Hey speechie!Originally posted by speechie:Dearest all,
yo kamen: i'm still pulling my hair every so often about how to talk to patients, families and etc!?? :p
yo red_marchie --> yeah, the mechanic did ask whether those vibrations / palpations had taken place in the morning..hmmm no leh..and they're unlike the vibrations after the engine / air-con's idle for a while too...haiiii, wonder what's the cause?? The mechanic attending to me also mentioned that it might be due to misfiring by the cylinders of (oops) i can't-remember-what / the brakes that may need re-surfacing soon --> dunno what that means leh...
anyway, he shared alittle about the car - which i'm sure many of us already know so here they are (nothing too dramatic la)...just another person's perspective...
1) It's a light car = very fuel-efficient
2) No major problems encountered by most owners,compared to other models
3) Much of the car is "recycled" (wonder why?) = Environment-friendly car then? :p
4) It's a light car = vibrations can be felt much more strongly
5) Small car but powerful engine
TC had serviced my marchie's throttle chamber, re-tuned the engine and replaced 4 ignition coils within the last 2 weeks after those vibrating moments --> anyone who can advise on what the "big picture" is? Does it sound as if the engine's "choked" or ?? i'm clueless abt the nuts and bolts of my marchie, sigh!
Well it wasn't known to be cheap anyway rite?Originally posted by NYC_MiCra:is pricy !
Is always been the case as explain again and again, but some potential buyers dun think like wise. Price cant compare the k12 vs other brands/model. Is personal, either you like it or you dun.. right !... "small over price car"Originally posted by Wheels on Fire:Well it wasn't known to be cheap anyway rite?It's an expensive small car
Originally posted by vandagal2002:me too
Originally posted by KamenRider:
[b]BBQ @ Changi with a view to kill !!
Marchies, this is a chance to meet up your fellow enthusiasts and the many newbies, share Tips and Lobangs, enjoy the good food from our expert in house chef.
COME!! register early to avoid disappointment!
Date/Time: 13 May (Sat) 4pm onwards
Venue: somewhere @ Changi (will confirm address later)
Fees: $8 for your food and booze
Those coming:
1. SAJ
2. Vandagal
3. KingMariot
4. Toadie
5. FadedMango
6. KamenRider
7. kwkckj
11.[/b]
What I read in the papers is that Malaysia has decided to postpone the implementation of the RM$20 entrance fee, due to some legal issues. I may be going in to JB this weekend (my first time in my March, hurray!), will let you know if they charge or not.Originally posted by vandagal2002:Has anyone collect the cow decals at shell petrol stations??
black, pink, yellow , orange, blue etc..................?? i found green !!!!!
And has anyone got to malaysia after 1st may?? is the rm$20 charge per car still on??
Originally posted by vandagal2002:Been sick the past few days....BBQ food sounds good!!!
Originally posted by KamenRider:
[b]BBQ @ Changi with a view to kill !!
Marchies, this is a chance to meet up your fellow enthusiasts and the many newbies, share Tips and Lobangs, enjoy the good food from our expert in house chef.
COME!! register early to avoid disappointment!
Date/Time: 13 May (Sat) 4pm onwards
Venue: somewhere @ Changi (will confirm address later)
Fees: $8 for your food and booze
Those coming:
1. SAJ
2. Vandagal
3. KingMariot
4. Toadie
5. FadedMango
6. KamenRider
7. kwkckj
8. Blade
11.[/b]
Originally posted by Blade28:What I read in the papers is that Malaysia has decided to postpone the implementation of the RM$20 entrance fee, due to some legal issues. I may be going in to JB this weekend (my first time in my March, hurray!), will let you know if they charge or not.![]()
Originally posted by Blade28:Hi Marchies!
Wow, just read the article on the Nismo-tuned March on the last page of March Club Part V....drool factor 10/10!!! I like....NYCMicra, possible to do in JB? Any idea how big a hole it will burn in my pocket? Sighz...prob can't afford it anyway...
