23 Nov, 04:42PM in sunny Singapore!
Home Cars

How to differentiate "zhng" wrx(TS) with WRX

Subscribe to How to differentiate "zhng" wrx(TS) with WRX 136 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    12,311 posts since Jul '03
    • Sometimes on the road, i dunno which one is the "zhng" wrx (TS) and real wrx...tried looking at the bonnet n exhaust...similar with the real wrx...

At least, "zhng" EVO (Lancer) is quite easy to differentiate from the real Evo.

But WRX n "zhng" TS? How to differentiate?

• I are serious cat
    49,835 posts since Dec '03
    • Originally posted by ditzy:
      Stop the driver, and tell him to pop the hood. Laughing

I dunno, hear the boxer's growl? Laughing

I dunno also....what if the car is parked? Laughing

380 posts since Dec '04
    • Originally posted by dcx:
      Sometimes on the road, i dunno which one is the "zhng" wrx (TS) and real wrx...tried looking at the bonnet n exhaust...similar with the real wrx...

At least, "zhng" EVO (Lancer) is quite easy to differentiate from the real Evo.

But WRX n "zhng" TS? How to differentiate?

Easy. Look at the rear bottom centre. The differential cover, does it have air vanes. If there are lines across, it is a TS. 2nd, look at the brakes, it has front 1 pot sliding caliper. Rear are DRUMS, not even disc. 3rd, look thru the front air scoop, if you don't see an intercooler, they are fakes.

• Originally posted by spec:
      Easy. Look at the rear bottom centre. The differential cover, does it have air vanes. If there are lines across, it is a TS. 2nd, look at the brakes, it has front 1 pot sliding caliper. Rear are DRUMS, not even disc. 3rd, look thru the front air scoop, if you don't see an intercooler, they are fakes.

Uncle...what's pot sliding caliper?

What's the difference between drums n disc brakes? (As in outlook n specs?)

kaoz....i'm a noob in all these... Laughing

• I are serious cat
      I dunno also....what if the car is parked? Laughing

Call the driver down from his flat and pop the hood. Laughing

eh sai leh u...what if the car is at orchard car park? Leave a note on his window panel n call me? Laughing

3,884 posts since Jul '05
    • Well, you can listen out for the boxer engine sound, WRXs shd have it heavier.

Then can look at whether manual or auto. No WRX is auto gear Laughing

Thirdly, may look at whether the seats in front are racing ones.

Fourthly, look at the WRX wordings behind. Some look very different and fake.

But then again, if the driver is a hardcore "zhng-ster", it's hard to tell unless u really look at the air intake at the bonnet and the engine carefully....

Hope that was helpful.

If u really die die wana test whether it's WRX, try a race with driver. Twisted Evil Twisted Evil Twisted Evil

• I are serious cat
      eh sai leh u...what if the car is at orchard car park? Leave a note on his window panel n call me? Laughing

He won't call you like that, at least scratch his driver side panel with a 50 cent coin, confirm call you one. Laughing

Speaking from experience ah? Laughing

380 posts since Dec '04
      Uncle...what's pot sliding caliper?

What's the difference between drums n disc brakes? (As in outlook n specs?)

kaoz....i'm a noob in all these... Laughing

Differential (Rear) WRX or STi

TS Rear DIFF

I cant find a pic. But you will see that the diff is not flat but have running air vanes across and is much smaller.

Disc brakes u will see a disc..... hahaha drums u see no discs.

380 posts since Dec '04
    • Originally posted by Rock^Star:
      Well, you can listen out for the boxer engine sound, WRXs shd have it heavier.

But then again, if the driver is a hardcore "zhng-ster", it's hard to tell unless u really look at the air intake at the bonnet and the engine carefully....

Hope that was helpful.

If u really die die wana test whether it's WRX, try a race with driver. Twisted Evil Twisted Evil Twisted Evil

My car has no boxer sound.

Differential (Rear) WRX or STi

TS Rear DIFF

I cant find a pic. But you will see that the diff is not flat but have running air vanes across and is much smaller.

Disc brakes u will see a disc..... hahaha drums u see no discs.

cool...1st time i see the under body of a wrx.... Laughing

Running air vanes is which one?

