Who said it was boring? Was it you? Sure wasn't me... You'd better take your own advice about reading previous posts - but let me help.Originally posted by Gazelle:I am not telling you what you should be watching, we are discussing about the commercial value of a street race. If you say it is boring, thats YOU, 1, UNO, and that doesnt represent what the majority of the F1 fans around the world feel.
And boy, can you contradict yourselfOriginally posted by dansplace:However, having said that, with the winding and relatively sharp corners of the circuit, overtaking is always an issue. This makes the Monaco race seemingly boring. But if the cameras spend more time showing on-board shots, which allows the viewers to 'imagine' being in the F1 car, racing down the narrow streets at speeds, its going to be anything but boring.
Thats not a fair comparison becauseOriginally posted by Kuali Baba:As for environmental effects, to put things in perspective, a single 747 burns more fuel during take-off than all 22 cars on the grid over the whole season. That's how efficient those engines are.
Originally posted by dansplace:And boy, can you contradict yourselfIf, like you said, the majority of F1 fans (not all... noted... majority) does not find Monaco boring, then what about the minority... how many constitute the minority? More than UNO, 1, ME? hahahaha... this is funny.
And like you said, the commercial value of a street race, to my friend who pays for SCV and watches F1 races. She watches F1, becos other than the fact that she is into tracking having been to SIC more than me, Kimi races in street races like all other races. What she finds as commercial value is 'cute kimi'. How? Like what the other dude said, its laughable...
Originally posted by weiqimun:Before you join in the conversation, my advice to you is that read before you talk.
F1 will not be in SGP.
OBS is not stupid. there is no money to be made here....unless the gahmen pass the $ to OBS and he passes it as his...generally the overall economy may benefit but can u imagine OBS being generous and passes the benefits to others where he coughs out the $millions? i cannot envisage that. if it's pride he's after, then nothing to say [like chel$ki, abra guys can lose $$$mmm a year and not be bothered...)
i also mentioned in my other posts tt logistically it is going to be tough to host it on the streets of Sg. SGP roads generally too narrow and overly confined to be able to hold a race where there can be overtaking, etc. i can't think of a 5km stretch ring road that can facilitate that. [b]that's why monaco race is one of the most boring. there's few stretches of the road where 1 can overtake a car. [/b]
Oooohh... good advice... its time you read and comprehend that others have other reasons for watching F1. You might get kicks from reading the side advertisements, but what weiqimum was illustrating that the monaco race is not the most interesting race becos of the lack of overtaking areas. Can you categorically deny that - that comparing to other race tracks, Monaco has less overtaking areas?Originally posted by Gazelle:My advice to you is that read before you talk.
Are you telling me that when you friend watches F1 at SIC or SCV, she is not exposed to any of the road side or TV advertisement, and she didnt spend a single cent getting a ticket and traveling from Singapore to Sepang and back or subscribe for SCV sport channel?
Hahaha.... reading side advertisements... good one!Originally posted by dansplace:You might get kicks from reading the side advertisements, but what weiqimum was illustrating that the monaco race is not the most interesting race becos of the lack of overtaking areas. Can you categorically deny that - that comparing to other race tracks, Monaco has less overtaking areas?
Haha..agreed..the pollution caused by the F1 cars is not a problem at all..even all the cars in the world are not the main source of greenhouse gases..it's the heavy industries that is the biggest contributor to the greenhouse gases and global warming..Originally posted by Kuali Baba:As for environmental effects, to put things in perspective, a single 747 burns more fuel during take-off than all 22 cars on the grid over the whole season. That's how efficient those engines are.
From a F1 driver's point of view, Monaco is one race which everybody would like to win, plus it is one of the most demanding for the driver because its narrow track and side walls will punish the driver for small mistake.Originally posted by dansplace:Oooohh... good advice... its time you read and comprehend that others have other reasons for watching F1. You might get kicks from reading the side advertisements, but what weiqimum was illustrating that the monaco race is not the most interesting race becos of the lack of overtaking areas. Can you categorically deny that - that comparing to other race tracks, Monaco has less overtaking areas?
