Originally posted by silv3rgal:i can remember another car testing accident where the SE died. this was almost 10 years ago le i think. along bukit timah rd, the stretch from newton circus leading towards coronation plaza. just outside balmora center or plaza, this guy was out testing a car, speeding, lost control, hit a tree, killed himself, his gf and the sales rep
The Strait Times Monday October 31,2005
[b]Car agent dies when test drive goes wrong
Ms HeÂ’s employers declined to comment on the accident, but car agents interviewed could not recall any colleague killed in a test drive accident before.
Dont think its the handling problem ba.. I mean, I suppose the car behaved the way it was supposed to.. Sure, a lot of things could be changed, maybe the tires would not have slipped if it was S-03 instead of AspecDB (oops.), or you can say the car would have stopped if the brakes were brembos, of you can also say that the accident wont happen if the driver took Defensive Driving..Originally posted by houndy:To SpoonX: that is a relevant explaination on how it flips.... but then it must show the poor handling of the MX-5 again... haizzz...
told you he wasn't speeding. In that traffic, no way.Originally posted by SpoonX:Okok... I happen to know the SE personally... And my heart goes out for her....
And if strike TOTO was me it would be great but i strike it in another way which is the I also know the driver of the MX 5.
Firstly, Rest In peace Angelia....
2ndly the story goes like this:
The driver was driving and he wasn't speeding, cos any kid will know the road is so congested at that time along upper paya lebar road and no way for u to speed under such congestion and a car swerve into his lane. he wanted to avoid the car by swerving left, but the road is made of metal plates and mind u the plates are slippery even if it's not wet, thus the MX 5 being a FR car the car oversteered instead. the driver isn't familair with a FR car tried to counter steer but the rear right of the car hit the divider and the car was tossed to the next lane. Mind u when a car oversteers with a driver not knowing how to control the oversteer( many of singapore drivers do not anyway) can go above the speed he was actually travelling thus going over the divider is not surprising at all.
Anyway with the rear right side hitting the divider, the force will make the frontal of the car slid to the left in a 180 angle, thus causing the car to flip (not somersault that type of flip) to the oppersite lanes. before the car actually landed again on the ground (it went over the divider of course not all 4 wheels are on contact with the ground), it so happen the angle the car is facing is the front of the car facing the right side meaning oncoming vehicles is going head on to the pessenger side, the BMW came smashing onto the car. and the MX 5 is still not really on 4 wheels yet thus the impact of a 1700kg car would easily flip a 1100kg car a few rounds into mid air as the mx 5 is in midair before the impact. (Kids also will know this). Doesn't nees the MX5 or the BMW to be speeding to cause the flip... 50-60km is all it takes. the the car landed on a van...... the rest is already publish on papers.
I wouldn't say it is not his fault BUT i would say judging from the situation it is not entirely his fault too... Call him names and assume watever theory all U want. But one thing I know is that the driver is going to live with guilt for the rest of his life. He hasn't been himself and is not in a right state of mind saying weird things like " I think i should go down and say sorry to her" such stuffs.
The gal is my Fren. And my heart hurts more than any one of u here. And I so happen to also know the driver which I was damn angry with him at first but after hearing how the accident occured and seeing him ao remourseful and sucidal makes me lost and pity him too...... Anyway he will sure face his punishment from the law but his worse is to live with a guilt the rest of his life.
And if u guys wanna ask me how come i know so much details of the whole accident.........................
I rushed down to the accident scene shortly after the accident. in fact the driver was in a daze and dun really know wat happen and i got the whole story fom the workers that witness the accident and from the van driver that the MX5 landed on. Later on then i get to hear the drivers side of the story which very similialy tally with the rest of the eye witnesses.
watever it is:
To Angelia: May your soul Rest in Peace and see u in heaven when it's my turn.
To her family and Boyfrend: My heart goes out to you. Sincere consoledense.
To the Driver: You will face punishment from the law and guilt ridden for the rest of your life. But you are alive and life still goes on. I know u feel like dieing. But u have your parents to think for. We already have one tragedy where a mother lost her daughter. we dun need another one where a mother and father will lose their son.
