<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom" xmlns:opensearch="http://a9.com/-/spec/opensearch/1.1/" version="2.0">
  <channel>
    <title>Recent Posts in 'MLM, the typical tactics. Beware' | sgForums.com</title>
    <link>http://www.sgforums.com/forums/14/topics/295287</link>
    <language>en-US</language>
    <ttl>60</ttl>
    <atom:link rel="search" type="application/opensearchdescription+xml" href="http://www.sgforums.com/open_search.xml"/>
    <description></description>
    <item>
      <title>MLM, the typical tactics. Beware replied by redstone @ Sun, 20 Jul 2008 22:12:29 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Up for this thread&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 20 Jul 2008 22:12:29 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:14:295287:8254980</guid>
      <author>redstone</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>MLM, the typical tactics. Beware replied by Peaceman85 @ Fri, 04 Jul 2008 14:09:19 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by darthboy:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Not too sure whether anyone has mentioned this, but you might
want to see who's on the so-called "consumer-protecting" DSAS
(Direct Selling Association of Singapore)&amp;nbsp; Executive
Committee.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;http://www.dsas.org.sg/dsas/Html/afterlogin.htm&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I see representatives from Amway, NuSkin, Herbalife and Forever
Living.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
What's wrong with it? Mlmers know their own tricks better. What
concern me is that why&amp;nbsp;most of&amp;nbsp;the members are not local
compaines. It's Direct Selling Association of
&lt;strong&gt;Singapore.&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;But it's like a US committee to me.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 04 Jul 2008 14:09:19 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:14:295287:8217178</guid>
      <author>Peaceman85</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>MLM, the typical tactics. Beware replied by exodator @ Fri, 04 Jul 2008 00:57:03 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Well aware of the dangers and pitfall of MLM..&amp;nbsp; I was burnt
couple of times... spending a few thousand dollars on a front-load
model and got nothing but loads of useless algae products.....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;tht aside, was continue looking for ways to generate&amp;nbsp;a
passive income..&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;chance upon this site &lt;a href=
"http://www.singaporehomebusiness.com" rel=
"nofollow"&gt;www.singaporehomebusiness.com&lt;/a&gt; and realise tht
affiliate marketing might just be able to achieve this...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;will look into it more and update....&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 04 Jul 2008 00:57:03 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:14:295287:8216077</guid>
      <author>exodator</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>MLM, the typical tactics. Beware replied by darthboy @ Thu, 03 Jul 2008 22:45:11 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Not too sure whether anyone has mentioned this, but you might
want to see who's on the so-called "consumer-protecting" DSAS
(Direct Selling Association of Singapore)&amp;nbsp; Executive
Committee.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;http://www.dsas.org.sg/dsas/Html/afterlogin.htm&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I see representatives from Amway, NuSkin, Herbalife and Forever
Living.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 03 Jul 2008 22:45:11 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:14:295287:8215663</guid>
      <author>darthboy</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>MLM, the typical tactics. Beware replied by dumbdumb! @ Sun, 01 Jun 2008 22:21:32 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by redstone:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I'm finally free to make a long consolidated post.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;strong&gt;How they CONvince you to join them&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Beware when some random stranger messages you online, email, sms
etc, asking to be friend. The typical lines would be...&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
"Whats your interest"&lt;br /&gt;
"Whats your ambition"&lt;br /&gt;
"Interested to do biz?"&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
This is called fake facade. Fake friendship. Some people go to
great lengths to act out friendship to drag people into MLMing.
