<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom" xmlns:opensearch="http://a9.com/-/spec/opensearch/1.1/" version="2.0">
  <channel>
    <title>Recent Posts in 'A Nutshell Review by daface' | sgForums.com</title>
    <link>http://movies.sgforums.com/forums/1763/topics/125032</link>
    <language>en-US</language>
    <ttl>60</ttl>
    <atom:link rel="search" type="application/opensearchdescription+xml" href="http://movies.sgforums.com/open_search.xml"/>
    <description></description>
    <item>
      <title>A Nutshell Review by daface replied by daface @ Thu, 04 Sep 2008 15:14:29 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;A Nutshell Review: Cyborg She&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Sometimes the greatest love stories aren't the ones that end
happily ever after, but the realization that it's all a matter of
the quality moments spent between the lovers. You can call me a
sentimental sap, but Cyborg She does meet every single one of my
expectation of what makes a palatable romantic movie, never mind
sometimes dwelling on the cliched moments, especially when the
leads share great chemistry, and this being a science-fiction piece
to boot too!&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Continues at &lt;a href=
"http://anutshellreview.blogspot.com/2008/09/cyborg-she-boku-no-kanojo-wa-saibgu.html"
rel=
"nofollow"&gt;http://anutshellreview.blogspot.com/2008/09/cyborg-she-boku-no-kanojo-wa-saibgu.html&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 04 Sep 2008 15:14:29 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">movies.sgforums.com:1763:125032:8370894</guid>
      <author>daface</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>A Nutshell Review by daface replied by daface @ Thu, 04 Sep 2008 10:55:45 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;A Nutshell Review: The Days&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The ubiquitous Ah Beng of Singapore continues to be a cultural
fascination for the big screen in Singapore cinema, having been the
subject of films like Royston Tan's 15, and Kelvin Tong/Jasmine
Ng's Eating Air. I guess almost every one of us will bump into Mr.
Beng at some point in our lives, either in schools, coffeeshops, at
nightspots, or even have been, or are still currently one
ourselves! This classification and label have been evolving through
time, and this version here presented in Boi Kwong's The Days,
happen to be an era of mine as well.&lt;/p&gt;
"http://anutshellreview.blogspot.com/2008/09/gala-premiere-days.html"
rel=
"nofollow"&gt;http://anutshellreview.blogspot.com/2008/09/gala-premiere-days.html&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 04 Sep 2008 10:55:45 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">movies.sgforums.com:1763:125032:8370316</guid>
      <author>daface</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>A Nutshell Review by daface replied by daface @ Sat, 30 Aug 2008 08:40:42 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;A Nutshell Review:&amp;nbsp;&lt;span style=
"color: #555555; font-family: tahoma; font-weight: bold; line-height: normal;"&gt;WALL&#183;E&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style=""&gt;In some strange twist of Fate, the local release
of recent Pixar movies always had us here twiddling our thumbs
wondering when it'll finally make its way to the screens, while we
hear the accolades ring from the rest of the world in marvelling at
the quality that Pixar continually churns out. It's likely that the
distributors want to coincide the release with the local school
holidays, but frankly, the money also comes from the adult crowd,
as testament to this full house in one of the largest screens
downtown during a late night screening with nary a noisy kid in
tow.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style=""&gt;Continues at
http://anutshellreview.blogspot.com/2008/08/walle.html&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 30 Aug 2008 08:40:42 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">movies.sgforums.com:1763:125032:8355905</guid>
      <author>daface</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>A Nutshell Review by daface replied by chrisbenoit @ Fri, 29 Aug 2008 22:21:24 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;win liao lor.&lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/kde-3.5.8/KMess-Cartoon/smile.png" alt=
"smile.png" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 29 Aug 2008 22:21:24 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">movies.sgforums.com:1763:125032:8355252</guid>
      <author>chrisbenoit</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>A Nutshell Review by daface replied by daface @ Fri, 29 Aug 2008 21:31:27 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;A Nutshell Review: Star Wars: The Clone Wars&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I guess in all fairness, the reviewer for a Star Wars movie