Ok ok, he wasnt speeding.. But whether he was or not, it's inevitable that the driver will pay for the accident.. Maybe not financially or by the law, but I am sure he will pay mentally..Originally posted by aloof_guy:told you he wasn't speeding. In that traffic, no way.
i won't call the handling of the MX 5 poor. just different due to its layout. but I'd definately say the roll-over protection is appallingly Fucked up. Especially now that we know its a low speed accident. I expected better in this modern age of automotive engineering and technology. Like I said my impression of the car has dropped by 10 over notches.Originally posted by houndy:To SpoonX: that is a relevant explaination on how it flips.... but then it must show the poor handling of the MX-5 again... haizzz...
Yep yep blame it on the metal plates !!! Yep yep the damn driver was not speeding, that is one hell of bull shit !!!Originally posted by SpoonX:2ndly the story goes like this:
The driver was driving and he wasn't speeding, cos any kid will know the road is so congested at that time along upper paya lebar road and no way for u to speed under such congestion and a car swerve into his lane. he wanted to avoid the car by swerving left, but the road is made of metal plates and mind u the plates are slippery even if it's not wet, thus the MX 5 being a FR car the car oversteered instead. the driver isn't familair with a FR car tried to counter steer but the rear right of the car hit the divider and the car was tossed to the next lane. Mind u when a car oversteers with a driver not knowing how to control the oversteer( many of singapore drivers do not anyway) can go above the speed he was actually travelling thus going over the divider is not surprising at all.
So much for ABS, Electronic Brake Distribution and Dynamic Stability Control for Mazdas. But I guess the car was designed to sustain a frontal impact.. Think the major impact was caused by the side collision and not so much the roll.. Because if the roll did significant damage then the driver will have suffered too..Originally posted by HENG@:i won't call the handling of the MX 5 poor. just different due to its layout. but I'd definately say the roll-over protection is appallingly Fucked up. Especially now that we know its a low speed accident. I expected better in this modern age of automotive engineering and technology. Like I said my impression of the car has dropped by 10 over notches.
Storywolf, relax.Originally posted by storywolf:Yep yep blame it on the metal plates !!! Yep yep the damn driver was not speeding, that is one hell of bull shit !!!
Those metal plates been there for ages, that construction been on for 1/2 yr to 1 yr, rain to shine daily, thousand of vehicle have cross them, including all sort of sports cars to heavily vehicles. How come other can cross it safely and he cannot. If the whole load of bullshit of metal plates, then a lot of lorry or other people will also crashes around, maybe other drivers take extra care when crossing it.
The reason is still the damn driver, not speeding ? you kidding who ?
The colleague said they were not travelling on the usual test-drive route taken by Mazda sales agents.Anyone knows why?
wait a minute. I just realised. Its the stretch with a lot of metal plates at Paya Lebar? I drove there b4. Ok I must say, its not actually impossible to speed there, traffic conditons permitting. I know because I know an idiot here who did just that.Originally posted by nightsky87:Storywolf, relax.
No one wants accidents to happen.. No one is totally saying that it was caused by the metal plates.. you're right, if the metal plates were that much of a hazard we will have cars flipping at paya lebar like nobody's business.
Think he is just trying to say that the metal plates were a factor in the accident.. But not totally the cause..
she broke her neck.. but it didnt say when.. it was only understood that she broke her neck . didnt say she suffered a broken neck as a results of e accident or because of injuries aggravated by e passerby. in any case i think anyone whom is not well verse and train wif such stuff should not attempt to move e injured. it will only cause more injuries to e victim if done incorrectly. out of compassion or not it should not be attempted too.. it might cause more harm then help in e end.Originally posted by nightsky87:Pls leh.
The newspapers said the gal suffered a heart attack before the impact. And, during the impact, she broke her neck. When you break your spine, you sever all the nerones in the spine and even if you'd survived you will be paralysed for life. The passerby who did that probably did so out of compassion.