Trust me... It's like a drama serial, all planned out.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Then one fine day they'll give an excuse to ask you out. This can
be extremely creative. From askin you out to dinner, lunch to
movies, asking you to help them do some stuff, give something to
them, matchmaking, etc.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Usually it would be at an eating place, or someplace where you can
gather. Most probably somewhere near the company's office. One
favourite haunt is Lau Pa Sat.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Then here, the fake friendliness gets really scary. It seems
everyone's know you for a million years and starts talking to you
like an old frined. But take note there would almost always have
this one person chatting to you. He'll be the most friendly, acting
concerned, etc. Beware, this guy/girl might be your future upline
if you join. Thi s is called building relationship is sales.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
You would ask where they are going, then the most common excuses
they'll give are:&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
"Why do you ask so much"&lt;br /&gt;
"It's very hard to explain"&lt;br /&gt;
"You'll know when you reach there"&lt;br /&gt;
"It's fun, its interesting"&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Or they'll just divert topic.t&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Ask them directly, and they would give you the lost for words
expression, and will repeat the excuses. I've had 5 different
people asking me "do you know what you're here for" and when I ask
them what, they give all sorts of excues. So when I finally probe
this guy, he admits its sales, but says its SLM, not MLM. They can
think op of all sorts of unique names. But the concept is still the
same. Another excuse is "start you own business".&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Finally they've successfully tricked you into going for their
outing. Then, slowly, fox tail emerges. They would tell you to go
"somewhere see see" or some creative excuses to get you to go to
their office, seminar, whatever.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Office situation:&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Will intro you their products, will say how great the company is.
Or to one particular company, says how great their father... oops i
mean boss is.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Some companies, like this particular one used to be behind LPS, now
shifted to Eunos will boast how great their company is, to lame
extents, like how they can afford Shenton Way rent, if its not good
they won't be able to, blah blah blah. Other people would hold you
back until the big guy arrives with a "business proposal".&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Typical manipulation of emotions sequence of steps:&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;strong&gt;1) Question your future&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
They would question your future, what is your ambition, etc.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;strong&gt;2) Makes you question your future&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
They would make you question your future. Tell you to think of how
much you can earn, how big is the industry of your field,
etc.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;strong&gt;3) Insults your future&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
They would say how bad your future is, there's no future in your
field, etc. Your job no hope, cannot earn anything, won't be
successful. Basically trying to shoot you down and to shatter your
morale. This is a critical step for them.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;strong&gt;4) "Reality check"&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
They would say how cost of living is increasing, how news say your
field has no hope, etc. Stating some "examples". Say what power
tariffs increasing, petrol price increasing, etc. Say you job would
not be able to make the money to cover it.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;strong&gt;5) "Your road to success"&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Knowing your morale had been destroyed by steps 2 to 4, they try to
"console" you, there is a way out. This is called, enforcing
relationships. Like a knight helping a damsel in distress. They
would hope that you would "thank" them for it.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;strong&gt;6) Gives examples&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
Typical "examples":&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
a) Earn more than uni grad&lt;br /&gt;
b) "Look at him, he's &amp;lt; insert age here &amp;gt;, so young, driving
car liao"&lt;br /&gt;
c) Say can earn few thousands a month. Shows the top earners in
suits, looking confident, how much they had earned, a few
10Ks.&lt;br /&gt;
d) Say how MLM had "changed their lives" and "made them a better
person"&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;strong&gt;7) Boast, compare&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
They would boast about how successful their company is, how fast
they've grown, how fast they'll grow, etc. Would say how great
their seniors are, say they're at&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;strong&gt;8 ) Big guy arrives&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
They would send for the big guys, their seniors, and most likely
the steps would be repeated.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;the 25 year old idiot will refute you, die die also will believe
these ppl are his friends and he will borrow from loansharks, give
his money away, just to help these ppl "start their business"&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;now he's homeless, got thrown out of his house, owe like $8000
or more, not to mention owe like 3 different loansharks..&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 01 Jun 2008 22:21:32 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:14:295287:8131974</guid>
      <author>dumbdumb!</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>MLM, the typical tactics. Beware replied by Uncreated @ Sun, 01 Jun 2008 22:05:14 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;These MLM tricksters are creating very bad karma for
themselves&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;and their descendants.Of course they will scoff at me.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;Why are&amp;nbsp;disasters more and more frequent these
days?Look at Sichuan.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;Visit:http://www.accesstoinsight.org&amp;nbsp; for the
Buddhist perspective&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;on living and morality.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;"The righteous shalt inherit the Earth."&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 01 Jun 2008 22:05:14 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:14:295287:8131892</guid>
      <author>Uncreated</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>MLM, the typical tactics. Beware replied by Gaominglong @ Tue, 01 Apr 2008 13:52:06 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;haha.. ya lor :) internet talk is cheap...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Actually there are many more things in life then just money...
