<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom" xmlns:opensearch="http://a9.com/-/spec/opensearch/1.1/" version="2.0">
  <channel>
    <title>Recent Posts in 'Why NS? [ Pre-Enlist POV ]' | sgForums.com</title>
    <link>http://politics.sgforums.com/forums/1390/topics/318964</link>
    <language>en-US</language>
    <ttl>60</ttl>
    <atom:link rel="search" type="application/opensearchdescription+xml" href="http://politics.sgforums.com/open_search.xml"/>
    <description></description>
    <item>
      <title>Why NS? [ Pre-Enlist POV ] replied by Cdo &amp;amp; Pilot @ Mon, 09 Jun 2008 22:33:43 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;looking at all your posts, i feel so guilty for
&amp;nbsp;downgrading&amp;nbsp;temporarily&amp;nbsp;from pes A to C2L1. i was
supposed to be enlisting into commandos on 11th july but now i'm
out due to an injury in my kneecap. my parents say its not worth it
to risk my moblity juz for the red beret or what people say honour
and glory. its true that fatalities do happen in the army but what
i think TS should be worried abt is sustaining an injury. i feel
that onli the really suey siao ones will die&amp;nbsp;in army la. u can
die anywhere in the world not necessarily in the force. the army
personnel&amp;nbsp;should take better&amp;nbsp;care of our soldiers and
enforce safety and stuff la...other than that, we as soldiers
should also take care&amp;nbsp;of not only ourselves but&amp;nbsp;also
others. i will definitely upgrade to pes A or&amp;nbsp;B after 3 months
if possible. no more&amp;nbsp;red beret for me&amp;nbsp;in this lifetime
though.&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 09 Jun 2008 22:33:43 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:1390:318964:8153543</guid>
      <author>Cdo &amp; Pilot</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Why NS? [ Pre-Enlist POV ] replied by del_co @ Mon, 02 Jun 2008 00:52:51 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by caleb_chiang:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;
&lt;p&gt;most probably... even if you are a uni grad, chances of earning
100k in 2 yrs are quite slim... unless you got yourself a very high
paying job.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
yeah like being a 22 y/o steve jobs. haha!&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 02 Jun 2008 00:52:51 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:1390:318964:8132470</guid>
      <author>del_co</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Why NS? [ Pre-Enlist POV ] replied by del_co @ Mon, 02 Jun 2008 00:44:57 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;we where got dun stand a chance? we stand quite a chance.
pre-emptive strike not good enough chance? juz look at the
japanese...so small, yet they were able to take over asia. numbers
isnt the only impt thing in war. surprise and might is. combine
both nicely, and you get a formidable force. that's why our SAF is
synonymous with chilli padi. enemy think its small, like a little
red dot...but they know that if they take a bite they'd suffer. and
in another way, the SAF is like a deterrence too. anyway, down to
the basics...if you dun defend your livelihood, your family and
your property, den u want who to defend? your sister? i'd rather go
out there, and eat shit for 2 damn years and keep the security up.
Israel is a good example. their reservists did a hell of a job
defending themselves when they were invaded the second time by
surprise during their kosher (equivalent to the ramadan for
muslims). if it werent for the reserves, u think they cld muster
strength to push back the multiple invaders? never underestimate
the will of a man desperately trying to fend off murderers trying
to butcher his wife and children. and if u add 2 million of such
men ard...u'll haf quite a formidable force. anyway i understand
there's this notion about "if war comes, i run lor." Yeah, pls tell
me run where? all flights wld haf&amp;nbsp;ceased, your property and
money are here. where on earth wld u run to? that leaves us with no
choice but bloody fight it out right?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;ok lets not be harsh on the TS. he is only a boy. he is
definitely scared of injuring himself, but well who isnt? well TS,
when the time comes...whatever happens, take it easy. there are
counsellors there, you can talk to them if u feel mentally stressed
out. physically wise yes u may get injured, but you most probably
wun die. the injuries arent very complicated, unless you go to the
CDO or some siong units, but chances are...you won't. relax. the
SAF understands a conscript force isnt like a regular force. u are
there not by will. and they will try to accomodate u. so relax ok?
if u feel damn stressed out, always got people to talk to. right?
