30 Aug, 03:08PM in sunny Singapore!

Upper Thomson Road / Thomson Village Club

Subscribe to Upper Thomson Road / Thomson Village Club 127 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
  • Drastic Fantastic!
    16,339 posts since Nov '03
    • Residents, ex-residents and fans alike, come register yourselves here!

Great food, 2 reservoirs, a long green tunnel and an old racing track...mmm-mmm. Very Happy

Residents
      kB
      Pitot's granny Very Happy

Ex-residents
      MG
      Pitot
      ShrodingersCat
      breytonhartge
      choco B
      lethalpoppy

Living Nearby
      Kenashi
      Wanda
      EarlNeo

Fans/Passers-by
      FI
      hisoka
      lpx88

Good places to eat at
      Thomson Plaza: Jai Thai (Thai cuisine), Prosperity Kitchen (dim sum, and century egg chok)

Upp Thomson Road (between Longhouse and Thomson Plaza): Roti Prata House, Nam Kee Chicken Rice, Chicken House (kampung chicken), Dino's (cakes and pastries), Devagi's (slighty expensive Indian fare), Sin Hin Roasts, Crab Shack (flower crabs), Hong Kong Street Chun Kee, Barnsbury Cafe (Western), Target Café (Western food; Thomson CC), Hankook/Auntie Kim's (Korean), Herbs & Spices (Indian)

Shunfu/Sin Ming: Icekimo Ice-Cream (Sin Ming Centre), Choc 'n' Spice (muffins, cakes and quiche; Shunfu Mart), The Baker's Story (cheese brownies, Sin Ming Centre), Rong Chen (bak kut teh & ter-ka, Blk 22)

Longhouse (hawker centre)

Jalan Leban: Yong Tau Hu, Awfully Chocolate (Cakes made-to-order)

Casuarina Road and beyond: Choo Chiang (roasts, Springleaf area), Casuarina Curry (Casuarina Road and Springleaf)

The Usual Suspects Rolling Eyes
      Thomson Plaza: Subway, Thai Express, Pizza Hut/KFC, Loy Kee Chicken Rice, Swensens, Hans, Starbucks, Sushi Tei

UTR: Oishi Pizza, Sweet Secrets, Liquid Kitchen, Pho 24 (expensive and you can get better elsewhere)

To Avoid
      Tong Shui Café (expensive and not nice)
      Miss Clarity Cafe (only if you're really desperate for things like risotto, artichokes and Black Angus beef)

Over at Jalan Perminpin
      Jai Thai's other outlet (which also sells desserts and drinks)
      Sarpino's Pizza

Edited by Kuali Baba 25 Jan `08, 7:01PM
  • White lies
    32,896 posts since Aug '05
    • Ex resident of 6+ years and my grandma still lives there..

My kindergarten is till there Surprised

• Queen of sgForums
    Hottest.&.Coolest.Mod
    159,747 posts since Dec '99
  • White lies
    • Originally posted by FireIce:
      i used to hang around in thomson plaza......

the old thomson plaza.. Mr. Green

• Drastic Fantastic!
    • Originally posted by Pitot:
      the old thomson plaza.. Mr. Green

Yaohan? Whimsy? Laughing

I have stories to tell about that arcade. Razz Embarassed

• Queen of sgForums
    Hottest.&.Coolest.Mod
    159,747 posts since Dec '99
  • White lies
    • Originally posted by Kuali Baba:
      Yaohan? Whimsy? Laughing

I have stories to tell about that arcade. Razz Embarassed

ahaha!

the arcade is somewhere near the BK which was inside.. i forget the layout liao....

• White lies
    • the corner shop beside the prata shop used to be a tyre shop..

behind got one small park den opp is my kindergarten Embarassed

• Drastic Fantastic!
      the corner shop beside the prata shop used to be a tyre shop..

behind got one small park den opp is my kindergarten Embarassed

The tyre shop's now in the next unit, Citibank (or is it StanChart?) now takes up the corner unit. Razz

The arcade was inside, between Begawan Solo and the entrance to the supermarket. And BK was at the other end. I remember having dinner some weekends with the rest of the church choir there.