3,884 posts since Jul '05

U mean urs is a WRX with no boxer sound? How come?

yealor...how come? u "sileneced" it?

380 posts since Dec '04
      U mean urs is a WRX with no boxer sound? How come?

Twin Scroll, equal length extractors direct from factory.

380 posts since Dec '04
      yealor...how come? u "sileneced" it?

For your reading pleasure.

474 posts since Jun '05
      Well, you can listen out for the boxer engine sound, WRXs shd have it heavier.

Hope that was helpful.

Can't ask the owner, hey! u stop ur car for i wanna to see/inspect ur engine to see if it is a genuine of a fake one LOL!
      Yeah,best is to race to see if it 's a real WRX and also a real one usually sounds TURBO already even stationally at the traffic stops. Wink

759 posts since Jul '05
    • This qeustion again.

Actually, by appearance, no one can tell. Both types using the same shell, size. body.
      If the owner knows how to zheng, theres no way to tell the difference.
      Brakes can put brake cover.

The only way to tell... see the road tax disc, if says 1400(2 liter) for 1 year. confirm is liao.

Secondly, look at the aircon vent inside the car, the design is slightly different.

Thirdly, If wan to to compare to STI, look out for the 6 gear and the climate contol.

Apperance and decorations like seats, spoiler, kit, lights, both can make it into very similar. Only the internal is the way to check it.
      Under chasis oso can see...but who will jack it up for you to see.
      Same goes for who will pop bonnet for you to see.

• [quote]Originally posted by spec:
      [b]

http://www.litchfieldimports.co.uk/images/press/large/mag_23.jpg

Laughing

I didn't know that spec c has this kinda performance...shocked me...Laughing

Feel kinda funny that they compare BMW M3,Porsche 911 GT n Subaru WRX Spec C...i always thought that they like to compare Evo n WRX....

In RED...for those who know what it mean.... Laughing

2,940 posts since Dec '04
    • that day at katong i saw a parked black impreza, impressive STI bodykits, with a high STI roof scoop and a high spoiler.

got a WRX badge to go along with it, and when i walk pass the side i want to "pui chao niua" fcuking disc brakes! check the road tax lagi funnier, 400+ dollars for half year. i want to write a note "POSER!" and stick up on the windscreen, and get a post it note and write "FAKE!!" above the WRX badge at the boot. lucky my gf there to stop me from wasting my time.

Its okay if u want to zhng ur TS look like WRX, no issues if u debadge and strap on some nice bodkits. BUT STICKING A WRX BADGE TO A TS IS FCUKING POSER U KNN UNDERSTAND ME?!

• Originally posted by casshern:
      that day at katong i saw a parked black impreza, impressive STI bodykits, with a high STI roof scoop and a high spoiler.

got a WRX badge to go along with it, and when i walk pass the side i want to "pui chao niua" fcuking disc brakes! check the road tax lagi funnier, 400+ dollars for half year. i want to write a note "POSER!" and stick up on the windscreen, and get a post it note and write "FAKE!!" above the WRX badge at the boot. lucky my gf there to stop me from wasting my time.

Its okay if u want to zhng ur TS look like WRX, no issues if u debadge and strap on some nice bodkits. BUT STICKING A WRX BADGE TO A TS IS FCUKING POSER U KNN UNDERSTAND ME?!

It's alright to zhng to that extend..but i do agree with you on the badge...Laughing

If i'll him, i'll not put any STI/WRX badge or sticker... Laughing

313 posts since Aug '05
    1,799 posts since Jun '06
      It's alright to zhng to that extend..but i do agree with you on the badge...Laughing

If i'll him, i'll not put any STI/WRX badge or sticker... Laughing

I saw a WRX with a STi sticker before also.. And initially i thought it was real too.. When i reached home and checked the internet against his car plate number, i realised its just a WRX..
      you can log on to onemotoring.com.sg to check.

12,797 posts since May '03

I may be a noob but this one got the order jumbled up.

how come the photo and label order diff? One is M3, 911 .. the other is 911, M3.

Please Login or Signup to reply.