well...the best thing u can do if u really fear alot for your
safety...try screwing up in bmt. keep shooting ur fren's target
board. point the gun at ur instructor by "accident", fail ur SOC
and IPPT, be the worse soldier in the entire cohort and piss your
frens silly. you will be posted to a very relaxed job after
BMT.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 02 Jun 2008 00:44:57 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:1390:318964:8132436</guid>
      <author>del_co</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Why NS? [ Pre-Enlist POV ] replied by FBI @ Sun, 01 Jun 2008 09:44:52 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #339966;"&gt;Dude, i feel like u too b4 i
entered the army. But wat to do? WE have to serve man. U might b
right that we may not have the chance, but at least u can hold a
gun and protect your families.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #339966;"&gt;I know its hell man, but no
choice&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 01 Jun 2008 09:44:52 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:1390:318964:8130000</guid>
      <author>FBI</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Why NS? [ Pre-Enlist POV ] replied by Wahsehwahseh @ Sat, 31 May 2008 07:21:00 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;haha pwned. who gives a shit&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 31 May 2008 07:21:00 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:1390:318964:8127448</guid>
      <author>Wahsehwahseh</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Why NS? [ Pre-Enlist POV ] replied by snowfoxx @ Sat, 31 May 2008 07:00:34 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by 16/f/lonely:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
Loss-to-kill ratio good????&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;depends on how you do it, yeah, can make 'net profit'&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;if you do sucide bombing, then you can take out like 20-30 pax
in crowded areas, with a iron ball bearing loaded bomb to increase
the AOE ( area of effect)&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Its really not too bad, economical also, a typical bomb suit
cost less than a M16 and its confirm cool looking too :), POWER,
you end in a trail of blaze&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 31 May 2008 07:00:34 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:1390:318964:8127440</guid>
      <author>snowfoxx</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Why NS? [ Pre-Enlist POV ] replied by snowfoxx @ Sat, 31 May 2008 06:40:16 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by
SingaporeTyrannosaur:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
What makes you think they are into Singapore to rule? The question
is what if a radical regime ever comes into power that is
genocidically hostile towards Singapore?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;You only need to take a look at what can happen in Africa,
Serbia&amp;nbsp;and what happened here in the 1950s to get an idea of
how quickly politics can change within a space of a couple
of&amp;nbsp;years to something disasterous.&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If the idea is (to dream one up), lets say some regime with
rabidly anti-chinese idealogy takes over in the region and
Singapore becomes the target, the idea is not to rule Singapore but
simply exterminate then you'll be in trouble if your game plan is
to be an insurgent.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Insurgency does not work on an enemy that is bent on destroying
you and your people.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Problem is it takes more then just&amp;nbsp;a&amp;nbsp;couple
of&amp;nbsp;years to build up your military to something credible.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;What makes you think the SAF's doctrine is to camp out in
Singapore and wait for the enemy instead of taking the fight to
them at the outbreak of hostilities? In terms of combined arms and
mobility the SAF gears its forces towards mobile offensive warfare,
and not static defensive actions. If the fight comes to our soil
then we are already in trouble.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Do you think a regime like Burma will care about taking losses
or even about the media? In fact you've chosen only one example to
build your case on, and that's the Americans when the vast majority
of armies outside of europe are hardly like that.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;You are making the common mistake of wishful thinking in
warfare, where instead of decisively defeating your enemy one
resorts to thinking that if so and so ambigious&amp;nbsp;conditions
were sastified the enemy will lose heart and give up.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The question is, why even allow them to reach you and bomb you
in the first place? They can do so precisely IF you don't even try
to defend yourself from such threats.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And how do you defend yourself? By sitting around and lamenting
the fact that is it a hard task to do or actually putting your
money where your mouth is and coming up with a credible military
that can prevent this from happening in the first place?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
rabidly anti-chinese idealogy, IS ONE OF THE MOST LIKEY REASONS
THAT THEY WILL ATTACK, YES I AGREE with you, good point..... i
think they have elements of it now ok,&amp;nbsp; rem the anti chinese
riots? theses are signsssssss&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;But in reply to your previous point, singapore can't attack, to
conquer a place, with your strongly recommended ' attack as the
best defense strategy, it will not work,&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;In war, to conquer a area, other than the most difficult way of
' pushing beyond the enemy line', the after math of retaining
control of KL ( lets say KL) is the most important part. In
