02 Dec, 05:55PM in sunny Singapore!

Hong Kong's latest (and soon-to-be only) taxi...

Subscribe to Hong Kong's latest (and soon-to-be only) taxi... 37 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    685 posts since Nov '05
    • By law, all of Hong Kong's taxis can only run on LPG now. There're only 3 diesel taxis left in the whole of HK. Since the 1980s taxis have only been Crown or Cedric. Hybrids like Ford Falcon, Lancer, came and left quickly.

Because of emission standards the Cedric is no longer approved. This leaves HK with only one taxi model - Crown Comfort. Now, all new taxis are this model, and very soon, they'll be the only ones left...

(there're 7 Alphard taxis, plans to bring in London cabs, both of which fail)

2,270 posts since Jul '05
    • hk taxi super expensive, even more expensive then sg one.. that time i take liao so xim tia

14,701 posts since Mar '04
    685 posts since Nov '05
    • Originally posted by iveco:
      Wah, HK so advanced. LPG sia. Surprised

What about their buses? Any of them run on gas?

they dont have gas buses, they know it sucks.

but all the new ones euro4 now.

13,891 posts since Oct '06
    • BangkokPost : Forum
      Taxi cabs in Bangkok use LPG but both my friend and i were sure there was leakage and the gas was seeping in to the taxi cabin. Bangkok taxi cabs are ...
      matrix.bangkokpost.co.th/forums/thread.php?Thread_ID=2353 - 15k - Cached - Similar pages - Note this

Pattaya-Live! Forum [Powered by Invision Power Board]
      Forum _ Bangkok Forum _ Bangkok Taxis To Raise Fares, higher LPG costs cited ... This follows requests by taxi operators for a fare hike as the fares have ...
      www.pattaya-live.com/index.php?act=Print&client=printer&f=55&t=952 - 37k - Cached - Similar pages - Note this

Backpacking in Bangkok Guide - jeng-thailand.com
      Over the recent years Bangkok has cleaned it's act up with regards to pollution. All Bangkok taxi's now run on LPG and the BLT Sky Train and super modern ...
      www.jeng-thailand.com/backpacking-bangkok.php - 10k - Cached - Similar pages - Note this

Edited by AndrewPKYap 07 Jan `08, 10:50PM
    24,222 posts since Apr '06
    • Anyway, I think GM's new VE Commodore kicks arse when placed head to head with the Crowns, regardless of what fuel it uses. Cool

Edited by iveco 07 Jan `08, 10:51PM
    685 posts since Nov '05
    • Originally posted by seotiblizzard:
      erm.

It looks the same as the toyota crown.

because it IS the toyota crown? lol..

1,005 posts since Oct '06
    • Originally posted by sir_peanuts:
      By law, all of Hong Kong's taxis can only run on LPG now. There're only 3 diesel taxis left in the whole of HK. Since the 1980s taxis have only been Crown or Cedric. Hybrids like Ford Falcon, Lancer, came and left quickly.

Because of emission standards the Cedric is no longer approved. This leaves HK with only one taxi model - Crown Comfort. Now, all new taxis are this model, and very soon, they'll be the only ones left...

(there're 7 Alphard taxis, plans to bring in London cabs, both of which fail)

This Crown is auto gear!

685 posts since Nov '05
    • note that HK's crown quite different from ours. theirs is LPG.

most importantly, 5 passengers (6 seats). the front passenger seat is a bench so each row can seat 3.

Edited by sir_peanuts 09 Jan `08, 12:53AM
    1,631 posts since Dec '04
    • i DO NOT THINK SO
      look like steering manual gear shift
      like our old toyota taxi,

Originally posted by swee_heng:
      This Crown is auto gear!
    2,813 posts since Jan '04
    • HK Toyota Crown Comforts don’t have diesel smell, stand beside it no need to cover nose, LPG is good. Besides Taxis, Public Minibuses are also required to run on LPG, so you have LPG Toyota Coasters and Crowns.

Edited by Scania 08 Jan `08, 9:11PM
    13,868 posts since Feb '04
      note that HK's crown quite different from ours. theirs is LPG.

most importantly, 5 passengers (6 seats). the front passenger seat is a bench so each row can seat 3.

no lah.. we usually just sit 4 behind and 2 in front lah.. cannot 3 each row one lah Laughing

685 posts since Nov '05
    • Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):
      no lah.. we usually just sit 4 behind and 2 in front lah.. cannot 3 each row one lah Laughing

what i meant was, 5 passengers, 2 in front 3 behind, plus driver, each row 3 people.

24,222 posts since Apr '06
      because it IS the toyota crown? lol..

oh,

icic.

hehe.

paiseh.

but hor.

this car where is the gearstick to change gear?

9,494 posts since Oct '03
    • What ?

U all don't know Transab ( Gas Company ) coming in with their own LPG taxis ? Shocked I thought it's not an open secret ? Maybe we cabbies all knew , only the media don't published too much .

TransCab supplying their own taxi fleet with the cheaper LPG taxis ?

In place of the more expensive , and getting more expensive diesel .

Now their new LPG taxi is under test , just waiting for LTA approval .

Soon , TransCab taxis will be run by LPG .

A bit dangerous fundamentally , but Japanese don't invent something dangerous .

It's proven to be safe .....

• Originally posted by seotiblizzard:
      oh,

icic.

hehe.

paiseh.

but hor.

this car where is the gearstick to change gear?

It uses automatic column shift, like some of the Ford Falcons.

1,631 posts since Dec '04
    • manual gear shift
      beside steering wheel

Originally posted by iveco:
    685 posts since Nov '05
    • Originally posted by iveco:

singapore will never have market for australian makes, i guess...

look at what happened to holden.

296 posts since Mar '07
    • er it’s quite obvious it’s auto. look the the pedals. don’t tell me the most left pedal is a clutch cos that’s a foot rest.

685 posts since Nov '05
    • Originally posted by nyox:
      er it's quite obvious it's auto. look the the pedals. don't tell me the most left pedal is a clutch cos that's a foot rest.

actually i really cant tell, the manual shift in the past used to look like that too...

13,868 posts since Feb '04
      what i meant was, 5 passengers, 2 in front 3 behind, plus driver, each row 3 people.

that is what i understand too lah.. that is why i say it's wrong lah... 5 passengers.. usually is 4 behind and 1 infront lah.. plus driver is 2 + 4 = 6 lah Laughing Laughing Laughing

685 posts since Nov '05
      imagine the whole city only got one model of taxi...

Boring...

Like whole city only having one make of buses.

69 posts since Jan '06
    • Dang!!! is Auto, I've own 2 of them in HK, and planning to trade in my welcab in mid 2008 for a new...Crown again....cause my 2006 got over 250,000 already....

well, i will stick with crown unless the plan for Hiace LPG taxi works.
      BTW, this will be my 5th crown I've driven, 2 in sg and 2 in Hk...

Originally posted by zaxis:
      manual gear shift
      beside steering wheel

Please Login or Signup to reply.