12 Oct, 11:07PM in sunny Singapore!

Pet Dog - SHIH TZU

Subscribe to Pet Dog - SHIH TZU 11 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    6,929 posts since Jan '05
    • Dear All,

I just adopted a shih tzu dog and would like to ask the following questions to those experience dog breeders or dog lovers, thank you...

1) Is it normal that they go round chasing their tail and run round in circle? Do you know the reason y?

2) Why is it eating own poo and drinking own pee even i feed twice a day and the food is not being finished always? is this normal? and Y?

3) is it normal for a dog to hide in dark places instead of where there is light? like hiding under the table with table cloth covered over and hiding under the bed and underneath the cabinet and behind tv rack.

4) this dog is newspaper trained but she only do her business every 2 to 3 days, even peeing.

5) she dun drink much water, i have to use a pump to pump into her mouth. is this normal and any suggestion?

Thank you very much for your help.

Cheers!!

421 posts since Dec '02
    • let her do whatever she wants as long as u stop her frm eating shit and drinking piss

24,357 posts since Dec '02
    • Originally posted by phanta5y:
      let her do whatever she wants as long as u stop her frm eating shit and drinking piss

thn ull b spoiling yr dog.

15,952 posts since Nov '03
    • Originally posted by cindtan29:
      Dear All,

I just adopted a shih tzu dog and would like to ask the following questions to those experience dog breeders or dog lovers, thank you...

1) Is it normal that they go round chasing their tail and run round in circle? Do you know the reason y?

2) Why is it eating own poo and drinking own pee even i feed twice a day and the food is not being finished always? is this normal? and Y?

3) is it normal for a dog to hide in dark places instead of where there is light? like hiding under the table with table cloth covered over and hiding under the bed and underneath the cabinet and behind tv rack.

4) this dog is newspaper trained but she only do her business every 2 to 3 days, even peeing.

5) she dun drink much water, i have to use a pump to pump into her mouth. is this normal and any suggestion?

Thank you very much for your help.

Cheers!!

1)buy her some toys or something to play with~

2)giver her more attention will do~bring her for walk everyday if possible~

3)i think she haven't adapt the enviroment,so that is why she will go hiding around in dark places...

4)make her drink more water~

5)maybe you can try this method,ask her to drink after every meals if she does...give her some rewards for doing so~

hopefully these will helps~ Wink

580 posts since Jul '03
    • Your Shih Tzu had been ill-treated by previous owner before & possibly when it didn’t pee & poo on designated area, the ex-owner whacked it. This makes it eat its own poo coz it’s afraid to be beaten. Another possibility is that it’s trying to detect if there’s anything wrong with it’s health coz dogs have the ability to self-cure.

2,526 posts since Oct '02
    • regarding question 2, i found some info which may help... the poo eating habit is called Coprophagia... more info here: http://www.behaviour-problems.freeserve.co.uk/3/BehAdv/coprophagia.htm

a copy of the 1st paragraph:
      Coprophagia is defined as the consumption of faeces by an animal and is a common complaint of owners to their veterinarians. Since there has been little research done on this particular behaviour, the veterinarian is usually poorly equipped to give a recommendation to the owner. This study is intended to provide epidemiological information about the incidence of the
      behaviour in the canine population, the age of onset, age of disappearance, and various other pieces of information crucial to form a basis from which to study this very important behaviour.

hope it helps... Wink

image image image

17,717 posts since Aug '03
    • 1) he is probably bored, get him some toys to play with, spend more time playing with him. dun let him make it a habit as he might end up chewing his own tail...

2) it is NOT normal. it's a kinda sickness, u can stop tat by simply being there when he do his biz and immediately clear it. Stop him when he attempts to go near his poo, not by whacking him, but by getting his attention and saying a firm "NO".

3) he might be scared or just needed somewhere to be his comfort zone. give him his own corner in the room or house as his sleeping den. make it comfortable. it would be good to give him one of ur unwanted old tee, clean of cos. the smell of u on the tee makes him comfortable, like being near u.

4) every dog should at least poo once a day, pee at least twice. make it a habit for him. after every meal, get him to go poo and pee. encourage him to do on the paper and dun let him get away until he did. after the habit is formed, it bec normal for him.

5) make water easily available for him. make sure there's always fresh water. for me i put a bottle of water and a feeding pump at his crate. he can just drink whenever he want. also after every meal, get him to go drink water.

you'll realise having a dog is rather similar to having a baby. but the good thing is dog is a creature of habit and once the habit is formed, it will remain. therefore, help him to form good habits. also in training, avoid whacking. Just a firm "no" or just roll a newspaper and hit on the floor will do significantly.

of cos i do beat my dog lah... i piak his butt! Laughing but not often cos i yelled his name he kia liao!

6,929 posts since Jan '05
    • Thanks for all your answers :

Now i found something more....

she tends to dig the floor or scratch the floor or cloth. she does it for more than 5 minutes. I check her nails, nothing leh, well groom not rot or sharp or too short...just well groom...

and....

she is not friendly to other dogs, she hide away and make herself into a roll cuddle herself up and refuse to show her face...just dun play around or run around or pay attention to other dogs.

i brought her to Vet and the vet say she is healthy leh!

2,964 posts since May '04
    • She’s juZ an innocent little puppy. Give her time to adapt, and make her trust for you grow with time.

17,717 posts since Aug '03
      Thanks for all your answers :

she tends to dig the floor or scratch the floor or cloth. she does it for more than 5 minutes. I check her nails, nothing leh, well groom not rot or sharp or too short...just well groom...

and....

she is not friendly to other dogs, she hide away and make herself into a roll cuddle herself up and refuse to show her face...just dun play around or run around or pay attention to other dogs.

mine also dig the flr.. it's their animal instinct, cos they like to bury stuffs.... as long as she dun break her nails, no harm one...

probably not used to socialising... or felt intimidated... as long as she not aggressive towards other dogs no much worry... spend more time with her and build up her self image and confidence... hehehee....

of cos if can try to let her socialise with other dogs... probably she have to get used to being ard with other dogs tat's all... Very Happy

mine is super friendly, until it bugs every other dogs!!! Laughing worse he no noe how to siam those aggressive ones, just wag his tail even harder.... i have to protect him Confused

15,952 posts since Nov '03
      Thanks for all your answers :

and....

it is very normal for a dog to behave like this...give her some time to adapt the enviroment and all im sure that she will change somehow or rather~

Please Login or Signup to reply.