Please Login or Signup to reply.
    10,436 posts since Sep '04
  • August Band - Sunshine
    90,541 posts since Nov '03
  • August Band - Sunshine
    • It was COL Bernard Tan, 39. collapsed 600m from the finish line. Sent to CGH but was pronounced dead at 10.56am.. cause of death is being investigated.... image

• Originally posted by laurence82:
      u went for the biathlon huh?

i got one fren also got go

Yup, went for the event. Razz

33,063 posts since Mar '05
    • evil though it sounds, i’ve always held the believe that those who engage in such sports that put such a great strain on their body deserve it if they die or get injured doign it. same with record breaking attempts.

• Fallen...
    126,523 posts since Feb '01
    • it's kinda true actually..

if you wanna push to such limits, your body may give out.. and if your body gives out, you die...

and people with families who love him and are dependent on him are left behind.. because he pushes until he keeled over and died...

because of his pushing so hard, they're to struggle on without him.. i think he's kinda selfish..

when you have a family, your life isn't your own anymore..

Originally posted by kops21:
      ur thoughts are abit unorthodox Confused
    • where is the line to draw? what is too much? What is onself limit is not other limit.

Being human, we are pushing the line every now and then. Knowing when to push and when to withdraw when the chips are down ought to be the right thing to do.

Unfortunately certain thing in life, no matter what precautions we took, still risk of failure.

• August Band - Sunshine
    • ah kops

u not young liao

dont push so hard

i dont want to be forced to kidnap your smelly socks again

the last incident very traumatic u noe

33,063 posts since Mar '05
    • Originally posted by kops21:
      ur thoughts are abit unorthodox Confused

perhaps. but i do believe that they chose to take such a risk for no real good reason therefore the consequences are theirs to bear

21,531 posts since Aug '02
    • Arrow It's luck, or fate if you want to call it.

One doesn't have to run to die.

Anyway, I wonder people who take part in biathlon train.

• Originally posted by laurence82:
      ah kops

u not young liao

dont push so hard

i dont want to be forced to kidnap your smelly socks again

the last incident very traumatic u noe

yeah loh...old leow...now even Army put me in Mindef Reserve..... Rolling Eyes

mi very kiasee that why until now still very slow Embarassed

dont steal my socks lah...my precious socks.... Mad

life is unpredictable. If you die, at least you die doing something you enjoy Confused

• Originally posted by Parka:
      Arrow It's luck, or fate if you want to call it.

One doesn't have to run to die.

Anyway, I wonder people who take part in biathlon train.

there are clinic to train for biathlon. there are time trial to make sure folks are able to complete the swim leg. Of course, there are ppl that refuse to train and still pass the trail. Just like taking exam, some student dont study and can still score well for it. Rolling Eyes

6,362 posts since Jul '03
    8,588 posts since Oct '04
    • I believe people do such activities for a sense of self-actualisation, not to commit suicide. Neutral

• August Band - Sunshine
    • Originally posted by kops21:
      yeah loh...old leow...now even Army put me in Mindef Reserve..... Rolling Eyes

mi very kiasee that why until now still very slow Embarassed

dont steal my socks lah...my precious socks.... Mad

life is unpredictable. If you die, at least you die doing something you enjoy Confused

i go send boss to steal ur smelly socks

23,437 posts since Feb '06
    1,437 posts since May '05
    • If he collapsed at the swim, i would have understand.. but at the run? Weather was quite good for the run leh... and the water point was quite well-manned, got thick isotonic drink and Milo-"peng" somemore..

so sad.. Sad

10,608 posts since Nov '03
    • Its time SAF seriously consider this. Cut off age for IPPT test-33yrs old and FFI at the age of 30.

• Originally posted by mhcampboy:
      Isnt Colonel Bernard head of PR for the Saf??

sound like him

• Originally posted by k4korny:
      If he collapsed at the swim, i would have understand.. but at the run? Weather was quite good for the run leh... and the water point was quite well-manned, got thick isotonic drink and Milo-"peng" somemore..

so sad.. Sad

first time i see milo-peng at water point....i grab a few cups...yummy.... Razz

Please Login or Signup to reply.