i have not been arguing for a LONG LONG TIME... who dig out this thread again???Originally posted by JusStatic:Hey weidev dont need to argue anymore, these ppl have been brain-washed its no use trying to prove them anything. I believe at the end of the day they will see the truth.
when the ancestors of this thread argue... we also don call each other names... youngsters nowadays ah... haiz...Originally posted by stupidissmart:I am actually very amused at some of the replies in the thread.
Though Mazohyst reply is inappropriate, however I can't stop myself laughing at his reply...
I agreed cuz i'm like tis.whenever got things abt her on tv or FM,i'll switch channel immediately. I wonder why even she can held concert.Originally posted by BÃ¥seline:You dun have to buy her album, listens to her songs. If she's on TV switch channel or just switch off TV then.
Is that so difficult?
Originally posted by prso:
[b]CHC always maintain that members are not pressured to buy hys albums and that the church do not use hard-selling methods to aid her cd. ok, let us see for ourself by the below instances..
1.During the period of her album launching, my cgl called me as asked,' how many cds you buying?'. he did not ask are you buying but how many? so it is obvious that people are buying more than one. when i ask why you want to know, he said the pastor want to know.
i must admit ... yes the pastor wants to know. it is in the CGL's weekly to do list. so she will can you and ask. you can say you dont want to buy. if she force you, i think she is acting on her own will.
sometimes cgls push people too hard in things like tat giving people an impression that the church is forcing people to do or rather buy the alburm in this case.
2.There was once a campaign to aid needly children. All you need to do to play a part is to buy her album( the more the better, since its for charity), and chc staff will send those album to the children home. there are of cause ppl who again buy more than one( afterall, its for the children isn't it?) during one service, the pastor reported that the children were delighted to receive her cds and were greatly blessed by her songs, there's even pictures as evidents. but my thoughts is, of cause those children are delighted, they will accept any presents, afterall, its free, but i believe they will be happier to receive other things like toys, books etc, it will be more useful anyway. but wait!!! why do those children living in the same children home need a CD each?? weird weird.. i doubt they have a cd player each. so in the campaign, all the children gained was a cd that they will prob. forget in a few weeks time, but hys's cd sale got a massive boost, in the name of charity..
actually that "charity event" happen after the feedback from the children home that the kids kind of like sun's song and so pst kong wanted to bless them with SUN's cd. is that simple. .. dont look it in a complicated point of view
3.during the period of her cd launching, you can see her promotion posters all over the church compound, her mtv, concert and variety show video clips and even advertisement on TVs all over the church. there will be people stationed at the lobby holding baskets of her cds, urging people to buy.
Then did you buy? i personally did not buy after the launch week. and when the cgls ask me, i would just tell them i bought mine. thank you and walk away. is that simpleas for cgls, they are trying to make things easier for you because the record company sends all the stock to the ticket distribution area ( which is chc ) directly. so office ask all cgls to submit the number of cds they wan to reserve.
as for the posters and video, chc is the ticket distribution point for her concert , so naturally will screen her video and posters. it applies to other shows when you purchase at sistic outlets they will have posters or video to intro the singer. i must admit that we are abit kaisu ... paste the whole lobby. but tat is on the kaisu part not deco the church with her poster mah
4.during service, some time is given to show her mtv and other video clips, and the pastor will talk about her new album, urging people to support her etc. Once in a statement given by the CHC board of 'something', they clarified that the reason why her clips are shown during service is because hyw is a well-loved and respected leader of the church, the members will want to know updates about her.. ok, fair enough.... but why only during her album promotion period? what is the purpose?
mmmmm .... seems like you attend CHC. i think is a nom for pst to show videos in svc not just for her mtv but also updates on other events. back in the old church, we have been doing that.whenever possible there is a event or conference. there will be a intro video so the members know what is happening.
What good does it do to God's work by buying her cd?
Hys's singing career is often stressed to be doing God's work. to use secular music to reach out to non-christians, therefore members are urged to support her and buy her cd... think about it, as christians, chc members buying her cd... what good does it do? so what if she sells 20k albums in singapore? does that help in evangelising? ultimately, its christians who are buying up her cds, so what's the point?
Hys doing God's work?
Rom 12.2
Don't copy the behavior and customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think. Then you will know what God wants you to do, and you will know how good and pleasing and perfect his will really is. (NLT)
2 Cor 10:3-5
We are human, but we don't wage war with human plans and methods. We use God's mighty weapons, not mere worldly weapons, to knock down the Devil's strongholds. With these weapons we break down every proud argument that keeps people from knowing God. With these weapons we conquer their rebellious ideas, and we teach them to obey Christ.(NLT)
So.. is God suddenly so desperate that he now uses secular music to win souls into his kingdom? CHC people argued that she's not the only one, where are others too. well these verses apply to those people as well.
well, you quoted the bible well, proves that you did study the bible. remember that when jesus was dining with tax collectors and harlots, people around him was scaptical about it. but jesus did it knowing that he can touch lives.
we patten our lives on jesus as paul recommands us topst sun did the crossover project knowing that all this comments will come head on, she still did it because she choose to believes and the management prayed for 4 mths before launching into the project. pior to launching, pst kong actually told the members from the pulpit that SUN is going into this project.
Tithing
I know its irrelevant, but since it was mentioned in previous postings, let me share my two cent worth.
1.Tithing is biblical, it is 10 percent of your income, afterall, the word tithe means 1/10. Most, if not all churches practice tithing. Members are encouraged and should be encouraged to tithe.
2.However, tithing is not a must. CHC never force people to tithe, but pressure. definately. why?
A-if you started tithing and suddenly for one mth you did not tithe, your cgl will talk to you or call you and ask,' have you given your tithe?'( obviously he know you didn't, if not why he won't ask you anyway)
aiyo .. not i cannot make it lah ... is someone dig it up mah .. so i read read read... then post one or two reply loh .. like tat also called cannot make it meh ?Originally posted by snk86:NOT again...............god............this CHC members really CMI liao lah...........
Originally posted by Clown9:
Sian....ZzzzZ... I cannot tahan liao, I beri simple-minded one, read between the line abit I can get headaches & my eyes start rolling. wait becum cockeyed how ar![]()
AGREED!!!Originally posted by koroshiya:We cannot deny the fact lah
She is indeed A PASTOR!!! just note the link and her 'position'.http://www.chc.org.sg/version3/staffs.cfm