Anyway, reason I'm posting today is to share my experience on a topic that should be close to all drivers' hearts...petrol! Yes, prices have shot up recently, and I believe some of us are starting to feel the pinch every time we fill up at our favourite petrol kiosk. So much so that some of us have resorted to filling up with 92 octane...well, according to some people, the performance of your car doesn't depend on what grade of petrol you use, as long as its not below the recommended octane level. In fact, some even say that using a higher grade than what's recommended may even be detrimental to your car's engine.
I would like to share with you a personal experiment I conducted recently, which may change your mind about using higher grade petrol.
When I first got my March, I had this notion that I must give it the best treatment (new car mah), so I pumped V-Power, cos I had some friends who drive WRXs and they swear that Shell has the best quality petrol. I was pumping V-Power for quite some time before someone actually questioned me whether there was any difference between V-Power and say, 98, and whether it was worth paying the extra 10 cents per litre. Well, I thought why not try it out and see for myself? Shell has always promoted its highest grade of petrol as giving you better mileage and more vrooom to your ride, so it would be interesting to see if it really lives up to its name.
The next time I went to fill up, I pumped a full tank of 98, and waited to see what difference there was. What I wanted to see was whether there was any difference in the pick up, as well as whether my FC would be affected. My average mileage per full tank of V-Power was about 440km, not much because apparantly my engine still wasn't broken in yet according to some friends, but that worked out to about 12-13km/l which was quite reasonable to me (Jazz is supposed to be the most fuel efficient car in its class at 14km/l).
What I experienced on that tank of 98 was quite surprising...there really was a marked difference in the pick up of my car, throttle response was sluggish and the car felt rather heavy despite me being the only passenger most of the time. Not only that, the starting of the engine actually took a few seconds longer on cold starts, not good. The next observation made me even more shocked, my odometer read only about 380km when the yellow light came on! That's a difference of about 60km, for the same amount of petrol used. Ok, I thought to myself, there must be some reason to explain all this...maybe when you use a different grade the computer chip makes some changes to the car...hang on, V-Power is the same grade as 98...maybe the mixing of the full tank of 98 with the little bit of V-Power that I had left somehow reduced the effectiveness of the petrol...unlikely...maybe I drove more aggressively with this tank, or had to step harder on the pedal cos it picked up so damn slowly....ya that must be it. Well, only one way to find out...pump another tank of 98 just to be sure.
Sure enough, throttle response remained sluggish, and mileage improved only slightly, this time made it to 400km with some light-footed driving. But that's still 40km short of my average with V-Power...almost equivalent to half a notch on my fuel meter! And all this just to save 10 cents per litre? Ok, no question about it, I'm switching back to V-Power. And let me tell you, the response I got after switching back was absolutely tangible, you can actually feel the engine's perkiness gradually returning as you leave the petrol kiosk. That itself is worth the extra $4-$5 per tank in my opinion. And my mileage went back to 440-450, so it was all good. I was pumping V-Power all the way, until recently when the prices shot up by 10 cents per litre. V-Power is now past the $2 per litre mark. Pumping 98 is now equivalent to pumping V-Power a month ago. I convinced myself that I had to downgrade to 95 in order to save money, after all an article in the newspaper stated that despite what petrol companies may want you to believe, the grade of petrol you use doesn't actually change your car's performance. So I decided I would make a gradual change, starting by downgrading to 98.
No surprise, I felt the same sluggishness after the downgrade, and my mileage fell back to 400km when the yellow light appeared. This time I drained as much of the tank as I dared possible and only pumped WAY after the light came on...guess what grade I pumped?
That was just a couple of days ago, and I'm glad to say my Marchie is back to her good old self again. I guess I managed to prove to myself that, despite the additional $4-$5 per tank that I'm paying for V-Power, over 98 I might add, I'm getting:
1) Better pick up
2) Better mileage (abt 50km more per tank)
3) Cleaner engine (more additives, plus FMT)
4) 20% more Escape points, which allows me to redeem my $40 fuel discount or Free Carwash voucher faster
5) Free tyre shine service
Wow, I should be working for SHELL instead!Anyway, I hope I didn't bore you guys with my essay keke! Wonder if any of you have the same experience with using different grades of petrol. If so, please share so that we can all benefit from it (and so that I can confirm my findings too keke!)