knowledge and time is precious to sum people too...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Values and priorities are the key behind a person's
actions..&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The fact that some people choose to finish their studies even
though they are earning way more then most people outside is not to
intimidate ppl.. but more of trying to bring across values that are
enduring :) im not saying that quittin&amp;nbsp; school to do stuff is
wrong but its just a matter of priorities and values :)&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Have faith in wadever u do after you have fixed your direction
:) if u identified network marketing as the model to go den
persevere in it. As long as you do not cross your own line and you
are answerable to yourself by all means make that bold step :) mlm
tactics to put it simply are just sales tactics. Nothing much wrong
wif dat though :)&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Some of the richest people and youngsters are still pursuing
their studies even though they do not need to worry about their
life in terms of security. These people are doing what dey are
doing from the hunger they have within them. It is this "hunger"
thats invaluable.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;A lot is in the self. A lot of students will always complain
about lecturers and tutors.. but most of the time, its really us
students that are just not showing enuff enthusiasm in wad we are
learning which shows in the kinda results u get :)&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The key to the post earlier is to maybe show a different side to
people who read this thread. You should always be shown 2 sides of
the story. :)&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I hav to sae dat i hav a lot to learn from young entrepreneurs
like those :) but i still believe in my own passion .&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Identify ur passion and work towards it.. there may be many
falls and obstacles but the result is satisfying&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 01 Apr 2008 13:52:06 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:14:295287:7977806</guid>
      <author>Gaominglong</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>MLM, the typical tactics. Beware replied by Margulis @ Mon, 31 Mar 2008 22:12:49 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Your friend earns near 30K per month? Are you sure did not add
an extra zero yourself? Why the hell is he still studying then?
Since he is earning more than most CEOs, he should quit school and
maybe get the Straits Times or Chronicle to feature him.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Internet talk is cheap.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 31 Mar 2008 22:12:49 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:14:295287:7976447</guid>
      <author>Margulis</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>MLM, the typical tactics. Beware replied by Gaominglong @ Mon, 31 Mar 2008 18:35:50 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;hmmm... im just curious... does any1 that replies in this forum
is a network marketer? i mean... actually i think we all know that
in any industry there are the black sheeps ... but are'nt we a bit
too extreme here? i read from books by robert t.kiyosaki that
explains on network marketing and why it is do-able for people who
are willing to get out of their comfort zone.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I saw a interesting qn being posted above "Eh does property
agency work in some similar way like MLM?"&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;haha.. in fact, many insurance agents, financial planners,
wealth managers and property agents are leveraging on network
marketing to build their individual biznesses... if it is so
"wrong" why is it so prominent now?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
I know of a friend in ntu now who is in year 2 now earns close to
30k per month from his wealth manager sideline :) and he is
leveraging on this bizness model :)&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 31 Mar 2008 18:35:50 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:14:295287:7975744</guid>
      <author>Gaominglong</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>MLM, the typical tactics. Beware replied by FBI @ Mon, 31 Mar 2008 14:03:01 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #339966;"&gt;MDIS building really made me
laugh. I met this friend not long ago and we both chat. So at first
i asked him wat is he doing now and he told me that he's doing
health product sales at MDIS building at Eunos. PLs not he didn't
told me wat company. SO i went on asking wat kinda job is it and
hows the pay. He didn't ans me on the pay thing but instead he told
me that he jus sold something and earn 600 bucks. In the end i
asked him if he's doing MLM and he admit.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 31 Mar 2008 14:03:01 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:14:295287:7975176</guid>
      <author>FBI</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>MLM, the typical tactics. Beware replied by redstone @ Sun, 30 Mar 2008 16:40:25 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by AsGi4Lum:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Eh does property agency work in some similar way like MLM?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp; Depends....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;At least they don't use unscrupulous tactics like Enyouth&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 30 Mar 2008 16:40:25 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:14:295287:7973532</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>MLM, the typical tactics. Beware replied by AsGi4Lum @ Tue, 05 Feb 2008 01:49:57 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Lol the moral of the story is "Work hard for greater goals" Cant
believe they twisted it into sth related to passive income.....&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 05 Feb 2008 01:49:57 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:14:295287:7838404</guid>
      <author>AsGi4Lum</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>MLM, the typical tactics. Beware replied by Phaze @ Sat, 02 Feb 2008 10:44:24 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by simpleboi:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The story is The Parable of the Pipeline.. like the title, it is
a parable, so of coz no direct link.. the main point of the story
is just to teach us to be able to think out of the box and able to
understand and see a good opportunity for the long term even though
others may not etc.. &lt;img title="Wink" src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_wink.gif" alt="Wink" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Yes. But the Parable of the Pipeline has nothing to do with
MLMs.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The pipeline works because there is an increase in productivity.
