11 Oct, 01:05PM in sunny Singapore!

Survey shows more singles want to get married and have more

Subscribe to Survey shows more singles want to get married and have more 18 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    87,346 posts since Jun '04
  • Queen of sgForums
    Hottest.&.Coolest.Mod
    163,346 posts since Dec '99
    • very farnie..
      i wonder who are the ppl who did the survey
      how come always no come ask me one angry.png

Edited by FireIce 05 May `08, 8:56PM
    19,687 posts since Jun '03
    • how come bo lang say the reason for staying single is because bo lui to settle down..

• Originally posted by GHoST_18:

how come bo lang say the reason for staying single is because bo lui to settle down..

all sorts of prob... bo lui got one set of problems, wu lui another set

19,687 posts since Jun '03
    • wu lui can solve bo lui 的 problems...

bo lui still cannot solve bo lui 的 problems...

icon_lol.gif

10,585 posts since Nov '03
  • Queen of sgForums
    Hottest.&.Coolest.Mod
    • Originally posted by Manager433:

Local gals bo lang love me so I stay single.

trying to say u going to find FT?

• 重出江湖
    6,318 posts since Jun '06
    • gd lo.

den govt no nid act 媒人 anymore.

save the $$.

simi paktor courses, BA in paktorlogy can all scrap liao

2,204 posts since Dec '03
    • They have asked the tiger beer gal from china.

Of course, they want to get married so that they can indirectly get their green card soon.

With the present rising cost and rising divorce rate, I dun think the survey hold any real substance.

Another crap from the media.

• the male yellow bunny
    1,640 posts since Dec '04
    • that piece of news was a joke. maybe they did say it right.. but it's WANT to but not married yet. ultimately everyone wants.. but like you all said, money la, this and that.. all stopping people..

10,585 posts since Nov '03
    2,979 posts since Mar '03
    • no leh, many people complain no $ to marry leh…. wander how they have this result…

no $ to marry. dont even to say buy new house..

• Queen of sgForums
    Hottest.&.Coolest.Mod
    • have the tot is one thing, relli happen is another

so this survey is not an accurate reflection

164 posts since Mar '08
    1,398 posts since Dec '04
    • 1.     Survey  studies  have shown that the majority of Singaporeans desire marriage  and  to  have  children.   Resident marriages have hovered around
      22,000 annually in the past 5 years, while resident live-births are 36,000. However,  our nation’s total fertility rate (TFR) remains relatively low at 1.26  children  per  resident  female.   Faced  with  the  pressures  of  a competitive  society,  singles  are  postponing marriage to a later age and married couples are having fewer children and also having them later.

2.      To  support  Singaporeans’  aspirations  of  starting  and  raising families, the Government introduced the first Marriage and Parenthood (M&P)
      package  in 2000, and enhanced it in 2004. Some of the enhanced measures in 2004  included  the  Baby  Bonus,  which  was extended to the first and the
      fourth  child,  and  the  extension  of  maternity leave from 8 weeks to 12 weeks.   There are also the Parenthood Tax Rebate, which offers $10,000 for
      the  second  child and $20,000 each for the third and fourth child; and the infant  care  subsidy of $400 per month for infants (first to fourth child) enrolled in infant care programmes at child care centres.

3.     Noting  the  trends in marriage and fertility rates, and desirous to explore how families’ can be further supported, the National Family Council (NFC)  would  be  organising a focus group discussion to hear your views on these  issues.  The NFC is a people sector-led Council formed on 1 May 2006 to  serve  as  the bridge between the people and Government in policies and programmes  related to the family. I am the current chairman of the Council which comprises 16 members from the public.

4.     For the proposed focus group discussion, the NFC would in particular like  to  gather  feedback on the 2004 marriage and parenthood measures and
      how  this  can  be  further  enhanced  or  revised, if necessary. Areas for discussion  could include marriages, work-family and childcare support. The
      session will be chaired by the National Family Council.

any one interest!!!!

164 posts since Mar '08
    349 posts since May '08
    • Aiya, marriage see fate nia. I rather stay in sp lib till 9pm everyday to read books as i always do, ur knowledge paves the way to success, not your wife. So no point.

Please Login or Signup to reply.