As for the arcade, my cousin and I sat inside Buddy Bear to pick up the balls and dump them into his belly Razz That's how we got so many redemption coupons. Laughing

• White lies
    7,120 posts since Feb '05
      The tyre shop's now in the next unit, Citibank (or is it StanChart?) now takes up the corner unit. Razz

The arcade was inside, between Begawan Solo and the entrance to the supermarket. And BK was at the other end. I remember having dinner some weekends with the rest of the church choir there.

As for the arcade, my cousin and I sat inside Buddy Bear to pick up the balls and dump them into his belly Razz That's how we got so many redemption coupons. Laughing

It's a Standard Chartered Bank branch, the same one my parents go to.

I remember playing Space Invaders for the very first time at the arcade in the old Thomson Plaza! Ah, the good old days...... Very Happy

• White lies
    • Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:
      It's a Standard Chartered Bank branch, the same one my parents go to.

I remember playing Space Invaders for the very first time at the arcade in the old Thomson Plaza! Ah, the good old days...... Very Happy

then the one beside long hse and opp thomson CC.. tat one is citibak ah?

7,120 posts since Feb '05
      then the one beside long hse and opp thomson CC.. tat one is citibak ah?

Ah... um... I think it's either a UOB or OCBC.

• Drastic Fantastic!
    • Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:
      Ah... um... I think it's either a UOB or OCBC.

OCBC. UOB is where Dino's is.

I wonder if they miss the days before Choc n' Spice came along - they were the best bakery in the area then.

• Drastic Fantastic!
    5,739 posts since Oct '04
      [b]Residents, ex-residents and fans alike, come register yourselves here!

Great food, 2 reservoirs, a long green tunnel and an old racing track...mmm-mmm. Very Happy

And flooding? Sad Embarassed

6,249 posts since Jul '04
    • I grew up at Lakeview Thomson Market.

Do I count? I love that place - currently flattened land.

• Drastic Fantastic!
    • Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:
      I grew up at Lakeview Thomson Market.

It does. Smile I lived across the road, and still do.

Edited by Kuali Baba 13 Jan `07, 1:36PM
  • White lies
    • Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:
      I grew up at Lakeview Thomson Market.

its sad thatit had to go.

for no reason. Mad

6,249 posts since Jul '04
    • ya... my grandma used to have a little hawker stall there at the Lakeview hawker centre (not the one at the market) ...

and when i was young, I would wake up early (3 am) with her, to see her prepare her char bee hoon, her char mee, steam her chee cheong fun... then I'd wander around the entire neighbourhood that was in more or less complete darkness all alone...

Shops I remember there...
      the Chye tao kway shop that used to serve its stuff on the 'kway hio'...
      old porridge shop...
      Bak kut teh
      Kopitiam with auntie with curly hair.. (she always scolded me)
      (btw quite a few of the stalls moved to Sim Min Drive Hawker)

Oh and i loved watching cockles open and close in the pail next to the old laksa shop

Were anyone of you bunch of kids who used to play there? I might know you... one of my best pals was the grandson of an old dentist who used to be there.

Anyone of you happen to be him?

7,555 posts since Jun '05
    • does it count if I used to live in Thomson Rise estate? My parents still live there and I used to frequent Yaohan, boy like that was so long ago…

• White lies
    • Originally posted by breytonhartge:
      does it count if I used to live in Thomson Rise estate? My parents still live there and I used to frequent Yaohan, boy like that was so long ago...

of course. Mr. Green

ahaha!

the arcade is somewhere near the BK which was inside.. i forget the layout liao....

then it shifted to the rear where the ramp entrance from the carpark used to be... I cannot remember was it ever on the first floor at one time?

• do you guys still remember lakeview? I used to love the Char kway Teow from there…

Please Login or Signup to reply.