warfare, they actually have the amount of personel stationed to
land area RATIO, to be able to successfully control that area. We
dun have the amount of people, and if we employ all the man we
have( KL too big), singapore becomes a paper basket to be easily
crushed, then taking care of the man we have in their land would be
fairly easy without support........................&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;even if we can successfully control KL, by some
miracle......&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;due to the size of the countries around us, they can easily
shift their HQ, so many states to shift, so much land, how are you
ever, i mean ever gonna hit them on their head? in the short time
of the war? before singapore implode?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 31 May 2008 06:40:16 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:1390:318964:8127432</guid>
      <author>snowfoxx</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Why NS? [ Pre-Enlist POV ] replied by edwin3060 @ Fri, 30 May 2008 16:20:30 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by red_amoeba:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;hence the gahmen is making us relevant to the world esp US so
that our &#8220;friendly&#8221; neighbours think twice before trying to ka-jiao
us. Having many US firms here, having many FTs here helps &#8211; and of
course, offering our naval facilities and air bases to them
helps.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;humptump us and you humptump US&#8230;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp; &amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
That is really more for deterrence than anything else-- when push
comes to shove, the US cannot deploy assets fast enough to support
a land war, and will probably not fight anyway because of their
current entanglements.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Ultimately, the defence of Singapore rests on the SAF.&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 30 May 2008 16:20:30 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:1390:318964:8126284</guid>
      <author>edwin3060</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Why NS? [ Pre-Enlist POV ] replied by thuramrocky @ Fri, 30 May 2008 16:13:13 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;I am enlisting in july 10 and frankly speaking, I cant wait to
get into NS! Though i heard lots of negative comments from my bro,
I was (and still is) super excited about army life. Well, I believe
there are lots of things to be learned. Come to think about it, we
should feel privileged to be given such an opportunity to serve our
country! We can make new friends, experienced new kind of life,
learn how to use different weapons, understand the importance of
spending valuable time with our families, take these 2 years and
carefully plan out&amp;nbsp;our futures! Of cos, nothing is perfect, NS
will have its pros and cons, but if you were to be more optimistic,
life will be much better huh. Rather than complaining abt NS life,
i tink we shld think of how to maximise the benefits that we can
achieve from this valuable 2 years. &lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/kde-3.5.8/set1/smile.png" alt="smile.png" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 30 May 2008 16:13:13 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:1390:318964:8126262</guid>
      <author>thuramrocky</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Why NS? [ Pre-Enlist POV ] replied by red_amoeba @ Fri, 30 May 2008 16:03:46 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;hence the gahmen is making us relevant to the world esp US so
that our &#8220;friendly&#8221; neighbours think twice before trying to ka-jiao
us. Having many US firms here, having many FTs here helps &#8211; and of
course, offering our naval facilities and air bases to them
helps.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;humptump us and you humptump US&#8230;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 30 May 2008 16:03:46 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:1390:318964:8126246</guid>
      <author>red_amoeba</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Why NS? [ Pre-Enlist POV ] replied by caleb_chiang @ Fri, 30 May 2008 15:56:18 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by Paradogs:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;I'm one year away from entering NS, so I may speak without
experience. However, I'm not totally unaware of what happens
inside. My brother's serving NS, and once he blacked-out from
fatigue and landed in hospital. Realistically, these incidents may
cause a life, and a life does not come back as though in video
games.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Chances of mishaps happening to me though little, is not
insignificant. Moreover, with the 2 years spent building my combat
and survival skills, which does not benefit me in any way in the
society, I would be already making my first 100k. I know that's
overly ambitious, but compared with the remaining 13 billion people
in the world, I have already lost the head start.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;most probably... even if you are a uni grad, chances of earning
100k in 2 yrs are quite slim... unless you got yourself a very high
paying job.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 30 May 2008 15:56:18 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:1390:318964:8126231</guid>
      <author>caleb_chiang</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Why NS? [ Pre-Enlist POV ] replied by SingaporeTyrannosaur @ Fri, 30 May 2008 15:42:34 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by deathmaster:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;first answer to ur previous qsn. what we are lacking in
horizontal landspace, we make up for it in vertical landspace. do
they have so much resources to send enough men to search all the
units (housing units, building units, shops) all over singapore?
