dun think so!!Originally posted by Blockhead:Singapore set for 2008 night race - report
Posted 03 March 2007 at 14:13 GMT
Hot on the heels of South Africa's re-emergence on the Formula One radar, it is being reported that Singapore is set to join the annual calendar as early as 2008.
The newspaper Today quoted a 'source' who confirmed that the project, with government support, could be given the green light next week for an April or August date.
F1 supremo Bernie Ecclestone is expected to travel to the island city-state, located in south east Asia, later this month.
"I can confirm that Singapore is on the calendar next year and it could either be the third race of the season, or towards the end of the season in August," the anonymous source said, explaining that he is bound by non-disclosure rules.
'Today' claims that the Singapore grand prix will be F1's first ever night race, on a city circuit.
http://www.homeofsport.com/f1/news/item.aspx?id=18346
It's on a temporary street circuit.Originally posted by FlowerGrass:dun think so!!
our precious land can be used for other things!! such as industrial ground or commercial !! hahaha
No need, we just need lots of flags, airhorns, caps, T-shirts and face paint.Originally posted by Pitot:logistics might be a bit of a hassle but if we can go all the way for the IMF i dont think F1 would be a prob...
4 million smile peeps.![]()
they were not during the ASEAN Football championships.Originally posted by Kuali Baba:No need, we just need lots of flags, airhorns, caps, T-shirts and face paint.
*Hopes none of them will be banned*
I'm sure they will jump at that chance.Originally posted by Kuali Baba:I hope some of the organisers and higher-ups have the sense to visit Monaco in May to see how it's done.
That was the least of my concerns.Originally posted by Blockhead:Let's not too excited for now, eh? Looks like its not a done deal yet... Today's "source" is a bit too quick off the mark then?
Originally posted by JLennon:it is going to be a nite race....
[b]This is a cool idea (both literally and figuratively speaking). Watching a live race under the noon sun is certainly a turn-off. b]
Originally posted by Short Ninja:U tink got night Safari means night F1 oso can izzit?![]()
You read the 1st post or not? Dun anyhow shoot.Originally posted by Blockhead:Singapore set for 2008 night race - report
Posted 03 March 2007 at 14:13 GMT
'Today' claims that the Singapore grand prix will be F1's first ever night race, on a city circuit.
http://www.homeofsport.com/f1/news/item.aspx?id=18346
actually u compare it with an IR .. i personally think tat F1 has greater returns ... n it can bring the country to the world in an instant ..... no doubt the F1 is only held like once in a yr while the IR is a long term kind of thing ... yes IR can boom tourism so can F1 ...... n ppl from all around the world can wat this tiny little country in SEA can produce ..... n oso singaporean businesses can oso use this opportunity to promote their business my sponsoring a F1 eventOriginally posted by weiqimun:personally, i dun think it will happen. sg gahmen is too calculative. for such things, an equal amt of guts, passion and belief is needed as much as economic gains and the tangible returns. i am afraid sgpreans are too straight jck to see thru the need for an F1. Of cos unless LHL say `i want, ...' then story ends.
too expensive and in SG, it is not likely possible to cordon off roads and prevent free loaders to watch for free. unless the gahmen do not charge on certain stretch of the roads. in Aus, Albert park can relatively be easy to cordon off since is off city to a certain extent. Monaco is the land of the super rich, they pretty much do anything /out nconvenincng the man in the strett. In sg, tt's tough...
i think no local sponsor can `afford' F1 sponsorship here in SG. too ex.Originally posted by hao_hao:actually u compare it with an IR .. i personally think tat F1 has greater returns ... n it can bring the country to the world in an instant ..... no doubt the F1 is only held like once in a yr while the IR is a long term kind of thing ... yes IR can boom tourism so can F1 ...... n ppl from all around the world can wat this tiny little country in SEA can produce ..... n oso singaporean businesses can oso use this opportunity to promote their business my sponsoring a F1 event
You can't stop people from tuning in to the race on TV if they want to.Originally posted by weiqimun:too expensive and in SG, it is not likely possible to cordon off roads and prevent free loaders to watch for free. unless the gahmen do not charge on certain stretch of the roads. in Aus, Albert park can relatively be easy to cordon off since is off city to a certain extent. Monaco is the land of the super rich, they pretty much do anything /out nconvenincng the man in the strett. In sg, tt's tough...
