23 Nov, 04:51PM in sunny Singapore!
Home Cars

What's the penalty driving without license?

Subscribe to What's the penalty driving without license? 26 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    112 posts since May '05
    • I tried to check on this via SPF site but to no avial.

May I know what is the the penalty driving without a valid driving license?(without accident but caught during spot check)

Also what is the impact on the car's owner?

Thanks!

927 posts since Nov '05
    • 2YRS cannot learn driving.

owner kanna jialat jialat fine.. ( got license suspension ornot de arh? )

i tink.. Laughing Laughing

2,269 posts since Jul '05
    13,239 posts since Apr '03
    300 posts since Jul '06
    • The purpose of having a license is the knowledge of knowing how to drive, tested and certified. To drive without it is tantamount to don't know how to drive. And that may cause serious damage, from damaged walls/trees/metals, to loss of lives. Yes, other people's lives.

2,940 posts since Dec '04
    • the one driving without license will kena banned from driving for 2 years.
      the car owner's license will also be suspended for 2 years if i rmb correctly.

there are cases where pple lend their parents' car to pple with out license to drive, in this case, the lender, driver and parent all kena. u sure u want to do it?

1,276 posts since Nov '05
    • hur hur, my bro genna 2 times fine for driving without license, set my family back by about 10k, i dun think you want to try that.

112 posts since May '05
    • Originally posted by casshern:
      the one driving without license will kena banned from driving for 2 years.
      the car owner's license will also be suspended for 2 years if i rmb correctly.

there are cases where pple lend their parents' car to pple with out license to drive, in this case, the lender, driver and parent all kena. u sure u want to do it?

Clarification...........I have a license myself and wud never advise anyone to take that risk at all.....even if the penalty is light....it's life out there that is a concern.

Somebody I know got into deep shit and dat's why I am asking.

Thnks for the info given.... Wink

812 posts since Aug '01
    • The police will arrest you and ask you whose car is it.

If the owner say he lend/rent you without you having a valid licence...his licence gone + fine. you will get fine ban from learning 2 years.

If owner say you steal, you go Jail + fine + ban from driving 2 years.

so either way...its a lose lose situation for you. and the penalty is very severe.

248 posts since Jan '04
    759 posts since Jul '05
    • Originally posted by KLZW:
      wad bout driving wif saf licence?

It applies the same as no license. SAF license is only recognise by SAF Organisation.

But wait... SAF... means NSF = More punishment.
      Coz if you suay suay serve civil terms, go back got to face DB. lolz

4,810 posts since Mar '05
    • Originally posted by Thailand_Hero:
      The police will arrest you and ask you whose car is it.

If the owner say he lend/rent you without you having a valid licence...his licence gone + fine. you will get fine ban from learning 2 years.

so either way...its a lose lose situation for you. and the penalty is very severe.

Not severe enough...should have mandatory jail sentence for driving without license. If he causes a non-fatal accident, he should be caned as well. If he causes a fatal accident, the driver should be charged for manslaughter.

9,642 posts since May '04
    1,583 posts since Mar '06
    • Originally posted by ceecookie:
      what if u drive in foriegn country w/o license?

see the country law la... diff country got diff law...

2,167 posts since Jun '05
    2,596 posts since Jun '04
    • Originally posted by Thailand_Hero:
      The police will arrest you and ask you whose car is it.

how do u know?

812 posts since Aug '01
    • Originally posted by pqr:
      how do u know?

I served my NS in the police force. I know what i am talking about.

6,568 posts since Jul '06
    170 posts since Dec '04
    • if your ride kena bang by no license driver.................good luck

better kill the bugger or whack him chia lat

cause your insurance WILL NOT COVER when doing claims
      same goes if your car kena by a drunkard

4,594 posts since Oct '99
    • you want to know what's the worst part of driving without license and get caught...

IT IS A CRIMINAL OFFENCE!!!!!!

yes, it is. I have said this story many times... a straght A student cannot be employed in a MNC because he drove without license when he was younger.

anyway, as for using SAF license.. hmm. i think it is abit grey and i have not heard of any precedent cases before.

The law says you need to be licensed to drive a car legally... but it does not clearly start what license you should own.

My Singaporean friend drove in singapore without Singapore license but he has a US License and was caught.

He did not get the criminal record because he is a qualified driver, and did not endanger ppl as he knows how to drive. So in the end the penalty is $2000 fine, 2 years driving ban AND forfeiture of the privilege to covert a foreign license into singapore license.

812 posts since Aug '01
    • If you’ve no licence and still intend to drive…you’re just a loser and a driver wannabe whos gonna get into loads of trouble and everyone is gonna point their finger at you and laugh.

33,016 posts since Mar '05
    • Originally posted by Ponders:
      you want to know what's the worst part of driving without license and get caught...

IT IS A CRIMINAL OFFENCE!!!!!!

yes, it is. I have said this story many times... a straght A student cannot be employed in a MNC because he drove without license when he was younger.

anyway, as for using SAF license.. hmm. i think it is abit grey and i have not heard of any precedent cases before.

The law says you need to be licensed to drive a car legally... but it does not clearly start what license you should own.

My Singaporean friend drove in singapore without Singapore license but he has a US License and was caught.

He did not get the criminal record because he is a qualified driver, and did not endanger ppl as he knows how to drive. So in the end the penalty is $2000 fine, 2 years driving ban AND forfeiture of the privilege to covert a foreign license into singapore license.

good the straight a student can now be entrepruener le. maybe he will make big bucks cos of that Laughing

anyway i pity the car owners, assuming they only lend him the keys to get somethign or leave the keys at home. then need to choose beteen coveringthe friend/son/relative's ass and getting sluaghtered byt he legal system.

they should make the person who drove ultimately responsible.... oh and throw in some jail sentences for endangering pple's life too, unless that person has an alternative license

• Mas Selamat Kastari
    9,975 posts since Dec '01
    • Originally posted by hisoka:
      they should make the person who drove ultimately responsible

basically true but letting the car owner get off lightly is just changing the loophole from one to another.

23,437 posts since Feb '06
    • I think i just hijack this thread...

lets say you already have a license and forgot to bring it with you and get caught by TP or wadever..... is it an offense?

or the TP can check with their hq or wadever to see whether i posess a dl or not...

33,016 posts since Mar '05
    • Originally posted by mhcampboy:
      I think i just hijack this thread...

lets say you already have a license and forgot to bring it with you and get caught by TP or wadever..... is it an offense?

or the TP can check with their hq or wadever to see whether i posess a dl or not...

dun think its an offense, btu hor why ressurrect such an old thread Confused

Please Login or Signup to reply.