bear in mind that these searchers will also be subjected from
ambush during their search.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Also, yes, they will kill. but, there's no point in controlling
a piece of empty land with no subjects to rule over.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
What makes you think they are into Singapore to rule? The question
is what if a radical regime ever comes into power that is
genocidically hostile towards Singapore?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;You only need to take a look at what can happen in Africa,
Serbia&amp;nbsp;and what happened here in the 1950s to get an idea of
how quickly politics can change within a space of a couple
of&amp;nbsp;years to something disasterous.&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
rabidly anti-chinese idealogy takes over in the region and
Singapore becomes the target, the idea is not to rule Singapore but
simply exterminate then you'll be in trouble if your game plan is
to be an insurgent.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Insurgency does not work on an enemy that is bent on destroying
you and your people.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Problem is it takes more then just&amp;nbsp;a&amp;nbsp;couple
of&amp;nbsp;years to build up your military to something credible.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;What makes you think the SAF's doctrine is to camp out in
Singapore and wait for the enemy instead of taking the fight to
them at the outbreak of hostilities? In terms of combined arms and
mobility the SAF gears its forces towards mobile offensive warfare,
and not static defensive actions. If the fight comes to our soil
then we are already in trouble.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;with today's media's omnipotency, little news are left out to
the world. the media will report any enemy losses to gargantuan
proportion. soon, there will be public pressure back home calling
for the withdrawal of their troops. enemy soldiers are also human.
they have familes back home to care for.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;coupled with the fact that most countries nowadays, (at least in
the surrounding region), are democratic, (with the exception of
brunei, but they are unlikely to invade singapore at any time). any
unpopular action will see to the government being&amp;nbsp; voted out
of office, just like the republicans under bush.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Do you think a regime like Burma will care about taking losses
or even about the media? In fact you've chosen only one example to
build your case on, and that's the Americans when the vast majority
of armies outside of europe are hardly like that.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;You are making the common mistake of wishful thinking in
warfare, where instead of decisively defeating your enemy one
resorts to thinking that if so and so ambigious&amp;nbsp;conditions
were sastified the enemy will lose heart and give up.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;so what about the high loss to kill ratio? if enemy bomb
singapore, just one bomb alone can kill hundreds(i'm not talking
about atomic bomb).&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;look at sichuan. one earthquake, their 5-7 stories buildings
collapse, killing hundreds per building. here, we have 12-25
stories HDB flats. imagine what would happen if they collapse?
(don't tell me that HDB designed these flats to be bomb-proof, when
they already failed to include lifts at every floor in their
designs.)&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The question is, why even allow them to reach you and bomb you
in the first place? They can do so precisely IF you don't even try
to defend yourself from such threats.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And how do you defend yourself? By sitting around and lamenting
the fact that is it a hard task to do or actually putting your
money where your mouth is and coming up with a credible military
that can prevent this from happening in the first place?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 30 May 2008 15:42:34 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:1390:318964:8126199</guid>
      <author>SingaporeTyrannosaur</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Why NS? [ Pre-Enlist POV ] replied by deathmaster @ Fri, 30 May 2008 13:35:03 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by
SingaporeTyrannosaur:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
LOL, some people mistake last resort for first solution.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;There is a difference between driving a nail into the wall with
a hammer or your head, both might work but one idea will hurt
more.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Guerilla warfare as a first resort is patently a&amp;nbsp;silly idea
for the basic reason it means that you have to be already defeated
to get to that state. And worse it rests on the faulty assumption
that all militaries are afriad of taking losses or doing something
extreme and unethical to solve the issue of insurgency.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Do you think Guerilla warfare will stop the looting, plundering,
rape and what have you not? To do that you need a conventional
force to drive away the enemy and go toe to toe with him. Exploding
an IED here and there or launching scattered ambushes here and
there simply will not work.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Do&amp;nbsp;you want to place the security of all your assets and
loved ones on the idea that when an enemy attacks us we're just
going to let them come in and go guerilla on them on a small island
like Singapore?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;first answer to ur previous qsn. what we are lacking in
horizontal landspace, we make up for it in vertical landspace. do
they have so much resources to send enough men to search all the
units (housing units, building units, shops) all over singapore?