Another longwinded tale,
Blade
Trying to get another friend to drive in as well, but he may not be free on Fri...haven't set the time yet but should be after lunch. Heard there's a huge new shopping centre there, dun mind going to check it out, but dun really know the way. Would be great if some of you guys came, so I can tag along behind you haha...Originally posted by KingMariot:![]()
Yoh bro, when you going in Friday? What time, see if we can get a few more to tag along, unless you need some privacy.
Ya man never think of that, see you everyday also SIANzOriginally posted by Blade28:Trying to get another friend to drive in as well, but he may not be free on Fri...haven't set the time yet but should be after lunch. Heard there's a huge new shopping centre there, dun mind going to check it out, but dun really know the way. Would be great if some of you guys came, so I can tag along behind you haha...
Eh, but going to see you people at the bbq on sat as well, a bit sian leh see all of you again...LOL!!! Juz kidding lah...it'd be great to have a Marchie mini-convoy to JB...plus I'd feel a lot safer if I drive in in a group. Dun want anything to happen to my precious....![]()
Hmm now that you have mentioned, some of my friends who drives a Ford Focus and Sunny actually feel that Caltex fuel gives better power and is more responsive after switching from other brands. Never tried it though. Some of the pple also swears that they will not use SPC, blah blah blah. I also never use before.Originally posted by vone:My mileage too is abt 13-14 km/l .. depends now how hard i drive ..and whether i keep it under 2000 rpm as far as possible...
as long as u keep ur rpms low... u shld be able to have better mileage.
I dont feel that my mileage increases whether using 95 or 98 (i am past 20K liaos)
but yes, the pickup is better while using higher octane ... engine sounds abit more smooth too when i use caltex 98 with techron... otherwise, normally i just stick to SPC... heh heh... when pickup is too good... i cant resist revving my marchie....
** btw, one "trick: i use to save fuel, especially on the NS highway is to drive in the slipstream of the car infront of you..... the bigger the better... u can cut down on yr drag, improve mileage too..... but be careful.. dun tailgate too close....
recently i was quite desperate for petrol as warning light came out quite long already (always liddat last minute). so i went to caltex which was nearest and pumped the best type.Originally posted by KingMariot:Hmm now that you have mentioned, some of my friends who drives a Ford Focus and Sunny actually feel that Caltex fuel gives better power and is more responsive after switching from other brands. Never tried it though. Some of the pple also swears that they will not use SPC, blah blah blah. I also never use before.
i cant believe you actually go to the extent of cruising in other lorry's slipstreams!!! i thought only birds do it?!Originally posted by vone:** btw, one "trick: i use to save fuel, especially on the NS highway is to drive in the slipstream of the car infront of you..... the bigger the better... u can cut down on yr drag, improve mileage too..... but be careful.. dun tailgate too close....
we had a 5 marchies convoy there two months back, its the Jusco shopping mall. indeed its very very very huge. nuttin really exciting except that it is damn huge.Originally posted by Blade28:Trying to get another friend to drive in as well, but he may not be free on Fri...haven't set the time yet but should be after lunch. Heard there's a huge new shopping centre there, dun mind going to check it out, but dun really know the way. Would be great if some of you guys came, so I can tag along behind you haha...
Eh, but going to see you people at the bbq on sat as well, a bit sian leh see all of you again...LOL!!! Juz kidding lah...it'd be great to have a Marchie mini-convoy to JB...plus I'd feel a lot safer if I drive in in a group. Dun want anything to happen to my precious....![]()
check out the jam from SKYCAM before you go, dun say we didnt warn you.Originally posted by Blade28:Trying to get another friend to drive in as well, but he may not be free on Fri...haven't set the time yet but should be after lunch.