The manpower and effort required to build the pipe costs less than
the manpower and effort required to move the equivalent amount of
water by hand over the lifetime of the pipe.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;MLMs do not increase productivity. Instead of building a
pipeline, an MLMer would get all his friends and relatives to help
him carry water and promise them huge amounts of money to do so.
However, the catch is that the greater returns they want, the more
water they have to buy. In theory, they could sell the water to
other people as well but the water is so overpriced, people would
not buy for the water itself, but for the promised returns.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 02 Feb 2008 10:44:24 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:14:295287:7832685</guid>
      <author>Phaze</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>MLM, the typical tactics. Beware replied by laurence82 @ Sat, 02 Feb 2008 02:35:09 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;a recent example is Societe Generale&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;one of top French banks, now facing collapse due to fraud&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;listed so what? doesnt mean a thing&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 02 Feb 2008 02:35:09 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:14:295287:7832421</guid>
      <author>laurence82</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>MLM, the typical tactics. Beware replied by AsGi4Lum @ Fri, 01 Feb 2008 22:35:08 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Eh does property agency work in some similar way like MLM?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 01 Feb 2008 22:35:08 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:14:295287:7831862</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>MLM, the typical tactics. Beware replied by redstone @ Tue, 29 Jan 2008 16:31:31 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by AVG:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I say again... i am not technical enuff to explain such
things.... its my gut feeling that SCAMS wont make it to SGX thats
all...&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
U are juz like...." explain why u say u tell me u dun wan TUR KWA
when u didnt tell me u don wan TUR KWA"&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
ok SGX is SGX scam is scam... good enuff???&lt;br /&gt;
They dun link... doesnt mean SCAM cannot listed...... Listed may
not be good??&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
WOOoOoOOOoOOOooOOOoo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;SGX is not the governing authority on scams. It's a stock
exchange to facilitate the exchange of stocks and shares.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;See companies like Enron, Worldcom, China Aviation Oil, all
large international listed compaines. All fell cos of fruad.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 29 Jan 2008 16:31:31 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:14:295287:7821553</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>MLM, the typical tactics. Beware replied by redstone @ Tue, 29 Jan 2008 16:28:41 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Me? Sure, PM me.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Okay, another of my friend had kena-ed approached by MLM. There
are ways to reject them. They're pressurised by their upline
sitting beside them to sell.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The most common line would be "If you don't buy how you know it
doesn't work". For this simply say "why don't you buy for me to
try?"&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Best excuse would be no money. If they say withdraw from ATM,
say no ATM card, or ATM account empty. Or give some lame excuse say
you just paid your taxes, bills, fees, etc no money.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 29 Jan 2008 16:28:41 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:14:295287:7821544</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>MLM, the typical tactics. Beware replied by Wurq16 @ Tue, 29 Jan 2008 12:58:19 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Haha.. what an experience you had. These people are so
unprofessional.Please give me the contatc of the person. I hope to
go down to the company some day. Thanks!&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 29 Jan 2008 12:58:19 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:14:295287:7821151</guid>
      <author>Wurq16</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>MLM, the typical tactics. Beware replied by redstone @ Sun, 27 Jan 2008 11:22:57 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Looks like En Old aka Anal Mag. Sorry typo I mean En Youth aka
Astral Mag is still using the same old tactic I posted.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
1) Give any excuse to ask you to meet up.&lt;br /&gt;
2) There will be this one guy/girl super friendly talk to u like
old friend.&lt;br /&gt;
3) Will say how GREAT the cult is. Drive car, earn more than uni