bear in mind that these searchers will also be subjected from
ambush during their search.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Also, yes, they will kill. but, there's no point in controlling
a piece of empty land with no subjects to rule over.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;with today's media's omnipotency, little news are left out to
the world. the media will report any enemy losses to gargantuan
proportion. soon, there will be public pressure back home calling
for the withdrawal of their troops. enemy soldiers are also human.
they have familes back home to care for.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;coupled with the fact that most countries nowadays, (at least in
the surrounding region), are democratic, (with the exception of
brunei, but they are unlikely to invade singapore at any time). any
unpopular action will see to the government being&amp;nbsp; voted out
of office, just like the republicans under bush.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;so what about the high loss to kill ratio? if enemy bomb
singapore, just one bomb alone can kill hundreds(i'm not talking
about atomic bomb).&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;look at sichuan. one earthquake, their 5-7 stories buildings
collapse, killing hundreds per building. here, we have 12-25
stories HDB flats. imagine what would happen if they collapse?
(don't tell me that HDB designed these flats to be bomb-proof, when
they already failed to include lifts at every floor in their
designs.)&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 30 May 2008 13:35:03 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:1390:318964:8125944</guid>
      <author>deathmaster</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Why NS? [ Pre-Enlist POV ] replied by fifteen @ Fri, 30 May 2008 02:04:09 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Join The Arena!&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 30 May 2008 02:04:09 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:1390:318964:8125247</guid>
      <author>fifteen</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Why NS? [ Pre-Enlist POV ] replied by SingaporeTyrannosaur @ Fri, 30 May 2008 00:03:35 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by 16/f/lonely:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
Loss-to-kill ratio good????&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
LOL, some people mistake last resort for first solution.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;There is a difference between driving a nail into the wall with
a hammer or your head, both might work but one idea will hurt
more.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Guerilla warfare as a first resort is patently a&amp;nbsp;silly idea
for the basic reason it means that you have to be already defeated
to get to that state. And worse it rests on the faulty assumption
that all militaries are afriad of taking losses or doing something
extreme and unethical to solve the issue of insurgency.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Do you think Guerilla warfare will stop the looting, plundering,
rape and what have you not? To do that you need a conventional
force to drive away the enemy and go toe to toe with him. Exploding
an IED here and there or launching scattered ambushes here and
there simply will not work.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Do&amp;nbsp;you want to place the security of all your assets and
loved ones on the idea that when an enemy attacks us we're just
going to let them come in and go guerilla on them on a small island
like Singapore?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 30 May 2008 00:03:35 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:1390:318964:8124889</guid>
      <author>SingaporeTyrannosaur</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Why NS? [ Pre-Enlist POV ] replied by MohamedF @ Thu, 29 May 2008 23:54:46 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;I think can stop discussion already... TS went and cut his balls
to avoid NS after page 2... &lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif" alt="icon_lol.gif" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 29 May 2008 23:54:46 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:1390:318964:8124869</guid>
      <author>MohamedF</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Why NS? [ Pre-Enlist POV ] replied by VagueHart @ Thu, 29 May 2008 23:52:20 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Wow.. TS... WOW...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Quantity over quality? Maybe in the past, but now? Look at
America for god sake... You must be crazy to think of that
now..&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Who says we don't stand a chance? Every bullets not fired is
every shot missed. You don't know untill you try it out.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Not having NS will mean a great decrease in our defence force.
