 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1279:317148:8174346</guid>
      <author>Simple_boi</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Standing on DDs replied by TIB1062Y @ Tue, 17 Jun 2008 20:39:02 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by jayh272416:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
Lol.&amp;nbsp; The indicator can be sabotaged one. I tried it yesterday
on my 196 and manaed to give a reading of 52 when I was the only
one up there. I restored it back to normal lah of course.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Lolx... This one ah... Can play around with it de... When you go
up and going to reach the 2nd level, just make sure that only 1 of
your legs go through the sensor, and the no. of seats available
won't deduct one...&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 17 Jun 2008 20:39:02 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1279:317148:8174267</guid>
      <author>TIB1062Y</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Standing on DDs replied by SBS7484P @ Tue, 17 Jun 2008 20:32:42 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by bus555:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;You should take a look at this lol&lt;/p&gt;
"nofollow"&gt;http://www.gakei.com/lww/lww04.jpg&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
wtf.. later the bus turn it flip over&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 17 Jun 2008 20:32:42 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1279:317148:8174241</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Standing on DDs replied by bus555 @ Tue, 17 Jun 2008 20:30:59 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by QX179R:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;if you're tall, standing at the upper deck will be very
uncomfortable..&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
I am tall sia. When go up on Vo3X/lo3x and Dt maybe need bend my
head a-bit. but for B9TL. no need leh, just right lol&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 17 Jun 2008 20:30:59 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1279:317148:8174237</guid>
      <author>bus555</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Standing on DDs replied by bus555 @ Tue, 17 Jun 2008 20:28:54 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;You should take a look at this lol&lt;/p&gt;
"nofollow"&gt;http://www.gakei.com/lww/lww04.jpg&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 17 Jun 2008 20:28:54 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1279:317148:8174226</guid>
      <author>bus555</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Standing on DDs replied by SBS3688Y @ Tue, 13 May 2008 00:28:10 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;the B9TLs got no sign stating standing is prohibited on the
upper deck. this could send the wrond message to commuters.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 13 May 2008 00:28:10 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1279:317148:8082086</guid>
      <author>SBS3688Y</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Standing on DDs replied by SBS 9256 X @ Sun, 11 May 2008 23:29:13 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;I agree....But they can deploy additional buses like Service
74..During peak hours, about 4 buses can be seen.. I also see that
service 74's fleet is that 2 buses will be full &amp;amp; the next one
almost full &amp;amp; last one not so full....&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 11 May 2008 23:29:13 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1279:317148:8079468</guid>
      <author>SBS 9256 X</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Standing on DDs replied by SBS 9613Z @ Sun, 11 May 2008 16:08:28 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;A lot of services have people standing on the upper deck of the
DDs during peak hours, especially those super high-demand ones like
12 and 88..&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 11 May 2008 16:08:28 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1279:317148:8078239</guid>
      <author>SBS 9613Z</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Standing on DDs replied by kenn3th @ Sun, 11 May 2008 09:56:16 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by zaxis:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;many time the indicater still show there are seats available
when you read the meter,&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;when you walk all the way up, cannot even find empty seats.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;who to blame?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;the meter reading problem or the people walk all the way up
problem?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
some meters are switched off/ spoilt.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Lo3x buses dont have these metres.&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Sun, 11 May 2008 09:56:16 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1279:317148:8077676</guid>
      <author>kenn3th</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Standing on DDs replied by noob321 @ Sun, 11 May 2008 09:53:14 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;maybe ppl stand on upper floor of double deckers in hope that
some1 up there would alight and they can get the seat?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;even though it is dangerous because the bus may topple when it
turns, many still stand because the lower floor is fulled with
people and they dun wan squeeze with people =)&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 11 May 2008 09:53:14 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1279:317148:8077670</guid>
      <author>noob321</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Standing on DDs replied by SBS7484P @ Sun, 11 May 2008 09:38:45 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by Oceane:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
Not really, if you count retardation on the Voith which poses a
hazard to the elderly standees.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;and then we come to the point on y ppl dun want to give up
seats, discounting those with babies in hand or pregnant..&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Sun, 11 May 2008 09:38:45 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1279:317148:8077657</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Standing on DDs replied by Oceane @ Sun, 11 May 2008 09:34:09 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by nenepokey:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;so is bendy still safer?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
Not really, if you count retardation on the Voith which poses a
hazard to the elderly standees.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 11 May 2008 09:34:09 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1279:317148:8077649</guid>
      <author>Oceane</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Standing on DDs replied by jayh272416 @ Sun, 11 May 2008 09:20:14 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by zaxis:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;many time the indicater still show there are seats available
when you read the meter&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
Lol.&amp;nbsp; The indicator can be sabotaged one. I tried it yesterday
on my 196 and manaed to give a reading of 52 when I was the only
one up there. I restored it back to normal lah of course.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 11 May 2008 09:20:14 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1279:317148:8077644</guid>
      <author>jayh272416</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Standing on DDs replied by nenepokey @ Sun, 11 May 2008 09:13:03 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;so is bendy still safer?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 11 May 2008 09:13:03 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1279:317148:8077637</guid>
      <author>nenepokey</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Standing on DDs replied by Oceane @ Sun, 11 May 2008 08:06:38 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by SBS n SMRT:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;But always at peak service, a lot of pple go 2nd floor and stand
like 1st floor and bc did not care and the bus sometime top heavy
and like want to fall&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
I've seen 88 DDs full with pax with no standees on 2nd floor, bus
turns right at ninety degrees. The whole of the left axles sink
down and the body almost touches the floor. Bus tilts to the left
at around 25 degrees.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Imagine if there were standees.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The reason why they don't allow standees on 2nd floor is because
the CG of the bus increases and if the BC makes a sharp turn,
chances are the DD may overturn due to the large tilt on the
body.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 11 May 2008 08:06:38 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1279:317148:8077612</guid>
      <author>Oceane</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Standing on DDs replied by TIB1062Y @ Sun, 11 May 2008 06:10:58 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by SBS n SMRT:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;But always at peak service, a lot of pple go 2nd floor and stand
like 1st floor and bc did not care and the bus sometime top heavy
and like want to fall&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Few days back, i boarded a Service 168 DD during evening peak
from WRI, and I stand on the steps between 1st and 2nd floor from
Jln Kayu till IKEA Tampines just to wait for a place to sit..
=P&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 11 May 2008 06:10:58 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1279:317148:8077587</guid>
      <author>TIB1062Y</author>
    </item>
  </channel>
</rss>