should declare which side of the fence he's on, whether he thinks
the Original Trilogy was the best thing since buttered toast and
the Prequels were utter trash, or ambivalent to the fact that
George Lucas is an expert at massaging the fat udders of cash cows,
what with his special editions, tweaks and re-releases that
continue to confound even his most loyal of fans.&lt;/p&gt;
"http://anutshellreview.blogspot.com/2008/08/star-wars-clone-wars.html"
rel=
"nofollow"&gt;http://anutshellreview.blogspot.com/2008/08/star-wars-clone-wars.html&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 29 Aug 2008 21:31:27 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">movies.sgforums.com:1763:125032:8355088</guid>
      <author>daface</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>A Nutshell Review by daface replied by chrisbenoit @ Wed, 27 Aug 2008 22:51:33 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Did you write all these reviews?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 27 Aug 2008 22:51:33 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">movies.sgforums.com:1763:125032:8349905</guid>
      <author>chrisbenoit</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>A Nutshell Review by daface replied by daface @ Sun, 24 Aug 2008 00:03:20 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;A Nutshell Review: The Hunting Party&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style=""&gt;The first words that appear in the movie, told
the audience something to the effect that only the most ridiculous
or ludicrous of situations depicted, are true. And in fact, while
it's supposedly based loosely on a true story off an Esquire
article, there are enough of such said moments thrown into the mix
so frivolously, that one would be forgiven should one think that
this was entire made up. So what eventually held up the movie
despite its wafer thin plot and hurried finale was the chemistry
and banter between two charismatic actors in Richard Gere and
Terrence Howard.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
http://anutshellreview.blogspot.com/2008/08/hunting-party.html&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 24 Aug 2008 00:03:20 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">movies.sgforums.com:1763:125032:8339934</guid>
      <author>daface</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>A Nutshell Review by daface replied by daface @ Thu, 21 Aug 2008 23:43:27 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;A Nutshell Review: Kallang Roar the Movie&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style=""&gt;"Untuk Bangsa Dan Negara! MAJULAH!!!"&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style=""&gt;That was the war cry that Uncle Choo Seng Quee
(Lim Kay Siu), Singapore's, and possibly the region's most well
known footballing coach extraordinaire, instilled in his handpicked
charges, as he led the quest to win for Singapore the Malaysia Cup
and to lift Singapore football from dire straits through the
process. And it's no surprise why writer-director Cheng Ding An
wanted to release this movie this month, as it has heart thumping
patriotism written all over it.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
http://anutshellreview.blogspot.com/2008/08/kallang-roar-movie.html&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 21 Aug 2008 23:43:27 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">movies.sgforums.com:1763:125032:8334755</guid>
      <author>daface</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>A Nutshell Review by daface replied by daface @ Sun, 17 Aug 2008 23:24:05 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;A Nutshell Review: Space Chimps&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style=""&gt;I'm going to admit that I've enjoyed Space
Chimps. No, I've not gone bananas, but there's something beautiful
to this goofy animated comedy that appealed, perhaps in its
simplicity and its not attempting to try and be more than it cannot
be.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
http://anutshellreview.blogspot.com/2008/08/space-chimps.html&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 17 Aug 2008 23:24:05 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">movies.sgforums.com:1763:125032:8322813</guid>
      <author>daface</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>A Nutshell Review by daface replied by daface @ Sun, 17 Aug 2008 22:11:56 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;A Nutshell Review: Fate&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style=""&gt;I've become wary should any Korean movie calls
itself, or touts itself, as the largest action movie for the year.