Scrape that, not having NS will mean no defence force for
Singapore. If our own citizens who live off the luxury of the
country yet refuce to serve to protect his own motherland, then who
will? Mercernaries? Regulars? Our regulars will be spread so thin
that any each of them will have to kill nearly a hundred soldiers
each before they die in order to bring some hope for us.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Every male citizen will have to complete his NS before he can
enter the working world. (With disregards to some exceptions) If
they can fill the 2 years gap when they enter the working world,
why can't you?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The death ratio of people dying in Singapore's NS is relatively
low already. As long as you follow the instructions SMARTLY and
know what's the limit for everything, you'll do fine. If you can't
handle NS, forget bout handling the working world.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
NS provides Singapore a defence force strong enough to deter
invaders into attacking Singapore. Look at it from a more simple
POV for a simple minded guy like you, would you rather slap someone
with a knife on his hand, or someone who is empty handed?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I'm really wondering what have you been learning for the past
decade of studies..&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 29 May 2008 23:52:20 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:1390:318964:8124865</guid>
      <author>VagueHart</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Why NS? [ Pre-Enlist POV ] replied by MohamedF @ Thu, 29 May 2008 23:50:08 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by Fatum:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;if the TS can't see the neccessity of wearing green .... I don't
think he'd be able to see the neccessity of wearing blue or grey
either .....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;if he wouldn't even want to defend his own, you think he'd want
to risk his life and limb to keep peace on the streets or save some
other people's ass in a fire ? .... bloody unlikely neh ? ....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;neways, good job you mata boys ... for us who wore green,&amp;nbsp;
it's sometimes a bit difficult to see the&amp;nbsp; rationale&amp;nbsp; or
the neccesity of what we&amp;nbsp; did .... but&amp;nbsp; you guys can see
a direct and immediate impact of what you do on the society
straight away ...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Can see your point... &lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/kde-3.5.8/plain/confused.png" alt=
"confused.png" /&gt; hopefully he'll change...&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 29 May 2008 23:50:08 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:1390:318964:8124857</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Why NS? [ Pre-Enlist POV ] replied by Fatum @ Thu, 29 May 2008 23:46:49 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by MohamedF:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Prespective from PNSF side... People seem to keep forgeting NS
doesn't just involve army. People can end up in SPF and SCDF
too...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I'm not they guy protecting Singapore in times of war, but in my
POV, we still need NSmen to patrol the streets of Singapore. Most
people in Singapore would not know what is going on outside their
own lives. The reality is, there is a constant war against crime in
Singapore to keep Singapore streets, coast lines and key
installiations safe.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Everyday, one patrol car can get up to 40 calls per section.
Depending on regulars alone to take care of these calls and
Singapore will become like Malaysia. Crime everywhere and bad guys
out number the police. NSmen play a VERY IMPORTANT role in
supporting the regulars so that the work is spread out and becomes
manageable.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;On the Plus side, PNSF gets to see Singapore in a whole new
light that normal citizens wouldn't normally see. And catching the
bad guys is always a thrill.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;But on the minus side, its a lot of work. And the member of
public is no help either. Constantly scrutinizing us.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Its a Thankless job, but someone have to do it.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;if the TS can't see the neccessity of wearing green .... I don't
think he'd be able to see the neccessity of wearing blue or grey
either .....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;if he wouldn't even want to defend his own, you think he'd want
to risk his life and limb to keep peace on the streets or save some
other people's ass in a fire ? .... bloody unlikely neh ? ....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;neways, good job you mata boys ... for us who wore green,&amp;nbsp;
it's sometimes a bit difficult to see the&amp;nbsp; rationale&amp;nbsp; or
the neccesity of what we&amp;nbsp; did .... but&amp;nbsp; you guys can see
a direct and immediate impact of what you do on the society
straight away ...&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Thu, 29 May 2008 23:46:49 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:1390:318964:8124848</guid>
      <author>Fatum</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Why NS? [ Pre-Enlist POV ] replied by HyperionDCZ @ Thu, 29 May 2008 23:13:00 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;HAHA. The TS doesnt sound too smart. So im thinking that his
argument defeats itself. Lets just take it this way. If you're
capable enough, you have the right to be self centered. Judging by
what you know/have said, you're not. So NS should be fine for you.
We wont be losing any talent.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 29 May 2008 23:13:00 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:1390:318964:8124703</guid>
      <author>HyperionDCZ</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Why NS? [ Pre-Enlist POV ] replied by Lord_Nazrul @ Thu, 29 May 2008 21:54:37 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;why is the ts so afraid of death/dying in the army?there is a
reason as to why the saf trains intellectually capable ppl to
become medics u knw!&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 29 May 2008 21:54:37 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:1390:318964:8124348</guid>
      <author>Lord_Nazrul</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Why NS? [ Pre-Enlist POV ] replied by Mr.Shadows @ Thu, 29 May 2008 21:03:53 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;TS, please wake up your idea. I for one, will be enlisting in
another 2 weeks and frankly speaking, I am looking forward to NS
life because it's a new chapter for me in my life and learning
stuff throughout the 2 years is once in a lifetime. Also,&amp;nbsp;it's
not just about protecting the country in terms of war so
simple.&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Thu, 29 May 2008 21:03:53 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:1390:318964:8124175</guid>
      <author>Mr.Shadows</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Why NS? [ Pre-Enlist POV ] replied by MohamedF @ Thu, 29 May 2008 20:19:33 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Prespective from PNSF side... People seem to keep forgeting NS
doesn't just involve army. People can end up in SPF and SCDF
too...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I'm not they guy protecting Singapore in times of war, but in my
POV, we still need NSmen to patrol the streets of Singapore. Most
people in Singapore would not know what is going on outside their
own lives. The reality is, there is a constant war against crime in
Singapore to keep Singapore streets, coast lines and key
installiations safe.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Everyday, one patrol car can get up to 40 calls per section.
