-
-
Guys, dunno why but I feel extremely nostalgic now. Thus I thought of starting this post for all of us to reminiscence about our BMT days. There were bad but I am sure there were a lot of good too. So here goes:

I did my BMT 10 years ago, in 1997, in Camp 1, Tekong Echo. I was in the mixed batch of guys, there were diploma holders, degree holders, and ah bengs. We lived in those old, narrow one storey houses. It was fun as you can see almost everyone and the interactivity was very good.
Wherever we go there was a dog that would follow us, we call him the Echo dog. He was a fine and obedient dog in the daytime but at night he would just stare and bark at nothing. Very weird and eerie. I wonder if he is still alive today. I once saw a PC feed him KFC leftovers and I asked my dad to bring KFC for the visiting day.
Training was tough, and my company was reputed to be the most siong in Camp 1. Tekan sessions were a norm anytime of the day. But I think there were others who had it worse. Nonetheless, I did log PTs, duckwalks, countless pushups and situps. Those days, we still eat from metal eating trays and had cookhouse food from SAF cooks. Food was really bad, and I lost a lot of weight. We also had to do cookhouse fatigue.
A good thing was that during lunch hours, they will play Power 98 over the PA system and everyone could hear it, it was really good as it was the only thing that connects us to the mainland.
At the back of my bunk I could see Changi Airport. Oh how I long to go home whenever I caught sight of the airplanes touching down. Evenings was great as the sun sets and creates a field of golden corns on the sea.
It's a shame I lost contact with almost everyone in the platoon. I only have the contacts of one person but I have yet to get him out. Think I should do so real soon. The recounting gives me a warm and fuzzy feeling. It may have been 10 years ago but it still seems like only yesterday.
I remembered asking an older friend what he felt about BMT, he said that it was tough but he misses it a lot, and if given a choice, he does not mind doing it again. It felt pretty incredulous hearing him say that, but once you have done it and went through all the shit and good times and built a strong comaradarie with your platoon mates, you will think differently, well at least I did.
Short of saying that I will do BMT over again, I do miss my BMT days to a certain extent.
-
-
-
Did my BMT in Tekong school 1 in bravo coy. learnt tat SAF hotline is of no use. learnt that scholars and white horses eat pizza and go back coy line to shower everyday during field camp. learnt to look forward for western meal.
seen one of the platoon get whacked real jialat by their PS and PC. no wait.. not whacked.. its abuse.
hmm wad else... oh of cos i made good friends... and now...i am linked with monoslayer!
-
-
-
Originally posted by mhcampboy:Did my BMT in Tekong school 1 in bravo coy. learnt tat SAF hotline is of no use. learnt that scholars and white horses eat pizza and go back coy line to shower everyday during field camp. learnt to look forward for western meal.
seen one of the platoon get whacked real jialat by their PS and PC. no wait.. not whacked.. its abuse.
hmm wad else... oh of cos i made good friends... and now...i am linked with monoslayer!
i used to stare at the airplanes flying above n wish tat i was in mainland. i still remember clearly how farking sgt made us look at the mainland, stretch out our palms n count the number of days to our 1st book out.
i got nothing to do with campy. serious.

-
-
-
Tekong...let me see...
1.) Tua kang OC
2.) Tua kang PC
3.) xia lan PS
4.) Lau lan sergeants
5.) funny smell water
6.) hot weather
7.) I hate SOC
8.) no professionalism MO
9.) no logic arrangments (making my platoon draw arms last, then kao peh we slow. WTF?)
10.) water parade then gib lecture in cold lecture room then gib 5 min toilet break that started 3 mins ago then come back late do push up in lecture theater.
11.) make fatty do weird aerobics (I PES BP)
12.) Ah yes that famous line "You walk, you walk somemore, GU NIANG, HURRY UP LAH!"
13.) Only the food good.
Edited by octega 19 Feb `07, 10:33PM
-
-
-
Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):Echo? Sean your PC?