Obviously you are not aware the Singapore will only get the chance to host the race ONCE a year. So how do you expect it to generate greater returns than IRs that is open 27/7/365?Originally posted by hao_hao:actually u compare it with an IR .. i personally think tat F1 has greater returns ... n it can bring the country to the world in an instant ..... no doubt the F1 is only held like once in a yr while the IR is a long term kind of thing ... yes IR can boom tourism so can F1 ...... n ppl from all around the world can wat this tiny little country in SEA can produce ..... n oso singaporean businesses can oso use this opportunity to promote their business my sponsoring a F1 event
It will only make sense for OBS or AT to pick up the US$250m bill if they owns all the major hotels around the proposed race track. Unfortunately they dont own a single one. Hence the only people who can make this happen will be the Singapore government. To have the ministers talking about it in the parliment, is already a clear sign that PM Lee has already approved the budget and it is a definite go and they will make it happen, or else they will be embarrass if they fail. (AGAIN)Originally posted by weiqimun:i think no local sponsor can `afford' F1 sponsorship here in SG. too ex.
firstly, u shld hv a ww presence to make your sponsorship worthwhile. otherwise, very hard.
will ong beng seng put in the millions w/out return? i dun think so. he's not going to put monein so he can generate economic returns to the others, like hotel, food ec. he's not a charity. the gahmen must fill in the shoes. he's a businessman afterall. unless the gahmen pour in $ for this, of which you will see a topic in the politics forums about how the $ can be better utilized to help the underprivileged, it is gonna be tough.
I find the the noisiest part of the race track is actually the place where the car down shift and I believe that the stretch from Ritz Carlton down to Esplanade corner will be enough for the cars to reach 280-300km/h
Well for the race itself, I think it's gonna be really interesting if a night race were to be held. So far, teams have had to work under the limitation of tyre wear made worse by the heat. For a night race, they have at least one load off their mind and can concentrate on making the race a more competitive one. Well one thing is that we may be deprived of the all-out engine scream like on the racing circuits as I doubt our roads are long and wide enough for a roaring stretch.[/b]
zz so fast..i rather Sg have somg singapore drift ~ drift dirfit drift ~ fast n furious~~Originally posted by Theatre Of Dreams:280-300... salivating...
I pray for the Merlion. Hope it doesn't hyperventilate over there.
Drifting is overrated IMOOriginally posted by acegem84:zz so fast..i rather Sg have somg singapore drift ~ drift dirfit drift ~ fast n furious~~![]()
Originally posted by Theatre Of Dreams:Well for the race itself, I think it's gonna be really interesting if a night race were to be held. So far, teams have had to work under the limitation of tyre wear made worse by the heat. For a night race, they have at least one load off their mind and can concentrate on making the race a more competitive one. Well one thing is that we may be deprived of the all-out engine scream like on the racing circuits as I doubt our roads are long and wide enough for a roaring stretch.
Did you just say that OBS does not own any hotels in Singapore? Are you kidding me? Whats the name of the company which he is the controlling shareholder?Originally posted by Gazelle:It will only make sense for OBS or AT to pick up the US$250m bill if they owns all the major hotels around the proposed race track. Unfortunately they dont own a single one.
It will only make sense for OBS or AT to pick up the US$250m bill if they owns all the major hotels around the proposed race track. Unfortunately they dont own a single one.Originally posted by yousure??:Did you just say that OBS does not own any hotels in Singapore? Are you kidding me? Whats the name of the company which he is the controlling shareholder?
I apologise that I missed out on the underlined section. However, the hilton and FS's have one of highest ADRs in Singapore. You can be pretty sure that the OccRates for luxury hotels will benefit whether over looking the track or not if the F1 comes to Singapore.Originally posted by Gazelle:I think HPL only owns 2 hotel in singapore, The Hilton and Four Seasons, how do you expect to justify a USD35million bill for that one weekend?