Remember the woeful debacle of Typhoon? Well, it seems that Fate
belongs to the same mould, with the assembly of the best looking
men the country has to offer, and put them in roles against each
other, topped with plenty of angst, misunderstanding and failure
from which they find it hard to crawl out from, and you have what
hopefully could bring the crowds in.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
http://anutshellreview.blogspot.com/2008/08/fate-destiny-sookmyeong.html&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 17 Aug 2008 22:11:56 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">movies.sgforums.com:1763:125032:8322534</guid>
      <author>daface</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>A Nutshell Review by daface replied by daface @ Sun, 17 Aug 2008 09:16:10 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;A Nutshell Review: Murder of the Inugami Clan&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style=""&gt;The closing film of the Tokyo International Film
Festival back in 2006, this movie is a remake by the late Kon
Ichikawa of one of his own, whose original film based on the same
novel by Seishi Yokomizo, was made some 30 years ago. Anyway this
is nothing new or surprising, given that filmmakers do revisit some
of their earlier works (Funny Games anyone?). I haven't seen the
original so I don't have a basis for comparison, so take it from me
that I'm watching this for the very first time, even though some of
the principal cast members return to take up their same roles in
this remake, such as Koji Ishizaka as the private eye Kosuke
Kindaichi and Takeshi Kato as Chief Todoroki.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
http://anutshellreview.blogspot.com/2008/08/murder-of-inugami-clan-inugamis.html&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 17 Aug 2008 09:16:10 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">movies.sgforums.com:1763:125032:8320535</guid>
      <author>daface</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>A Nutshell Review by daface replied by daface @ Sat, 16 Aug 2008 18:35:19 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;A Nutshell Review: Meet Dave&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;One wonders if Eddie Murphy has lost it. I still remember his
early days in action comedy back in Beverly Hills Cop, flashing his
pearlies and making wisecracks, being the rather unorthodox cop
that he probably would be toying with continuing the franchise to
revive flagging fortunes, just like how Stallone went about adding
to his Rocky and Rambo mythos. We all know the comedic streak in
Eddie, and he does a fine job in voicing animated characters. But
while he seemed to have exhausted playing multiple characters in
The Nutty Professor and Norbit, he now has to play himself in,
well, himself.&lt;/p&gt;
"http://anutshellreview.blogspot.com/2008/08/meet-dave.html" rel=
"nofollow"&gt;http://anutshellreview.blogspot.com/2008/08/meet-dave.html&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 16 Aug 2008 18:35:19 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">movies.sgforums.com:1763:125032:8319140</guid>
      <author>daface</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>A Nutshell Review by daface replied by daface @ Fri, 15 Aug 2008 00:35:12 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;A Nutshell Review: 4bia&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style=""&gt;4bia finally makes its Singapore debut today, hot
off winning the Bronze Award at Fantasia International Film
Festival in Montreal. It's a collection of 4 horror shorts by
upcoming (or should I already say established) talents in the Thai
horror genre, with each short helmed by a different director,
having their individual flair and skill thrown in to provide the
audience with a mixture of flavours, injecting action, comedy, and
classic ghouls and spirits coupled with special effects, to keep
each short distinct from one another, yet working so well to
entertain as a whole.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
http://anutshellreview.blogspot.com/2008/08/4bia-phobia.html&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 15 Aug 2008 00:35:12 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">movies.sgforums.com:1763:125032:8315002</guid>
      <author>daface</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>A Nutshell Review by daface replied by daface @ Tue, 12 Aug 2008 01:17:53 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;A Nutshell Review: 12 Lotus&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style=""&gt;For detractors who view 12 Lotus with the
preconceived notion that the follow up to Royston Tan's highly
successful 881 is nothing but having another go at the same formula
to repeat its success, you're in for a big surprise. No doubt that
this movie also revolves in part around the Getai like 881, but 12
Lotus made 881 look like a walk in the park, having its emotions
come more strongly across, being a darker film than the previous
which in comparison was much fluffy with the bitchy rivalry between
the Papaya and the Durian sisters taking centerstage.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
http://anutshellreview.blogspot.com/2008/08/12-lotus.html&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 12 Aug 2008 01:17:53 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">movies.sgforums.com:1763:125032:8307330</guid>
      <author>daface</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>A Nutshell Review by daface replied by daface @ Sat, 09 Aug 2008 23:45:52 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;A Nutshell Review: The Midnight Meat Train&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style=""&gt;Given that this month's the Lunar Seventh Month
where the Chinese believe that spirits roam our world as their
month long vacation from purgatory, my friend has so far kept this
running joke about my unfortunate bumping into them given I spend
my journey home on late night buses and trains. The Midnight Meat