Seriously, no offense at all, but does it make sense that the crash impact at the side the SE was sitting did not break her neck, but instead the passerby who took her out that broke her neck.. seems abit.. off-logic..Originally posted by jonathan_n80:she broke her neck.. but it didnt say when.. it was only understood that she broke her neck . didnt say she suffered a broken neck as a results of e accident or because of injuries aggravated by e passerby. in any case i think anyone whom is not well verse and train wif such stuff should not attempt to move e injured. it will only cause more injuries to e victim if done incorrectly. out of compassion or not it should not be attempted too.. it might cause more harm then help in e end.
Exactly the point. With a FR MX car which he was totally unfamiliar with, somemore.Originally posted by HENG@:wait a minute. I just realised. Its the stretch with a lot of metal plates at Paya Lebar? I drove there b4. Ok I must say, its not actually impossible to speed there, traffic conditons permitting. I know because I know an idiot here who did just that.
but seriously, that stretch is so treacherous that even a low speed of 30 or 40km/h is already very dangerous! I remember driving there, VERY VERY stressful. Got to be 100% mentally alert. Somemore a lot of hidden exits for conc sites, heavy vehs etc n wot not. I seriously wonder why of all places to test car, he choose there? Thats a Fucked up place to drive. If I can I avoid driving thru that area at all.
I thought MX-5 is a rear wheel drive car?? Anyway it is hard to convince me that he is not speeding.Originally posted by SpoonX:Okok... I happen to know the SE personally... And my heart goes out for her....
And if strike TOTO was me it would be great but i strike it in another way which is the I also know the driver of the MX 5.
Firstly, Rest In peace Angelia....
2ndly the story goes like this:
Anyway with the rear right side hitting the divider, the force will make the frontal of the car slid to the left in a 180 angle, thus causing the car to flip (not somersault that type of flip) to the oppersite lanes. before the car actually landed again on the ground (it went over the divider of course not all 4 wheels are on contact with the ground), it so happen the angle the car is facing is the front of the car facing the right side meaning oncoming vehicles is going head on to the pessenger side, the BMW came smashing onto the car. and the MX 5 is still not really on 4 wheels yet thus the impact of a 1700kg car would easily flip a 1100kg car a few rounds into mid air as the mx 5 is in midair before the impact. (Kids also will know this). Doesn't nees the MX5 or the BMW to be speeding to cause the flip... 50-60km is all it takes. the the car landed on a van...... the rest is already publish on papers.
looks like im going to rethink my opinion of Mazda cars. i've just moved mazda into the same list as Subaru. I'll never forget when possum bourne died in a forester in a 30km/h impact with seat belts on!Originally posted by nightsky87:So much for ABS, Electronic Brake Distribution and Dynamic Stability Control for Mazdas. But I guess the car was designed to sustain a frontal impact.. Think the major impact was caused by the side collision and not so much the roll.. Because if the roll did significant damage then the driver will have suffered too..
The MX-5 IS a RWD car with the FR layout. That's why it's easy to oversteer.Originally posted by coolblue6699:I thought MX-5 is a rear wheel drive car?? Anyway it is hard to convince me that he is not speeding.
I own both Front/Rear wheel before, the fish tail thing wont happen at such low speed (to you should be heavy traffic speed, 40-50maybe??) unless you pull your handbrake hard and change direction at the same time. If too slow, with the handbrake thing, you still wont fish tail the car.
If what you say is correct, the rear right hit the curb, the car will not have a head on with the BMW lor. By the way, if the car loose control, it will not go above the original speed, unless he is going down slop, hitting anything will only reduce the speed.
And I am even more suprise that a bystander that you found can describe this detail to you. Not even reporter got to know what happen!! Think you can be a very good reporter. Is he staring at the road all the time?? I think this incident happens in split second, even you are staring might not know how it happens.
But anyway what did happen already did, lets see whats the report from the traffic police. No point speculating.