grad. How EY "had changed their lives"&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
If all else fails they go for the underhand approach. War.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
4) Ask you what's your future dream&lt;br /&gt;
5) Say your future field has no future, dream job is useless&lt;br /&gt;
6) Say cost of living increase ("how much can you earn with your
job")&lt;br /&gt;
7) Say MLM is the only way out, etc&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 27 Jan 2008 11:22:57 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:14:295287:7812840</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>MLM, the typical tactics. Beware replied by AsGi4Lum @ Thu, 24 Jan 2008 21:01:51 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;lol, more areas to do &lt;span class=""&gt;CON&lt;/span&gt;-structive
stuffs&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 24 Jan 2008 21:01:51 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:14:295287:7801749</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>MLM, the typical tactics. Beware replied by redstone @ Thu, 24 Jan 2008 11:08:01 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;Oh ya.... Their website is finally
online......&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;What's the use when their agents cheat and trick people?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 24 Jan 2008 11:08:01 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:14:295287:7799242</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>MLM, the typical tactics. Beware replied by AsGi4Lum @ Thu, 24 Jan 2008 01:33:50 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Oh ya&#8230;. Their website is finally online&#8230;...&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 24 Jan 2008 01:33:50 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:14:295287:7798179</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>MLM, the typical tactics. Beware replied by FBI @ Sun, 30 Dec 2007 02:33:06 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;Originally posted by redstone:&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;strong&gt;I'm finally free to make a long consolidated post.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
[b]How they CONvince you to join them&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Beware when some random stranger messages you online, email, sms
etc, asking to be friend. The typical lines would be...&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
"Whats your interest"&lt;br /&gt;
"Whats your ambition"&lt;br /&gt;
"Interested to do biz?"&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
This is called fake facade. Fake friendship. Some people go to
great lengths to act out friendship to drag people into MLMing.
Trust me... It's like a drama serial, all planned out.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Then one fine day they'll give an excuse to ask you out. This can
be extremely creative. From askin you out to dinner, lunch to
movies, asking you to help them do some stuff, give something to
them, matchmaking, etc.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Usually it would be at an eating place, or someplace where you can
gather. Most probably somewhere near the company's office. One
favourite haunt is Lau Pa Sat.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Then here, the fake friendliness gets really scary. It seems
everyone's know you for a million years and starts talking to you
like an old frined. But take note there would almost always have
this one person chatting to you. He'll be the most friendly, acting
concerned, etc. Beware, this guy/girl might be your future upline
if you join. Thi s is called building relationship is sales.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
You would ask where they are going, then the most common excuses
they'll give are:&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
"Why do you ask so much"&lt;br /&gt;
"It's very hard to explain"&lt;br /&gt;
"You'll know when you reach there"&lt;br /&gt;
"It's fun, its interesting"&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Or they'll just divert topic.t&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Ask them directly, and they would give you the lost for words
expression, and will repeat the excuses. I've had 5 different
people asking me "do you know what you're here for" and when I ask
them what, they give all sorts of excues. So when I finally probe
this guy, he admits its sales, but says its SLM, not MLM. They can
think op of all sorts of unique names. But the concept is still the
same. Another excuse is "start you own business".&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Finally they've successfully tricked you into going for their
outing. Then, slowly, fox tail emerges. They would tell you to go
"somewhere see see" or some creative excuses to get you to go to
their office, seminar, whatever.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Office situation:&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Will intro you their products, will say how great the company is.
