-
-
Originally posted by ditzy:Coz its my mother's tongue, not my tongue.
Learn only one language? Look at the ang mors in
their own country, only know how to speak and listen in english, i
can tell them to go chi shi, chao cee bai, they can only smile at
me. 
ang mor doesnt mean they cannot speak anything other then english okay. Many of them still take french, german, spanish and others as a second language. So if they scold you in their 2nd language you also smile at them ar?
-
-
-
We should speak our mother tongue because we are Singaporean. If we only speak the English Language, and no other languages, it makes us no different from 'ang mohs'. Singaporeans have this unique identity of being bilingual.
The different races in Singapore should continue to use their mother tongue frequently. I think that it helps promote peace and harmony in Singapore as we are all very proud of the diverse culture here. Without this diversity, Singaporeans will be labelled as 'just another ang moh wannabe' with no unique identity.
-
-
-
Originally posted by FireIce:me despise ppl who can't speak their mother tongue and dunno their own culture......
watsmore still wannabe something u are not......
imagine an ang moh ask u about ur culture.......u are dumbstruck even though u speak english very well.....u will feel lau kwee onot?i agree with you too...don't like ppl whom, besides, cannot speak their mother tongue, also don't want to learn! haiz! what a sad situation!
but i think all languages are beautiful in their own way. like chinese, i like how all the characters have meaning and all the chinese stories are very interesting. and for english, i like english literature. ^^ and for japanese, i think it's very interesting too!
i think to have an interest in any language, you must either have an interest in the language or have a very good teacher. i like chinese, english and japanese because i've got very good teachers!
-
-
-
i never found chinese hard. in fact i love it alot, and don’t quite understand why people find it so hard to learn. but i must say that the fact that my family is mandarin-speaking, and i grew up watching chinese shows, listening to chinese radio, watching every single 8 pm chinese news, reading chinese books, and had wonderful chinese teachers, helped alot! of course it also meant i had to work harder on my english.
-
-
-
Originally posted by cutepixie:ang mor doesnt mean they cannot speak anything other then english okay. Many of them still take french, german, spanish and others as a second language. So if they scold you in their 2nd language you also smile at them ar?
Of coz smile at them loh, also dunno what they saying.

-
-
-
Originally posted by 14_boy:Does anyone of you have problems with your mother tongue, and is there anyone who feels that Singapore should ban a 2 lang.? And How many of you take the 'B' syllabus?
You want to ban the mother tongues in Singapore just because you have problems learning it?
Come'on. Get real.
-
-
-
Originally posted by badgraffiti:new here.

anw i think chinese is really a very difficult subject, let alone higher chinese. however it really depends on the individual. most of the time, those who come from english speaking family will definitely find chinese harder wad. besides, chinese paper are really quite a chore to read =/Chinese papers aren't a chore to read, just that I feel that they lack the substance nowadays. When I started reading newspaper, I started with the obituary page and after that proceed on to the other sections except sports which never gain my interest.
And welcome to sgforums badgrafitti.
-
-
-
ah?
i also never read chinese newspapers de. too much gossip le! see le also sian! instead, i read chinese novels. ^^ oh so nice!!!!!
chinese not hard to learn lah. maybe can start from reading chinese comics? dunno...but that was how our sec 1 chinese teacher taught chinese to the non-interested ang moh pai ones...then they got B3 in O levels! quite good huh!
i began taking higher chinese since primary school. it was great! i didn't feel that it was too difficult because the chinese words taught were seen everywhere...in novels...in newspapers...heard in radio...tv dramas...so i didn't feel that it was very difficult.
no matter what, i think everyone should just do their best in whatever they do! ^^ ganbatte ne, minna san!
-
-
-
Perfect your English in both writing and speech, embrace Mandarin and your dialect in speech first, then slowly improve on your writing.Then take a third European language.Of course this is an ideal which not many can strive, so if you can communicate well with the majority of the people around you at work, don’t be too disheartened.
-