The case of the Subaru Forrester against the Jeep when the Jeep was pace noting the wrong direction?Originally posted by HENG@:looks like im going to rethink my opinion of Mazda cars. i've just moved mazda into the same list as Subaru. I'll never forget when possum bourne died in a forester in a 30km/h impact with seat belts on!![]()
There was once a rider riding along that stretch of road going at less than 40km/h, Being a occational rider i know how unstable it is to ride there. Even driving is stressful liow... And the rider slipped and fell and suffered superfisal injuries.... He took a Law suit against LTA for damges due to slippery road surfaces...... and guess wat???? He won the suit and got paid damages!!!!Originally posted by storywolf:Yep yep blame it on the metal plates !!! Yep yep the damn driver was not speeding, that is one hell of bull shit !!!
Those metal plates been there for ages, that construction been on for 1/2 yr to 1 yr, rain to shine daily, thousand of vehicle have cross them, including all sort of sports cars to heavily vehicles. How come other can cross it safely and he cannot. If the whole load of bullshit of metal plates, then a lot of lorry or other people will also crashes around, maybe other drivers take extra care when crossing it.
The reason is still the damn driver, not speeding ? you kidding who ?
can't quite say who was in the wrong direction because it was a single road up and down to the summit. but yea thats the case.Originally posted by nightsky87:The case of the Subaru Forrester against the Jeep when the Jeep was pace noting the wrong direction?
when i read this, i just felt i have to say condolences to u also. its never easy losing a friend.Originally posted by SpoonX:i'm suppose to have a lunch with her yesterday but she can never make it again..... I'm as hurt as a fren as her family and BF but there are always many factors to a accident. Not just speeding or so... Sorry to be crude but Dun be so narrow minded or Square Headed.
I agree with you that many factors made up an accident. I think Speed ia the major factor, low speed increases your reaction time and even on impact, wont be so serious.Originally posted by SpoonX:There was once a rider riding along that stretch of road going at less than 40km/h, Being a occational rider i know how unstable it is to ride there. Even driving is stressful liow... And the rider slipped and fell and suffered superfisal injuries.... He took a Law suit against LTA for damges due to slippery road surfaces...... and guess wat???? He won the suit and got paid damages!!!!
I dun mean that the metal road is totally the caused of the accident... But it is one of the factor of an accident..... The driver now wished he is the one dead as it was not done on purpose.... He has suffered mental setbacks now and will suffer punishment from the law. Nothing he do will ever bring the gal he unintentionally killed back to life.. That is the guilt he will live with forever.....
Accidents can happen to anyone..... Dun just point your finger here and there when u are not in the actual situation. There are always many sides to a story... I do not wan to sound bad but one day such things might happen to you even if you are not intentionally wanting it to happen...
i'm suppose to have a lunch with her yesterday but she can never make it again..... I'm as hurt as a fren as her family and BF but there are always many factors to a accident. Not just speeding or so... Sorry to be crude but Dun be so narrow minded or Square Headed.
Looks like you dun really know your FR cars very well even after owning one..Originally posted by coolblue6699:I thought MX-5 is a rear wheel drive car?? Anyway it is hard to convince me that he is not speeding.
I own both Front/Rear wheel before, the fish tail thing wont happen at such low speed (to you should be heavy traffic speed, 40-50maybe??) unless you pull your handbrake hard and change direction at the same time. If too slow, with the handbrake thing, you still wont fish tail the car.
If what you say is correct, the rear right hit the curb, the car will not have a head on with the BMW lor. By the way, if the car loose control, it will not go above the original speed, unless he is going down slop, hitting anything will only reduce the speed.
And I am even more suprise that a bystander that you found can describe this detail to you. Not even reporter got to know what happen!! Think you can be a very good reporter. Is he staring at the road all the time?? I think this incident happens in split second, even you are staring might not know how it happens.
But anyway what did happen already did, lets see whats the report from the traffic police. No point speculating.
Or maybe this SpoonX and aloof_guy is same person
She was un familair with the test roads there as she is working at the bukit timah authorised agent and they got lost and ended up on that stretch.....Originally posted by silv3rgal:Anyone knows why?