Or to one particular company, says how great their father... oops i
mean boss is.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Some companies, like this particular one used to be behind LPS, now
shifted to Eunos will boast how great their company is, to lame
extents, like how they can afford Shenton Way rent, if its not good
they won't be able to, blah blah blah. Other people would hold you
back until the big guy arrives with a "business proposal".&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Typical manipulation of emotions sequence of steps:&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;strong&gt;1) Question your future&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
They would question your future, what is your ambition, etc.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;strong&gt;2) Makes you question your future&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
They would make you question your future. Tell you to think of how
much you can earn, how big is the industry of your field,
etc.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;strong&gt;3) Insults your future&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
They would say how bad your future is, there's no future in your
field, etc. Your job no hope, cannot earn anything, won't be
successful. Basically trying to shoot you down and to shatter your
morale. This is a critical step for them.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;strong&gt;4) "Reality check"&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
They would say how cost of living is increasing, how news say your
field has no hope, etc. Stating some "examples". Say what power
tariffs increasing, petrol price increasing, etc. Say you job would
not be able to make the money to cover it.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;strong&gt;5) "Your road to success"&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Knowing your morale had been destroyed by steps 2 to 4, they try to
"console" you, there is a way out. This is called, enforcing
relationships. Like a knight helping a damsel in distress. They
would hope that you would "thank" them for it.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;strong&gt;6) Gives examples&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
Typical "examples":&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
a) Earn more than uni grad&lt;br /&gt;
b) "Look at him, he's &amp;lt; insert age here &amp;gt;, so young, driving
car liao"&lt;br /&gt;
c) Say can earn few thousands a month. Shows the top earners in
suits, looking confident, how much they had earned, a few
10Ks.&lt;br /&gt;
d) Say how MLM had "changed their lives" and "made them a better
person"&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;strong&gt;7) Boast, compare&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
They would boast about how successful their company is, how fast
they've grown, how fast they'll grow, etc. Would say how great
their seniors are, say they're at&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;strong&gt;8 ) Big guy arrives&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
They would send for the big guys, their seniors, and most likely
the steps would be repeated. [/b]&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: green;"&gt;intersted to do biz is this most
commonly used.. lol.. sick of that pharse&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 30 Dec 2007 02:33:06 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:14:295287:7682013</guid>
      <author>FBI</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>MLM, the typical tactics. Beware replied by simpleboi @ Sun, 30 Dec 2007 02:31:36 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;OFF Topic : Anyway I saw an auntie selling
water system with the brand name "sunshine". Is it related to
Sunshine empire?&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
ON TOPIC : Oh ya I also remember they show us some animation about
2 brothers who fetch water over a hill to earn a living. One
propose using bigger bucket to fetch more so he could earn more,
however he was hindered by his physical limits. Another proposed
building a water pipe, in the end, water was flowing in non-stop
and he was earning $$ without having to work.......&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The story is a total crap, u cant link natural resources with
marketing.&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The story is The Parable of the Pipeline.. like the title, it is
a parable, so of coz no direct link.. the main point of the story
is just to teach us to be able to think out of the box and able to
understand and see a good opportunity for the long term even though
others may not etc.. &lt;img title="Wink" src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_wink.gif" alt="Wink" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 30 Dec 2007 02:31:36 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:14:295287:7682007</guid>
      <author>simpleboi</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>MLM, the typical tactics. Beware replied by AsGi4Lum @ Sun, 30 Dec 2007 00:30:21 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;OFF Topic : Anyway I saw an auntie selling water system with the
brand name "sunshine". Is it related to Sunshine empire?&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
ON TOPIC : Oh ya I also remember they show us some animation about
2 brothers who fetch water over a hill to earn a living. One
propose using bigger bucket to fetch more so he could earn more,
however he was hindered by his physical limits. Another proposed
building a water pipe, in the end, water was flowing in non-stop
and he was earning $$ without having to work.......&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The story is a total crap, u cant link natural resources with
marketing.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 30 Dec 2007 00:30:21 +0800</pubDate>