07 Oct, 06:37PM in sunny Singapore!
Home Race Track

Why ride instead of drive?

Subscribe to Why ride instead of drive? 35 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    3,238 posts since Nov '05
    • hmmm... here are the reasons I've came up with :

1) Cheaper than owning a car (as in road tax, parking, fuel, COE, maintainence, etc..etc.. ) *note: some points might not be applicable for high maintenance bikes like Harley Davidson or Hayabusa Turbo *

2) Damn easy to park (No need to worry about parralel or reverse parking in narrow or busy roads, just ride straight into the lot, set the bike on its main/side stand and u are done! To go out, just push the bike into position! )

3) No worries about parking space when eating at famous places (eg: U are in Geylang wanting to eat Tau Huay: If u are a car driver, u must find a space to park your car at the road side, and that often requires u to park far away from the store. As a bike rider, u can simply park your bike on the pavement(for a short while as u eat ) ! )

4) Able to squeeze through traffic while cars remain stuck in a traffic jam.

5) Can take short cuts through places too narrow for a car to take (eg: back alleys )

6) U will be more aware of the traffic around and be able to judge traffic conditions better u as u are in "open air " while the car driver is in an enclosed area.

Add on guys! Wink

7,247 posts since Aug '02
    42 posts since Oct '06
    • Originally posted by markzz:
      Aiyooooooooooooo... why all negative replies sia.. Shocked

its truth. i used to be a rider. and i nearly died. that y i state the negative points.

• Originally posted by Tohfu:
      Im being realistic and practical

Very Happy

Better pay more for my life and get an s-class Very Happy

wah... S-class... Shocked

Wu Lui sia... Mr. Green

For me VIOS happy liao..I'm POOR Crying or Very sad

wah... S-class... Shocked

Wu Lui sia... Mr. Green

For me VIOS happy liao..I'm POOR Crying or Very sad

same same. Mr. Green Mr. Green Mr. Green

43,907 posts since Dec '02
    • it is really dangerous to ride a bike in sg… seeing how the drivers drive nowadays

50,856 posts since Jan '03
      Aiyooooooooooooo... why all negative replies sia.. Shocked

because you're getting replies from people who don't understand how riders feel.

i've given up on such people.

i don't let weather, accidents, road conditions etc etc. affect my decision to ride a bike. because i just love to ride.

what are the reasons given? i can go touring and there is a feeling drivers will never feel.

• Originally posted by kopiosatu:
      because you're getting replies from people who don't understand how riders feel.

i've given up on such people.

i don't let weather, accidents, road conditions etc etc. affect my decision to ride a bike. because i just love to ride.

what are the reasons given? i can go touring and there is a feeling drivers will never feel.

U own a Touring bike? What model? Surprised

I guess most good touring bikes are Class 2 bikes like the Honda Goldwing Wink

U own a Touring bike? What model? Surprised

I guess most good touring bikes are Class 2 bikes like the Honda Goldwing Wink

FJR 1300

FJR 1300

Nice bike!

But some people I know go Touring to Malaysia on a Phantom!

Dunno if its reccomended...

Phantom not too comfy compared to a proper touring bike right?

Nice bike!

But some people I know go Touring to Malaysia on a Phantom!

Dunno if its reccomended...

Phantom not too comfy compared to a proper touring bike right?

definately not comfortable

but if you follow the correct crowd, and you just want the experience of riding all the way to thailand, then the bike shouldn't be an issue.

the correct crowd meaning people who will take care of you on the highway. there are many different type of riders, just hope one mixes with the right group.

definately not comfortable

but if you follow the correct crowd, and you just want the experience of riding all the way to thailand, then the bike shouldn't be an issue.

the correct crowd meaning people who will take care of you on the highway. there are many different type of riders, just hope one mixes with the right group.

Yeah.. best to tour in a big big group and avoid ulu areas ... Malaysia got many cases of Singaporeans getting robbed these days Shocked

11,511 posts since Apr '03
    • looking forward to an STX soon..

but seriously, i`m not a bike fanatic, but somehow bikes are all that i can afford for now..

and ya, phantoms are not comfy for touring,
      i`ve been to places like desaru all by myself,
      nv went further though..

makes a sort of cheap tour..
      while, u gotta take care of u cuz u`re naturally smaller in size...

tt`s why me looking forward to my STX in 4 yrs times after i grad and save enuff money for it

1,430 posts since Jan '06
    • Originally posted by hondapons:
      die faster. no offence to rider. but its truth.

if ur car catch fire hwQuestionQuestion

3,023 posts since Sep '04
    • We humans like mobility.
      First humans walk. But that is a hassel, nevertheless it is done.
      Then came riding. Horses.
      The feeling of wind in your face riding in the grasslands.
      Exhilarating.
      That was it, humans became hooked on riding.
      Now the horse is replaced with the motorcycle.
      And roads the grasslands.

Ride for joy, independence.
      Motorist who only drive never know the joy of riding.

P.S. A cager can drive and daydream at the same time (lapses in attention). But no so the rider.
      The rider has to be alert and aware at all times. Prolong this sense of awareness and you can hit nirvana.

1,968 posts since Mar '02
    • To me riding is my passion , just love to ride , i also have a class 3 license for 2 1/2 yrs , but i rather ride , more fun , driving is so boring .

37,982 posts since Jan '05
  • Be my friend... ^^
    21,434 posts since Apr '04
    6,775 posts since Feb '05

• The money you save with a bike should be place into getting a much more expensive life insurance Wink

126 posts since Jul '03
    • its all about passion. especially of my passion for italian bikes. thats why i still money to maintain my current 3 italian bikes even though i have a car too.

• We Bring You Closer
    6,683 posts since Jul '02
    • Miss riding leh... now driving... wanna take class 2... which class 2 bike most suave now huh??

me frm honda sp -> rvf400 -> ???

Please Login or Signup to reply.