You either need to really see Singaporeans as a 'whole', or you need to travel around more. Everything in this world is about relativity, you say we're not gracious enough, as compared to...? Hypothetically speaking, we may be 2nd best, but still 'not enough'. Right?Originally posted by Rock^Star:Singaporeans as a whole, are not gracious enough.
Personally, I think 'speak mandarin campaign' is targetted towards those who can't speak mandarin well, 'speak good english campaign' to those who can't speak the language well, etc. You get what I mean. They say nothing about what problems we have. Ought to be careful with the 'we' word.Originally posted by dragg:just take a look at the campaigns we have and you know what problems we have.
speak mandarin campaign - we cant speak mandarin
speak good english campaign - we cant speak proper english
save water campaign - we keep wasting water
courtesy campaign - we are one rude lot.![]()
Originally posted by JerzZzzZ:If you mean that the Speak Mandarin campagne is targeting those who are weak in Mandarin, then it has FAILED in its intended objective. Because now all those who WERE weak in English are all so accustomed to speaking Mandarin from the home to the school, to the workplace. While those who aren't interested in Mandarin and are fluent in English remained largely, disinterested in Mandarin. As such the Speak Proper English campagne was introduced. One campagne begets another.
Personally, I think 'speak mandarin campaign' is targetted towards those who can't speak mandarin well, 'speak good english campaign' to those who can't speak the language well, etc. You get what I mean. They say nothing about what problems [b]we have. Ought to be careful with the 'we' word.[/b]
He's right, Jerzzzz. Perhaps if I may rephrase, most of us are the above.Originally posted by dragg:just take a look at the campaigns we have and you know what problems we have.
speak mandarin campaign - we cant speak mandarin
speak good english campaign - we cant speak proper english
save water campaign - we keep wasting water
courtesy campaign - we are one rude lot.![]()
I get your point, now try and get mine. I'm not saying we are a very 'gracious' lot. Check out China, they're a way rowdier crowd. Europe certainly isn't exactly 100% gentlemen/ladies. I'm just saying to look things in a relative manner, relative to something real, and not your perfect scenario. Otherwise, I'll have a lot of complaints.Originally posted by Rock^Star:He's right, Jerzzzz. Perhaps if I may rephrase, most of us are the above.
How many give up seats to the elderly in the bus or mrt? Do u?
How many give way to others when going into the mrt or bus?
How many when queuing up in foodcourts and hawker centres say, "Go ahead"?
Let's look at it in a holistic manner, if not, we are missing the point.
I'll worry more for the entire China population though. Have you seen how they drive?Originally posted by ShutterBug:Mind you, these are educated and working PROFESSIONALS comprising largely of young newly married couples. I worry thinking of the kids they will upbring...
Yeh, I sense a lot of patriotism hereOriginally posted by JerzZzzZ:I get your point, now try and get mine. I'm not saying we are a very 'gracious' lot. Check out China, they're a way rowdier crowd. Europe certainly isn't exactly 100% gentlemen/ladies. I'm just saying to look things in a relative manner, relative to something real, and not your perfect scenario. Otherwise, I'll have a lot of complaints.
I'll be going, why are Singaporeans like that? Smoking everywhere! Screwed up! Time to immigrate, la. When in fact, smoking/drug abuse can be way more out of hand in other countries. Relativity.
Singapore is really a great country, sure there are screwed up people here and there (everywhere, actually), but I hate it when people link it with SINGAPORE, exclusively. In fact, I daresay (even though I have no statistical proof) that in relative terms, there are way more misguided youths in countries like america, proportion-wise.
Man, I sound like a patriot.
To answer your questions, I do give up my seats to the elderlies, I do wait at the side to give way before entering trains (I always have no seats, but I'm happy being the gentleman, so I don't give a damn those impatient pricks get the seats. Standing doesn't kill). I don't get your 3rd question, though.
HAHA! I understand how u feel.Originally posted by ShutterBug:I cite another observation:
I often drop a colleague of mine off at a church in the morning near my home. She works in a Kindergarten there and often the time I drop her off coincides with parents who drive their child/children there, and this is what I observed;
.. the church has two gates, one is an Entrance the other an Exit gate. The parents will conveniently drive in through the exit gate as it is the first gate one would see (as well as the large OUT and No Entry sign) when approaching the church. The management of the church and the Kindergarten has informed and notified the parents not to enter the premises via the Exit gate, but they still drive in through the Exit gate.
As you can see, even after having been verbally informed and advised against entering through the Exit gate, they still stubbornly do so. It is as if once off the road which is governed and ruled by LTA and the Traffic Police, they treat private premises with impunity and total disregard and disrespect.
Mind you, these are educated and working PROFESSIONALS comprising largely of young newly married couples. I worry thinking of the kids they will upbring...
Oh sure, everyone can complain. Freedom of speech, to an extent! But it just irks me when someone starts making it sound like it's a Singapore-only thing. And, debates are uhm, fun. Passes time too, hee.Originally posted by Rock^Star:Yeh, I sense a lot of patriotism here. Anyway, live and let live, people have a right to complain even if what's happening here is better than other countries. If we are not happy, we can choose to migrate. But if we wanna stay, then make do and complain less? There's no right and wrong.