Depending on regulars alone to take care of these calls and
Singapore will become like Malaysia. Crime everywhere and bad guys
out number the police. NSmen play a VERY IMPORTANT role in
supporting the regulars so that the work is spread out and becomes
manageable.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;On the Plus side, PNSF gets to see Singapore in a whole new
light that normal citizens wouldn't normally see. And catching the
bad guys is always a thrill.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;But on the minus side, its a lot of work. And the member of
public is no help either. Constantly scrutinizing us.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Its a Thankless job, but someone have to do it.&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Thu, 29 May 2008 20:19:33 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:1390:318964:8124100</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Why NS? [ Pre-Enlist POV ] replied by Fatum @ Thu, 29 May 2008 18:57:30 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by rooki:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
Unfortunately, for your oh-so-precious Singaporean ego,&amp;nbsp; I am
in neither country.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I concede the point that Malaysian NS is much shittier than sg
NS. However, I wonder who gave the UMNO idiots the idea in the
first place. &lt;img src="/images/emoticons/classic/icon_rolleyes.gif"
alt="icon_rolleyes.gif" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Singapore's system may be better than Malaysia's. That's like
being smarter than Bush. Malaysia discriminates against non-Malays,
Singapore discriminates against citizens. Not a whole lot of
difference.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If you still consider a place where you're enslaved as your
home, you are so deluded.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;so the whole point of your exercise is ? .....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;to show that you're the sort who carries no allegiance to any
larger group nor society, but to yourself and what benefits you ?
.... in other words ... you're, selfish ? ...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;what's a good word to use ? ... a societal parasite ? ... i'm
sure the place where you're in now, would love to welcome a lot
more like you ... again, I suppose i cannot blame you, coming from
a place where you were treated as second class citizens ... I
suppose one would develop a more selfish attitude that way ... but
then again, I'd say it again&amp;nbsp; ... if the other two groups were
more inclined to be less selfish and less hungry for personal gain,
they wouldn't have been shafted for so long by another that's only
marginally bigger ... it is your kind of attitude that's ultimately
to blame for the other two minorities predicament, I wonder if you
can really see it ....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;but hey, then again, you're a female, so it's a bit hard for you
to understand .... it's in the male psyche to defend and protect
what's his ... while you, are a protectee ... just remember that if
someone tries to rape you ... it's still your man that you'll have
to call upon to protect you .... hopefully, the chap doesn't think
like the TS or yourself ... who'll simply run away and call the
police and hope for the best ....&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Thu, 29 May 2008 18:57:30 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:1390:318964:8123885</guid>
      <author>Fatum</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Why NS? [ Pre-Enlist POV ] replied by rooki @ Thu, 29 May 2008 18:39:23 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by Fatum:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;while you get shafted by UMNO in your country .... did you read
what I posted ? ....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;but hey ... of course ... you wouldn't understand .... you are
here .... enjoying life under our protection, neh ? .... &lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/kde-3.5.8/KMess-Cartoon/smile.png" alt=
"smile.png" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
Unfortunately, for your oh-so-precious Singaporean ego,&amp;nbsp; I am
in neither country.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I concede the point that Malaysian NS is much shittier than sg
NS. However, I wonder who gave the UMNO idiots the idea in the
first place. &lt;img src="/images/emoticons/classic/icon_rolleyes.gif"
alt="icon_rolleyes.gif" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Singapore's system may be better than Malaysia's. That's like
being smarter than Bush. Malaysia discriminates against non-Malays,
Singapore discriminates against citizens. Not a whole lot of
difference.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If you still consider a place where you're enslaved as your
home, you are so deluded.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 29 May 2008 18:39:23 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:1390:318964:8123867</guid>
      <author>rooki</author>
    </item>
  </channel>
</rss>