If you noticed I never mentioned anything about commercial value (until the last post) and your wavering argument that F1 will come to singapore (OBS cannot do it by himself, but if he joins with LVS or Genting, blah blah blah...). I am not interested in that... why? Becos like what others are saying, if it comes, it comes becos it makes sense financially to the pple who it matters most to (the pple whom the money belongs to). When I got involved in this thread is when you start insisting that someone is not a F1 fan when he/she did not appreciate F1 in the same way that you do... and that my dear friend, is laugable. Every one has a view and a choice, even you.
Why is this so? You mean a faster car will not dominate on other circuit? Or are you eluding to the fact that a faster car will be higher on the grid and this works to that driver's favor for Monaco becos the circuit has a lack of overtaking areas... hmm?Originally posted by Gazelle:From a F1 fan's point of view, Monaco is one race where driver's skill will play a bigger role in winning as compare to other circuit where a faster car will usually dominate.
I would rather watch MotoGP if I wanted overtaking - at least racing is done on similar race tracks. But like I said earlier, learn to read my posts carefully as well as others. You are convincing the wrong person.Originally posted by Gazelle:If overtaking is the only thing you like in motor-racing, than I think you might have been following the wrong formula series. Maybe you should switch to NASCAR or something. I think they have like close to a hundred overtaking per race.
It was never my intention to convince someone who know nuts about what they are talking about. cheer dude.. and enjoy your MotoGP.Originally posted by yousure??:Man, you should really read and comprehend... did I ever say anything that I found Monaco boring? Nope... but you dun seem to comprehend that... its ok, three strikes (* i give up*)
I would rather watch MotoGP if I wanted overtaking - at least racing is done on similar race tracks. But like I said earlier, learn to read my posts carefully as well as others. You are convincing the wrong person.
Comprehension must have been a struggle for you in schoolOriginally posted by Gazelle:It was never my intention to convince someone who know nuts about what they are talking about. cheer dude.. and enjoy your MotoGP.
You mean you understand what I'm saying right?Originally posted by yousure??:Comprehension must have been a struggle for you in school
yousure??Originally posted by yousure??:Comprehension must have been a struggle for you in school
To some idiots, those track side advertisment are just wooden board printed with colors, to others those are worth millions of dollar. So I guess we know which camp you belong.Originally posted by yousure??:Hahaha.... reading side advertisements... good one!![]()
really? Have you seen MotoGP at Monaco before?Originally posted by yousure??:I would rather watch MotoGP if I wanted overtaking - at least racing is done on similar race tracks. But like I said earlier, learn to read my posts carefully as well as others. You are convincing the wrong person.
Its not that difficult to understand.Originally posted by dansplace:You mean you understand what I'm saying right?
Originally posted by Gazelle:yousure??
Ooh... name calling... real mature.Originally posted by Gazelle:To some idiots, those track side advertisment are just wooden board printed with colors, to others those are worth millions of dollar. So I guess we know which camp you belong.
See my point about reading and comprehending? "similar" is not "same". sigh... Guess you might belong to the older generation when the education curriculum did not focus on comprehension. But wait a minute, name calling is not for the mature crowd... ah, but age is not an indication of maturity.Originally posted by Gazelle:really? Have you seen MotoGP at Monaco before?
Originally posted by yousure??:I would rather watch MotoGP if I wanted overtaking - at least racing is done on similar race tracks.
1) Let me ask you, it is possible for anyone watching a F1 race without noticing the track side advertisement?Originally posted by yousure??:Its not that difficult to understand.
I dun think he understands that different pple watch F1 for different reasons.
I am wondering if he reads the side advertisements. He must have the calculator out whenever the camera pans by... ooh ooh "US$15,000 there plus... ooh ooh another US$5,000 there"...
Of course, you can ask me. And unlike you, I will answer the questions posed to me. I do notice them, but does it register most of the time? No, becos Vodafone is not available here. Furthermore, I am focusing on the racing. You mean that for me to be a 'great' F1 fan like you, I need to focus on the track side advert??? HAHAHA...Originally posted by Gazelle:1) Let me ask you, it is possible for anyone watching a F1 race without noticing the track side advertisement?
