08 Oct, 06:36AM in sunny Singapore!

qns on ns

Subscribe to qns on ns 15 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    285 posts since Mar '05
    • military nuts says im out of point there, so someone recommended me here Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy

my qns are:

what type of glasses are allowed and what types are not?

im going in on april 7, but a week later there's a holiday (good friday i think), will i be allowed back? if im allowed back, will it be for the weekend? or the day only?
      also, some people say that once u go back for a holiday, you'll be allowed to go back the weekends after that, is this true?

people who've been thru ns ans me pls......... Neutral Neutral Neutral

• Phoenix Fudge
    16,621 posts since Jan '04
    • Originally posted by loseagain:
      military nuts says im out of point there, so someone recommended me here Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy

my qns are:

im going in on april 7, but a week later there's a holiday (good friday i think), will i be allowed back? if im allowed back, will it be for the weekend? or the day only?
      also, some people say that once u go back for a holiday, you'll be allowed to go back the weekends after that, is this true?

What type of glasses? Anything is ok as long as they're not tinted of course....

If there's a public holiday during your confinement period they'll let you out for that day. You need to book in at night on that day.

9,346 posts since Sep '05
    • i just made two pairs of specs for myself to prepare NS. one is those black plastic ones and another is normal metal ones if i need to go out wen i book out.

my black one $50 only.

1,597 posts since Dec '04
      military nuts says im out of point there, so someone recommended me here Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy

my qns are:

Sure long wkend....

• 我又郁闷了...
    49,798 posts since Sep '03
    • military nuts says im out of point there, so someone recommended me here Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy

erm, never see ur post in military nuts forum. in fact, u have posted new topics under ur nick only here and in chit chat.

any types of glasses are allowed, except sunglasses. but be sensible. u dun wan a branded specs to kena sweat and mud, right?

for april 7 intake, no, i dun think u will come back on good friday.

note that this is up to the discretion of your OC, in consultation of CO BMTC Sch 1/2, but even if there is special dispensation, it is likely to be limited to christians. but saying this is just being optimistic. 95% chance u'll stay in tekong for good friday.

the definitive rule is u have to spend 2 weekends in tekong. those who are going in on friday is 'tan dio'. on ur 3rd and subsequent weekends, u're allowed to book out. book out is usually on friday nights/saturday mornings, and book in on sunday nights, from 6pm onwards.

5,565 posts since Jun '04
    3,845 posts since Sep '05
    114 posts since Aug '04
    • Originally posted by ^tamago^:
      [b]military nuts says im out of point there, so someone recommended me here Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy

erm, never see ur post in military nuts forum. in fact, u have posted new topics under ur nick only here and in chit chat.

any types of glasses are allowed, except sunglasses. but be sensible. u dun wan a branded specs to kena sweat and mud, right?

for april 7 intake, no, i dun think u will come back on good friday.

note that this is up to the discretion of your OC, in consultation of CO BMTC Sch 1/2, but even if there is special dispensation, it is likely to be limited to christians. but saying this is just being optimistic. 95% chance u'll stay in tekong for good friday.

the definitive rule is u have to spend 2 weekends in tekong. those who are going in on friday is 'tan dio'. on ur 3rd and subsequent weekends, u're allowed to book out. book out is usually on friday nights/saturday mornings, and book in on sunday nights, from 6pm onwards.

I dun quite agree with the not booking out on good friday part... Rolling Eyes Good Friday is still considered a PH, so I dun think they will differeniate this from other "more important" PH and refrain us from booking out...

Furthermore, one of my friend enlisted into Pasir Ris Camp on 6th Jan but he still booked out for the Hari Raya Haji PH on the 10th, eventhough there isn't a single muslim in his company... Very Happy

43,185 posts since Jul '04
    • go for those cheap but durable black framed type. remember to bring along spectacle hooks or band since u'll be doing lots of jumping and running around.

bring a spare set too, just in case it gets broken.

285 posts since Mar '05
    • thx for all, but wat about if im allowed to go back on good friday? i still need to wait for the 3rd weekend to go back again ar?

Originally posted by ^tamago^:
      [b]military nuts says im out of point there, so someone recommended me here Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy

yup. thats cause it was deleted Laughing Laughing Laughing

er btw can i ask whether plastice lens are more expensive?

Edited by loseagain 27 Mar `06, 11:59PM
    32,536 posts since Mar '05
    • Originally posted by Prestroz:
      I dun quite agree with the not booking out on good friday part... Rolling Eyes Good Friday is still considered a PH, so I dun think they will differeniate this from other "more important" PH and refrain us from booking out...

Furthermore, one of my friend enlisted into Pasir Ris Camp on 6th Jan but he still booked out for the Hari Raya Haji PH on the 10th, eventhough there isn't a single muslim in his company... Very Happy

PH sure book out one lah. unless got duty or what not. got muslim no muslim no diff

2,203 posts since Feb '04

my qns are:

Re glasses, whilst in BMT, just get a pair of extremely cheap ones, prefarably in subdued colours like Black or brown or black or brown.

In unit, It depends on unit SOPs. Or rather, it depends on the officer's mood.

1,351 posts since Jul '04
    1,430 posts since Jan '06

my qns are:

u come out on thur nite n go in on fri nite lor...

491 posts since Sep '05
    • Guess u muz be the enlisted ppl ba… Should be in Sch 1 if i not wrong… PH,think got book out ba,then the 3rd wk can go back le… Plastic or metal frame are acceptable… Bring hook or bands for ur specs,cuz for some training u need to put on bands or hooks for the training.. Dun get anything else from beach road before u enlist except for black tape and snake powder… Very useful items…

Please Login or Signup to reply.