Train, as the title suggests, tells of the last train in the system
where passengers inexplicably disappears, and I thought that
Japanese director Ryuhei Kitamura managed to put a somewhat
refreshing spin to the entire slasher and torture porn
genre.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
http://anutshellreview.blogspot.com/2008/08/midnight-meat-train.html&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 09 Aug 2008 23:45:52 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">movies.sgforums.com:1763:125032:8302289</guid>
      <author>daface</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>A Nutshell Review by daface replied by daface @ Sat, 09 Aug 2008 22:36:09 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;A Nutshell Review: Pathology&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style=""&gt;From the West with the latest Saw installment or
the indie Unrest, to the Asian counterpart in Body #19, dead
bodies/cadavers continue to be milked for cinematic horror, not
that you'd expect them to turn into zombies and start craving for
human flesh, but for the amount of gore that an autopsy can provide
when it's shown in your face, with skin and fat pulled back using
tools of the trade, coupled with internal organs on display to
challenge your stomach.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
http://anutshellreview.blogspot.com/2008/08/pathology.html&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 09 Aug 2008 22:36:09 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">movies.sgforums.com:1763:125032:8302054</guid>
      <author>daface</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>A Nutshell Review by daface replied by daface @ Fri, 08 Aug 2008 22:32:51 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;A Nutshell Review: Mad About English&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style=""&gt;By the time you read this, the Beijing Olympics
2008 is already in full swing, and the news leading up to it have
been the concerns about the pollution levels affecting athletes'
performances, as well as how the authorities have taken measures to
ensure that all visitors get to enjoy an experience they'll never
forget. Local documentarians have found the run up to the Olympic
event monumental enough to craft documentaries around it, and
earlier this year we have seen Tan Siok Siok's Boomtown Beijing,
which provided some insights into how the Games had impacted and
inpsired the ordinary folks. Lian Pek's Mad About English too get
set during this period of preparation in Beijing.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
http://anutshellreview.blogspot.com/2008/08/mad-about-english.html&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 08 Aug 2008 22:32:51 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">movies.sgforums.com:1763:125032:8299563</guid>
      <author>daface</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>A Nutshell Review by daface replied by daface @ Tue, 05 Aug 2008 23:10:40 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;A Nutshell Review: The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style=""&gt;A friend was curious why I wanted to give this
show a chance. The answer is simple, and I will not deny that I
sort of enjoyed the free-wheeling, breezy summer
action-adventure-comedy with a generous dose of special effects
thrown in, which the Mummy and The Mummy Returns offered, together
with the great chemistry between Brendan Fraser, Rachel Weisz and
John Hannah. But this installment of Tomb of the Dragon Emperor,
came hot on the heels of the Hollywood bandwagon of raiding their
own franchises in order to rake in millions around the world, and
therefore fell short on many counts.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
http://anutshellreview.blogspot.com/2008/08/mummy-tomb-of-dragon-emperor.html&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 05 Aug 2008 23:10:40 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">movies.sgforums.com:1763:125032:8291561</guid>
      <author>daface</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>A Nutshell Review by daface replied by daface @ Sat, 02 Aug 2008 23:37:53 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;A Nutshell Review: A Month of Hungry Ghosts&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style=""&gt;Today marks the exact date to the start of the
month long Lunar 7th Month, where the Chinese believe the gates of
Hell are supposedly opened, and the &#8220;good brothers&#8221; (aka spirits
both of the malevolent and the benevolent kind) roam the Earth as
their vacation destination not by choice. They get to feast on the
food offerings, and get pocket money from the Hell currency that
humans provide, with entertainment either in the form of the more
traditional Opera and puppet shows, or the glitz and glamour from
Getai (&#8220;song-stage&#8221;) shows where singers belt out evergreens and
the latest contemporary songs.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
http://anutshellreview.blogspot.com/2008/08/month-of-hungry-ghosts.html&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 02 Aug 2008 23:37:53 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">movies.sgforums.com:1763:125032:8284138</guid>
      <author>daface</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>A Nutshell Review by daface replied by daface @ Thu, 31 Jul 2008 00:10:57 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;A Nutshell Review: Money No Enough 2&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style=""&gt;I am quite unsure why Jack Neo had decided to
call this "Money No Enough" 2, because frankly it's a departure
from the crux of the original movie, and the characters too are
totally different, despite starring the same main trio of himself,
Mark Lee and Henry Thia. Perhaps it's to bank on the resounding box
office success of its predecessor some 10 years ago in getting the
crowds back into the halls, in an attempt to repeat that