Hmm Sean... Honestly I cannot remember the names of the PCs, or the sergeants for that matter. I know the PC for my platoon is one skinny guy who talks in a screechy voice. Hell, he was the one who made me the first person to be knocked down in the entire platoon!
-
-
-
Originally posted by alvin-ncs:now in bmt...
days inside is like hell...
we are counting the days to ORD...
I used to think like you too. But now, when I am faced with the stresses of daily life, work, money, people... I think that my time in the army was quite a breeze. Really, it is a no brainer thing to do. Now I look forward to going back for reservist to catch up with old pals.
Maybe one day you will think like me too... But I guess it is largely due to your vocation and the people around you that will guide your perception about NS.
Nowadays, there are so many things that they cannot do to you, unlike during my time. I do understand where you are coming from though, but try to see the bright side of it. Once you are a lao jiao, life in the army is really quite easy.
-
-
-
Originally posted by mhcampboy:Did my BMT in Tekong school 1 in bravo coy. learnt tat SAF hotline is of no use. learnt that scholars and white horses eat pizza and go back coy line to shower everyday during field camp. learnt to look forward for western meal.
Wah, ur time n my time sounds way off ...
-
-
-
i missed those crazy tekong BMT days as well. my platoon was fun, with lots of interesting characters. we have a sissy, a guy who sweats a lot, the usual jokers, the nerds, the quie quiet shy type etc etc.
the bond-ship was there. i love it how the guys can do funny things out of as what i call as making the best out of bad situations.
-
-
-
Originally posted by octega:Tekong...let me see...
1.) Tua kang OC
2.) Tua kang PC
3.) xia lan PS
4.) Lau lan sergeants
5.) funny smell water
6.) hot weather
7.) I hate SOC
9.) no logic arrangments (making my platoon draw arms last, then kao peh we slow. WTF?)
10.) water parade then gib lecture in cold lecture room then gib 5 min toilet break that started 3 mins ago then come back late do push up in lecture theater.
12.) Ah yes that famous line "You walk, you walk somemore, GU NIANG, HURRY UP LAH!"
13.) Only the food good.

Yap sure they really fuck up! but I do still come across some funny commanders like some of the sergent like to talk cock and joke with us.
My OC hate people dragging the boots and shack looking face. If he caught that person doing this he would ask him talk to the ground!(knock it down!)
He like to say this prases:
-Soldiers shack ah? cannot think right? knock it down!
-Don't wait things to happen if not something will happen to you!
-I make sure that I'll make you talk to the ground/floor If you don't echo loud.
I
-
-
-
Originally posted by shinkansen:Yap sure they really fuck up! but I do still come across some funny commanders like some of the sergent like to talk cock and joke with us.
My OC hate people dragging the boots and shack looking face. If he caught that person doing this he would ask him talk to the ground!(knock it down!)
He like to say this prases:
-Soldiers shack ah? cannot think right? knock it down!
-Don't wait things to happen if not something will happen to you!
-I make sure that I'll make you talk to the ground/floor If you don't echo loud.
Ininja 05/06/07?
-
-
-
1.) Tua kang OC
2.) Tua kang PC
3.) xia lan PS
4.) Lau lan sergeants
5.) funny smell water
6.) hot weather
7.) I hate SOC
13.) Only the food good.

octaga u from e coy arh??? What platoon???
-
-
-
1.) Tua kang OC
2.) Tua kang PC
3.) xia lan PS
4.) Lau lan sergeants
5.) funny smell water
6.) hot weather
7.) I hate SOC
13.) Only the food good.

i like this 1

-
-
-
Originally posted by fudgester:I can still remember some of my instructors.
Enlisted BMTC Sch 1, 'F' Coy, Feb 2002.
2SG Don - I think a few forummites here also kena him.
LTA Luqman - Would go for route march carrying a monkey ram.
PTI Artago - anyone from BMTC School 1 remember him?is he the malay PTI that can run SOC in 5 mins plus??
-