But it was you who started criticizing the wei-dude about him not being a true F1 fan becos he had a different view from you. You moved from the topic before me.Originally posted by Gazelle:2) Havent you notice that this thread is talking about the feasibility of Singapore hosting a street race and not which is the best circuit in the world.
*standing ovation* - I did not know F1 was watching the side advertisements!! "ooh ooh US$15,000 there plus... ooh ooh another US$5,000 there... " hahaha... Let me help you, before YOU make yourself look foolish... Please show me the post where I said Monaco is boring.Originally posted by Gazelle:3) Before you say Monaco is boring, it might be better to ask yourself if you really understand that the sport is all about, or else you are just making a fool out of yourself.
Originally posted by youresure??::
Gazelle:
From a F1 fan's point of view, Monaco is one race where driver's skill will play a bigger role in winning as compare to other circuit where a faster car will usually dominate.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Yousure??:
Why is this so? You mean a faster car will not dominate on other circuit? Or are you eluding to the fact that a faster car will be higher on the grid and this works to that driver's favor for Monaco becos the circuit has a lack of overtaking areas... hmm?
1) There is nothing to read on the ad board, just a brand name to create brand awareness, that is the whole purpose of the track side advertisment and that generate income for F1.Originally posted by shite:1) Yes as a matter of fact, I dunt. I dunt get swayed by advertisements at all... so dunt bother to go and read/decipher what's on the ad boards.
2) Not talking about which is the best circuit - yes. But when you keep insisting and shoving down pp's throat your opinion that Monaco is the most watched, hence the most interesting... it's just totally uncalled for. If every one have the same viewpoint, it will make for such an uninteresting world wouldn't it?
3) And lastly, who qualified you to say that who-and-who is (not) qualified to be regarded as a F1 fan or not?
Last I looked at the header above, there's a "forum" somewhere in there. Not a "mono-opinion-brainwashing-course".
If there is one circuit where smaller team could to shine, that is Monaco. Obviously you couldnt remember what webber driving a williams who finish 8th on the constructor last year, almost got 3rd at monaco if not for his retirement due to engine failure in the last part of the race.Originally posted by yousure??:Why is this so? You mean a faster car will not dominate on other circuit? Or are you eluding to the fact that a faster car will be higher on the grid and this works to that driver's favor for Monaco becos the circuit has a lack of overtaking areas... hmm?
He is qualified becos he reads the sideboards more than others.Originally posted by shite:1) Yes as a matter of fact, I dunt. I dunt get swayed by advertisements at all... so dunt bother to go and read/decipher what's on the ad boards.
2) Not talking about which is the best circuit - yes. But when you keep insisting and shoving down pp's throat your opinion that Monaco is the most watched, hence the most interesting... it's just totally uncalled for. If every one have the same viewpoint, it will make for such an uninteresting world wouldn't it?
3) And lastly, who qualified you to say that who-and-who is (not) qualified to be regarded as a F1 fan or not?
Last I looked at the header above, there's a "forum" somewhere in there. Not a "mono-opinion-brainwashing-course".
Ask you female friend to bring you to SIC to watch some F1 lah..Originally posted by dansplace:He is qualified becos he reads the sideboards more than others.
Its a simple question - stop evading it. Another forumer said that monaco was relatively boring becos of the lack of overtaking areas. You said he was not a real F1 fan - becos obviously his opinion differs from you. But I am (and have been) asking you whats wrong with his statement? Does Monaco have relatively less ovetaking areas than other tracks? You tell me about the driver's points-of-view, F1 viewers point-of-view, Mark Webber being in 3rd position... you must have been SO disappointed that Mark Webber did not stop next to a side advert...Originally posted by Gazelle:If there is one circuit where smaller team could to shine, that is Monaco. Obviously you couldnt remember what webber driving a williams who finish 8th on the constructor last year, almost got 3rd at monaco if not for his retirement due to engine failure in the last part of the race.