Yes people in China drive like mad men and women. That's because there are many newborn rich there. It's a boomtown there where people are increasingly buying cars and throwing aside their trusty rusty bicycles. I also noticed the many gory and fatal accidents there posted over the Internet. And I wasn't refering to HOW the parents drove; I am refering to their sense of RIGHT and WRONG - properness and basic integrity.Originally posted by JerzZzzZ:I'll worry more for the entire China population though. Have you seen how they drive?
Yup, your observation certainly shows a downside to Singaporeans. But in many many other places, there are people who will do likewise in the same scenario. Relativity! I'm not saying we should do that, honestly I think it's wrong, and it sucks. But we should look at it at a more clear-headed level, rather than jump at the problem by starting 'Singapore's like this, Singaporeans are like this!'.
So bring it up to the relevant authorities. Don't, at the first chance, hop onto the forums, open a topic, and say that's it, it can never be solved because in Singapore, we're just like this.
EDIT: Ok, so it's private area, didn't exactly read word for word. Well, get the management to rope in the authorities, fine a few people here and there. Kiasu singaporeans will then not dare to do it again, teehee. Naw, just a random quick suggestion. I'm sure the management can enforce something, it's under their... well, management.
maybe they might go to some forum and start flaming u there.Originally posted by ShutterBug:Yes people in China drive like mad men and women. That's because there are many newborn rich there. It's a boomtown there where people are increasingly buying cars and throwing aside their trusty rusty bicycles. I also noticed the many gory and fatal accidents there posted over the Internet. And I wasn't refering to HOW the parents drove; I am refering to their sense of RIGHT and WRONG - properness and basic integrity.
Yes, I know what you mean, and I agree I/we shouldn't jump the gun and pass quick judgements that Singaporeans are like that. I aim to change this wherever and whenever I can, and we should all do likewise to alter the chracater traits of our own people.
This morning after dropping my friend off, I waited till one of the parents come driving towards the church and I purposely drove out towards the Exit gate. Obviously they began to turn in and I got in their way and I honked at them long and loud, then pointed to the entrace gate further down the road some 25 meters away. The driver stared at me, I stared back with a frown at them pointed in the direction of the entrance gate and drive off. In my rear view mirror I can see that they turned in anyway.
Point is; even though I didn't stop or changed their ways, I am most certain they will have both talked about my honking them, and will definitely know they don't have much rights to be angry or feel offended simply because they were going against rules.
I hope they do - I'll give them a piece of my mind about their sense of responsibility as motorists!Originally posted by Ito_^:maybe they might go to some forum and start flaming u there.![]()
Yep, I was refering to their sense of right and wrong too. If they think there's nothing wrong with driving the way they are... -shivers- wonder what else they think is nothing wrong.Originally posted by ShutterBug:Yes people in China drive like mad men and women. That's because there are many newborn rich there... I wasn't refering to HOW the parents drove; I am refering to their sense of RIGHT and WRONG - properness and basic integrity.
Originally posted by kentheman:i dunno for others, but for me, if i'm at a place for a long time and engine is cooled down, i'll warm up the engine before i move out of the lot.
engone is mpre impt. at the end of the day, it's juz a 5 min difference.
Hope you don't mean to follow like that guy you apprehended by SMS-ing while driving..Originally posted by choppers:sad to say.. yes singaporeans are a rude lot. For me.. if i am at fault i will raise my hand in a bid to apologize when i drive but worse is these people dun have a heart of forgiveness, they will stil stare at you thinking you are some aliends. And for some others, they are obviously in the fault but they simply buay song with your honking and even stare at you thinking that they own the road.
I cannot stand such people and tend to stare back at them. There was even one occasion that I step down the car and told him off and taught him how to maintain his lanes when i then realise that he has his hp on his lap with an incomplete sms text. He still dare to rebut me that he was not using hp?!?!!?
Well, i have come to terms with such behavior. The morale of the story in Singapore ONLY, if you cannot change them, Follow them!
i do.Originally posted by Rock^Star:He's right, Jerzzzz. Perhaps if I may rephrase, most of us are the above.
How many give up seats to the elderly in the bus or mrt? Do u?
How many give way to others when going into the mrt or bus?
How many when queuing up in foodcourts and hawker centres say, "Go ahead"?
Let's look at it in a holistic manner, if not, we are missing the point.
Well Lazer., I too am sort of used to such behaviours, but increasingly, I am losing patience and am deeply urged to wonder why does society at large PUT UP with people like that???Originally posted by LazerLordz:I'm used to such ugly behavior already, and I dare say I'm only half of Shutterbug's age.
Just continue your own nice behavior and ignore what others think.
For those recalcitrant ones, some shock and awe or silent operations will make them think twice. There are many ways to teach these upstarts a lesson, and they don't involve physical action.
with suggestion like thisOriginally posted by hyperwan:why get angry?
Just block the lot and light up a cigg and wait see who more eh lun.
in no time he/she will horn and wanna move out.