23 Nov, 04:41PM in sunny Singapore!
Home Cars

Batt Flat

Subscribe to Batt Flat 12 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
  • We Bring You Closer
    6,748 posts since Jul '02
    • I was v blur today... Forgotten to switch off my head light and the Batt went flat Confused Anyone had similar experience? What would u all do?

3,748 posts since May '05
    • check your battery water level. if your interior light still on, somewhat bright and still can crank a bit, no so bad. dun keep trying to crank already... flat means flat. Cranking draws the most amount of current off a battery.

if can, get another car and jump start. if can start, leave your car running and dun ever turn it off. drive around for some period, like half hour or something to charge the battery again.

usually for me, i'll just go drive to the nearest workshop and get the battery checked or replace. just remember to always turn off everything before your switch off your engine. Smile

• We Bring You Closer
    50 posts since Dec '04
    • Wah so bad? Must change batt?

I left my headlight on for about 4 hours, batt also went flat. But lucky my brother in law car is nearby and he help me jumpstart.

You got try jumpstart with another car or not? or u straightaway go to workshop.
      Workshop sure say ur batt must replaced, sure eat carrot one.

124 posts since Dec '05
    • Originally posted by tomsss:
      check your battery water level. if your interior light still on, somewhat bright and still can crank a bit, no so bad. dun keep trying to crank already... flat means flat. Cranking draws the most amount of current off a battery.

if can, get another car and jump start. if can start, [b]leave your car running and dun ever turn it off
      . drive around for some period, like half hour or something to charge the battery again.

usually for me, i'll just go drive to the nearest workshop and get the battery checked or replace. just remember to always turn off everything before your switch off your engine. Smile

haha..don't ever turn yr engine off? the atmosphere will be polluted till siao if everyone does this..haha Laughing

• Originally posted by allblacks:
      haha..don't ever turn yr engine off? the atmosphere will be polluted till siao if everyone does this..haha Laughing

meant to say dun turn off until you reach the workshop lah. some ppl assume jump start car means ok already... then you wanna go somewhere else first then slip of mind turn off the engine... and you'll need to jump start again. Rolling Eyes

258 posts since Jun '05
    • guyz juz wondering…if car batt dead how to jump start? anyone care to explain the procedure clearly?

• Originally posted by lasboriquas:
      guyz juz wondering...if car batt dead how to jump start? anyone care to explain the procedure clearly?

car battery flat means no more power.... or rather, not enough current to power up the starter motor to fire up the engine. you may still be able to do central locking or turn on interior lights but they dun cosume has much current as the starter motor.

jump starting is, connecting the jump wires, from the battery posts of the recovery car to the battery posts of the flat batt car. the recovery car is then started, then the flat batt will then try to start. the jump wires actually transfers some of the recovery car's alternator power, through to the flat batt and then to the starter. Once it fires up, the flat batt car's own alternator will take over the supply of current and will start recharging the flat battery. Sometimes the recovery car need to rev a bit more to supply enough current to start the other car.

• We Bring You Closer
    • I left it on for more than 10 hrs... And I dun even hv any interior lights... Note... NO lights at all... It juz freaks me out~! Confused

10,203 posts since Jul '01
    24,171 posts since Aug '05

• I also forgot to switch off before ... Embarassed Embarassed Embarassed

luckily one of my colleagues got a set of jumper cables in his car, and jump-started mine, I went to buy a set of jumper cables right away after that ...

258 posts since Jun '05
    • Originally posted by tomsss:
      car battery flat means no more power.... or rather, not enough current to power up the starter motor to fire up the engine. you may still be able to do central locking or turn on interior lights but they dun cosume has much current as the starter motor.

jump starting is, connecting the jump wires, from the battery posts of the recovery car to the battery posts of the flat batt car. the recovery car is then started, then the flat batt will then try to start. the jump wires actually transfers some of the recovery car's alternator power, through to the flat batt and then to the starter. Once it fires up, the flat batt car's own alternator will take over the supply of current and will start recharging the flat battery. Sometimes the recovery car need to rev a bit more to supply enough current to start the other car.

thanks for explaining Wink

Please Login or Signup to reply.