miracle.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
http://anutshellreview.blogspot.com/2008/07/money-no-enough-2-2.html&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 31 Jul 2008 00:10:57 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">movies.sgforums.com:1763:125032:8277504</guid>
      <author>daface</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>A Nutshell Review by daface replied by daface @ Sun, 27 Jul 2008 23:02:52 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;A Nutshell Review: Under the Same Moon&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style=""&gt;It's been a while since I experienced in the
movies, a mother's love for her young child, and vice versa, being
the primary focus of the film, especially with one that dealt with
distance and longing. The last one that truly moved me was the
Japanese film Be With You, and no prizes for guessing that this
Mexican number Under the Same Moon will join its ranks.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
http://anutshellreview.blogspot.com/2008/07/under-same-moon-la-misma-luna.html&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 27 Jul 2008 23:02:52 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">movies.sgforums.com:1763:125032:8269825</guid>
      <author>daface</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>A Nutshell Review by daface replied by daface @ Sun, 27 Jul 2008 17:54:27 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;A Nutshell Review: Strange Wilderness&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style=""&gt;One of the reasons why I decided to watch this,
is because I needed a comedy to laugh at, if it's not possible to
laugh together with it. The DVD is already available at the shops,
but I don't think I'm ready to fork out a Code 1 DVD price for
what's essentially a short comedic film which is based from a
Saturday Night Life comedy skit. Written by the same creative team
of Peter Gaulke and Fred Wolf with the latter taking on directorial
duties as well, Strange Wilderness delivered some genuine laughs,
but only if you're tolerant of being insensitive to the kind of
subject the film makes fun of.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
http://anutshellreview.blogspot.com/2008/07/strange-wilderness.html&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 27 Jul 2008 17:54:27 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">movies.sgforums.com:1763:125032:8269022</guid>
      <author>daface</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>A Nutshell Review by daface replied by daface @ Sun, 27 Jul 2008 17:48:40 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;A Nutshell Review: The Book of Revelation&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style=""&gt;You'd be forgiven if you thought that this movie
was nothing more than the final chapter of the biblical text.
Although itself based on a novel, this is a far cry from doomsday,
though for the lead character, his life has been made a living hell
for the sheer psychological and physical torture he goes through
even after his unfortunate ordeal. And it does provoke some thought
into the issues it put on screen, though it doesn't provide any
answers, which I suppose in a real world equivalent, it's likely to
remain under wraps too, for the shame.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
http://anutshellreview.blogspot.com/2008/07/book-of-revelation.html&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 27 Jul 2008 17:48:40 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">movies.sgforums.com:1763:125032:8269005</guid>
      <author>daface</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>A Nutshell Review by daface replied by daface @ Sat, 26 Jul 2008 21:53:31 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;A Nutshell Review: The Spirit Compendium&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style=""&gt;Going by the synopsis, stills and posters, one
would have expected a supernatural thriller at the very least. But
you know what they say about expectations, and this being the first
feature film of writer-director Foo Fung Koon, I have had friends
who have given me that wry look and stifled laughter when I told
them that I am prepared to be scared. And the usual trappings of a
first film, with its raw delivery and unpolished feel, comes an
accidental, unintentional comedy.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
http://anutshellreview.blogspot.com/2008/07/spirit-compendium.html&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 26 Jul 2008 21:53:31 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">movies.sgforums.com:1763:125032:8267694</guid>
      <author>daface</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>A Nutshell Review by daface replied by daface @ Thu, 24 Jul 2008 23:08:11 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;A Nutshell Review: The X-Files: I Want To Believe&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style=""&gt;It's not hard to imagine how time flies, when you
realize that one of your best loved television series of all time
had already ended its run, and you reminisce the times back when
one of your weekend nights revolved around sitting in a bunk with
your army mates, all glued to what Chris Carter had conjured as
adventures for the two best known goggle box FBI agents, Fox Mulder
(David Duchovny) and Dana Scully (Gillian Anderson). While we
always needed to crank up the volume to try and make sense of the
murmurs involving shadow governments and secret conspiracies, our
favourite episodes almost unanimously were those one-off ones, so
called the "monster" episodes.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
http://anutshellreview.blogspot.com/2008/07/x-files-i-want-to-believe.html&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 24 Jul 2008 23:08:11 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">movies.sgforums.com:1763:125032:8264127</guid>
      <author>daface</author>
    </item>
  </channel>
</rss>